DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 12/4/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakawa (US20220163778) in view of Uemura (US20120075729).
Regarding claim 1, Hirakawa teaches an inner focusing lens unit (Hirakawa, fig.1, an inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the lens groups GF1+GF2+GE) comprising: a positive lens group (Hirakawa, fig.1, GF1, paragraph [0052], lens group GF1 that has a positive refractive power); and
a negative lens group (Hirakawa, fig.1, GF2, paragraph [0052], focus lens group GF2 that has a negative refractive power) configured to:
be placed within a flange back (Hirakawa, [0023] the lens may include.. mechanism parts such as a lens flange) between an imaging lens (Hirakawa,fig.1, an imaging lens has been referred as the lens group GA) and an image sensor surface (Hirakawa, fig.1, paragraph [0181], image plane Sim) (note: as is commonly known, when the structure and composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent, see MPEP § 2112.01. As the structure and materials provided by Hirakawa is same to that recited in the claims,--- see Hirakawa, paragraph [0056], the second focus lens group GF2 move linearly, there is a structural advantage since the moving mechanism can be simplified---then it is expect a negative lens group configured to: be placed within a flange back between an imaging lens and an image sensor surface” function provided by Hirakawa has same results as claimed. Since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977))); and
provide a focusing function when moved toward the image sensor surface to focus at a nearer object distance when focusing from infinity, INF, to a minimum object distance, MOD (Hirakawa, paragraph [0055], During focusing from the infinite distance object to the short range object, ..the second focus lens group GF2 moves toward the image side).
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein the inner focusing lens unit satisfies the following relation: 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5, wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group.
However, Uemura teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, paragraph [0080], second lens group G2 that remains fixed and has positive refracting power, and a third lens group G3 that includes one negative lens, is movable and has negative refracting power), and further teaches wherein…
wherein the inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, lens groups G2+G3) satisfies the following relation: 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5 (0.9996), wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group (see Uemura, figs.1 and 12, paragraph [0002], the third lens group G3 moves along an optical axis toward an image side thereby implementing focusing; paragraph [0026], FIG. 12 is a set of diagrams for various aberrations of the optical system according to Example 1 in a focusing-on-infinity state and a close-range-focusing stat, β is about +/- 0.02, so |1−β^2| = 0.9996).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the optimum of the magnification of the negative lens group of Hirakawa to have the specific rang : 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5 as taught by Uemura for the purpose of facilitating holding back fluctuations of various aberrations. . (Uemura, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, and Uemura further teaches wherein the positive lens group (Uemura, fig.1, the G2) is configured to remain stationary with respect to the image sensor surface (fig.1, mage plane I) during the focusing from the INF to the MOD (Uemura, paragraphs, [0007], [0080], second lens group G2 that remains fixed and has positive refracting power).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify of the positive lens group of Hirakawa to remain stationary with respect to the image sensor surface during the focusing from the INF to the MOD as taught by Uemura for the purpose of facilitating holding back fluctuations of various aberrations (Uemura, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, and Uemura further teaches wherein the inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, lens groups G2+G3) satisfies the following relation: 0.7≤|1−β^2|≤3 (0.9996), wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group (see Uemura, figs.1 and 12, paragraph [0002], the third lens group G3 moves along an optical axis toward an image side thereby implementing focusing; paragraph [0026], FIG. 12 is a set of diagrams for various aberrations of the optical system according to Example 1 in a focusing-on-infinity state and a close-range-focusing stat, β is about +/- 0.02, so |1−β^2| = 0.9996).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the optimum of the magnification of the negative lens group of Hirakawa to have the specific rang : 0.7≤|1−β^2|≤3 as taught by Uemura for the purpose of facilitating holding back fluctuations of various aberrations. . (Uemura, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a first focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit (see Hirakawa, fig.1, the lens groups GF1+GF2+GE, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the focal length of the lens groups GF1+GF2+GE is capable of 44.64 mm) and a second focal length Fmain of the imaging lens (see Hirakawa, fig.1, the lens groups GA, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the focal length of the lens group GA is capable of 118.04 mm) satisfy the following relation: |Ff/Fmain|≤0.55 (0.38; Hirakawa, |Ff/Fmain| = |44.64/118.04|, described above).
