Detailed Action
1. This Action is in response to Applicant's Patent Application filed on July 11, 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application. This Action is made Non-Final.
America Invents Act (AIA ) Information
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted within this application (has/have) been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TS 38.304 V17.1.0 (2022-06), hereafter “3GPP.”
Consider claim 1. 3GPP discloses a method performed by a terminal for performing a slice-based cell reselection in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (see page 34 line 8: “The UE shall derive re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection according to the following rules …”): obtaining information on a network slice access stratum group (NSAG) from a non access stratum (NAS) (see page 22 lines 3-4: “When UE is in camped normally state, if it supports slice-based cell reselection and has received NSAG(s) and their priorities from NAS”); in case that a cell in a frequency fulfils cell reselection criteria and does not support the NSAG, identifying whether the cell supports at least one NSAG other than the NSAG; and rederiving a reselection priority for the frequency based on a result of the identification (see page 26 lines 37-40: “For a UE performing slice-based cell reselection if a best cell in a frequency fulfils the above
criteria for cell reselection based on re-selection priority for the frequency and NSAG derived according to clause 5.2.4.11,
but this cell does not support the NSAG (see clause 5.2.4.11), the UE shall re-derive a re-selection priority for the
frequency by considering the NSAG(s) supported by this cell (rather than those of the corresponding NR frequency)
according to clause 5.2.4.11” Examiner’s Analysis: a determination (e.g., identification) is made as to whether a cell support the reselection based on the re-selection priority for the frequency).
Consider claim 2 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein
in case that the cell supports the at least one NSAG other than the NSAG, the reselection priority is rederived for the frequency by considering the at least one NSAG
supported by the cell (see page 26 lines 38-40: “but this cell does not support the NSAG (see clause 5.2.4.11), the UE shall re-derive a re-selection priority for the frequency by considering the NSAG(s) supported by this cell (rather than those of the corresponding NR frequency) according to clause 5.2.4.11” and page 33 lines 28-32: “5.2.4.11 The UE derives re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection by using: - NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS, sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag CellReselectionPriority per NSAG”).
Consider claim 3 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein
m case that the cell does not support any NSAG other than the NSAG, the reselection priority is rederived for the frequency as if none of at least one NSAG provided
by the NAS is supported (see page 34 lines 11-16: “The UE shall derive re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection according to the following rules: Frequencies that support at least one prioritized NSAG received from NAS have higher re-selection priority than frequencies that support none of the NSAG(s) received from NAS. Frequencies that support at least one NSAG provided by NAS are prioritised in the order of the NAS-provided”).
Consider claim 4 in view of claim 3 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the reselection priority for the frequency is rederived based on a cell reselection priority per frequency that is not for slicing (see page 33 lines 28-31: “The UE derives re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection by using: - NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS, sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag-CellReselectionPriority per NSAG, if provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling, cellReselectionPriority per frequency provided in system information and/or dedicated” and page 34 lines 1-7: “The UE considers a cell on an NR frequency to support all slices of an NSAG if the corresponding nsag-ID is indicated for the NR frequency and valid for current TA; and - the cell is either listed in the sliceAllowedCellLisiNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection - information) or the cell is not listed in the sliceExcludedCellLisiNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information): or Neither sliceAllowedCellListNR nor sliceExcludedCellListNR is configured in the used slice specific cell”).
Consider claim 5 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the cell is a highest ranked cell in the frequency (see page 25 lines 26-27: “For the highest ranked cell (including serving cell) according to cell reselection criteria specified in clause 5.2.4.6, for
the best cell according to absolute priority reselection criteria specified in clause 5.2.4.5”).
Consider claim 6 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the cell is a best cell in the frequency (see page 25 lines 26-27: “For the highest ranked cell (including serving cell) according to cell reselection criteria specified in clause 5.2.4.6, for
the best cell according to absolute priority reselection criteria specified in clause 5.2.4.5”).
Consider claim 7 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the rederived reselection priority for the frequency is used for a maximum of 300 seconds (see page 26 line 4: “the UE may consider this frequency to be the lowest priority for a maximum of 300 seconds”).
Consider claim 8 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the rederived reselection priority for the frequency is used until new information of at least one NSAG and at least one respective priority is received from the NAS (see page 26 lines 40-41: “This reselection priority is used for a maximum of 300 seconds, or until new information of NSAG(s) and their priorities are received from NAS”).
