DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 01/20/2026. Claims 1, 3, 6-18, and 20 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 17, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 6-18, and 20 remain pending for evaluation. Applicant’s amendment to the Specification has overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/20/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 12-13 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Wu fails to teach or suggest at least the previous Claim 5 and the amended Claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Applicant’s argument that Wu fails to disclose “receive a third message” because Wu does not disclose a separate and distinct message instructing the UE to stop periodic supplementary feedback is not persuasive because it relies on importing limitations not recited in the claim. The claim requires receiving a third message used for configuring the first node to stop periodic feedback and stopping periodic sending in response to that message. The claim does not require the third message to be structurally distinct from other signaling, transmitted as a standalone stop command, or dedicated solely to stopping feedback. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument that Wu must disclose an “additional, distinct message” improperly narrows the claim beyond its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI).
Wu discloses base station signaling that configures CSI feedback reporting behavior and indicates how and when CSI feedback is to be reported. For example, Wu discloses that the base station signals a codebook configuration triggering the UE to report differential CSI feedback and that such configuration may include an indication of time periods for reporting CSI feedback (Wu Para. [0123, 0127, 0129]). These indications determine when and how long CSI reporting occurs, and therefore also determines when the UE ceases transmitting periodic CSI feedback associated with a configuration. Thus, the signaling disclosed in Wu reasonably corresponds to the claimed message used to configure the node to stop periodic feedback.
Moreover, Wu discloses multiple signaling indications that change the UE’s CSI reporting mode over time, where each new indication governs how the UE reports CSI. Under the BRI, a subsequent indication that changes the reporting configuration reasonably corresponds to the claimed third message because it causes the UE to stop the previously configured periodic reporting behavior. Additionally, it was well known in the art that base station signaling could explicitly stop periodic CSI reporting, as shown for example in Ojala et al. (US 2011/0019637) Fig. 4, Para. [0043-00532], where the base station may revise or stop periodic CSI reporting through signaling.
In conclusion, Applicant’s argument that the prior art must disclose a separate and distinct stop message is not commensurate with the scope of the claim. Accordingly, Wu anticipates the claimed subject matter, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to the remaining independent claims and their respective dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to the remaining independent claims and their respective dependent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu and Zhang (US 2020/0059282, previously presented), Wu hereinafter; Wu is similar to Wu et al. (WO 2018/202134) provided in the IDS submitted on 05/29/2024.
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches a method for sending information, applied to a first node in a mobile communication system, and comprising (Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125]; See also Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]):
receiving an indication message sent by the second node, wherein the indication message is used for indicating a mode in which the first node feeds back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 11, step 1108; Para. [0123] - At 1102, the BS signals/transmits an indication of a first codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically report non-differential CSI feedback over one or more time periods (e.g., time periods 1104 and 1106). After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In response to the indication, the UE (at 1110) begins transmitting a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., using codebook parameters indicated in the second codebook configuration). As shown, transmitting differential CSI feedback may include transmitting multiple CSI feedback reports for one or more CSI feedback stages/instances (e.g., stage 1 to stage m). After the UE has finished transmitting the last CSI feedback associated with the last CSI feedback stage (e.g., stage m) of the differential CSI feedback report, the UE resumes reporting non-differential CSI feedback (e.g., during time period 1106); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
and sending supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system according to the indication message (Fig. 8, steps 802 and 806; Para. [0104] - At 802, for the first CSI feedback stage, the UE performs a 1.sup.st CSI calculation (e.g., based on a received CSI-RS, not shown) and reports the 1.sup.st CSI feedback to the BS. The 1.sup.st CSI report includes RI.sub.1, PMI.sub.1 and CQI.sub.1 (which is calculated based on PMI.sub.1). PMI.sub.1 includes feedback components W.sub.1.sup.0W.sub.2.sup.0. At 804, the BS acquires the 1.sup.st CSI report and sets PMI=PMI.sub.1. At 806, for the second CSI feedback stage, the UE subsequently performs a second CSI calculation and reports the 2.sup.nd CSI feedback to the BS. The 2.sup.nd CSI report includes RI.sub.2, PMI.sub.2 and CQI.sub.2 (which is calculated based on PMI.sub.1+PMI.sub.2). PMI.sub.2 includes feedback components W.sub.1.sup.1W.sub.2.sup.1. At 808, the BS acquires the 2.sup.nd CSI report and sets PMI=PMI.sub.1+PMI.sub.2. Although not shown, the UE may continue to perform CSI calculations and send CSI reports (e.g., 3.sup.rd CSI report, 4.sup.th CSI report, and so on) in additional CSI feedback stages (e.g., 3.sup.rd CSI feedback stage, 4.sup.th feedback stage, and so on). Similarly, although not shown, the BS may receive the CSI reports in the additional CSI feedback stages and determine PMI based on the CSI report received in the current CSI feedback stage and the CSI report(s) received in the previous CSI feedback stage(s); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102, 0123, 0127, 0129]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
Examiner’s Note: The examiner interprets:
the UE in Fig. 8 as the first node and the base station (BS) in Fig. 11 as the second node.