Regarding claim 7, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a first focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit (see Hirakawa, fig.1, the lens groups GF1+GF2+GE, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the focal length of the lens groups GF1+GF2+GE is capable of 44.64 mm) and a second focal length Fmain of the imaging lens (see Hirakawa, fig.1, the lens groups GA, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the focal length of the lens group GA is capable of 118.04 mm) satisfy the following relation: |Ff/Fmain|≤0.4 (0.38; Hirakawa, |Ff/Fmain| = |44.64/118.04|, described above).
Regarding claim 8, Hirakawa discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a distance Dmin (see annotated image, Hirakawa, fig.1, Dmin) between a first lens surface of the positive lens group and a second lens surface of the negative lens group (Hirakawa, lens group GF1 and lens Group GF2) at an INF lens position (see annotated image, Hirakawa, fig.1, INFINITY lens position) and a maximum optical effective diameter φmax among the inner focusing lens unit (see annotated image, Hirakawa fig.1, the φmax) satisfies the following relation: Dmin/φmax<0.2 (see annotated image, Hirakawa, fig.1, referring to the scale in the image, the Dmin/φmax is approximately 0.03), and wherein the first lens surface (GF1) and the second lens (GF2) surface faces each other.
Regarding claim 9, Hirakawa discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a distance Dmin (see annotated image, Hirakawa, fig.1, Dmin) between a first lens surface of the positive lens group and a second lens surface of the negative (Hirakawa, lens group GF1 and lens Group GF2) at an INF lens position (see annotated image, Hirakawa, fig.1, INFINITY lens position) and a maximum optical effective diameter φmax among the inner focusing lens unit (see annotated image, Hirakawa fig.1, the φmax) satisfies the following relation: Dmin/φmax<0.1 (see annotated image, Hirakawa, fig.1, referring to the scale in the image, the Dmin/φmax is approximately 0.03), and wherein the first lens surface (GF1) and the second lens (GF2) surface faces each other.
Regarding claim 13, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hirakawa further teaches wherein the negative lens group (Hirakawa, figs.1-2, lens group GF2) is further configured to provide the focusing function when moved away from the image sensor surface to focus at a farther object distance when focusing from the MOD to INF (see Hirakawa, fig.1, lens group GF2 provide the focusing function when moved away from the imaging surface Sim to focus at a farther object distance when focusing from the short distance 110mm to INFINITY).
Regarding claim 14, Hirakawa teaches a low refractive inner focusing lens system (Hirakawa, fig.1, the imaging lens), comprising:
an imaging lens (Hirakawa,fig.1, an imaging lens has been referred as the lens group GA) configured to perform as an individual lens unit (Hirakawa, fig.1, paragraph [0052], a front lens group GA that has a positive refractive power and remains stationary with respect to an image plane Sim during focusing); and an inner focusing lens unit comprising: a positive lens group; and a negative lens group configured to: be placed within a flange back between the imaging lens and an image sensor surface; and provide a focusing function when moved toward the imaging surface to focus at a nearer object distance when focusing from infinity (INF) to a minimum object distance (MOD) (This claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding independent claim 1 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein the inner focusing lens unit satisfies the following relation: 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5, wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group.