Consider claim 9 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein identifying whether the cell supports the NSAG is based on: an identifier and a tacking area of the NSAG provided by the NAS; and at least one of a slice allowed cell list or a slice excluded cell list, if configured (see page 34 lines 1-7: “The UE considers a cell on an NR frequency to support all slices of an NSAG if the corresponding nsag-ID is indicated for the NR frequency and valid for current TA; and - the cell is either listed in the sliceAllowedCellLisiNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection - information) or the cell is not listed in the sliceExcludedCellLisiNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information): or Neither sliceAllowedCellListNR nor sliceExcludedCellListNR is configured in the used slice specific cell”).
Consider claim 10 in view of claim 1 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the information on the NSAG is received from an access and mobility function (AMF) (see page 43 lines 43-45: “A UE supporting CN assigned subgrouping in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state can be assigned a subgroup ID (between 0 to 7) by AMF through NAS signalling. The UE belonging to the assigned subgroup ID monitors its associated PEI which indicates the paged subgroup(s) as specified in clause 7.2”).
Consider claim 11. 3GPP discloses a terminal for performing a slice-based cell reselection m a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising (see page 34 lines 8: “The UE shall derive re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection according to the following rules …” Examiner’s Note: The UE (e.g. terminal)): a transceiver (see page 45 line 12: “The UE may transmit or receive NR sidelink communication…” Examiner’s Analysis: The UE is able to transmit and receive, which in the art, these tasks are known to be performed by a transceiver); and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to (see page 45 line 12: “The UE may transmit or receive NR sidelink communication…” Examiner’s Analysis: The UE is able to transmit and receive, which is construed as a transceiver. And these tasks are known in the art to be performed using a controller): obtain information on a network slice access stratum group (NSAG) from a non access stratum (NAS) (see page 22 lines 3-4: “When UE is in camped normally state, if it supports slice-based cell reselection and has received NSAG(s) and their priorities from NAS”), in case that a cell in a frequency fulfils cell reselection criteria and does not support the NSAG, identify whether the cell supports at least one NSAG other than the NSAG, and rederive a reselection priority for the frequency based on a result of the identification (see page 26 lines 37-40: “For a UE performing slice-based cell reselection if a best cell in a frequency fulfils the above criteria for cell reselection based on re-selection priority for the frequency and NSAG derived according to clause 5.2.4.11, but this cell does not support the NSAG (see clause 5.2.4.11), the UE shall re-derive a re-selection priority for the frequency by considering the NSAG(s) supported by this cell (rather than those of the corresponding NR frequency)
according to clause 5.2.4.11” Examiner’s Analysis: a determination (e.g., identification) is made as to whether a cell support the reselection based on the re-selection priority for the frequency).
Consider claim 12 in view of claim 11 above. 3GPP further wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that the cell supports the at least one NSAG other than the NSAG, rederive the reselection priority for the frequency by considering the at least one NSAG supported by the cell (see page 26 lines 38-40: “but this cell does not support the NSAG (see clause 5.2.4.11), the UE shall re-derive a re-selection priority for the frequency by considering the NSAG(s) supported by this cell (rather than those of the corresponding NR frequency) according to clause 5.2.4.11” and page 33 lines 28-32: “5.2.4.11 The UE derives re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection by using: - NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS, sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag CellReselectionPriority per NSAG”).
Consider claim 13 in view of claim 11 above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: in case that the cell does not support any NSAG other than the NSAG, rederive the reselection priority for the frequency as if none of at least one NSAG provided by the NAS is supported (see page 34 lines 11-16: “The UE shall derive re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection according to the following rules: Frequencies that support at least one prioritized NSAG received from NAS have higher re-selection priority than frequencies that support none of the NSAG(s) received from NAS. Frequencies that support at least one NSAG provided by NAS are prioritised in the order of the NAS-provided”).
Consider claim 14, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 4. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 4.
Consider claim 15, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 5. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 5.
Consider claim 16, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 6. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 6.
Consider claim 17, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 7. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 7.
Consider claim 18, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 8. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 8.
Consider claim 19, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 9. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 9.
Consider claim 20, the subject matter recited in this claim has already been addressed in rejection to claim 10. Therefore, it has been analyzed and rejected based upon the rejection to claim 10.
Conclusion
7. The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon, but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250393079 A1: discloses the identification information may be a Network Slice AS Group (NSAG) identification, a radio network slice identification, etc. The radio network slice identification may be Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) or Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI)…
US 20250184841 A1: discloses determining at least two relative frequency priorities between at least two frequencies based on at least two frequency priority strategies…
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez can be reached at (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MARCOS BATISTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642
February 10, 2026