DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 were previously pending and subject to an Allowability Notice office action mailed 09/18/2025. No Claims were amended, cancelled, or added in in an RCE request filed on 12/18/2025. Therefore claims 1-20 are currently pending and subject to the non-final office action below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks p. 9-14, filed 02/28/2025, with respect to 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 103 rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10, 13-14, 16 and 19-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1/8/16: “the detected changes” should read “the data changes”.
Claim 1/8/16:” the database level” should read “a database level”.
Claim 1/8/16: “the harmonized data” should read “the standardized data”.
Claim 2: “the transformation and harmonization of the captured data” should read “the transformation of the captured data”
Claim 3/5/13/16: “the data layer” should read “a data layer”.
Claim 6/14/19: “the transformed and harmonized data” should read “the transformed data”.
Claim 7/20: “to enhance the change data capture process” should read “to enhance the change data capture mechanism”.
Claim 10: “wherein the Headless engines are connected to the data layer” should read “wherein Headless engines are connected to a data layer…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a data governance module” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations of claims 2, 4 and 17 are redundant and do not further limit what has already been claimed in the independent claims. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makhija (US 2020/0279200) in view of Hadar (US 2023/0067777) and Vasudevan (US 2019/0102418).
As per claim 1/8/16, Makhija discloses A computerized method for change data capture in an ERP agnostic real-time data mesh, comprising:
(a) monitoring, by a data lake, a plurality of transactional systems, including at least one Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) system, for real-time data changes (paragraph 42-43),
(c) transforming, by the data lake, the captured data into a standardized format, wherein the transformation comprises applying schema adaptation techniques, data normalization, and enrichment processes to maintain consistency across disparate data sources (paragraph 38, 42, 46, 66, 93);
(f) disseminating insights from the Global Data Lake to one or more computing devices, wherein the dissemination comprises exposing harmonized data through API-driven interfaces to enable real-time data synchronization for transactional systems (paragraph 52, 61).
However, Makhija does not disclose but Hadar discloses (d) allocating, by the Real time data mesh, data resources within a distributed storage framework, including dynamically provisioning a plurality of Purposive Datastores (PDSes) within a Global Data Lake, wherein each PDS is configured for optimized retrieval based on at least one of data classification, access frequency, or computational workload (paragraph 37, 42, 49, 59, 62, 66) ;
(e) integrating, by the RTDM, the harmonized data into a federated data processing layer, wherein the federated layer enables parallel query execution across the plurality of PDSes to facilitate real-time analytics and decision-making (paragraph 32, 49, 82, 87, 107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Hadar in the teaching of Makhija, in order to create a supply chain of data and analytics within an enterprise(please see Hadar paragraph 9).
However, Makhija does not disclose but Vasudevan discloses wherein the monitoring comprises capturing updates, modifications, or new transactions using at least one of log-based change tracking, trigger-based event detection, or periodic polling;
(b) capturing and processing the detected changes using a Change Data Capture (CDC) mechanism of the RTDM, wherein the CDC mechanism comprises:
(i) a log-based change tracking process that captures transactional updates from system-generated logs, enabling continuous synchronization without modifying primary data structures (paragraph 6, 26, 28 and 35);
(ii) a trigger-based event detection system that intercepts real-time data modifications at the database level for immediate change recording; and
(iii) a polling-based retrieval mechanism that periodically queries data sources to detect and process updates in environments where event-driven approaches are not feasible;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations as taught by Vasudevan in the teaching of Makhija, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, Makhija discloses wherein the transofmraiton and harmonization of the captured data involve data cleansing, normalization, and enrichment techniques to ensure data quality and consistency (paragraph 38, 42, 46 and 101).
As per claim 3, Makhija discloses wherein the data layer includes the Global Data Lake configured as a scalable and fault tolerant storage infrastructure, providing a central repository for the captured and transformed data within the real time data lake (paragraph 9-10, 35, 46-48, the data lake comprises a plurality of relational and non-relational databases which Examiner interprets as scalable and fault tolerant.). However, Makhija does not disclose but Hadar discloses a data mesh (paragraph 37, 42, 49, 59, 62, 66)(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 4/17, Makhija discloses implementing change data capture using one or more trigger based, machine learning and/or polling based CDC algorithms (paragraph 12, 53 and 76).
