Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been considered but are not persuasive. The combination of Zhu, Wang and Huang clearly discloses each and every limitation in the amended claims. Especially, Zhu and Huang disclose an access type of the terminal device is access of the terminal device through a satellite (Huang, page 4, last two para., the satellite terminal includes the first session device and the satellite remote device, that is, the first session device is part of the satellite device (which implies the access type of the terminal device is access of the terminal device through a satellite). Furthermore, the connection of the first session device and the IMS network is through the satellite remote device, Fig. 4, depicted below, therefore, the access type of the terminal device is THROUGH a satellite. The information that the access type is through a satellite may be carried in a P-Access-Network-Info header field of the registration message (the P-Access-Network-Info is a header field in the SIP protocol) taught by Zhu). Detailed response can be found in the rejection of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 15-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20090190533) in view of Wang (US 20210092609) further in view of Huang (WO 2020088209, machine translated version is used).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu discloses an application server, comprising:
a transceiver, configured to receive first indication information transmitted by a terminal device (fig. 2, 9, [0037], when registering, the terminal notifies an access network type identity to the network side), the first indication information being used for indicating that an access type of the terminal device is access of the terminal device [0101], the current access mode type may be carried in a P-Access-Network-Info header field of the registration message (the P-Access-Network-Info is a header field in the SIP protocol)).
Zhu discloses, [0053], the routing execution entity performs the call connection in the access mode selected by the routing decision entity, which implies that Zhu discloses a processor is configured to update settings of a related network function entity according to the first indication information. To further clarify this feature, Wang discloses a processor, configured to call and run computer-executable instructions from a memory, wherein the processor is configured to update settings of a related network function entity according to the first indication information (Wang, fig. 1, 9, [0050][0060-68], the acquired UE behavioral information is analyzed to determine a risk for the UE; the at least one network function entity is triggered to perform policy update or parameter adjustment for the UE, here the at least one network function entity can be co-located with the server).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of properly accessing the network as given by Zhu with the teachings of controlling the access of the network given by Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure safe and efficient operation of the mobile communication network system (Wang, [0037]).
Zhu and Wang do not explicitly disclose the first indication information being used for indicating that an access type of the terminal device is access of the terminal device through a satellite;
wherein the processor is further configured to set, according to the access type of the terminal device, transmission and reception of data packets to or from a protocol layer of an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS).
Huang discloses the first indication information being used for indicating that an access type of the terminal device is access of the terminal device through a satellite (Huang, page 4, last two para., the requesting party is a satellite terminal and the requested party is IMS, the first request message includes the first session terminal ’s Identification information, address information, and requested party information (for example, the phone number of the second conversation terminal, but not limited thereto). Here, the terminal’s identification information may indicate the terminal device a satellite, therefore, the access type of the terminal device is through a satellite, figs. 4, 6-7. The satellite terminal includes the first session device and the satellite remote device, that is, the first session device is part of the satellite device (which implies the access type of the terminal device is access of the terminal device through a satellite). Furthermore, the connection of the first session device and the IMS network is through the satellite remote device, Fig. 4, therefore, the access type of the terminal device is THROUGH a satellite. The information that the access type is through a satellite may be carried in a P-Access-Network-Info header field of the registration message (the P-Access-Network-Info is a header field in the SIP protocol) taught by Zhu);
wherein the processor is further configured to set, according to the access type of the terminal device, transmission or reception of data packets to or from a protocol layer of an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) (Huang, fig. 7, page 4, last para., when the requesting party is IMS and the requested party is a satellite terminal, the IMS creates a session with the satellite end station based on a preset session control protocol, such as IMS protocol. Under the IMS protocol, data are transmitted or received to or from the IMS protocol layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of properly accessing the network as given by Zhu with the teachings of controlling the access of the satellite network given by Huang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a session control method and a satellite ground station, which greatly reduces the delay of satellite communication (Huang, Summary of the Invention section).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected similarly with claim 17.
