Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 and 21-25 have been objected for not claiming structural components e.g. processor, memory, etc. As disclosed in fig. 2 and para 0048-0050, processor and code/instructions stored in the memory are required to perform the transmission/reception.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 16-20, 22-25 and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the measurement report further indicates channel measurement resources (CMR), and further comprising a processor configured to: perform a channel measurement associated with the CMR; perform an interference measurement based on the channel measurement; and determine the size of the guard band based at least in part on the interference measurement.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the measurement report further indicates channel measurement resources (CMR) and interference measurement resources (IMR), and further comprising a processor configured to: perform a channel measurement associated with the CMR; perform an interference measurement based on the channel measurement; and determine the size of the guard band based at least in part on the interference measurement.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the second FD slot includes one downlink sub-band, and wherein the downlink size corresponds to a particular quantity of resources minus a quantity of resources associated with the guard band” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the second FD slot includes one downlink sub-band, and wherein the downlink size corresponds to a particular quantity of resources minus a quantity of resources associated with the guard band. 10. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second FD slot includes two downlink sub-bands, and wherein the downlink size corresponds to a particular quantity of resources minus a quantity of resources associated with the guard band times two ” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the UE transmits the measurement report after a threshold time interval, and wherein the threshold time interval is greater than each threshold time interval in a first group of threshold time intervals associated with a first latency characteristic” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 22, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit a control message indicating multiple sizes of the guard band, and wherein the measurement report indicates multiple cross-link interference (CLI) leakage measurements associated with the multiple sizes of the guard band” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 23, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “ wherein the receiver is further configured to receive reporting of multiple cross-link interference (CLI) measurements, and wherein the multiple CLI measurements include a CLI measurement associated with an uplink sub-band of the first FD slot and further include a CLI leakage measurement associated with a downlink sub-band of the first FD slot.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 27, none of the prior art of record alone or in combination with other references disclose or render obvious the claimed limitations including “receiving a reporting of whether an automatic gain control (AGC) blocking condition is detected by a user equipment (UE) based on a cross-link interference (CLI) measurement, wherein the CLI measurement is based on an uplink sub-band portion of the first FD slot.” when considered as a whole along with other claimed limitations.
Claims 17-20, 24-25 and 28-30 are objected because of their dependency on claims 16, 23 and 27 respectively.
Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 22-25 are allowable only if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and addressing all objections of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0267730, hereinafter Kim) in view of John et al. (US 2020/0235980, hereinafter John).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kim discloses an apparatus (fig. 1) for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (130 of fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
a receiver (230 of fig. 2 - transceiver) configured to receive a reference signal (para 0075; base station transmits a reference signal to UE) that is associated with a first full duplex (FD) slot (para 0246; full duplex); and a transmitter (230 of fig. 2 – transceiver) configured to transmit a measurement report that is associated with the reference signal (para 0028; 0075; 0077; the terminal may receive the reference signal from the base station, and determine a quality of a radio link between the base station and the terminal based on a measurement result of the reference signal; UE sends measurement result to the base station); a size of guard band associated with a second FD slot that is subsequent to the first FD slot (para 0317; a size of the guard band – guard band is between the first and second slots).
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the measurement report includes an indication of the size of the guard band associated with the second FD slot that is subsequent to the first FD slot.
In an analogous art, John discloses that the measurement report includes an indication of the size of the guard band associated with the second FD slot that is subsequent to the first FD slot (para 0007-0008; 0036-0037; 0066-0069; 0087-0088; 0137; 00154; 0109; 0229; based on the information received from BS, UE selects the guard band from the set of guard bands for full duplex TTI, wherein different guard bands have different sizes, and communicates with the base station indicating a preferred guard band which implies the size of the guard band selected by the UE. Base station may communicate with UE during the TTI based on the guard band). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having John’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the reference signal corresponds to a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) (para 0079; CSI-RS), and wherein the measurement report corresponds to a CSI measurement report (para 0077; CSI report).
Regarding claim 4, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the size of the guard band is separate from other parameters indicated by the measurement report.
In an analogous art, John discloses wherein the indication of the size of the guard band is separate from other parameters indicated by the measurement report (para 0154; base station receives an indication of the selected guard band, where identifying the guard band may be based on the preferred guard band – every guard band has it’s specific size, sending indication of the selected guard band implies the size of the guard band and is separate from other parameters sent to base station - para 0117; 0160 – indication of the guard band is different form identification of the frequency band). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having John’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement report indicates at least one other parameter, and wherein the indication of the size of the guard band is reported with the at least one other parameter.
In an analogous art, John discloses wherein the measurement report indicates at least one other parameter, and wherein the indication of the size of the guard band is reported with the at least one other parameter (para 0117; 0160 – identification of the frequency band). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having John’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE operates based on a wireless communication protocol that specifies a plurality of values representing sizes of the guard band (para 0317).
Kim does not expclitly disclose selecting a particular value from the plurality of values as the indication of the size of the guard band.
In an analogous art, John discloses selecting a particular value from the plurality of values as the indication of the size of the guard band (para 029; selecting the guard band from the set of the guard bands and send the indication of the selected guard band to the base station - selected guard band has a size, therefore the indication implies the size information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having Jon’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses receiving a control message indicating guard band configuration with the size of the guard (para 0317).