However, Uemura teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, paragraph [0080], second lens group G2 that remains fixed and has positive refracting power, and a third lens group G3 that includes one negative lens, is movable and has negative refracting power), and further teaches wherein…
wherein the inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, lens groups G2+G3) satisfies the following relation: 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5 (0.9996), wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group (see Uemura, figs.1 and 12, paragraph [0002], the third lens group G3 moves along an optical axis toward an image side thereby implementing focusing; paragraph [0026], FIG. 12 is a set of diagrams for various aberrations of the optical system according to Example 1 in a focusing-on-infinity state and a close-range-focusing stat, β is about +/- 0.02, so |1−β^2| = 0.9996).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the optimum of the magnification of the negative lens group of Hirakawa to have the specific rang : 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5 as taught by Uemura for the purpose of facilitating holding back fluctuations of various aberrations. . (Uemura, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 14, and Uemura further teaches wherein the positive lens group (Uemura, fig.1, the G2) is configured to remain stationary with respect to the image sensor surface (fig.1, mage plane I) during the focusing from the INF to the MOD (Uemura, paragraphs, [0007], [0080], second lens group G2 that remains fixed and has positive refracting power).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify of the positive lens group of Hirakawa to remain stationary with respect to the image sensor surface during the focusing from the INF to the MOD as taught by Uemura for the purpose of facilitating holding back fluctuations of various aberrations (Uemura, paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 15, this claim recites similar limitation wherein a first focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit and a second focal length Fmain of the imaging lens combined satisfies the following relation: |Ff/Fmain|≤0.55 as those in corresponding dependent claim 6 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 18, Hirakawa discloses the invention as described in Claim 15, this claim recites similar limitation wherein a distance Dmin between a first lens surface of the positive lens group and a second lens surface of the negative at an INF lens position, and a maximum optical effective diameter φmax among the inner focusing lens unit satisfies the following relation: Dmin/φmax<0.2, and wherein the first lens surface (GF1) and the second lens (GF2) surface faces each other as those in corresponding dependent claim 8 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 20, Hirakawa teaches a terminal (Hirakawa, paragraph [0178], imaging apparatus according to an embodiment of the present disclosure will be described. FIGS. 17 and 18 are external views of a camera 30 which is the imaging apparatus according to the embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 17 is a perspective view of the camera 30 viewed from the front side, and FIG. 18 is a perspective view of the camera 30 viewed from the rear side. The camera 30 is a so-called mirrorless type digital camera, and the interchangeable lens 20 can be detachably attached thereto. The interchangeable lens 20 is configured to include the imaging lens 1, which is housed in a lens barrel, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) comprising: a camera (Hirakawa, fig.17, the camera 30) comprising:
a low refractive inner focusing lens system (Hirakawa, fig.1, the imaging lens) configured to project an image; and an image sensor (Hirakawa, paragraph [0181], the imaging element such as a charge coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) outputs a captured image signal based on a subject image which is formed through the interchangeable lens 20) is configured to: receive the image from the low refractive inner focusing lens system (Hirakawa, fig.1, the imaging lens); and convert the image into digital image data (Hirakawa, paragraph [0181], the signal processing circuit, a storage medium, The storage medium stores the generated image. The camera 30 is able to capture a still image or a video by pressing the shutter button 32, and is able to store image data, which is obtained through imaging, in the storage medium);
an inner focusing lens unit comprising: an imaging lens (Hirakawa,fig.1, an imaging lens has been referred as the lens group GA); a positive lens group; and a negative lens group configured to: be placed within a flange back between the imaging lens and an image sensor surface; and provide a focusing function when moved toward the image sensor surface to focus at a nearer object distance when focusing from infinity (INF) to a minimum object distance (MOD) (This claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding independent claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale); and
a graphic processing unit (GPU) coupled to the camera and configured to receive and process the digital image data (Hirakawa, paragraph [0181],In the camera body 31, there are provided an imaging element, a signal processing circuit, a storage medium, and the like. The imaging element such as a charge coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) outputs a captured image signal based on a subject image which is formed through the interchangeable lens 20. The signal processing circuit generates an image through processing of the captured image signal which is output from the imaging element. The storage medium stores the generated image. The camera 30 is able to capture a still image or a video by pressing the shutter button 32, and is able to store image data, which is obtained through imaging, in the storage medium).
