DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11425013.
As claims 1 and 7, Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 1he claimed patent such as claims 1, 15 and 18 discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by sending first and second edge which are separated by total delay, from first node to second node and receiving at first node third and fourth edge from second node and simultaneously starting a timer when receiving third edge and terminating timer when receiving four edge. However, the claimed application discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by sending first and second edge which are separated by total delay, from first node to second node and receiving at first node third and fourth edge from second node and omit some elements from the claims such as timer in order to broaden the claims. Therefore, the applicant is attempting to broaden the parent application's claims by eliminating some of the claim elements in the continuation at issue here. If allowed, the application at bar would unjustly extend applicant patent protection beyond the statutory period of the patent while, at the same time, granting broader protection to the application.
As claims 2 and 8, these claims are similar as claims 5 and 18 of patent.
As claims 3 and 9, these claims are similar as claims 6 and 19 of patent.
As claims 4 and 10, these claims are similar as claims 6 and 19 of patent.
As claims 5 and 11, these claims are similar as claims 7 and 20 of patent.
As claims 6 and 12, these claims are similar as claims 6 and 21 of patent.
As claim 13, Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed patent such as claims 12 and 23 discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by receiving first edge and simultaneously start a timer and receiving second edge after a time period and transmitting third edge and fourth edge after expiring timer. However, the claimed application discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by sending first and second edge which are separated by total delay, from first node to second node and receiving at first node third and fourth edge from second node and adding some elements from the claims such as transceivers. Therefore, the applicant is attempting to expand the parent application's claims by adding some of the claim elements in the continuation at issue here. If allowed, the application at bar would unjustly extend applicant patent protection beyond the statutory period of the patent while, at the same time, granting broader protection to the application.
As claim 14, this claim is similar as claims 6 and 19 of patent.
As claim 15, this claim is similar as claim 8 of patent.
As claim 16, this claim is similar as claim 2 of patent.
As claim 17, this claim is similar as claim 3 of patent.
As claim 18, this claim is similar as claim 4 of patent.
As claim 19, this claim is similar as claim 5 of patent.
As claim 20, this claim is similar as claim 4 of patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11743159.
As claims 1 and 7, Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed patent such as claims 1, 12 and 16 discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by sending first and second edge which are separated by total delay, from first node to second node and receiving at first node third and fourth edge from second node and simultaneously starting a timer when receiving third edge and terminating timer when receiving four edge. However, the claimed application discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by sending first and second edge which are separated by total delay, from first node to second node and receiving at first node third and fourth edge from second node and omit some elements from the claims such as timer in order to broaden the claims. Therefore, the applicant is attempting to broaden the parent application's claims by eliminating some of the claim elements in the continuation at issue here. If allowed, the application at bar would unjustly extend applicant patent protection beyond the statutory period of the patent while, at the same time, granting broader protection to the application.
As claims 2 and 8, these claims are similar as claim 7 of patent.
As claims 3 and 9, these claims are similar as claim 8 of patent.
As claims 4 and 10, these claims are similar as claim 8 of patent.
As claims 5 and 11, these claims are similar as claim 2 of patent.
As claims 6 and 12, these claims are similar as claim 6 of patent.
As claim 13, Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed patent such as claims 1, 12 and 16 discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by receiving first edge and simultaneously start a timer and receiving second edge after a time period and transmitting third edge and fourth edge after expiring timer. However, the claimed application discloses a method and system for determining the shortest between the forward delay and backward delay between the nodes via a network by sending first and second edge which are separated by total delay, from first node to second node and receiving at first node third and fourth edge from second node and adding some elements from the claims such as transceivers. Therefore, the applicant is attempting to expand the parent application's claims by adding some of the claim elements in the continuation at issue here. If allowed, the application at bar would unjustly extend applicant patent protection beyond the statutory period of the patent while, at the same time, granting broader protection to the application.
As claim 14, this claim is similar as claim 2 of patent.
As claim 15, this claim is similar as claim 3 of patent.
As claim 16, this claim is similar as claim 4 of patent.
As claim 17, this claim is similar as claim 5 of patent.
As claim 18, this claim is similar as claim 6 of patent.
As claim 19, this claim is similar as claim 7 of patent.
As claim 20, this claim is similar as claim 8 of patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fourcand [US 2012/0099854].
As claims 1 and 7, Fourcand discloses a system for determining a path delay of an optical link between transceivers, the system comprising: an optical interface in communication with a first path and a second path of the optical link between a first transceiver and a second transceiver [Fig 1, optical network which includes first “101” and second “102” optical transceiver for sending packets via first path “forward” and receiving packets via second path “backward”]; and a processing unit connected to the optical interface and configured to determine an indication of a shorter path delay of the first path and the second path based upon [Fig, Ref 101 includes a processor for determining a shortest of the forward and backward by determine a delay of the first and second, Par. 0028]; transmission, from the first transceiver via the first path, of a first edge and a second edge separated by a total optical link delay [Par. 0032, 0038 discloses a101 send a first symbol “first edge” and last symbol “second edge” which separated by a total delay]; receipt, at the first transceiver via the second path, of a third edge associated with transmission through the optical link [Par. 0024 discloses 101 receives third symbol “loopback of first symbol” with a retransmission time at 102]; and receipt, at the first transceiver via the second path, of a fourth edge associated with optical signal transmission through the optical link after the total optical link delay [Par. 0024 discloses 101 receives fourth symbol “loopback of last symbol” with a retransmission time at 102 after the total link delay].
As claims 3 and 9, Fourcand discloses receive, at the first transceiver, the total optical link delay from the second transceiver [Par. 0024 discloses second node send D2 to the first node].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fourcand in view of Searcy [US 2018/0013490].
As claims 2 and 8, Fourcand fails to disclose what Searcy discloses calculate a total link length based upon the total optical link delay and a speed of light at an effective refractive index associated with the optical link [Par. 0035].
Since, a method and system for calculating a total link length based upon the total optical link delay and a speed of light at an effective refractive index associated with the optical link is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the teaching of Searcy into the teaching of Fourcand. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claims 6 and 12, Fourcand fails to disclose what Searcy discloses determine a path length based on the path delay [Par. 0035].
Since, a method and system for determining a path length based on the path delay is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the teaching of Searcy into the teaching of Fourcand. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fourcand in view of Kurobe [US 5896402].
As claims 4 and 10, Fourcand fails to disclose what Kubore discloses set a wait time at the first transceiver equal to the total optical link delay [Col. 2:8-34, source set waiting for retransmitting is round trip delay].
Since, a method and system for setting a waiting time for echo packet with delay time is well-known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the teaching of Kurobe into the teaching of Fourcand. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As claims 5 and 11, the prior arts in the record fail to disclose the third edge is associated with an optical signal transmission delayed by a response time after the receipt of the second edge, and wherein the processing unit is configured to subtract the response time from an elapsed time of a first timer to determine the path delay.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mani [US 2013/0077964] discloses a method and system for synchronizing optical network.
Ruffini [US 2017/0180070] discloses a method and system for determining propagation delay.
Bottari [US 2015/0104167] discloses a method and system for synchronizing optical network.
Suzuki [US 2017/0353372] discloses a method and system for determining RTD.
Couillard [US 7023816] discloses a method and system for synchronizing a network.
Nomura [US 2006/0280133] discloses a method and system for determining RTD.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414