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the message indicates a plurality of guard band configurations; and selecting a particular guard band configuration from the plurality of guard band configurations as the indication of the size of the guard band.
In an analogous art, John discloses that the message indicates a plurality of guard band configurations (para 0067; 0154; set of guard bands); and
selecting a particular guard band configuration from the plurality of guard band configurations as the indication of the size of the guard band (para 0229; selecting the guard band from the set of the guard bands and send the indication of the selected guard band to the base station - selected guard band has a size, therefore the indication implies the size information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having Jon’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses that the UE is configured with a value representing size of the guard ban (para 0317).
Kim does not explicitly disclose that the UE is configured with a plurality of values of guard bands; and wherein the indication corresponds to a particular value of the plurality of values.
In an analogous art, John discloses disclose that the UE is configured with a plurality of values of guard bands (para 0067; 0154; set of guard bands); and wherein the indication corresponds to a particular value of the plurality of values (para 0229; selecting the guard band from the set of the guard bands and send the indication of the selected guard band to the base station - selected guard band has a size, therefore the indication implies the size information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having Jon’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Regarding claim 15, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured with a range of values representing sizes of the guard band, and wherein the indication corresponds to a particular value within the range of values.
In an analogous art, John discloses wherein the UE is configured with a range of values representing sizes of the guard band, and wherein the indication corresponds to a particular value within the range of values (para 0154; UE is configured with set of guard bands wherein each guard band has a size value; para 0229; selecting the guard band from the set of the guard bands and send the indication of the selected guard band to the base station - selected guard band has a size, therefore the indication implies the size information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having Jon’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim/John in view of Miao (US 2022/0124531, hereinafter Miao).
Regarding claim 3, Kim/John does not explicitly disclose wherein the reference signal corresponds to a cross- link interference (CLI) reference signal (CLI-RS), and wherein the measurement report corresponds to a CLI measurement report.
In an analogous art, Miao discloses wherein the reference signal corresponds to a cross- link interference (CLI) reference signal (CLI-RS), and wherein the measurement report corresponds to a CLI measurement report (para 0006; and 0028). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim/John’s method/system by having Miao’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a communication system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim/John in view of Huang (WO 2021/203374, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claims 8, Kim/John does not explicitly disclose wherein a first increase in the size of the guard band is associated with a first decrease in a downlink size associated with the second FD
slot, and wherein a second decrease in the size of the guard band is associated with a
second increase in the downlink size.
In an analogous art, Huang discloses wherein a first increase in the size of the guard band is associated with a first decrease in a downlink size associated with the second FD slot (page 05; para 01; flexibly of adjusting slots), and wherein a second decrease in the size of the guard band is associated with a second increase in the downlink size (page 31; last para; flexible guard interval with adjustable downlink slot). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim/John’s method/system by having Huang’s disclosure in order to improve the resource allocation of a communication system.
Claims 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John in view of Kim.
Regarding claims 21 and 26, John discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a network device (105 of fig. 1), the apparatus comprising: a transmitter (para 0175; transmitter); and a receiver (para 0173; a receiver) configured to receive an indication of a size of a guard band associated with a second FD slot that is subsequent to the first FD slot (para 0007-0008; 0036-0037; 0066-0069; 0087-0088; 0137; 00154; 0109; 0229; based on the information received from BS, UE selects the guard band from the set of guard bands for full duplex TTI, wherein different guard bands have different sizes, and communicates with the base station indicating a preferred guard band which indicates the size of the guard band selected by the UE), wherein one or more of the transmitter or the receiver are further configured to perform a wireless communication operation associated with the second FD slot, the second FD slot including a guard band having the size (para 0007-0008; 0036-0037;0063; the base station may select frequency bands for full-duplex communications such that the uplink frequency and downlink frequency bands are separated by a guard band. In some cases, the guard band for full-duplex communications may be larger than some or all guard bands used for other communications. In some examples, the UE may signal the base station indicating a preferred guard band, which the base station may use to select frequency bands. Following the selection, the base station may signal the UE regarding the location of the uplink band for full-duplex TTIs. In some cases, the base station may indicate the uplink frequency band to the UE, or may indicate a location of the downlink frequency band and a guard band such that the UE may determine the location of the uplink frequency band- an indication that a TTI for an uplink transmission is full-duplex, identifying a guard band for the TTI, where the guard band is based on the TTI being full-duplex and is larger than at least one guard band available for half-duplex TTIs, and communicating, during the TTI, based on the guard band).
John does not explicitly disclose to receive a measurement report that is based on one or more measurements associated with a first full duplex (FD) slot, the measurement report includes the indication about the communication in the second FD slot.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses to receive a measurement report that is based on one or more measurements associated with a first full duplex (FD) slot (para 0028; 0075; 0077; the terminal may receive the reference signal from the base station, and determine a quality of a radio link between the base station and the terminal based on a measurement result of the reference signal; UE sends measurement result to the base station). the measurement report includes the indication about the communication in the second FD slot (para 0120). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify John’s method/system by having Kim’s disclosure in order to reduce latency in a communication system.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462