FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/12/2026 has been received and claims 1-20 are pending.
The amendment to the claims filed on 6/12/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because withdrawn claims do not have correct status identifier. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7, 10 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 of Claim 8, delete “fluid” and insert --disinfecting solution--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “securing members” in claim 19.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure(s) for the “securing members” comprises tab receiving structures 30a and 30b as discloses in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 12, it is not clear whether “an instrument receiving opening” in lines 3-4 is same feature as “an instrument receiving opening” in lines 5-6 of the parent claim 1.
In Claim 12, it is not clear “a first end” in line 4 is attempting to set forth the same or a different configuration than “a first end” as set forth in the parent claim 1.
In Claim 14, it is not clear “a first end” in line 2 is attempting to set forth the same or a different configuration than “a first end” as set forth in the parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carter (5683655).
As to Claim 1, Carter (‘655) discloses an apparatus (1) (see Figures 1-7) for cleaning an object capable of being a medical instrument comprising:
a housing (2; 4) having a first end (i.e. where 7 rests on top of 4; 22) and a second end (50; 18);
a sponge (3) that is adapted to be received within (i.e. 20) said housing (2), wherein said sponge (3) includes an instrument receiving opening (i.e. 17 facing/contacting 16, 23) extending from a first end (i.e. end/side facing/contacting 16, 23) to a second end (i.e. end/side facing/contacting 18, 19) of said sponge (3) along a longitudinal axis of said sponge (see Figures 3 and 5B-5C);
an entrance lid (14; 7) that is removably carried by said first end of said housing (2; 4) (see Figures 1-7);
an insertion opening (16; 8, 9) defined in said entrance lid (14, 7), said insertion opening (16) being adapted to receive a medical instrument so that at least a portion of the medical instrument may be inserted into said insertion opening (16) and contact said sponge (3) (see Figures 2-3, 5B-5C and 5E);
a bottom (6; 11) that is removably carried by said second end (18; 50) of said housing (2; 4), wherein said bottom (6, 11) is adapted to store (vis within 6; 53) a disinfecting solution (5) (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 55-57, Col. 6 lines 55-60); and
a transfer opening (19) defined in said second end (18) of said housing (2), whereby when said bottom (6; 11, 53) is secured to said second end (18), said bottom (6; 11, 53) is in fluid communication with said housing (2) (see entire document, particularly Col. 5 lines 55-57, Col. 6 lines 55-60), and wherein said transfer opening (19) capable of allowing the medical instrument to pass through said sponge (3) and into said bottom (6; 11, 53) to contact the disinfecting solution (5) stored therein (see Figures 1-7).
As to Claim 12, Carter (‘655) discloses that the sponge (3) includes a disinfectant (see entire document, particularly Col. 4 lines 47-50) and is arrange so that when the medical instrument enters said housing (2) through said entrance lid (14), the medical instrument passes through an instrument receiving opening (i.e. 17 facing/contacting 16, 23) defined in the first end (i.e. end/side facing/contacting 16, 23) of said sponge (3) and the medical device contacts said disinfectant (5) (see Figures 5A-5D).
As to Claim 14, Carter (‘655) discloses that the instrument receiving opening (i.e. 17 facing/contacting 16, 23) defined in the first end (i.e. end/side facing/contacting 16, 23) of said sponge (3) extends generally parallel to a longitudinal axis of said sponge (3) (see entire document, particularly Figure 3, Col. 4 lines 44-47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (20110064512) in view of Chiu (20170232121) or Price (6142297) and Hirst (20110146012).
As to Claim 1, Shaw (‘512) discloses an apparatus (200) for cleaning a medical instrument (see entire document, particularly Figures 28-34 and 36-46, Abstract) comprising:
a housing (202) having a first end (i.e. at 205 and 208) and a second end (i.e. where 212 is connected to 202) (see entire document, particularly Figures 28-34);
a sponge (204) that is adapted to be received within said housing (202) (see Figures 29 and 33-34);
an entrance lid (206) that is removably carried by said first end (i.e. at 205 and 208) of said housing (202) (see Figure 29);
an insertion opening (205) being adapted to receive a medical instrument so that at least a portion of the medical instrument may be inserted into said insertion opening (205) and contact said sponge (204) (see entire document, particularly Figures 29-34 and 46, Abstract);
a bottom (212) that is removably carried by said second end (i.e. where 212 is connected to 202) of said housing (202) (see Figures 32-34), wherein said bottom (212) is adapted to store a disinfecting solution (220) (see Figures 32 and 34); and
a transfer opening (i.e. end where 222 and 224 are located) defined in said second end (i.e. where 212 is connected to 202) of said housing (202), whereby when said bottom (212) is secured to said second end (i.e. where 212 is connected to 202), said bottom (212) is in fluid communication (via 214) with said housing (202) (see Figures 32-34).
