DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The primary argument made for the 103 rejections is that combination of Okabayashi (US PG-Pub 20110257908 A1, as cited in prior action) and Limbach et al. (US PG-Pub 20210041472 A1, as cited in prior action) does not teach liquid mixing using thermal convection generated by a temperature gradient applied via adjacent cuvettes rather than mechanical stirring (see remarks pg. 7).
However, claim 1, as maintained by the applicant, doesn’t disclose that the convection generator is explicitly configured to perform the liquid mixing within the cuvette. Claim 1 recites a separate “stirrer” element that is configured for agitating (therefore mixing) a test liquid in a first cuvette. The convection generator is a separate element that generates thermal convection in the test liquid due to temperature difference. Nothing in the claims would direct the separate stirrer element in claim 1 to be the convection generator. The convection generator is also not stated to be contactless within the claims.
Additionally, this remark contradicts the applications specifications in [0012] and claim 6, wherein the stirrer comprises one or more of: a mechanically driven stirring rod, a magnetic stirrer, an ultrasonic stirrer, an electromagnetic wave-based stirrer, and an electrolytic stirrer. Not only is the stirrer defined to a form of mechanical stirring which would induce contact and active mixing of a test liquid, the stirrer does not comprise the convection generator.
Furthermore, even if the claim would be amended to state that the stirring is performed by convection, the prior art of Limbach et al. defines over it, where heating plates are arranged close to the lower regions of wells in order to heat the liquid contents by convection, as well as heating foils that thermally contact individual or groups of cuvettes to apply different temperature levels, which would both cause thermal convection and circulate the sample liquid, thus preventing hotspots for an evenly heated sample (see Limbach et al., [0087], [0169], [0180], and claim 1 103 rejection). The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. would still be found to perform the same functions of the stirring apparatus that is claimed in claim 1 by one of ordinary skill in the art, regardless of the use of mechanical stirrers.
Therefore, the 103 rejections for claim 1 and all dependent claims are maintained, and rejections are included for new claims 21 and 22.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 of claim 22 recites "the radiating radiates". This appears to be a wording mistake, and the examiner is assuming claim 22 is meant to be the same as claim 21, where it is "the photometric device is configured to radiate" instead of "radiating radiates". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi (US PG-Pub 20110257908 A1), in view of Limbach et al. (US PG-Pub 20210041472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the examiner is interpreting the “convection generator” to include a heating device and/or a cooling device, where further can include a heating sheet and a cooling sheet, in light of the instant application’s specifications [0052].
Okabayashi teaches an automatic analyzer, capable of obtaining analysis results using reaction liquids with absorbance appropriate for analysis processing. It is capable of determining whether the stirring state is favorable or not (see Okabayashi, Abstract, [0087], Fig. 9). The reaction container 20 (read on the claimed cuvette, see Okabayashi, Fig. 3) has a reaction liquid dispensed within, of which is homogeneously stirred by the stirring section 17 (see Okabayashi, Abstract, [0064], Fig. 1). Okabayashi further teaches a photometry section 18, which includes a light source 18a and light receiving section 18b, positioned at positions facing each other, with the reaction container 20 interposed between. The photometry section 18 measures absorbance of a reaction liquid obtained by combining the reagent and the sample, and the analysis section 33 performs analysis based on the measurement result. The A/D converter 18c converts a signal output from the light receiving section 18b into a digital value, and outputs the digital value to the control section 31 (see Okabayashi, [0073]-[0074], Fig. 2-3).
Okabayashi additionally teaches the control mechanism 3, which comprising an input section 32, an analysis section 33, a determination section 34, a recording section 35, an output section 36, and a transmission and reception section 37. All the components within them mechanism 3 are electrically connected to a control system 31, which is actualized with a CPU and the like, and controls the processing and operations of the respective section of the automatic analyzer 1 (see Okabayashi, [0065]-[0066], Fig. 1). The photometry section 18 measures absorbance twenty-eight times in total for each reaction container 20, including the absorbance of a liquid in the reaction container 20 after the dispensing of a first reagent, and through the dispensing of a sample and the dispensing of a second reagent. The analysis section 33 analyzes the sample based on the absorbance after an elapse of a predetermined time from the time at which the absorbance was measured when the second reagent was dispensed into the reaction container 20 (see Okabayashi, [0077], Fig. 4). The determination section 34 utilizes the metric of standard deviation from any one of the pluralities of absorbances measured by the photometry section 18 for sample analysis. It graphs the change over time in a standard deviation of absorbance in accordance with the stirring state of a reaction liquid, where the curved line corresponding to the change over time in standard deviation can indicate whether the stirring state in a reaction liquid is favorable or not (see Okabayashi, [0069], [0087], Fig. 5-9).
