DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 1-3, 6 and 8, “the reaction well” should read – the at least one reaction well – for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a blocking member” in claim 1; “a blocking member-receiving portion” in claim 2; “a storage portion” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the reaction wells" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-8 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
The term “narrow” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “narrow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a blocking member-receiving portion concavely formed on the body frame, disposed corresponding to each reaction well" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1 and 6 require only one reaction well, and it is unclear which reaction wells are being referred to by “each reaction well.” Moreover, it is unclear if claim 6 requires a single blocking member as previously recited in independent claim 1 or multiple blocking members.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the receptacle" in line 5. It is unclear whether said limitation is referring to one of the plurality of receptacles or the reaction receptacle recited earlier in the claim. Claims 10-11 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the receptacle" in line 9. It is unclear if said limitation is referring to one of the plurality of receptacles or the reaction receptacle recited earlier in the claim. Claims 13-14 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (already or record, US 2021/0053059; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a PCR plate comprising: a body having at least one reaction well (FGIS. 1-4: plate (200) reaction well (W); [0060]); an insertion portion extending from the body to be inserted into a nucleic acid extraction cartridge and having an injection port, into which a nucleic acid solution is injected (FIG. 3: portion (CC) of the PCR plate having an injection hole (h1); [0067]); a flow channel, along which the nucleic acid solution flows from the injection port to the reaction wells (FIGS. 3-4: flow channel unit (J); [0066]); and a blocking member mounted on the body and blocking a reverse flow of the nucleic acid solution from the at least one reaction well towards the flow channel (e.g., see FIGS. 2-3: valve (V); [0072]).
Regarding claim 5, Park further discloses wherein the blocking member comprises an elastic material ([0094]).
Therefore, Park meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 5.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (already or record, US 2022/0176373; hereinafter “’373”).
Regarding claim 9, ‘373 discloses a nucleic acid extraction cartridge comprising: a cartridge cover formed with a plurality of receptacles each receiving a solution for DNA extraction and having a partition structure (FIGS. 13-15: cover (R1) having partitioned receptacles (22-26); [0134]); and a cartridge body coupled to the cartridge cover through an insertion structure and formed with a reaction receptacle in which the solution supplied from the receptacles reacts with a specimen or is purified (FIGS. 13-15: cartridge body portion (R2) coupled to the cartridge cover portion (R1) in an insertion manner and includes a reaction accommodating portion (11); [0134]).
Therefore, ’373 meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘373 (already or record, US 2022/0176373) in view of Baltekin et al. (US 2021/0008554; hereinafter “Baltekin”).
Regarding claim 1, ‘373 discloses a PCR plate comprising: a body having at least one reaction well (FIG. 8: PCR plate (200) including reaction wells (W); [0095]-[0097]); an insertion portion extending from the body to be inserted into a nucleic acid extraction cartridge and having an injection port, into which a nucleic acid solution is injected (FIG. 8: portion (220) having injection portion (h1); [0096]); and a flow channel, along which the nucleic acid solution flows from the injection port to the reaction wells (FIG. 8: channel 231; [0096], [0101]). ‘373 does not explicitly disclose a blocking member mounted on the body and blocking a reverse flow of the nucleic acid solution from the at least one reaction well towards the flow channel. Baltekin discloses a microfluidic device comprising a plate (substrate (110); FIG. 1; [0042])), a flow output channel (140; FIG. 1; [0042]), a plurality of flow channels (FIG. 1: channel 120) connected to the flow output channel ([0042]). The plurality of flow channels include blocking member (obstructions 125) designed to prevent flow of materials from the plurality of flow channels to the flow output channel ([0042]). In view of Baltekin, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the blocking member of Baltekin adjacent to the entrance of the at least one reaction well of the plate of ‘373 to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification in order to regulate fluid flow between components of a plate as suggested by Baltekin.
Regarding claim 2, modified ‘373 discloses wherein the body comprises: a body frame having the at least one reaction well (FIG. 8: PCR plate (200) including reaction wells (W); [0095]-[0097]); a connecting channel connecting (see FIG. 8 of ‘373, annotated and reproduced below); a storage portion concavely formed on the body to communicate with the flow channel and receiving the nucleic acid solution supplied thereto (see FIG. 8 of ‘373, annotated and reproduced below); and a channel guide communicating with the storage portion (see FIG. 8 of ‘373, annotated and reproduced below).
Modified ‘373 does not explicitly disclose a blocking member-receiving portion concavely formed on the body frame and receiving the blocking member therein. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement of the blocking member on the PCR plate such that the blocking member is received in a blocking member-receiving portion concavely formed on the body frame, because such modification would have been a matter of an engineering design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious since the claimed blocking member would not perform differently than the prior art device of modified ‘373.
Regarding the limitations “a connecting channel connecting the blocking member-receiving portion to the at least one reaction well; a storage portion concavely formed on the body to communicate with the flow channel and receiving the nucleic acid solution supplied thereto; and a channel guide communicating with the storage portion and guiding the nucleic acid solution to flow toward the blocking member,” the blocking member of ‘373 is arranged adjacent the entrance of the at least one reaction well and PCR plate of modified ‘373 thus meets said limitations.
Regarding claim 3, modified ‘373 does not explicitly disclose wherein the connecting channel has a bottleneck formed from the blocking member towards the at least one reaction well and having a narrow width. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the connecting channel of modified ‘373 to comprised the claimed shape for the purpose of regulating and achieving desired fluid flow into the at least one reaction well.