The 1st CSI calculation & report (step 802) and the 2nd CSI calculation & report (step 806) of Fig. 8 as supplementary feedback information.
wherein the supplementary feedback information is used for incrementally updating complete channel information, or the supplementary feedback information is used for predicting the complete channel information (Para. [0042] - Differential CSI reporting may enable the UE to provide high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. For example, in differential CSI reporting, the UE can report multiple CSI feedback (for a same received CSI-RS) in an incremental way (e.g., over time) over multiple CSI feedback stages. Aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques and apparatus for configuring differential CSI reporting. For example, using the techniques presented herein, a UE can receive a configuration for reporting differential CSI feedback (e.g., reporting multiple CSI feedback in an incremental way over multiple CSI feedback stages). The configuration may include at least an indication of when the UE is to report the differential CSI feedback. The UE may then report differential CSI feedback according to the configuration; Fig. 8, steps 802, 804, 806, and 808; Para. [0104] - At 802, for the first CSI feedback stage, the UE performs a 1.sup.st CSI calculation (e.g., based on a received CSI-RS, not shown) and reports the 1.sup.st CSI feedback to the BS. The 1.sup.st CSI report includes RI.sub.1, PMI.sub.1 and CQI.sub.1 (which is calculated based on PMI.sub.1). PMI.sub.1 includes feedback components W.sub.1.sup.0W.sub.2.sup.0. At 804, the BS acquires the 1.sup.st CSI report and sets PMI=PMI.sub.1. At 806, for the second CSI feedback stage, the UE subsequently performs a second CSI calculation and reports the 2.sup.nd CSI feedback to the BS. The 2.sup.nd CSI report includes RI.sub.2, PMI.sub.2 and CQI.sub.2 (which is calculated based on PMI.sub.1+PMI.sub.2). PMI.sub.2 includes feedback components W.sub.1.sup.1W.sub.2.sup.1. At 808, the BS acquires the 2.sup.nd CSI report and sets PMI=PMI.sub.1+PMI.sub.2. Although not shown, the UE may continue to perform CSI calculations and send CSI reports (e.g., 3.sup.rd CSI report, 4.sup.th CSI report, and so on) in additional CSI feedback stages (e.g., 3.sup.rd CSI feedback stage, 4.sup.th feedback stage, and so on). Similarly, although not shown, the BS may receive the CSI reports in the additional CSI feedback stages and determine PMI based on the CSI report received in the current CSI feedback stage and the CSI report(s) received in the previous CSI feedback stage(s); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein the complete channel information is used for describing a channel quality condition about a channel (Para. [0102] - The differential CSI feedback described herein may include multiple CSI feedback reports, where each CSI feedback report depends in part on a previous CSI feedback. By using a differential CSI feedback scheme, in which each CSI feedback report depends in part on a previous CSI feedback, the BS can more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) for an accurate approximation of the channel, without performing additional calculations typically associated with CSI feedback schemes in which each CSI feedback report is independent. The 1.sup.st CSI feedback may be based on the feedback of “lower resolution” CSI. Examples of such “lower resolution” CSI may include class A type CSI (e.g., for LTE), Type I CSI (e.g., for NR-MIMO), advanced (e.g., Type II) CSI configured with 2 beams, etc. Note, however, that the techniques presented herein can be applied to situations in which more than two beams are used (e.g., three beams, four beams, etc.). The 1.sup.st CSI feedback may include a complete CSI report with PMI, CQI and RI included. The 2.sup.nd to m.sup.th CSI feedback may include the additional beams' coefficients for combination. For example, each CSI.sub.x may include PMI.sub.x/CQI.sub.x/RI.sub.x for the x.sup.th reporting instance, where 2≤x≤m; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Examiner’s Note: Wu Para. [0102] discloses that differential CSI feedback includes multiple CSI feedback reports, where each report depends in part on a previous CSI feedback. This teaches the claimed supplementary feedback information because each subsequent CSI report supplements or incrementally updates prior channel information to enable the base station to efficiently acquire full channel information. Wu further teaches that the combined PMI and CQI obtained from the differential CSI feedback provide an accurate approximation of the channel, which corresponds to the claimed complete channel information used for describing channel quality condition about a total content of a channel.
