DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of amendment/request with remarks/arguments, dated December 19, 2025. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended; claims 2-4 and 8-10 have been canceled; claims 13-20 have been added.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 1, 5-7, and 11-20 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2018/0270895).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al. teach the method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (paragraph [0333] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)” in the instant application), the method comprising:
receiving, by the WTRU and while the WTRU is in an RRC connected state, a radio resource control (RRC) release message comprising configuration information indicating one or more configured grant (CG) resources (paragraph [0357] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the UL grant resource in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more configured grant (CG) resources;”
in fact, the UE, in an RRC connected state, receiving an RRC connection release message indicating the configuration information for the UL grant resource in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the WTRU and while the WTRU is in an RRC connected state, a radio resource control (RRC) release message comprising configuration information indicating one or more configured grant (CG) resources” in the instant application),
wherein the configuration information further indicates at least one of: a periodicity, a time allocation, a frequency allocation, a modulation coding scheme, or a transport block size (paragraph [0239] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: the resource configuration, e.g., the indication of periodic, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a periodicity;”
consequently, the resource configuration, e.g., the indication of periodic, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the configuration information further indicates at least one of: a periodicity, a time allocation, a frequency allocation, a modulation coding scheme, or a transport block size” in the instant application); and
while the WTRU is in an RRC inactive state: receiving, by the WTRU, a paging message (paragraph [0289] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the base station broadcasting/sending a paging message to the UE in an RRC inactive state in the prior art teaches the limitation of “while the WTRU is in an RRC inactive state: receiving, by the WTRU, a paging message” in the instant application); and
based at least on receiving the paging message, sending, by the WTRU, an uplink (UL) transmission using one of the indicated CG resources (paragraph [0291] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the UE transmitting to the base station using the UL grant resource after receiving the paging message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “based at least on receiving the paging message, sending, by the WTRU, an uplink (UL) transmission using one of the indicated CG resources” in the instant application),
wherein the UL transmission comprises an RRC resume request message (paragraph [0322] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the RRC connection resume request message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an RRC resume request message;”
in fact, the UE transmitting an RRC connection resume request message to the base station in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the UL transmission comprises an RRC resume request message” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, Park et al. teach the method, further comprising, upon completion of sending the UL transmission, resuming the RRC inactive state (paragraph [0331] lines 1-4; Examiner’s Notes: initiating protocol resume regards to the RRC inactive state after the UL transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “upon completion of sending the UL transmission, resuming the RRC inactive state” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Park et al. teach the method, further comprising receiving, from a base station, an acknowledgement of the UL transmission (paragraph [0378] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the UE receiving acknowledge signaling regards to the uplink transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from a base station, an acknowledgement of the UL transmission” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Park et al. teach the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (paragraph [0333] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)” in the instant application) configured to:
receive, while the WTRU is in an RRC connected state, a radio resource control (RRC) release message comprising configuration information indicating one or more configured grant (CG) resources (paragraph [0357] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: the UL grant resource in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more configured grant (CG) resources;”
in fact, the UE, in an RRC connected state, receiving an RRC connection release message indicating the configuration information for the UL grant resource in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, while the WTRU is in an RRC connected state, a radio resource control (RRC) release message comprising configuration information indicating one or more configured grant (CG) resources” in the instant application),
wherein the configuration information further indicates at least one of: a periodicity, a time allocation, a frequency allocation, a modulation coding scheme, or a transport block size (paragraph [0239] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: the resource configuration, e.g., the indication of periodic, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a periodicity;”
consequently, the resource configuration, e.g., the indication of periodic, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the configuration information further indicates at least one of: a periodicity, a time allocation, a frequency allocation, a modulation coding scheme, or a transport block size” in the instant application); and
while the WTRU is in an RRC inactive state: receive a paging message (paragraph [0289] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the base station broadcasting/sending a paging message to the UE in an RRC inactive state in the prior art teaches the limitation of “while the WTRU is in an RRC inactive state: receive a paging message” in the instant application); and
based at least on receiving the paging message, send an uplink (UL) transmission using one of the indicated CG resources (paragraph [0291] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the UE transmitting to the base station using the UL grant resource after receiving the paging message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “based at least on receiving the paging message, send an uplink (UL) transmission using one of the indicated CG resources” in the instant application),
wherein the UL transmission comprises an RRC resume request message (paragraph [0322] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the RRC connection resume request message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an RRC resume request message;”