Shaw (‘512) does not appear to specifically teach that the insertion opening is defined in said entrance lid, or that the sponge includes an instrument receiving opening extending from a first end to a second end of said sponge along a longitudinal axis of said sponge, or that the transfer opening allows the medical instrument to pass through said sponge and into said bottom to contact the disinfecting solution stored therein.
As to the limitation that the insertion opening is defined in said entrance lid, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an insertion opening in an entrance lid of an apparatus for cleaning an instrument.
Chiu (‘121) discloses an apparatus (100) for cleaning a medical instrument (200; 210) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-43) comprising:
a housing (20) having a first end (i.e. at 22) and a second end (i.e. at the opposite side of 22);
a sponge (50) that is adapted to be received within said housing (20) (see Figures 26A-26B, 29A-29C, and 35);
an entrance lid (30) that is removably carried by said first end (i.e. at 22) of said housing (20) (see Figure 35, p. 3 [0049]); and
an insertion opening (via 33) defined in said entrance lid (30), said insertion opening (via 33) being adapted to receive a medical instrument (200; 210) so that at least a portion of the medical instrument (200; 210) may be inserted into said insertion opening (via 33) and contact said sponge (50) (see entire document, particularly Figures 35-43, p. 2 [0048]);
in order to protect the interior of the housing from the external environment or contaminants prior to use as well as to be a static seal when the medical device is inserted into the apparatus so as to prevent leakage (see entire document, particularly Figures 35-43, p. 2 [0044] – lines 11-14, p. 3 [0051]-[0052]).
Price (‘297) also discloses an apparatus (30) for cleaning a medical instrument (6) (see Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (34) having a first end (42) and a second end (46);
a sanitizing medium (52) that is adapted to be received within said housing (34) (see Figure 1);
an entrance lid (60) that is removably carried by said first end of (42) said housing (34) (see Figures 1-4); and
an insertion opening (78) defined in said entrance lid (60), said insertion opening (78) being adapted to receive a medical instrument (6) so that at least a portion (16, 20) of the medical instrument (6) may be inserted into said insertion opening (78) and contact said sanitizing medium (52) (see Figures 1-2);
in order to allow insertion of the medical instrument for cleaning and to substantially seal the sanitizing medium within the apparatus (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, Col. 3 lines 8-9 and 11-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an insertion opening in the entrance lid of the apparatus of Shaw as a known configuration in order to allow insertion of medical instruments for cleaning but ensure that any sanitizing medium remains substantially within the apparatus as shown by Chiu or Price.