Regarding claim 6, modified further discloses wherein the body comprises: a body frame having the at least one reaction well ((FIG. 8: PCR plate (200) including reaction wells (W); [0095]-[0097]); and a connecting channel connecting (see FIG. 8 of ‘373, annotated and reproduced above) the blocking member-receiving portion to the at least one reaction well (blocking member of modified ‘373 is in fluidic communication with the connecting channel. Modified ‘373 does not explicitly disclose a blocking member-receiving portion concavely formed on the body frame, disposed corresponding to each reaction well, and formed in a circular shape to receive the blocking member having a circular shape. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement of the blocking member on the PCR plate such that the blocking member is received in blocking member-receiving portion concavely formed on the body frame, and formed in a circular shape to receive the blocking member having a circular shape, because such modification would have been a matter of an engineering design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious since the claimed blocking member would not perform differently than the prior art device of modified ‘373.
Regarding claim 7, modified ‘373 does not explicitly disclose wherein the blocking member comprises an elastic material. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the blocking member of modified ‘373 with elastic material, because doing so would have been the simple substitution of one known material for another for the predictable result of forming a blocking member. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, modified ‘373 further discloses wherein a sheet member is joined to the at least one reaction well (transparent cover film; see ‘373 at [0099]). Furthermore, the limitation “by thermal fusion” does not add any additional structural limitation to the claimed sheet member.
Regarding claim 12, ‘373 discloses a nucleic acid extraction cartridge assembly comprising: a nucleic acid extraction cartridge (FIGS. 13-15); and a PCR plate receiving a nucleic acid solution supplied from the nucleic acid extraction cartridge in a reaction well receiving a dried PCR mixture (FIG. 8: PCR plate (200) including reaction wells (W); [0095]-[0097]), wherein the nucleic acid extraction cartridge comprises: a cartridge cover formed with a plurality of receptacles each receiving a solution for DNA extraction and having a partition structure (FIGS. 13-15: cover (R1) having partitioned receptacles (22-26); [0134]); and a cartridge body coupled to the cartridge cover through an insertion structure and formed with a reaction receptacle in which the solution supplied from the receptacle reacts with a specimen or is purified (FIGS. 13-15: cartridge body portion (R2) coupled to the cartridge cover portion (R1) in an insertion manner and includes a reaction accommodating portion (11); [0134]), and wherein the PCR plate comprises: a body having at least one reaction well (FIG. 8: PCR plate (200) including reaction wells (W); [0095]-[0097]); an insertion portion extending from the body to be inserted into the nucleic acid extraction cartridge and having an injection port, into which the nucleic acid solution is injected (FIG. 8: portion (220) having injection portion (h1); [0096]); and a flow channel, along which the nucleic acid solution flows from the injection port to the at least one reaction well (FIG. 8: channel 231; [0096], [0101]). ‘373 does not explicitly disclose a blocking member mounted on the body and blocking a reverse flow of the nucleic acid solution from the at least one reaction well towards the flow channel. Baltekin discloses a microfluidic device comprising a plate (substrate (110); FIG. 1; [0042])), a flow output channel (140; FIG. 1; [0042]), a plurality of flow channels (FIG. 1: channel 120) connected to the flow output channel ([0042]). The plurality of flow channels include blocking member (obstructions 125) designed to prevent flow of materials from the plurality of flow channels to the flow output channel ([0042]). In view of Baltekin, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the blocking member of Baltekin adjacent to the entrance of the at least one reaction well of the plate of ‘373 to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification in order to regulate fluid flow between components of a plate as suggested by Baltekin.
Regarding claim 13, modified ‘373 discloses wherein the cartridge cover comprises a sealing portion contacting one side surface of each of the receptacles of the cartridge body (receptacles are sealed with a film or the like; [0138]). ‘373 does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing portion is rubber portion comprising an elastic material. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the sealing portion of modified ‘373 with rubber comprising an elastic material, because doing so would have been the simple substitution of one known material for another for the predictable result of forming a sealing portion sealing receptacles. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 14, modified ‘373 discloses wherein the nucleic acid extraction cartridge is provided with a sealing member and preventing leakage of the nucleic acid solution (nucleic acid extraction cartridge (R2) includes at least one seal; [0148]). ‘373 does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing member is rubber member comprising an elastic material. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the sealing member of modified ‘373 with rubber comprising an elastic material, because doing so would have been the simple substitution of one known material for another for the predictable result of forming a sealing member sealing components. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘373 as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 10, ‘373 discloses the nucleic acid extraction cartridge according to claim 9 as set forth above. ‘373 discloses wherein the cartridge cover comprises a sealing portion contacting one side surface of each of the receptacles of the cartridge body (receptacles are sealed with a film or the like; [0138]). ‘373 does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing portion is rubber portion comprising an elastic material. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the sealing portion of ‘373 with rubber comprising an elastic material, because doing so would have been the simple substitution of one known material for another for the predictable result of forming a sealing portion sealing receptacles. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 11, ‘373 discloses wherein the nucleic acid extraction cartridge is provided with a sealing member and preventing leakage of the nucleic acid solution (nucleic acid extraction cartridge (R2) includes at least one seal; [0148]). ‘373 does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing member is rubber member comprising an elastic material. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of the sealing member of ‘373 with rubber comprising an elastic material, because doing so would have been the simple substitution of one known material for another for the predictable result of forming a sealing member sealing components. Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799