Okabayashi fails to teach a convection generator configured to generate thermal convection of the test liquid in the first cuvette, wherein the thermal convection is generated due to temperature difference caused at least by providing different temperature to the first cuvette.
However, in the analogous art of automatic analyzer and methods for carrying out chemical, biochemical, and/or immunochemical analyses, Limbach et al. teaches an analysis module having a heating plate for the microtiter plate, of which the heating plates are arranged closed to the lower region of the wells of the microtiter plates in order to heat the contents of the wells by convection (see Limbach et al., [0087]). Limbach additionally teaches a variant of the analyzer that has a temperature control unit for setting a predefined measurement temperature, which temperature control unit comprises heating foils which thermally contact individual cuvettes or groups of cuvettes and to which different temperature levels can be applied (see Limbach et al., [0180]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer of Okabayashi to incorporate a heating plate to heat the samples through convection means (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of preventing hotspots in the sample by having the sample liquid constantly be circulated and heated (see Limbach et al., [0169]).
Regarding claim 2, The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of Claim 2. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one metric comprises a status of a stirring function (see Okabayashi et al., [0088], favorable and unfavorable stirring state.), the status comprising one of a success state (see Okabayashi, [0094], Fig. 1, Fig. 10, disclosing a standard deviation judging section 34b to judge as to whether each of a plurality of standard deviations of absorbance, calculated by the standard deviation calculating section 34a, is smaller than the threshold LT (threshold LT is set based on a standard deviation of a plurality of absorbances of a homogeneously-stirred reaction liquid W). If each of the plurality of standard deviations of absorbance is smaller than the threshold LT (step S105: Yes), then the processing proceeds to step S106 and determines the absorbance.); a failure state (see Okabayashi, Fig. 10, [0094]-[0097], disclosing if each of the plurality of standard deviations of absorbance is not smaller than the threshold LT (step S105: No), then the processing proceeds to step S107. It will then move on to the abnormality specifying section 34e to judge if it passes or fails S107 for if the plurality of standard deviations of absorbance decreases over time, S108 for if the number of the standard deviations of absorbance that is smaller than the threshold LT is 2 or greater, or S110 on whether photometry point was used for analysis. If it fails any of the three steps, it will proceed to S109 or S111 depending on where it failed to output information indicating that either the reaction container 20 or the reaction liquid W is abnormal. The process for determining absorbance is then terminated.); and a percentage or a score indicating the success of stirring (see Okabayashi, [0071], [0088], [0089], [0095], [0097], Fig. 9, disclosing various curved lines of standard deviation of absorbance in comparison to the threshold LT, where ideally, a curved line would be completely below the threshold LT, illustrated by L61 of Fig. 9. A favorable curve would be decreasing over time, with a plurality of points below the threshold LT, which would sufficiently pass for measuring absorbance, illustrated by L62 of Fig. 9. An unfavorable curve would not be able to have a plurality of points go below the threshold LT, and depending on how, can either be an abnormality with the reaction chamber 20, or an abnormality with the reaction liquid W, all of which the reporting processing section 34f communicates to the output section 36 to output information indicating the abnormality onto a display).
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of Claim 3. Specifically, Okabayshi teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, at least in part, to: calculate the absorbance values based on the output signal (see Okabayashi, [0073], disclosing the photometry section 18 measures absorbance of a reaction liquid obtained by combining the reagent and the sample, and the analysis section 33 performs analysis based on the measurement result); and obtain the photometric data comprising one or more parameters associated with the absorbance values, the one or more parameters being at least one of an absorbance range; at least one inclination of absorbance on a time scale; a convergence time of the absorbance values; and a metric of dispersion associated with the absorbance values (see Okabayashi, [0069], [0087], Fig. 5-9, disclosing the determination section 34 utilizing the metric of standard deviation from any one of the plurality of absorbances measured by the photometry section 18 for sample analysis. It graphs the change over time for absorbance in accordance with the stirring state of a reaction liquid.).