Regarding claims 19, 7 and 15, Zhu, Huang and Wang disclose the application server of claim 17, wherein the first indication information is carried by a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) Invite message (Zhu, [0101], the current access mode type may be carried in a P-Access-Network-Info header field of the registration message (the P-Access-Network-Info is a header field in the SIP protocol. Huang, Background technique section).
Regarding claims 20, 8 and 16, Zhu and Wang disclose the application server of claim 17, wherein the application server comprises an application server in the IMS;
or the application server comprises at least one of: a Proxy-Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF), an Interrogating-Call Session Control Function (I-CSCF), a Service Call Continuity Application Server (SCC AS), or an E.164 Number URI Mapping (ENUM) server (Zhu, [0003][0038], IMS, P-CSF) .
It is noted that the applicant uses selective language in this claim and the examiner is only showing one of the claimed options.
Claim(s) 4-5, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wang and Huang further in view of RIM (Addition of 802.11n to P-Access-Network-Info header, 3GPP TSG-CT WG1Meeting #52, C1-081348 Jeju Island, Korea, 7th – 11th April 2008, cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 4, 12, Zhu, Huang and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
setting, by the terminal device, at least one of a value of a first timer or a value of a second timer according to the access type (Wang, figs. 2-4, the UE receives policy information or second indication from the network/server, trigger the UE to raise an alarm setting, that is, the UE implicitly sets at least one value of a timer).
Zhu, Huang and Wang do not explicitly disclose
wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the value of the first timer or the value of the second timer, wherein the first timer comprises a retransmission timer between the terminal device and a Proxy-Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF), and the second timer comprises a wait timer for reception of a reply message by the terminal device.
RIM discloses setting, by the terminal device, at least one of a value of a first timer or a value of a second timer according to the access type (RIM, Table 7.8, there are many timers. Here, the content of the Table 7.8 taught by RIM can replace the second indication taught by Wang; so that, the UE can set the values of the timers accordingly),
wherein the first indication information further comprises at least one of the value of the first timer or the value of the second timer, wherein the first timer comprises a retransmission timer between the terminal device and a Proxy-Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF), and the second timer comprises a wait timer for reception of a reply message by the terminal device (RIM, Table 7.8, timer T2 (max retransmit interval); Timer H (wait time for ACK receipt).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of properly accessing the network as given by Zhu with the teachings of setting operational parameters given by RIM. The motivation for doing so would have been to be compliance with the 3PGG standard.
Regarding claims 5, 13, Zhu, Huang and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, at least one of a value of a first timer or a value of a second timer transmitted by the application server (Wang, figs. 2-4, the UE receives policy information or second indication from the network/server, trigger the UE to raise an alarm setting, here, the second indication may consist of at least one value of a timer).
Zhu and Wang do not explicitly disclose
wherein the first timer comprises a retransmission timer between the terminal device and a P-CSCF, and the second timer comprises a wait timer for reception of a reply message by the terminal device.
RIM discloses receiving, by the terminal device, at least one of a value of a first timer or a value of a second timer transmitted by the application server (RIM, Table 7.8, there are many timers. Here, the content of the Table 7.8 taught by RIM can replace the second indication taught by Wang),
wherein the first timer comprises a retransmission timer between the terminal device and a P-CSCF, and the second timer comprises a wait timer for reception of a reply message by the terminal device (RIM, Table 7.8, timer T2 (max retransmit interval); Timer H (wait time for ACK receipt).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of properly accessing the network as given by Zhu with the teachings of setting operational parameters given by RIM. The motivation for doing so would have been to be compliance with the 3PGG standard.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, Wang and Huang further in view of Dong (US 20190363865).
Regarding claims 6, 14, Zhu, Huang and Wang disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhu, Huang and Wang do not explicitly disclose setting, by the terminal device, a duration of a buffer according to the access type.
Dong discloses setting, by the terminal device, a duration of a buffer according to the access type (Dong, [0267], needs to determine a current length of the queue/buffer based on status information fed back in second indication information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of properly accessing the network as given by Zhu with the teachings of buffer management given by Dong. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve system flexibility, and further increase the system throughput (Dong, [0301]).
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474