wherein the indication message comprises a second message, the second message comprising first configuration information used for configuring the first node to periodically feed back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 13, step 1302; Para. [0128-0129] - [0128] According to certain aspects, techniques presented herein can be used to configure the UE to periodically report differential CSI feedback to the BS, which as noted above may not be supported by conventional Type-II CSI reporting designs. For periodic differential CSI feedback, the codebook configuration (for differential CSI feedback) may include an indication that triggers the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In response to the indication, the UE may transmit, during each time period, a differential CSI feedback report. [0129] FIG. 13 is a call flow diagram 1300 illustrating example signaling for periodic differential (multi-stage) CSI feedback reporting, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. As shown, at 1302, the BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report. The codebook configuration may include an indication of the time period(s) for reporting differential CSI feedback. In some cases, this codebook configuration may also include a codebook configuration for non-differential (e.g., normal resolution) CSI feedback; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
Examiner’s Note: The “second message” is mapped to an indication message sent from the base station that includes configuration information instructing the UE to periodically transmit the supplementary (i.e., differential) feedback information.
wherein sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system according to the indication message comprises: periodically sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system to the first configuration information indicated by the second message (Fig. 13; Para. [0129-0139] - [0129] FIG. 13 is a call flow diagram 1300 illustrating example signaling for periodic differential (multi-stage) CSI feedback reporting, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. As shown, at 1302, the BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report. The codebook configuration may include an indication of the time period(s) for reporting differential CSI feedback. In some cases, this codebook configuration may also include a codebook configuration for non-differential (e.g., normal resolution) CSI feedback; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
wherein the method further comprises: receiving a third message sent by the second node, wherein the third message is used for configuring the first node to stop periodical feedback of the supplementary feedback information; and stopping periodical sending of the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system in response to receipt of the third message (Fig. 10: Para. [0119] - FIG. 10 is a flow diagram illustrating example operations 1000 that may be performed, for example, by a BS (e.g., BS 110), for configuring a UE to report differential CSI feedback, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. Operations 1000 may begin, at 1002, where the BS determines a first (differential CSI feedback) configuration for a UE (e.g., UE 120) to use for reporting differential CSI feedback. At 1004, the BS signals (e.g., via RRC signaling, DCI signaling, etc.) the first configuration to the UE. The first configuration includes at least an indication of when the UE is to report differential CSI feedback. For example, the indication may trigger the UE to report aperiodic differential CSI feedback, periodic differential CSI feedback, non-periodic differential CSI feedback, periodic non-differential CSI feedback and differential CSI feedback, etc.; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Examiner’s Note: Wu Para. [0119] teaches that the base station signals configuration information to the UE indicating when to report differential CSI feedback, including periodic and nonperiodic modes. This demonstrates the base station can configure the UE, such as by sending a message to stop periodic differential CSI feedback, thereby teaching the claimed third message used to stop periodic supplementary feedback transmission.
Figure 1: Fig. 8 from Wu (US 2020/0059282). Annotations teach mapping between Wu and Applicant's Invention
Regarding Claim 17, a first device, comprising (Fig. 4, element 120; Para. [0072-0078]):
a processor, a transceiver connected to the processor, and a memory configured to store executable instructions for the processor (Fig. 4, elements 480, 454a, 456, 458, 454r, 466, 482; Para. [0078]);
wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instructions to perform a method for sending information, comprising (Para. [0077-0078]):
receiving an indication message sent by a second device in a mobile communication system, wherein the indication message is used for indicating a mode in which the first device feeds back a supplementary feedback information (Fig. 11, step 1108; Para. [0123]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
and sending supplementary feedback information to the second device in the mobile communication system according to the indication message (Fig. 8, steps 802 and 806; Para. [0104]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein the supplementary feedback information is used for incrementally updating complete channel information, or the supplementary feedback information is used for predicting the complete channel information (Para. [0042]; Fig. 8, steps 802, 804, 806, and 808; Para. [0104]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein the complete channel information is used for describing a channel quality condition about a channel (Para. [0102]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
wherein the indication message comprises a second message, the second message comprising first configuration information used for configuring the first device to periodically feed back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 13, step 1302; Para. [0128-0129]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein sending the supplementary feedback information to the second device in the mobile communication system according to the indication message comprises: periodically sending the supplementary feedback information to the second device in the mobile communication system according to the first configuration information indicated by the second message: (Fig. 13; Para. [0129-0139]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a third message sent by the second device, wherein the third message is used for configuring the first device to stop periodical feedback of the supplementary feedback information; and stopping periodical sending of the supplementary feedback information to the second device in the mobile communication system in response to receipt of the third message (Fig. 10: Para. [0119]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Regarding Claim 18, a second device, comprising (Fig. 4, element 110; Para. [0072-0078]):