Regarding claim 5, The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of Claim 3. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the photometric device comprises: a light source configured to radiate the light onto at least a lower portion of the first cuvette; and a photodetector configured to generate the output signal based at least on electromagnetic spectrum associated with the radiated light (see Okabayashi, [0074], Fig. 2-3, disclosing a photometry section 18 including a light source 18a, a light receiving section 18b and a A/D converted 18c. The light source 18a and light receiving section 18b are positioned at positions facing each other, with a reaction container 20 interposed between. Both are positioned towards the lower section of the reaction container 20, as shown in Figure 3. The A/D converter 18c converts a signal output from the light receiving section 18b into a digital value, and outputs the digital value to the control section 31.).
Regarding claim 6, Okabayashi teaches a stirring section 17, for stirring a sample and a reagent dispensed in a reaction container 20 (see Okabayashi, Fig. 1, [0064]).
Okabayashi fails to teach wherein the stirrer comprises one or more of: a mechanically driven stirring rod, a magnetic stirrer, an ultrasonic stirrer, an electromagnetic wave-based stirrer, and an electrolytic stirrer.
However, Limbach et al. teaches stirring reaction mixtures consisting of samples and reagents in the cuvettes by stationary mechanical stirring (see Limbach et al., [0057], [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stirring section of Okabayashi by incorporating the mechanical stirring (as taught by Limach et al.), for the benefit of maintaining an immovable arrangement for the stationary cuvette arrays, where individual detectors are fixedly assigned to each cuvette, making it not necessary to measure when moving past detectors with a plurality of cuvettes in stop-and-go operation, allowing for more accurate measurements results (see Limbach et al., [0143]).
Regarding claim 7, Okabayashi teaches a reaction table 13 retaining a plurality of reaction containers 20 along the circumference, where a reaction container 20 may be adjacent to at most two other reaction containers 20, as illustrated by Figure 1 (see Okabayashi, [0064], Fig. 1).
The combination of Limbach et al. and Okabayashi fails to teach wherein the second cuvette is configured to hold liquid of a different temperature, thereby resulting in the temperature difference around the first cuvette.
However, Limbach teaches an array of cuvettes, of which a plurality of cuvettes are lined up next to one another in a straight line in an analyzer (see Limbach et al. [0027]-[0028]). A variant of the analyzer that has a temperature control unit for setting a pre-definable measurement temperature, which temperature control unit comprises heating foils which thermally contact individual cuvettes or groups of cuvettes and to which different temperature levels can be applied (see Limbach et al., [0180]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer's reaction table of Okabayashi to incorporate the temperature control unit for individually heating cuvettes to different temperatures (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of performing multiple steps of immunochemical analysis steps simultaneously within the analyzer (see Limbach et al., [0197]).
Regarding claim 8, Okabayashi teaches a reaction table 13 retaining a plurality of reaction containers 20 along the circumference, where a reaction container 20 may be adjacent to at most two other reaction containers 20, as illustrated by Figure 1 (see Okabayashi, [0064], Fig. 1).
Okabayashi fails to teach wherein second cuvettes arranged on two opposite adjacent sides of the first cuvette are configured to hold liquids of different temperatures, thereby resulting in the temperature difference around the first cuvette.
However, Limbach teaches an array of cuvettes, of which a plurality of cuvettes are lined up next to one another in a straight line in an analyzer (see Limbach et al. [0027]-[0028]). A variant of the analyzer that has a temperature control unit for setting a pre-definable measurement temperature, which temperature control unit comprises heating foils which thermally contact individual cuvettes or groups of cuvettes and to which different temperature levels can be applied (see Limbach et al., [0180]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer's reaction table of Okabayashi to incorporate the temperature control unit for individually heating cuvettes to different temperatures (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of performing multiple steps of immunochemical analysis steps simultaneously within the analyzer (see Limbach et al., [0197]).
Regarding claim 9, the examiner is interpreting the “convection generator” to include a heating device and/or a cooling device, where further can include a heating sheet and a cooling sheet, in light of the instant application’s specifications [0052].
Okabayashi teaches a reaction table 13 retaining a plurality of reaction containers 20 along the circumference, where a reaction container 20 may be adjacent to at most two other reaction containers 20, as illustrated by Figure 1 (see Okabayashi, [0064], Fig. 1).