As to the limitations that that the sponge includes an instrument receiving opening extending from a first end to a second end of said sponge along a longitudinal axis of said sponge and that the transfer opening allows the medical instrument to pass through said sponge and into said bottom to contact the disinfecting solution stored therein, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sponge having an instrument receiving opening that extends from a first end to a second end of said sponge along a longitudinal axis of the sponge. Hirst (‘012) discloses an apparatus (100) for cleaning an elongate object/instrument (150) (see Figures 1-4) comprising:
a housing (110, 111) having a first end (i.e. where 112 is connected to 111) and a second end (i.e. where 113 is connected to 111);
a sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) that is adapted to be received within said housing (111) (see Figures 2-3B), wherein the sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) includes an instrument receiving opening (123a) extending from a first end (i.e. end where 132a is located) to a second end (i.e. end opposite where 132b is located and adjacent 113/115) of said sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) along a longitudinal axis of said sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) (sese Figures 2-3B);
an entrance lid (112) that is removably carried by said first end (i.e. where 112 is connected to 111) of said housing (111);
an insertion opening (114) defined in said entrance lid (112), said insertion opening (114) being adapted to receive an elongate object (150) capable of being a medical instrument so that at least a portion of the elongate object/medical instrument (150) may be inserted into said insertion opening (114) and contact said sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) (see Figures 3a-3b);
a bottom (113) that is removably carried by said second end (i.e. where 113 is connected to 111) of said housing (111) (see Figures 1-4);
a transfer opening (i.e. at the bottom of 111) defined in said second end (i.e. where 113 is connected to 111) of said housing (111) (see Figures 2-3B), whereby when said bottom (113) is secured to said second end, said bottom (113) is in fluid communication with said housing (110, 111) (see Figures 2-3B), and wherein said transfer opening (i.e. at the bottom of 111) allows the medical instrument to pass through said sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) and into said bottom (113) capable to contact the disinfecting solution stored therein (see Figures 1-4); and
a handle (120) disposed on an outer surface of said housing (110, 111) for carrying or positioning said housing (110, 111) (see Figures 1-2 and 4),
wherein said sponge (131 – 131a, 131b) includes a disinfectant (140) and is arranged so that when the elongate object/medical instrument (150) enters said housing (111) through said entrance lid (112), the elongate object/medical instrument (150) passes through an instrument receiving opening (132a) defined in a first end of said sponge (131) and the elongate object/medical instrument (150) contacts said disinfectant (140) (see Figures 3A-3B);
in order to treat the entire length of the object/medical instrument (see Figures 3A-3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sponge that includes an instrument receiving opening extending from a first end to a second end of said sponge along a longitudinal axis of said sponge and a transfer opening allows the medical instrument to pass through said sponge and into said bottom in the apparatus of Shaw as modified by Chiu or Price as a known alternate configuration in order to treat an entire length of an object capable of being a handheld medical instrument as shown by Hirst.
As to Claim 2, while Shaw (‘512) appears to teach that the apparatus (200) further comprises a seal (216) that is removably carried by the bottom (212) so that said seal (216) prevents movement of the fluid (220) from said bottom (212) into said housing (202) when said seal (216) is covering said transfer opening (i.e. where 222 and 224 are positioned) (see Figures 32 and 36), Shaw (‘512) does not appear to specifically teach that the seal (216) is removably carried by said second end (i.e. where 212 is connected to 202) of said housing (202). However, as Shaw (‘512) also discloses an embodiment where a seal (270; 314) is removably carried by a housing (252) at a second end (i.e. at 264; at the end of 308) (see Figures 37-46) in order to provide a flow of disinfectant when desired and so that the seal prevents a flow of disinfectant from said bottom into said housing when said seal is covering said transfer opening (see Figures 37-46), it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a seal that is removably carried by said second end of said housing as a known alternate configuration in the apparatus of Shaw as modified by Chiu or Price in order to provide a flow of disinfectant when desired and so that the seal prevents a flow of disinfectant from said bottom into said housing when said seal is covering said transfer opening as shown by Shaw.
As to Claim 3, Shaw (‘512) discloses that the seal (216; 270; 314) includes a closed position (see Figures 32, 38-39 and 44-45) and an open position (see Figures 33 and 46), wherein said closed position inhibits movement of the fluid (220; 274; 316) between said bottom and said housing (202; 256; 302) and said open position allows the movement of the fluid between said bottom (212; 254; 304) into said housing (202; 256; 302) (see Figures 32-33, 38-39 and 44-46).
As to Claim 4, the seal (216; 270; 314) of Shaw (‘512) is placed in said open position when an elongate object/medical instrument is inserted into said transfer opening (see Figures 44-46).
As to Claim 5, the seal (216; 270; 314) of Shaw (‘512) is capable of being placed in said open position when an elongate object/medical instrument is inserted (via 228; 264) into said seal (216; 270; 314) (see Figures 32-34 and 46).