a processor, a transceiver connected to the processor, and a memory configured to store executable instructions for the processor (Fig. 4, elements 440, 420, 430, 432a, 432t, 436, 438, 442; Para. [0078]);
wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instructions to perform a method for receiving information, comprising (Para. [0077-0078]):
sending an indication message to a first device in a mobile communication system, wherein the indication message is used for indicating a mode in which the first device feeds back a supplementary feedback information (Fig. 11, step 1108; Para. [0123]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
and receiving supplementary feedback information sent by the first device in the mobile communication system according to the indication message, (Fig. 8, steps 802 and 806; Para. [0104]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
wherein the supplementary feedback information is used for incrementally updating complete channel information, or the supplementary feedback information is used for predicting the complete channel information (Para. [0042]; Fig. 8, steps 802, 804, 806, and 808; Para. [0104]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154])
wherein the complete channel information is used for describing a channel quality condition about a channel (Para. [0102]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein sending the indication message to the first device comprises: sending a second message to the first device, wherein the second message comprises first configuration information used for configuring the first device to periodically feed back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 13, step 1302; Para. [0128-0129]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein the supplementary feedback information is periodically sent by the first device in the mobile communication system according to the first configuration information indicated by the second message (Fig. 13; Para. [0129-0139]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein the method further comprises: sending a third message to the first device, wherein the third message is used for configuring the first device to stop periodical feedback of the supplementary feedback information; and wherein periodical sending of the supplementary feedback information by the first device in the mobile communication system is stopped in response to receipt of the third message (Fig. 10: Para. [0119]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Wu further teaches
the indication message further comprises a first message, the first message being used for triggering the first node to feed back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 11, step 1108; Para. [0123] - At 1102, the BS signals/transmits an indication of a first codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically report non-differential CSI feedback over one or more time periods (e.g., time periods 1104 and 1106). After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In response to the indication, the UE (at 1110) begins transmitting a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., using codebook parameters indicated in the second codebook configuration). As shown, transmitting differential CSI feedback may include transmitting multiple CSI feedback reports for one or more CSI feedback stages/instances (e.g., stage 1 to stage m). After the UE has finished transmitting the last CSI feedback associated with the last CSI feedback stage (e.g., stage m) of the differential CSI feedback report, the UE resumes reporting non-differential CSI feedback (e.g., during time period 1106); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
and sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system according to the indication message further comprises: sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system in response to receipt of the first message (Fig. 11, step 1110; Para. [0123] - At 1102, the BS signals/transmits an indication of a first codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically report non-differential CSI feedback over one or more time periods (e.g., time periods 1104 and 1106). After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In response to the indication, the UE (at 1110) begins transmitting a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., using codebook parameters indicated in the second codebook configuration). As shown, transmitting differential CSI feedback may include transmitting multiple CSI feedback reports for one or more CSI feedback stages/instances (e.g., stage 1 to stage m). After the UE has finished transmitting the last CSI feedback associated with the last CSI feedback stage (e.g., stage m) of the differential CSI feedback report, the UE resumes reporting non-differential CSI feedback (e.g., during time period 1106); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu teaches Claim 18.
Wu further teaches
sending a first message to the first device, wherein the first message is used for triggering the first device to feed back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 11, step 1108; Para. [0123]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Wu further teaches
sending the complete channel information to the second node in the mobile communication system (Fig. 11, Time Period 1104; Para. [0123] - At 1102, the BS signals/transmits an indication of a first codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically report non-differential CSI feedback over one or more time periods (e.g., time periods 1104 and 1106). After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In response to the indication, the UE (at 1110) begins transmitting a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., using codebook parameters indicated in the second codebook configuration). As shown, transmitting differential CSI feedback may include transmitting multiple CSI feedback reports for one or more CSI feedback stages/instances (e.g., stage 1 to stage m). After the UE has finished transmitting the last CSI feedback associated with the last CSI feedback stage (e.g., stage m) of the differential CSI feedback report, the UE resumes reporting non-differential CSI feedback (e.g., during time period 1106); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
The examiner interprets non-differential CSI feedback as complete channel information.
Regarding Claim 7, Wu teaches Claim 6.