Okabayashi fails to teach wherein the convection generator is configured to generate the temperature difference to liquid contained in the at least one second cuvette for causing thermal convection of the test liquid in the first cuvette, and wherein the convection generator is configured to adjust a temperature of a liquid in one second cuvette of the two adjacent second cuvette more than a first threshold temperature and adjust a temperature of liquid in another second cuvette of the two adjacent second cuvette less than a second threshold temperature.
However, Limbach teaches an array of cuvettes, of which a plurality of cuvettes are lined up next to one another in a straight line in an analyzer (see Limbach et al. [0027]-[0028]). A variant of the analyzer that has a temperature control unit for setting a pre-definable measurement temperature, which temperature control unit comprises heating foils which thermally contact individual cuvettes or groups of cuvettes and to which different temperature levels can be applied (see Limbach et al., [0180]).
A heating foil is structurally indistinguishable from a heating sheet of the thermal generator, in light of the instant specification, and the effect it would have on the different cuvette’s temperature and the resulting thermal convection in the first would be the same. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer's reaction table of Okabayashi to incorporate the temperature control unit and heating foil for individually heating cuvettes to different temperatures (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of performing multiple steps of immunochemical analysis steps simultaneously within the analyzer (see Limbach et al., [0197]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 10. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches wherein the test liquid includes a combination of a specimen and a reagent or a combination of water and dye (see Okabayashi, [0063], Fig. 1, discloses dispensing and combining a reagent and sample into a reaction container 20.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 11. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, at least in part, to determine the photometric data associated with absorbance values calculated at a plurality of time instances in a predetermined time period (see Okabayashi, [0078]-[0079], Fig. 1, Fig. 5, disclosing a graph illustrating the change over time in absorbance of a reaction liquid W measured a plurality of times by the photometry section 18 at any one time a reaction container 20 passes in between the light source 18a and the light receiving section 18b. The reaction container holding the reaction liquid W passes through the photometry section 18 during the time t1 to time t8 with the rotation of the reaction table 13.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 12. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches wherein the predetermined time period comprises: a time period of stirring of the test liquid, a time period of convection of the test liquid, a time period of rotation of the reaction container, a threshold time after the reaction container stops rotating, or any combination thereof (see Okabayashi, [0079], Fig. 1, Fig. 5, The reaction container holding the reaction liquid W passes through the photometry section 18 during the time t1 to time t8 with the rotation of the reaction table 13.).
Note: The examiner is interpreting the “convection generator” to include a heating device and/or a cooling device, where further can include a heating sheet and a cooling sheet, in light of the instant application’s specifications [0052].
Regarding claim 14, the examiner is interpreting the “convection generator” to include a heating device and/or a cooling device, where further can include a heating sheet and a cooling sheet, in light of the instant application’s specifications [0052].
Okabayashi teaches an automatic analyzer, capable of obtaining analysis results using reaction liquids with absorbance appropriate for analysis processing. It is capable of determining whether the stirring state is favorable or not (see Okabayashi, Abstract, [0087], Fig. 9). The reaction container 20 (resembling a cuvette, see Okabayashi, Fig. 3) has a reaction liquid dispensed within, of which is homogeneously stirred by the stirring section 17 (see Okabayashi, Abstract, [0064], Fig. 1). Okabayashi further teaches a photometry section 18, which includes a light source 18a and light receiving section 18b, positioned at positions facing each other, with the reaction container 20 interposed between. The photometry section 18 measures absorbance of a reaction liquid obtained by combining the reagent and the sample, and the analysis section 33 performs analysis based on the measurement result. The A/D converter 18c converts a signal output from the light receiving section 18b into a digital value, and outputs the digital value to the control section 31 (see Okabayashi, [0073]-[0074], Fig. 2-3). Okabayashi additionally teaches the control mechanism 3, which comprising an input section 32, an analysis section 33, a determination section 34, a recording section 35, an output section 36, and a transmission and reception section 37. All the components within them mechanism 3 are electrically connected to a control system 31, which is actualized with a CPU and the like, and controls the processing and operations of the respective section of the automatic analyzer 1 (see Okabayashi, [0065]-[0066], Fig. 1). The photometry section 18 measures absorbance twenty-eight times in total for each