As to Claims 8-9, while neither Shaw (‘512) or Chiu (‘121) nor Price (‘297) appears to specifically teach a valve flap is the closure/openable means located at or adjacent said transfer opening and allows access/flow into/out of said bottom rather than the seal/plug/stopper that is capable of being placed into an opened position when the medical device is inserted into said transfer opening (see Figure 46), it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a different type of closure such as a valve flap instead of the seal/stopper disclosed by Shaw in the apparatus of Shaw as modified by Chiu or Price as a known alternate closure/access means in order to allow on-demand access to the fluid within the bottom for sterilization of an instrument. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 11, Shaw (‘512) discloses that the seal (314) carried by said second end (i.e. at the end of 308) of said housing (302), wherein said seal (314) includes having a first inner diameter (i.e. diameter of the larger portion/end of 314 which contacts 316 in Figures 44-45) adapted to receive/capable of receiving a medical device so that said medical device may pass through said second end (i.e. at the end of 308) of said housing (302) into said bottom (304) and said seal (314) further includes a flange (i.e. shoulder/shelf formed by smaller end portion of 314) carried by an inner wall of said seal (314), said flange (i.e. shoulder/shelf formed by smaller end portion of 314) having a second inner diameter (i.e. diameter of the smaller portion/at the connection between the larger and smaller portions of 314) that is smaller than said first inner diameter (i.e. diameter of the larger portion/end of 314 which contacts 316 in Figures 44-45).
As to Claim 12, Shaw (‘512) as modified by Chiu (‘121) or Price (‘297) discloses that the sponge (204) includes a disinfectant (220) and is arranged so that when a medical instrument (152; 194; 328) enters said housing (202) through said entrance lid, the medical instrument passes through an instrument receiving opening defined in a first end of said sponge and the medical device contacts said disinfectant (see entire document, particularly Figure 46, p. 7 [0106] – 5th – 13th lines from the bottom).
As to Claim 14, Shaw (‘512) discloses that the instrument receiving opening (i.e. slit in 204) defined in said first end of said sponge (204) extends generally parallel to a second end of said sponge (see Figures 29 and 33-34).
As to Claim 15, while Shaw (‘512) discloses that the bottom (212) includes a first means (214) that is adapted to engage a second means (222, 224) that is includes on said second end (i.e. where 212 is connected to 202) of said housing (202) so that said bottom (212) can be removably secured (see Figures 29 and 32-34), neither Shaw (‘512) or Chiu (‘121) nor Price (‘297) appears to specifically teach that the first and second means are a first set of screw threads and a second set of screw threads.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bottom that includes a first set of screw threads that are adapted to engage a second set of screw thread that is included on a second end of a housing so that the bottom can be removably secured to the housing in an apparatus for cleaning an instrument/object. Hirst (‘012) discloses that the bottom (113) includes a first set of screw threads (see Figures 2-3B) that are adapted to engage a second set of screw thread that is included on a second end of the housing (111) so that the bottom (113) can be removably secured to the housing (111) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2-3B, p. 2 [0020] – lines 7-11), in order to attach the bottom to the housing (see Figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first set of screw threads and a second set of screw threads as a known alternate configuration of an attachment/connection means in the apparatus of Shaw as modified by Chiu or Price in order to attach and connect a bottom to the housing as shown by Hirst.
As to Claim 16, Price (‘297) discloses that the apparatus (30) further comprises a handle (120) disposed on an outer surface (38) of said housing (34) for carrying or positioning said housing (34).
Thus, Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14 and 14-16 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Shaw (‘512), Chiu ('121) or Price (‘297), and Hirst (‘012).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the primary reason for allowance of the claims is due to inclusion of limitation “a valve flap …automatically returns to said closed position when the medical instrument is removed” in claim 17 and “a handle that is removably carried by said housing, wherein said handle includes connection tabs that are adapted to be received and engaged by corresponding securing members carried by said outer surface of said housing” in claim 19. None of prior art of record such as Shaw (20110064512), Chiu (20170232121), Price (6142297) and Hirst (20110146012) specifically teach a valve flap that is operable to be opened and closed automatically when the medial instrument is inserted/removed nor a handle that includes connection tabs that are adapted to be received and engaged by corresponding securing members carried by an outer surface of a housing. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an apparatus for cleaning a medical instrument comprised of components in the configuration as set forth in the claims, particularly “a valve flap disposed at said transfer opening, wherein said valve flap has an opened position and a closed position, wherein said closed position prevents movement of the disinfecting solution from said bottom into said housing, and wherein said valve flap is placed into said opened position when the medical instrument is inserted through said transfer opening and automatically returns to said closed position when the medical instrument is removed” or “a handle that is removably carried by said housing, wherein said handle includes connection tabs that are adapted to be received and engaged by corresponding securing members carried by said outer surface of said housing”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same/same combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758