Wu further teaches
receiving a first configuration message sent by the second node, wherein the first configuration message comprises second configuration information used for configuring the first node to periodically feed back the complete channel information (Fig. 11, Time Period 1102; Para. [0123] - At 1102, the BS signals/transmits an indication of a first codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically report non-differential CSI feedback over one or more time periods (e.g., time periods 1104 and 1106). After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In response to the indication, the UE (at 1110) begins transmitting a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., using codebook parameters indicated in the second codebook configuration). As shown, transmitting differential CSI feedback may include transmitting multiple CSI feedback reports for one or more CSI feedback stages/instances (e.g., stage 1 to stage m). After the UE has finished transmitting the last CSI feedback associated with the last CSI feedback stage (e.g., stage m) of the differential CSI feedback report, the UE resumes reporting non-differential CSI feedback (e.g., during time period 1106); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein sending the complete channel information to the second node in the mobile communication system comprises: periodically sending the complete channel information to the second node in the mobile communication system according to the second configuration information indicated by the first configuration message (Fig. 11, Time Period 1104; Para. [0123] - At 1102, the BS signals/transmits an indication of a first codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically report non-differential CSI feedback over one or more time periods (e.g., time periods 1104 and 1106). After time period 1104, the BS (at 1108) signals an indication of a second codebook configuration triggering the UE to transmit an aperiodic differential CSI feedback report. In response to the indication, the UE (at 1110) begins transmitting a differential CSI feedback report (e.g., using codebook parameters indicated in the second codebook configuration). As shown, transmitting differential CSI feedback may include transmitting multiple CSI feedback reports for one or more CSI feedback stages/instances (e.g., stage 1 to stage m). After the UE has finished transmitting the last CSI feedback associated with the last CSI feedback stage (e.g., stage m) of the differential CSI feedback report, the UE resumes reporting non-differential CSI feedback (e.g., during time period 1106); See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Wu further teaches
receiving a second configuration message sent by the second node, wherein the second configuration message comprises: third configuration information used for configuring the first node to periodically feed back the complete channel information (Fig. 12; Para. [0126-0127] - [0126] FIG. 12 is a call flow diagram 1200 illustrating example signaling for periodic non-differential (e.g., normal resolution) CSI feedback reporting and differential CSI feedback reporting, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. [0127] At 1202, the BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit one or more non-differential CSI feedback reports and a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In some aspects, the codebook configuration (at 1202) may indicate the period (P1) of the non-differential (normal) CSI feedback reporting. For example, the codebook configuration can indicate whether there is a single period (P1=1) or multiple periods (P1>1) of normal resolution CSI feedback prior to one subsequent multi-stage differential CSI feedback. As shown, the UE (at 1204) begins reporting differential CSI feedback after the period for the normal CSI feedback ends. Similar to FIG. 11, in some aspects, the first feedback components associated with the stage 1 differential CSI feedback may be skipped and replaced by the feedback components of the last non-differential CSI feedback reported in the time period for normal CSI feedback; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]),
and fourth configuration information used for configuring the first node to periodically feed back the supplementary feedback information (Fig. 12; Para. [0126-0127] - [0126] FIG. 12 is a call flow diagram 1200 illustrating example signaling for periodic non-differential (e.g., normal resolution) CSI feedback reporting and differential CSI feedback reporting, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. [0127] At 1202, the BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit one or more non-differential CSI feedback reports and a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In some aspects, the codebook configuration (at 1202) may indicate the period (P1) of the non-differential (normal) CSI feedback reporting. For example, the codebook configuration can indicate whether there is a single period (P1=1) or multiple periods (P1>1) of normal resolution CSI feedback prior to one subsequent multi-stage differential CSI feedback. As shown, the UE (at 1204) begins reporting differential CSI feedback after the period for the normal CSI feedback ends. Similar to FIG. 11, in some aspects, the first feedback components associated with the stage 1 differential CSI feedback may be skipped and replaced by the feedback components of the last non-differential CSI feedback reported in the time period for normal CSI feedback; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
and periodically sending the complete channel information to the second node in the mobile communication system according to the third configuration information indicated by the second configuration message (Fig. 12; Para. [0126-0128] - [0126] FIG. 12 is a call flow diagram 1200 illustrating example signaling for periodic non-differential (e.g., normal resolution) CSI feedback reporting and differential CSI feedback reporting, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. [0127] At 1202, the BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit one or more non-differential CSI feedback reports and a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In some aspects, the codebook configuration (at 1202) may indicate the period (P1) of the non-differential (normal) CSI feedback reporting. For example, the codebook configuration can indicate whether there is a single period (P1=1) or multiple periods (P1>1) of normal resolution CSI feedback prior to one subsequent multi-stage differential CSI feedback. As shown, the UE (at 1204) begins reporting differential CSI feedback after the period for the normal CSI feedback ends. Similar to FIG. 11, in some aspects, the first feedback components associated with the stage 1 differential CSI feedback may be skipped and replaced by the feedback components of the last non-differential CSI feedback reported in the time period for normal CSI feedback. [0128] According to certain aspects, techniques presented herein can be used to configure the UE to periodically report differential CSI feedback to the BS, which as noted above may not be supported by conventional Type-II CSI reporting designs. For periodic differential CSI feedback, the codebook configuration (for differential CSI feedback) may include an indication that triggers the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In response to the indication, the UE may transmit, during each time period, a differential CSI feedback report.; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]);
