DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bakker (US Publication No. 20200100202).
As to claims 1, 10, and 17, Bakker teaches a method, a non-transitory computer storage medium, and a core network node of a telecommunications core network, the core network node comprising: a processor; and a plurality of programming instructions configured to be operated by the processor to perform operations including (fig. 8, AMF, fig. 10): receiving, during a message exchange for a user equipment (UE), an emergency test parameter (PLMN ID or cell identity) for the UE (fig. 8, #1, #3, emergency registration request, and pp0075, pp0078); selecting from multiple, alternative extended emergency number lists an extended emergency number list for the UE based on the emergency test parameter (fig. 8, #22, pp0068, providing REGISTRATION ACCEPT message is received via non-3GPP access, the message includes an extended local emergency numbers list: 1) the EENLV indicator in the extended emergency number list IE indicates that the extended emergency number list is valid in this PLMN where the list is received, pp0027, the local emergency numbers list and the extended local emergency numbers list contain additional local emergency numbers used by the serving network. These lists may be downloaded by the network to the UE at successful registration and subsequent registration updates and Table 2); and providing the extended emergency number list to the UE in an accept message of the message exchange (fig. 8, #22, pp0068, pp0027, network may send a local emergency numbers list or an extended local emergency numbers list or both, in the ATTACH ACCEPT or in the TRACKING AREA UPDATE ACCEPT messages by including the emergency number list IE and the extended emergency number list IE).
As to claims 5, 13, and 19, Bakker teaches wherein the emergency test parameter is a zone code or an area identifier (fig. 8, #1, #3, emergency registration request service, and pp0075, pp0078, PLMN ID or cell identity).
As to claims 6 and 14, Bakker teaches wherein the providing comprises providing both an emergency number list with statically defined uniform resource names and the extended emergency number list to the UE (fig. 8, pp0022, emergency information provided to a UE during registration may include one or both of an extended local emergency numbers list and a local emergency numbers list, pp0023, Extended emergency number list may be sent in an information element (IE). The purpose of this information element is to encode one or more local emergency number(s) together with a sub-services field containing zero or more sub-services of the associated emergency service URN).
As to claim 7, Bakker teaches wherein the providing comprises providing the extended emergency number list in an information element of the accept message (fig. 8, #22, pp0068, pp0027, network may send a local emergency numbers list or an extended local emergency numbers list or both, in the ATTACH ACCEPT or in the TRACKING AREA UPDATE ACCEPT messages by including the emergency number list IE and the extended emergency number list IE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9, 11, 12, 16, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US Publication No. 20200100202) in view of Buckley et al. (US Publication No. 20210058761).
As to claims 2, 11, and 18, Bakker teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Bakker further teaches the concept of HSS and UDM (fig. 8, fig. 9). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the receiving comprises receiving the emergency test parameter from a subscriber database of the telecommunications core network.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Buckley teaches wherein the receiving comprises receiving the emergency test parameter from a subscriber database of the telecommunications core network (fig. 6, Table 8, Table 9, based on emergency codes from HSS 618, receive an authentication message 640 from the AAA server 616 containing the “EmergencyNumberList”, the “Emergency numbers list” may also be known as “Additional emergency numbers list”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bakker with the teachings of Buckley to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably identifying appropriate and trusted emergency calling numbers in a communication system (Buckley, pp0002).
As to claims 3 and 12, Bakker teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Bakker further teaches wherein the core network node is a mobility management entity (MME) (fig. 8, pp0021, NAS procedures in an EPS include protocols for mobility management and session management used between the UE and Mobility Management Entity (MME) in the EPS), the subscriber database is a home subscriber server (HSS) (fig. 8 and fig. 9), and the accept message is an attach accept message or a tracking area update accept message (fig. 8, #22, pp0068, pp0027, network may send a local emergency numbers list or an extended local emergency numbers list or both, in the ATTACH ACCEPT or in the TRACKING AREA UPDATE ACCEPT messages by including the emergency number list IE and the extended emergency number list IE).
As to claim 4, Bakker teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Bakker further teaches wherein the core network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (fig. 8, AMF), the subscriber database is a unified data management (UDM) node (fig. 8 and fig. 9), and the accept message is a registration accept message (fig. 8, #22, pp0068, pp0027, network may send a local emergency numbers list or an extended local emergency numbers list or both, in the ATTACH ACCEPT or in the TRACKING AREA UPDATE ACCEPT messages by including the emergency number list IE and the extended emergency number list IE).
As to claims 9 and 16, Bakker teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Bakker further teaches the concept of multiple extended emergency number (Table 2). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the multiple, alternative extended emergency number lists include the extended emergency number list and an alternate extended emergency number list, wherein the alternate extended emergency number list includes a subset of uniform resource names (URNs) in the extended emergency number list or different URNs than the URNs in the extended emergency number list
In an analogous field of endeavor, Buckley teaches the concept wherein the multiple, alternative extended emergency number lists include the extended emergency number list and an alternate extended emergency number list, wherein the alternate extended emergency number list includes a subset of uniform resource names (URNs) in the extended emergency number list or different URNs than the URNs in the extended emergency number list (fig. 6, Table 7, pp0155, configure and/or receive a list with emergency numbers with different URNs e.g. service URNs “urn:service:sos”, “urn:service:sos.ambulance”, “urn:service:sos.police”, “urn:service:sos.fire”, “urn:service:sos.marine”, “urn:service:sos.mountain” and pp0159). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bakker with the teachings of Buckley to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably identifying appropriate and trusted emergency calling numbers in a communication system (Buckley, pp0002).
Claim(s) 8, 15, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US Publication No. 20200100202) in view of Gellens (US Publication No. 20160029197).
As to claims 8, 15, and 20, Bakker teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Bakker further teaches the extended emergency number list (fig. 8, #22, pp0068, pp0027, network may send a local emergency numbers list or an extended local emergency numbers list or both, in the ATTACH ACCEPT or in the TRACKING AREA UPDATE ACCEPT messages by including the emergency number list IE and the extended emergency number list IE). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the UE is a tester UE and the emergency numbers includes both a tester uniform resource name (URN) and a URN used for non-test emergencies by both tester UEs and non-tester UEs.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Gellens teaches the concept wherein the UE is a tester UE and the emergency numbers includes both a tester uniform resource name (URN) and a URN used for non-test emergencies by both tester UEs and non-tester UEs (fig. 1, pp0394, service URN starting with “test.” may indicate a request for an automated test and pp0401, urn:service:sos.vehicle.manual—This service URN may indicate that an emergency call carrying vehicle sensor (“crash”) data has been placed by an in-vehicle system (IVS)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bakker with the teachings of Gellens to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing emergency support capabilities for asserting support for telematics capabilities in vehicle emergency call systems (Gellens, pp0004).
Conclusion
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645