DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 07/18/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions of Groups I, II and II are substantially identical and are inexorably linked. This is not found persuasive because as set forth in the restriction requirement mailed on 06/18/2025, the groups are separately classified and are distinct under 35 U.S.C. §121 and §372.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance: Claim 10 recites the broad recitation “transition metals”, and the claim also recites copper, iron and aluminum which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Furthermore, the claim contains the broad recitation “aluminum” and the narrow recitation “pretreated aluminum”. Furthermore, the claim contains the broad recitation “porous materials” and the narrow recitation “wood”, “carboard” and “concrete”. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stark et al. (EP 1326741).
Regarding claim 1, Stark et al. teaches a polymeric material (i.e. a resin) used in a temperature controlled induction heating process which contains magnetic particles therein. (Abstract, par. [0010], claim 1). The magnetic particle may be magnetite (par. [0052]) and that they may be less than 1 microns in size (i.e. nanoparticles), thereby resulting in the claimed nanocomposite. (par. [0017]).
Regarding claims 2-3, the magnetic particles may be uniformly distributed or concentrated in a section of the polymer material. (par. [0075]) (i.e. uniformly or not uniformly distributed).
Regarding claim 4, the polymeric material containing the magnetic particles includes thermoplastic materials such as polycarbonate. (par. [0054]).
Regarding claims 6-7, the limitations are directed to optional features of claim 1 and are therefore also optional.
Regarding claim 8, the composite structure disclosed in Stark et al. would meet the structural features of products as claimed including bumpers, facades, coverings, screens and optical systems.
Regarding claim 9, Stark et al. discloses applying the composite onto a substrate surface (collapsible tank) and are bonded to the surface thereof. (Example 7, par. [0116]-[0117] and Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark et al. (EP 1326741) in view of Haq et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2016/0284449).
Stark et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Stark et al. does not disclose a particle size of less than about 50 nm.
Haq et al. teaches a reversible bonded joint structure including an active adhesive material which including a resin composition containing magnetic nanoparticles therein which are excitable for localized heating. (Abstract and par. [0011], [0042] and [0051]. Haq et al. teaches that the size of the particles may be in the range of in the range of 1-1000 nm and that the size may be selected depending on the processing/mechanical properties of the final product. (par. [0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select magnetic nanoparticles having diameters of 1 to 1000nm as disclosed in Haq et al. for the magnetic particles in Stark et al., overlapping with the presently claimed range.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a particle size in the range of 1-1000 nm in view of the disclosure in Haq et al. that the size is suitable for use as radiation absorption materials for localized heating, similar to the use of the magnetic composite in Stark et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have a reasonable expectation of success in using magnetic particles in the range taught in the secondary reference. Furthermore, Haq et al. teaches a link between particle size and processing/mechanical properties of the composite and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the particle sizes for the purpose of adjusting these parameters.
Regarding claim 10, Stark et al. does not teach a substrate material selected from the materials presently claimed.
Haq et al. teaches bonding substrate materials including metal materials such as aluminum and steel. (par. [0010]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the nanocomposite of Stark et al. to bond to metal substrates such as aluminum in steel in view of the disclosure in Haq et al. that such substrates may be bonded together using the same process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in selecting metal substrates as taught in Haq et al.
Regarding claim 11, the magnetic composite is directed bonded to the substrate without the use of a bonding agent. (see Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 09/06/2025