wherein sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system comprises: periodically sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system according to the fourth configuration information indicated by the second configuration message (Fig. 12; Para. [0126-0128] - [0126] FIG. 12 is a call flow diagram 1200 illustrating example signaling for periodic non-differential (e.g., normal resolution) CSI feedback reporting and differential CSI feedback reporting, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. [0127] At 1202, the BS signals an indication of a codebook configuration triggering the UE to periodically transmit one or more non-differential CSI feedback reports and a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In some aspects, the codebook configuration (at 1202) may indicate the period (P1) of the non-differential (normal) CSI feedback reporting. For example, the codebook configuration can indicate whether there is a single period (P1=1) or multiple periods (P1>1) of normal resolution CSI feedback prior to one subsequent multi-stage differential CSI feedback. As shown, the UE (at 1204) begins reporting differential CSI feedback after the period for the normal CSI feedback ends. Similar to FIG. 11, in some aspects, the first feedback components associated with the stage 1 differential CSI feedback may be skipped and replaced by the feedback components of the last non-differential CSI feedback reported in the time period for normal CSI feedback. [0128] According to certain aspects, techniques presented herein can be used to configure the UE to periodically report differential CSI feedback to the BS, which as noted above may not be supported by conventional Type-II CSI reporting designs. For periodic differential CSI feedback, the codebook configuration (for differential CSI feedback) may include an indication that triggers the UE to periodically transmit a differential CSI feedback report over one or more time periods. In response to the indication, the UE may transmit, during each time period, a differential CSI feedback report.; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Wu further teaches
acquiring the supplementary feedback information by calling an encoding model to encode first input information, wherein the first input information comprises at least one of: historical complete channel information, historical supplementary feedback information, and current complete channel information (Fig. 15; Para. [0142-0143] - [0142] FIG. 15 is a call flow diagram 1500 illustrating an example of CSI replacement for differential CSI feedback where the PMI is updated according to the second option described herein, according to certain aspects of the present disclosure. Note that this example of CSI replacement may be used for aperiodic differential CSI reporting and/or periodic differential CSI reporting. [0143] As shown, once the UE determines to update the 2.sup.nd CSI feedback report (e.g., reported during CSI feedback stage 2), the UE (at 1502) drops the previous 2.sup.nd CSI feedback report and sends an update of the 2.sup.nd CSI feedback report with a CI=2 to the BS. As shown, the updated 2.sup.nd CSI feedback report is sent instead of (e.g., replaces) the fourth CSI feedback report. Once received by the BS, the BS may use the PMI in the 1.sup.st CSI feedback report the updated second CSI feedback report and the 3.sup.rd CSI feedback report as PMI; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
The claimed “encoding model” may be implemented by processing logic (e.g., a processor or encoding function) in the UE that generates supplementary feedback information based on input channel data.
Wu Para. [0142-0143] discloses that the UE updates a CSI feedback report using previously transmitted (i.e., historical) and current CSI reports to generate an updated differential CSI feedback report sent to the base station. When the encoding model is interpreted as processing logic of the UE, Wu’s description of updating and transmitting a new CSI feedback report using prior and current CSI information teaches the claimed step of acquiring supplementary feedback information by calling an encoding model to encode first input information comprising historical and current channel information.
Regarding Claim 14, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Wu further teaches
performing mathematical processing on the complete channel information to acquire the supplementary feedback information (Para. [0099-0102] - [0099] Differential CSI reporting may be enabled by changing the structure of the codebook design of LTE Adv-CSI… [0100] In some aspects, the codebook design in (1) may be changed to the following codebook design in (2) in order to enable differential CSI reporting:…. [0101] W.sub.1.sup.0W.sub.2.sup.0 may represent the normal or lower resolution part of the codebook (e.g., 1.sup.st CSI feedback). For example, the “lower resolution” may include a small amount of information representing a coarse approximation of the channel (e.g., W.sub.1.sup.0W.sub.2.sup.0 includes the power weighting and cophasing for a single (first) beam). W.sub.1.sup.0W.sub.2.sup.0 may represent the higher resolution part of the codebook (e.g., 2.sup.nd CSI feedback). With each additional CSI feedback stage, the CSI feedback may include additional information representing a more detailed approximation of the channel (e.g., W.sub.1.sup.1W.sub.2.sup.1 includes an additional second beam's coefficients). Additionally, the higher resolution part of the codebook may further include additional stages of CSI feedback (e.g., 3.sup.rd CSI feedback, 4.sup.th CSI feedback, 5.sup.th CSI feedback, and so on). [0102] The differential CSI feedback described herein may include multiple CSI feedback reports, where each CSI feedback report depends in part on a previous CSI feedback. By using a differential CSI feedback scheme, in which each CSI feedback report depends in part on a previous CSI feedback, the BS can more efficiently acquire full channel information (e.g., the combined PMI as well as the CQI) for an accurate approximation of the channel, without performing additional calculations typically associated with CSI feedback schemes in which each CSI feedback report is independent. The 1.sup.st CSI feedback may be based on the feedback of “lower resolution” CSI. Examples of such “lower resolution” CSI may include class A type CSI (e.g., for LTE), Type I CSI (e.g., for NR-MIMO), advanced (e.g., Type II) CSI configured with 2 beams, etc. Note, however, that the techniques presented herein can be applied to situations in which more than two beams are used (e.g., three beams, four beams, etc.). The 1.sup.st CSI feedback may include a complete CSI report with PMI, CQI and RI included. The 2.sup.nd to m.sup.th CSI feedback may include the additional beams' coefficients for combination. For example, each CSI.sub.x may include PMI.sub.x/CQI.sub.x/RI.sub.x for the x.sup.th reporting instance, where 2≤x≤m; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Examiner’s Note: Wu Para. [0099-0102] teaches that the UE generates differential CSI feedback by mathematically deriving or computing updates to prior complete CSI reports using beamforming and quantization operations based on codebook parameters.