As per claim 5/18, Makhija discloses wherein the data layer comprises the Purposive Datastores (PDSes) optimized for efficient retrieval and storage of specific types of data (paragraph 10 and 47).
As per claim 6/19, Makhija discloses storing the transformed and harmonized data in a cloud-based storage infrastructure (paragraph 77).
As per claim 7/20, Makhija discloses applying artificial intelligence and/or machine learning models to enhance the change data capture process, facilitating automated analysis, and decision making the real time data lake (paragraph 9, 47, 60, 78 and 93). However, Makhija does not disclose but Hadar discloses that a data mesh (paragraph 37, 42, 49, 59, 62, 66)(please see claim 1 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 9, Makhija discloses a Data Governance Module for ensuring data integrity, security, and compliance within the real-time data lake (paragraph 42, 46, 54, 64, 67) However, Makhija does not disclose but Hadar discloses a real time data mesh (paragraph 7, 42, 49, 59, 62, 66)(please see claim 8 rejection for combination rationale).
As per claim 13, Makhija discloses wherein the data layer comprises the Purposive Datastores (PDSes) optimized for efficient retrieval and storage of specific types of data relevant to the supply chain domain (paragraph 10, 47 and 93).
As per claim 14, Makhija discloses a cloud-based storage infrastructure for storing the transformed and harmonized data (paragraph 77).
As per claim 15, Makhija discloses artificial intelligence and/or machine learning models used to enhance the change data capture process, enabling automated analysis and decision-making within the real-time data mesh (paragraph 9, 47, 60, 78 and 93).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makhija (US 2020/0279200) in view of Hadar (US 2023/0067777) and Vasudevan (US 2019/0102418), as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8, in further view of Grunenberger (US 2015/0189014).
As per claim 10, Makhija discloses wherein the cloud engines are connected to the data layer through API Connectivity, enabling integration and communication between the components (paragraph 52, 54, 64, 90). However, Makhija does not disclose but Grunenberger discloses that the engines are headless engines (paragraph 31 and 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations above as taught by Grunenberger in the teaching of makhija, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makhija (US 2020/0279200) in view of Hadar (US 2023/0067777) and Vasudevan (US 2019/0102418), as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8, in further view of Gangadarappa (US 2021/0350429), hereinafter “Gang”.
As per claim 11, Makhija does not disclose but Gang discloses wherein the System of Records integrates with external enterprise systems, including ERPs, for data exchange and synchronization (paragraph 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitations above as taught by Gang in the teaching of Makhija, in order to obtain additional information and/or instructions (please see Gang, paragraph 37).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makhija (US 2020/0279200) in view of Hadar (US 2023/0067777) and Vasudevan (US 2019/0102418), as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8, in further view of Ballaro (US 2023/0419387) and Hastman (US 2014/0279254)
As per claim 12, Makhija discloses a data governance module (paragraph 54). However, Makhija does not disclose but Ballaro discloses wherein the Data Governance Module includes functionalities for catalog management, order status and tracking (OST) management, special pricing management, and quote management (158-159, 160, 170, 694 and 781).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Ballaro in the teaching of Makhija, in order to provide an efficient and simple procurement process that is easily customizable for multiple organizations and multiple vendors with simple and complex business terms, and can also provide a single point-of-access for both businesses and consumers to interface, interact, and implement and execute transactions, in accordance with existing or newly defined relationships, using a custom and configurable methodology for realizing their requirements (please see Ballaro paragraph 16).
However, Makhija in view of Ballaro does not disclose but Hastman discloses Pimcore-based product data management (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Hastman in the teaching of Makhija in view of Ballaro, in order to automatically enables communications service providers to define and configure products and/or services and subsequently offer such products and/or services to customers in near real-time (please see Hastman abstract).
Conclusion
OMAR . ZEROUAL
Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/OMAR ZEROUAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628