reaction container 20, including the absorbance of a liquid in the reaction container 20 after the dispensing of a first reagent, and through the dispensing of a sample and the dispensing of a second reagent. The analysis section 33 analyzes the sample based on the absorbance after an elapse of a predetermined time from the time at which the absorbance was measured when the second reagent was dispensed into the reaction container 20 (see Okabayashi, [0077], Fig. 4). The determination section 34 utilizes the metric of standard deviation from any one of the pluralities of absorbances measured by the photometry section 18 for sample analysis. It graphs the change over time in a standard deviation of absorbance in accordance with the stirring state of a reaction liquid, where the curved line corresponding to the change over time in standard deviation can indicate whether the stirring state in a reaction liquid is favorable or not (see Okabayashi, [0069], [0087], Fig. 5-9). Furthermore, Okabayashi teaches that the control section 31 and determination section 34, using a series of steps, judges whether the standard deviation of absorbance found in a plurality of photometry points is found to have a plurality of points smaller than the threshold LT. The favorability of stirring can be determined if a plurality of points is below the threshold LT, while stirring is unfavorable if there isn't a plurality of points below the threshold LT. A report is put into the output section 36 indicating the type of abnormality found if steps are failed, and the process is terminated (see Okabayashi, [0087]-[0088], [0091]-[0097], Fig. 9-10).
Okabayashi fails to teach a convection generator configured to generate thermal convection of the test liquid in the first cuvette, wherein the thermal convection is generated due to temperature difference caused at least by providing different temperature to the first cuvette.
However, Limbach et al. teaches an analysis module having a heating plate for the microtiter plate, of which the heating plates are arranged closed to the lower region of the wells of the microtiter plates in order to heat the contents of the wells by convection (see Limbach et al., [0087]). Limbach additionally teaches a variant of the analyzer that has a temperature control unit for setting a pre-definable measurement temperature, which temperature control unit comprises heating foils which thermally contact individual cuvettes or groups of cuvettes and to which different temperature levels can be applied (see Limbach et al., [0180]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer of Okabayashi to incorporate a heating plate to heat the samples through convection means (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of preventing hotspots in the sample by having the sample liquid constantly be circulated and heated (see Limbach et al., [0169]).
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 15. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches the method as claimed in claim 14, wherein determining the photometric data comprises: calculating the absorbance values based on the output signal (see Okabayashi, [0073], disclosing the photometry section 18 measures absorbance of a reaction liquid obtained by combining the reagent and the sample, and the analysis section 33 performs analysis based on the measurement result); and obtaining the photometric data comprising one or more parameters associated with the absorbance values, the one or more parameters being at least one of an absorbance range, at least one inclination of absorbance on a time scale, a convergence time of the absorbance values, and a metric of dispersion of the electromagnetic spectrum associated with the absorbance values (see Okabayashi, [0069], [0087], Fig. 5-9, disclosing the determination section 34 utilizing the metric of standard deviation from any one of the plurality of absorbances measured by the photometry section 18 for sample analysis. It graphs the change over time for absorbance in accordance with the stirring state of a reaction liquid.).
Regarding claim 16, The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 16. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, at least in part, to: calculate the absorbance values based on the output signal (see Okabayashi, [0073], disclosing the photometry section 18 measures absorbance of a reaction liquid obtained by combining the reagent and the sample, and the analysis section 33 performs analysis based on the measurement result); and obtain the photometric data comprising one or more parameters associated with the absorbance values, the one or more parameters being at least one of an absorbance range; at least one inclination of absorbance on a time scale; a convergence time of the absorbance values; and a metric of dispersion associated with the absorbance values (see Okabayashi, [0069], [0087], Fig. 5-9, disclosing the determination section 34 utilizing the metric of standard deviation from any one of the plurality of absorbances measured by the photometry section 18 for sample analysis. It graphs the change over time for absorbance in accordance with the stirring state of a reaction liquid.).
Regarding claim 18, Okabayashi teaches a stirring section 17, for stirring a sample and a reagent dispensed in a reaction container 20 (see Okabayashi, Fig. 1, [0064]).
Okabayashi fails to teach wherein the stirrer comprises one or more of: a mechanically driven stirring rod, a magnetic stirrer, an ultrasonic stirrer, an electromagnetic wave-based stirrer, and an electrolytic stirrer.