Regarding Claim 15, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Wu further teaches
wherein the first node is a terminal device (Fig. 8; Para. [0104] - At 802, for the first CSI feedback stage, the UE performs a 1.sup.st CSI calculation (e.g., based on a received CSI-RS, not shown) and reports the 1.sup.st CSI feedback to the BS; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]),
the second node is a network device (Fig. 8; Para. [0104] - At 802, for the first CSI feedback stage, the UE performs a 1.sup.st CSI calculation (e.g., based on a received CSI-RS, not shown) and reports the 1.sup.st CSI feedback to the BS; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]),
and the supplementary feedback information is carried in at least one of: Uplink Control Information (UCI), a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and data information (Fig. 4; Para. [0072-0076] - [0072] FIG. 4 illustrates example components of the BS 110 and UE 120 illustrated in FIG. 1, which may be used to implement aspects of the present disclosure… [0076] On the uplink, at the UE 120, a transmit processor 464 may receive and process data (e.g., for the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)) from a data source 462 and control information (e.g., for the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) from the controller/processor 480. The transmit processor 464 may also generate reference symbols for a reference signal. The symbols from the transmit processor 464 may be precoded by a TX MIMO processor 466 if applicable, further processed by the demodulators 454a through 454r (e.g., for SC-FDM, etc.), and transmitted to the base station 110. At the BS 110, the uplink signals from the UE 120 may be received by the antennas 434, processed by the modulators 432, detected by a MIMO detector 436 if applicable, and further processed by a receive processor 438 to obtain decoded data and control information sent by the UE 120. The receive processor 438 may provide the decoded data to a data sink 439 and the decoded control information to the controller/processor 440; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Hwang et al. (US 2022/0132516, previously cited), Hwang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Wu teaches Claim 10.
Wu further teaches
wherein acquiring the supplementary feedback information by calling the encoding model to encode the first input information comprises: calling the encoding model corresponding to the first signaling to encode the first input information so that the supplementary feedback information is acquired (Fig. 15; Para. [0142-0143]; See also Para. [0047, 0098, 0102]; Fig. 8, Para. [0103-0116]; Fig. 9, Para. [0117-0118]; Fig. 10, Para. [0119-0121]; Fig. 11, Para. [0122-0125];Fig. 12, Para. [0126-0128]; Fig. 13, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 14, Para. [0140-0141]; Fig. 15, Para. [0142-0145]; Fig. 16, Para. [0146-0148]; Fig. 17, [0149-0150]; Fig. 18, Para. [0151-0152]; Fig. 19, [0153-0154]).
Yet, Wu does not expressly teach receiving a first signaling sent by the second node, wherein the first signaling is used for indicating a construction mode for the supplementary feedback information.
However, Hwang teaches
receiving a first signaling sent by the second node, wherein the first signaling is used for indicating a construction mode for the supplementary feedback information (Para. [0115] - For example, the RS may be mapped on the frequency domain based on a mapping rule in the frequency domain and transmitted to the RS receiving UE. For example, the RS transmitting UE may map the RS based on a mapping rule in the frequency domain and transmit the RS to the RS receiving UE. For example, in order to measure wideband channel state information (CSI), the RS may be configured independently of the frequency domain of a PSCCH or a PSSCH. In this case, for example, the RS receiving UE may measure a channel state for a wider area based on the RS. For example, an RS configured independently of the frequency domain of a PSCCH or a PSSCH may be referred to as a wideband RS; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0110-0137]; Fig. 13, Para. [0138-0153]; Fig. 14, Para. [0155-0159]; Fig. 15, Para. [0160-0169] );
Hwang Para. [0115] teaches that a transmitting UE maps a reference signal according to a frequency-domain mapping rule and sends it to a receiving UE. Interpreting the transmitting UE as the “second node,” this constitutes signaling that indicates a mapping rule – one component of the “construction mode” defined in Para. [0159] of the specification – to the first node (receiving UE), thus satisfying the limitation in Claim 11 of receiving first signaling that indicates a construction mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting” (Wu Para. [0002]) with Hwang’s invention of a method for efficient CSI reporting and utilization between sidelink transmitting and receiving UEs by flexibly changing resource mapping and feedback configurations (Hwang Para. [0014-0015]) because Hwang’s invention provides improvements in coordination and reduces inefficiency in PSCCH/PSSCH communication (Hwang Para. [0014-0015]).
Regarding Claim 12, Wu in view of Hwang teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Wu does not expressly teach wherein the construction mode for the supplementary feedback information comprises at least one of: an information length, a mapping rule, a quantization rule, and a normalization processing mode.