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein the inner focusing lens unit satisfies the following relation: 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5, wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group.
However, Uemura teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, paragraph [0080], second lens group G2 that remains fixed and has positive refracting power, and a third lens group G3 that includes one negative lens, is movable and has negative refracting power), and further teaches wherein…
wherein the inner focusing lens unit (Uemura, fig.1, lens groups G2+G3) satisfies the following relation: 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5 (0.9996), wherein β is a magnification of the negative lens group (see Uemura, figs.1 and 12, paragraph [0002], the third lens group G3 moves along an optical axis toward an image side thereby implementing focusing; paragraph [0026], FIG. 12 is a set of diagrams for various aberrations of the optical system according to Example 1 in a focusing-on-infinity state and a close-range-focusing stat, β is about +/- 0.02, so |1−β^2| = 0.9996).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the optimum of the magnification of the negative lens group of Hirakawa to have the specific rang : 0.5≤|1−β^2|≤3.5 as taught by Uemura for the purpose of facilitating holding back fluctuations of various aberrations. . (Uemura, paragraph [0008]).
Claims 4-5, 10-12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakawa (US20220163778) in view of Uemura (US20120075729), and further in view of Gyoda (US20190339497).
Regarding claim 4, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein a focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit and a semi-diagonal length IMH of the image sensor surface satisfies the following relation: |Ff|/IMH≥10 (3.1).
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power), and further teaches wherein a focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83) and a semi-diagonal length IMH of the image sensor surface (Gyoda, fig.3, paragraph [0032], an image plane IP, a CMOS sensor, paragraph [0061], a “half angle of view” indicates an image pickup half angle of view expressed as a ray tracing value; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, IM = Image height = 21.64 ) satisfies the following relation: |Ff|/IMH≥10 (value is approximately 53.7; Gyoda, fig.3, |Ff|/IMH = |1161.83|/21.64 = 53.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the range of Ef to have |Ff|/IMH≥10 as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Gyoda discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein a focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit and a semi-diagonal length IMH of the image sensor surface satisfies the following relation: |Ff|/IMH≥17 (3.1).
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power), and further teaches wherein a focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83) and a semi-diagonal length IMH of the image sensor surface (Gyoda, fig.3, paragraph [0032], an image plane IP, a CMOS sensor, paragraph [0061], a “half angle of view” indicates an image pickup half angle of view expressed as a ray tracing value; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, IM = Image height = 21.64 ) satisfies the following relation: |Ff|/IMH≥17 (value is approximately 53.7; Gyoda, fig.3, |Ff|/IMH = |1161.83|/21.64 = 53.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the range of Ef to have |Ff|/IMH≥17 as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 10, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a first lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 13, R=-32.63) of the positive lens group (fig.1, the GF1) and a second lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 14, R=386.48999) of the negative lens group (the Group GF2) have substantially corresponding surfaces, wherein the first lens surface (GF1) is on an object side, wherein the second lens surface (the GF2) is on an image plane side, and wherein the first lens surface (the table 1, the Sn13) and the second lens surface (the table 1, the Sn14) faces each other.
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: 0.5 < abs [Sob(h)/Sim(h)] < 2.0..
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power; see annotated image, Gyoda, fig.3, having the first lens surface
and the second lens surface faces each other), and further teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: 0.5 < abs [Sob(h)/Sim(h)] < 2.0 (is capable of 0.7; see Gyoda, fig.3,[0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 20-21, abs[Sob(h)/Sim(h)] is value is approximately 0.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the shape of the lens surface as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Gyoda discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and
and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a first lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 13, R=-32.63) of the positive lens group (fig.1, the GF1) and a second lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 14, R=386.48999) of the negative lens group (the Group GF2) have substantially corresponding surfaces, wherein the first lens surface (GF1) is on an object side, wherein the second lens surface (the GF2) is on an image plane side, and wherein the first lens surface (the table 1, the Sn13) and the second lens surface (the table 1, the Sn14) faces each other.