However, Limbach et al. teaches stirring reaction mixtures consisting of samples and reagents in the cuvettes by stationary mechanical stirring (see Limbach et al., [0057], [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stirring section of Okabayashi by incorporating the mechanical stirring (as taught by Limach et al.), for the benefit of maintaining an immovable arrangement for the stationary cuvette arrays, where individual detectors are fixedly assigned to each cuvette, making it not necessary to measure when moving past detectors with a plurality of cuvettes in stop-and-go operation, allowing for more accurate measurements results (see Limbach et al., [0143]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 19. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches the apparatus as claimed in the claim 2, wherein the test liquid includes a combination of a specimen and a reagent or a combination of water and dye (see Okabayashi, [0063], Fig. 1, discloses dispensing and combining a reagent and sample into a reaction container 20.).
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach et al. teaches the exact limitations of claim 19. Specifically, Okabayashi teaches the apparatus as claimed in the claim 2, wherein the test liquid includes a combination of a specimen and a reagent or a combination of water and dye (see Okabayashi, [0063], Fig. 1, discloses dispensing and combining a reagent and sample into a reaction container 20.).
Regarding claim 21, Okabayashi fails to teach wherein the photometric device is configured to radiate the light through the test liquid contained in the first cuvette during the thermal convection of the test liquid.
However, Limbach et al. teaches the steps of the automatic chemical, biochemical, and/or immunochemical analysis of liquid samples, where part of the steps comprise mixing and controlling the temperatures of the liquid in the cuvette by means of ultrasonic agitation and temperature control unit with heating foils in thermal contact with cuvettes. The contents of the cuvette are then optically measured by means of an optical measurement unit, which comprises a stationary detector unit and a plurality of LED light sources emitting in spectrally different manner in the UV/VS/NIR wavelength ranges, fixedly assigned to each cuvette of a given cuvette array (see Limbach et al., [0123], [0126]-[0129], [0142], [0180]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer of Okabayashi to incorporate supplying light into the cuvettes containing a sample liquid while being under thermal convection (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of being cost effective by reducing mechanical complexity by using a stationary light source array for a plurality of cuvettes for optical measurement, with each cuvette having its own individual photometer (see Limbach et al. [0149]-[0151]).
Regarding claim 22, Okabayashi fails to teach wherein the photometric device is configured to radiate the light through the test liquid contained in the first cuvette during the thermal convection of the test liquid.
However, Limbach et al. teaches the steps of the automatic chemical, biochemical, and/or immunochemical analysis of liquid samples, where part of the steps comprise mixing and controlling the temperatures of the liquid in the cuvette by means of ultrasonic agitation and temperature control unit with heating foils in thermal contact with cuvettes. The contents of the cuvette are then optically measured by means of an optical measurement unit, which comprises a stationary detector unit and a plurality of LED light sources emitting in spectrally different manner in the UV/VS/NIR wavelength ranges, fixedly assigned to each cuvette of a given cuvette array (see Limbach et al., [0123], [0126]-[0129], [0142], [0180]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic analyzer of Okabayashi to incorporate supplying light into the cuvettes containing a sample liquid while being under thermal convection (as taught by Limbach et al.), for the benefit of being cost effective by reducing mechanical complexity by using a stationary light source array for a plurality of cuvettes for optical measurement, with each cuvette having its own individual photometer (see Limbach et al. [0149]-[0151]).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi and Limbach et al. as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Trauner et al. (US PG-Pub 20040076946 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Okabayashi teaches a stirring section 17, for stirring a sample and a reagent dispensed in a reaction container 20 (see Okabayashi, Fig. 1, [0064]). Okabayashi additionally teaches determination of favorable stirring of reaction liquid W, by calculating and graphing the standard deviation of absorbance of each photometry point, and comparing that value to the threshold LT found from the standard deviation of a plurality of absorbances of a homogenously-stirred reaction liquid W (see Okabayashi, [0088]). The control section 31 and determination section 34, using a series of steps, judges whether the standard deviation of absorbance found in a plurality of photometry points is found to have a plurality of points smaller than the threshold LT. The favorability of stirring can be determined if a plurality of points is below the threshold LT, while stirring is unfavorable if there isn't a plurality of points below the threshold LT see Okabayashi, [0091]-[0097], Fig. 9-10).