in fact, the UE transmitting an RRC connection resume request message to the base station in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the UL transmission comprises an RRC resume request message” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 11, Park et al. further teach the WTRU, wherein upon completion of sending the uplink transmission, the WTRU is configured to resume the RRC inactive state (paragraph [0331] lines 1-4; Examiner’s Notes: initiating protocol resume regards to the RRC inactive state after the UL transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein upon completion of sending the uplink transmission, the WTRU is configured to resume the RRC inactive state” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 12, Park et al. further teach the WTRU, wherein the WTRU is further configured to receive, from a base station, an acknowledgement of the uplink transmission (paragraph [0378] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the UE receiving acknowledge signaling regards to the uplink transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the WTRU is further configured to receive, from a base station, an acknowledgement of the uplink transmission” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 15, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the paging message includes an ID of the WTRU and a parameter (paragraph [0333] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the UE ID in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an ID of the WTRU;”
the indication/parameter indicating UL grant in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a parameter;”
in fact, the paging message including UE ID and indication/parameter of UL grant in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the paging message includes an ID of the WTRU and a parameter” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 16, Park et al. further teach the method, wherein the WTRU sends the UL transmission using the one of the indicated CG resources based on receiving the parameter in the paging message (paragraph [0333] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the UE transmitting using the resource based on the UL grant received in the paging message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the WTRU sends the UL transmission using the one of the indicated CG resources based on receiving the parameter” in the paging message” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 19, Park et al. further teach the WTRU, wherein the paging message includes an ID of the WTRU and a parameter (paragraph [0333] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the UE ID in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an ID of the WTRU;”
the indication/parameter indicating UL grant in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a parameter;”
in fact, the paging message including UE ID and indication/parameter of UL grant in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the paging message includes an ID of the WTRU and a parameter” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 20, Park et al. further teach the WTRU, wherein the WTRU sends the UL transmission using the one of the indicated CG resources based on receiving the parameter in the paging message (paragraph [0333] lines 1-14; Examiner’s Notes: the UE transmitting using the resource based on the UL grant received in the paging message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “send the UL transmission using the one of the indicated CG resources based on receiving the parameter” in the paging message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2018/0270895) in view of Ouchi et al. (US 2020/0305094).
Regarding claim 13, Park et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message.
Ouchi et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein receiving a paging message comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission including downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0131] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: receiving DCI in the paging message through a PDCCH in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein receiving a paging message comprises receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission including downlink control information (DCI)” in the instant application); and
wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message (paragraph [0131] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: receiving DCI in the paging message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Ouchi et al. in the system of Park et al.
The motivation for implementing wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message, is to further enhance the communication efficiently, wherein a transmitter sets, in a case that a timing advance command is included in a handover command, an initial value of a second power control adjustment value used for transmit power of a PUSCH including an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message for the handover command to a first power control adjustment value used for transmit power of an SRS, and, based on the first power control adjustment value, sets transmit power of the PUSCH.
Regarding claim 17, Park et al. teach the WTRU without explicitly teaching wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message.
Ouchi et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein receive a paging message comprises receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission including downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0131] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: receiving DCI in the paging message through a PDCCH in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein receive a paging message comprises receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission including downlink control information (DCI)” in the instant application); and
wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message (paragraph [0131] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: receiving DCI in the paging message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Ouchi et al. in the system of Park et al.
The motivation for implementing wherein the DCI is associated with the paging message, is to further enhance the communication efficiently, wherein a transmitter sets, in a case that a timing advance command is included in a handover command, an initial value of a second power control adjustment value used for transmit power of a PUSCH including an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message for the handover command to a first power control adjustment value used for transmit power of an SRS, and, based on the first power control adjustment value, sets transmit power of the PUSCH.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 14 and 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 or 7, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the DCI uses a paging RNTI (P-RNTI),” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Claim 18 includes the similar limitations.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Srivastav et al. (US 2018/0145800) is directed to the method of reducing power consumption in a user equipment (UE) including receiving, by the UE, a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration from an evolved node B (eNB) when the UE is in radio resource control (RRC) connected state with the eNB, determining, by the UE, whether any uplink (UL) Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) transmission is pending for the DRX configured UE, the DRX configured UE being the UE configured by the DRX configuration, determining whether Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring mask is defined in the DRX configuration if any UL HARQ transmission is pending for the DRX configured UE, and monitoring PDCCH only on discrete occasions at which UL grant is expected from eNB if the PDCCH monitoring mask is included in the DRX configuration is provided;
Taylor et al. (US 6,125,449) is cited to show various aspects of in response to the activation signal, a system management interrupt is generated to invoke an SMI handler to change the power state of the computer.
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473