DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 11/14/2025. Claims 1-5, 7-20 are pending with claim 6 cancelled and claims 11-20 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 5 recites “a propulsion system associated with the container” which introduces new matter because the specification only describes a propulsion system associated with the tractor in paragraphs 44-45, 48.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas (US Pat. 10,240,847).
Regarding claim 1, Thomas discloses a transport refrigeration system comprising: a tractor (20); a container (40) removably connectable to the tractor (container 40 removably connectable to tractor 20); a refrigeration unit (TRU 15) for conditioning a compartment (cooled compartment of trailer 40) of the container; a first power system associated with the container (photovoltaic cells, battery pack, trailer power management system; Fig. 5) and operably coupled to the refrigeration unit (electric TRU system), wherein the refrigeration unit is operable by the first power system when the container is separated from the tractor (column 7, lines 46-54); a second power system (diesel truck engine, power take-off generator, truck power management system; Fig. 5) associated with the tractor (20), wherein one or more components are shared between the first power system and the second power system (shared components via connected truck power management system and trailer power management system); and a fuel source (diesel fuel powering diesel truck engine) usable by the first power system arranged at the tractor (diesel tractor with power take-off generator generates electricity to charge trailer batteries of the first power system; Figs. 7-8; column 10, lines 24-49).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein the first power system further comprises an auxiliary fuel source mounted to the container (PV cells 90, fuel cell 80 or electrical generator 85 configured on trailer), the first power source being connectable to the auxiliary fuel source (column 7, lines 30-56).
Regarding claim 8, Thomas discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein the first power system further comprises an auxiliary power source mounted to the container (PV cells 90, fuel cell 80 or electrical generator 85 configured on trailer), the auxiliary power source being operably couplable to the refrigeration unit (column 7, lines 30-56).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first power system and the second power system is connectable to an auxiliary power source (3 phase power source, Fig. 7) located remotely from the container (column 10, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 10, Thomas discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 9, wherein the auxiliary power source (three phase power source) is one of a power grid and a hydrogen filling station (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US Pat. 10,240,847) in view of Turlapati et al. (US 2023/0302922).
Regarding claim 2, Thomas discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein the first power system includes a first power source (80) and the second power system (diesel truck engine, power take-off generator, truck power management system; Fig. 5) includes a second power source (diesel truck engine), the first power source comprising a fuel cell (column 7, lines 40-51).
Thomas does not explicitly teach both the first power source and the second power source comprising a fuel cell.
Turlapati teaches the concept of a transport refrigeration system that utilizes a plurality of fuel cell modules (14) as well as a battery energy source (158) that supplies power to the traction motor (162) of the vehicle as well as cabin cooling (paragraph 61) in a manner far more environmentally friendly than conventional power systems such as an internal combustion engine (paragraph 45). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize having the second power system associated with the propulsion of the tractor be powered by a fuel cell power source would provide for a more environmentally friendly source of power for driving the propulsion system of the tractor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the transport refrigeration system of Thomas to have both the first power source and the second power source comprising a fuel cell taught by Turlapati in order to utilize a more environmentally friendly source of power for driving the tractor.
Regarding claim 3, Thomas as modified discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 2, and the teachings of Turlapati when combined with Thomas further teaches a single fuel source (150, Fig. 2A) and is operably coupled to both the first power source (fuel cell powering refrigeration system or cooling system) and the second power source (fuel cell powering traction motor of Turlapati).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas as modified discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 2, and Thomas further teaches wherein the first power system includes at least one first power electronics device (trailer power management system) connected to the first power source and operable to deliver power from the first power source to the refrigeration unit (TRU) and further teaches the second power system includes at least one second power electronics device (truck power management system) connected to the second power source and operable to deliver power from the second power source to at least one subsystem of the tractor (truck DC batter system).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas as modified discloses the transport refrigeration system of claim 2, and Thomas further teaches a propulsion system (truck engine) associated with the container (truck engine generates electricity for batteries of container).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 6, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1-10 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 with respect to the rejections of claims 2-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Turlapati does not disclose the fuel cell as claimed. This is not found persuasive in view of Thomas and Turlapati as discussed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763