The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, at least in part, to: determine an optimum stirring rate based at least on the result of the stirring quality determined by the processing circuitry; and transmit a control signal to operate the stirrer for agitating the test liquid based at least on the optimum stirring rate.
However, in the analogous art of integrated barrel-mounted wine laboratory and winemaking apparatus, Trauner et al. teaches a stirring mechanism, wherein based on the optical scattering data acquired by optical sensors in the rod 20, the computer sends instructions to the microprocessor 56 in the lab 14 that directs the power supply 58 to drive the motor 52 engaging the gear assembly 54 to move the stirring rod 20 to agitate the wine 5. This feedback-controlled system varies the rate and frequency of stirring to achieve the optimal user desired suspension of sedimentation in the wine correlating with the optical scattering properties (see Trauner et al., [0084], Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stirring section and the favorability of stirring found in Okabayashi, to incorporate a feedback-controlled system for stirring (as taught by Trauner et al.), for the benefit of continuous monitoring of a fluid's properties while stirring, and adjusting the stirring rate parameters in accordance to current properties (see Trauner et al., [0057]-[0058], [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Okabayashi teaches a stirring section 17, for stirring a sample and a reagent dispensed in a reaction container 20 (see Okabayashi, Fig. 1, [0064]). Okabayashi additionally teaches determination of favorable stirring of reaction liquid W, by calculating and graphing the standard deviation of absorbance of each photometry point, and comparing that value to the threshold LT found from the standard deviation of a plurality of absorbances of a homogenously-stirred reaction liquid W (see Okabayashi, [0088]). The control section 31 and determination section 34, using a series of steps, judges whether the standard deviation of absorbance found in a plurality of photometry points is found to have a plurality of points smaller than the threshold LT. The favorability of stirring can be determined if a plurality of points is below the threshold LT, while stirring is unfavorable if there isn't a plurality of points below the threshold LT see Okabayashi, [0091]-[0097], Fig. 9-10).
The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured, at least in part, to: determine an optimum stirring rate based at least on the result of the stirring quality determined by the processing circuitry; and transmit a control signal to operate the stirrer for agitating the test liquid based at least on the optimum stirring rate.
However, Trauner et al. teaches a stirring mechanism, wherein based on the optical scattering data acquired by optical sensors in the rod 20, the computer sends instructions to the microprocessor 56 in the lab 14 that directs the power supply 58 to drive the motor 52 engaging the gear assembly 54 to move the stirring rod 20 to agitate the wine 5. This feedback-controlled system varies the rate and frequency of stirring to achieve the optimal user desired suspension of sedimentation in the wine correlating with the optical scattering properties (see Trauner et al., [0084], Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stirring section and the favorability of stirring found in Okabayashi, to incorporate a feedback-controlled system for stirring (as taught by Trauner et al.), for the benefit of continuous monitoring of a fluid's properties while stirring, and adjusting the stirring rate parameters in accordance to current properties (see Trauner et al., [0057]-[0058], [0060]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabayashi and Limbach et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US PG-Pub 20150033831 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Okabayashi teaches that the light source irradiates light onto a reaction container containing a reaction liquid, and the light receiving section calculates the absorbance based on the amount of light transmitted through the reaction liquid in the reaction container and received by the light receiving section, thereby analyzing the sample (see Okabayashi, [0002]).
The combination of Okabayashi and Limbach fails to teach that light is scattered through the first cuvette.
However, in the analogous art of automatic analyzer, Yamashita et al. teaches a multi-wavelength light source that irradiates with multi-wavelength light a reaction cuvette containing a liquid mixture of a sample to be analyzed and a reagent; means that detects the amount of light transmitted through the reaction cuvette and internal contents of the reaction cuvette (see Yamashita et al., [0007]). Yamashita additionally teaches a single-wavelength light source that irradiates the reaction cuvette with single-wavelength light; and means that detects the amount of single-wavelength light scattered from the reaction cuvette and the internal contents of the reaction cuvette (see Yamashita et al., [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light irradiation and receiver section of Okabayashi by incorporating the single wavelength light source and a detector for obtaining the amount of scattered light from the reaction cuvette (as taught by Yamashita), for the benefit of suppressing the decrease in analytical accuracy (see [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY CHING-TIAN COLENA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797 /LYLE ALEXANDER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1797