However, Hwang teaches
wherein the construction mode for the supplementary feedback information comprises at least one of: an information length, a mapping rule, a quantization rule, and a normalization processing mode (Para. [0115]; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0110-0137]; Fig. 13, Para. [0138-0153]; Fig. 14, Para. [0155-0159]; Fig. 15, Para. [0160-0169] );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting” (Wu Para. [0002]) with Hwang’s invention of a method for efficient CSI reporting and utilization between sidelink transmitting and receiving UEs by flexibly changing resource mapping and feedback configurations (Hwang Para. [0014-0015]) because Hwang’s invention provides improvements in coordination and reduces inefficiency in PSCCH/PSSCH communication (Hwang Para. [0014-0015]).
Regarding Claim 13, Wu in view of Hwang teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Wu does not expressly teach sending a second signaling to the second node, wherein the second signaling is used for indicating a construction mode for the supplementary feedback information.
However, Hwang teaches
sending a second signaling to the second node, wherein the second signaling is used for indicating a construction mode for the supplementary feedback information (Para. [0115]; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0110-0137]; Fig. 13, Para. [0138-0153]; Fig. 14, Para. [0155-0159]; Fig. 15, Para. [0160-0169] );
Hwang Para. [0015] teaches that a transmitting UE sends signaling indicating a mapping rule in the frequency domain to a receiving UE, which corresponds to sending signaling indicating a construction mode for supplementary feedback information as recited in Claim 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting” (Wu Para. [0002]) with Hwang’s invention of a method for efficient CSI reporting and utilization between sidelink transmitting and receiving UEs by flexibly changing resource mapping and feedback configurations (Hwang Para. [0014-0015]) because Hwang’s invention provides improvements in coordination and reduces inefficiency in PSCCH/PSSCH communication (Hwang Para. [0014-0015]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Garcia and Salim (US 2024/0080862, previously cited), Garcia hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 16, Wu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Wu does not expressly teach both the first node and the second node are terminal devices, and wherein sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system comprises: sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system through a sidelink..
However, Garcia teaches
both the first node and the second node are terminal devices (Fig. 4; Para. [0058]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0048]; Fig. 3, Para. [0049-0056]; Fig. 4, Para. [0057-0058]; Fig. 5, Para. [0059-0067]);
and wherein sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system comprises: sending the supplementary feedback information to the second node in the mobile communication system through a sidelink (Fig. 4; Para. [0058] - The process of FIG. 4 can be iterated such that all group members receive information on all links. The group members take it in turns (i.e. each transmits sequentially) to transmit a CSI RS in a groupcast transmission, and all UEs transmit their CSI report in a groupcast transmission. In this process, each transmission can contain both the CSI-RS (to be measured by RX users) as a pilot and the TX UE's CSI report(s) as data. Thus, receiving one PSSCH allows both measuring and reporting. The first UE to transmit CSI-RS may not yet have CSI to transmit. Thus once all UEs have transmitted CSI RS, and all responses have been received, all UEs have CSI on all links (assuming all UEs are within range of each other). A comparable process can also be utilised to share group member locations and distances between UEs. The order in which the UEs transmit CSI RS and report may be preconfigured and implicitly known to each UE (for example based on the user ID of each member), and hence each group member knows when to transmit CSI RS and report. Alternatively, each member may perform resource monitoring and allocation and hence transmit CSI RS and report in the first opportunity it can identify, with each member keeping trying until it has successfully transmitted CSI RS and reported. Such a scheme requires the members to adapt to conditions and may need rapid update of CSI reports prior to their transmission. At each iteration the members may transmit all CSI reports, or only new ones, to reduce the overhead. New reports may be defined as those that are not in the currently reported CSI or reports which are less than a defined time old. Similarly, a CSI report could be transmitted as a differential to the previous report, rather than the full absolute details; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0048]; Fig. 3, Para. [0049-0056]; Fig. 4, Para. [0057-0058]; Fig. 5, Para. [0059-0067]).
Examiner’s Note: Garcia Fig. 4 and Para. [0058] teach that all group members are UEs that transmit CSI reports and CSI-RS to each other through groupcast sidelink transmissions. Since both transmitting and receiving nodes are terminal devices (i.e.., UEs) communicating via sidelink, this teaches Claim 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting” (Wu Para. [0002]) with Garcia’s invention of “methods for transmitting CSI and/or position information between nodes in a network” (Garcia §Abstract) because Garcia’s invention provides improvements to the “approach of estimating CSI at a receiver and transmitting it to the transmitter” (Garcia Para. [0008]) and “CSI estimation in groupcast scenario” (Garcia Para. [0009]).
Figure 2: Fig. 4 from Garcia (US 2024/0080862). Annotations teach mapping between Garcia and Applicant's Invention
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ojala et al. (US 2011/0019637) Fig. 4, Para. [0043-00532]
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468