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: 0.5 < abs [Sob(h)/Sim(h)] < 1.7.
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power; see annotated image, Gyoda, fig.3, having the first lens surface
and the second lens surface faces each other), and further teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: 0.5 < abs [Sob(h)/Sim(h)] < 1.7 (is capable of 0.7; see Gyoda, fig.3,[0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 20-21, abs[Sob(h)/Sim(h)] is value is approximately 0.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the shape of the lens surface as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Gyoda discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and
and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a first lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 13, R=-32.63) of the positive lens group (fig.1, the GF1) and a second lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 14, R=386.48999) of the negative lens group (the Group GF2) have substantially corresponding surfaces, wherein the first lens surface (GF1) is on an object side, wherein the second lens surface (the GF2) is on an image plane side, and wherein the first lens surface (the table 1, the Sn13) and the second lens surface (the table 1, the Sn14) faces each other.
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: 0.5<Rob/Rim<2.0.
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power; see annotated image, Gyoda, fig.3, having the first lens surface
and the second lens surface faces each other), and further teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: 0.5<Rob/Rim<2.0 (is capable of 0.7; see Gyoda, fig.3,[0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 20-21, abs[Sob(h)/Sim(h)] is value is approximately 0.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the shape of the lens surface as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 16, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 15, Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein a focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit and a semi-diagonal length IMH of the image sensor surface satisfies the following relation: |Ff|/IMH≥10 (3.1).
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power), and further teaches wherein a focal length Ff of the inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83) and a semi-diagonal length IMH of the image sensor surface (Gyoda, fig.3, paragraph [0032], an image plane IP, a CMOS sensor, paragraph [0061], a “half angle of view” indicates an image pickup half angle of view expressed as a ray tracing value; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, IM = Image height = 21.64 ) satisfies the following relation: |Ff|/IMH≥10 (value is approximately 53.7; Gyoda, fig.3, |Ff|/IMH = |1161.83|/21.64 = 53.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the range of Ef to have |Ff|/IMH≥10 as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 19, combination Hirakawa-Uemura discloses the invention as described in Claim 15, and Hirakawa further teaches wherein a first lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 13, R=-32.63) of the positive lens group (fig.1, the GF1) and a second lens surface (fig.1, paragraph [0154], data of table 1, the Sn 14, R=386.48999) of the negative lens group (the Group GF2) have substantially corresponding surfaces, wherein the first lens surface (GF1) is on an object side, wherein the second lens surface (the GF2) is on an image plane side, and wherein the first lens surface (the table 1, the Sn13) and the second lens surface (the table 1, the Sn14) faces each other.
Hirakawa does not explicitly teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: .5 < abs [Sob(h)/Sim(h)] < 1.8.
However, Gyoda teaches the analogous inner focusing lens unit (Gyoda, fig.3, the inner focusing lens unit has been referred as the rear group LR including a plurality of lens units; paragraph [0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 43-30, the focal length Ff of the rear group LR is approximately 1161.83, comprising : a positive lens group B2, paragraph [0031], a second lens unit B2 having a positive refractive power; and a negative lens group B3, paragraph [0031], a third lens unit B3 having a negative refractive power; see annotated image, Gyoda, fig.3, having the first lens surface
and the second lens surface faces each other), and further teaches wherein satisfies the following relation: .5 < abs [Sob(h)/Sim(h)] < 1.8 (is capable of 0.7; see Gyoda, fig.3,[0061], data of table of Ex2, surface number 20-21, abs[Sob(h)/Sim(h)] is value is approximately 0.7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hirakawa to modify the shape of the lens surface as taught by Gyoda for the purpose to reduce the variations in various aberrations accompanying focusing while downsizing and reducing the weight of the image pickup optical system (Gyoda, paragraph [0007]).
Response to argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872