DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means adapted to execute” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-6 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4, 6, and 12 recite the limitation “when applicable” and “in particular.” The limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is not clear whether the processes are required or optional, and thus the examiner is required to subjectively determine whether other inventions would infringe on these claimed limitations. In addition, the term “particular” is a relative and/or subjective term that is not defined by the claim. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
A claim that requires the exercise of subjective judgment without restriction renders the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893, 167 USPQ 280, 289 (CCPA 1970). Claim scope cannot depend solely on the unrestrained, subjective opinion of a particular individual purported to be practicing the invention. Datamize LLC v. Plumtree Software, Inc., 417 F.3d 1342, 1350, 75 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2005)); see also Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 766 F.3d 1364, 1373, 112 USPQ2d 1188 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and therefore inherit all of the deficiencies of claims 3-4.
For the purpose of further examination, the claim limitations have been interpreted as follows:
Claim 3: “The method of claim 1, wherein the object detection and classification is configured for objects detecting and classifying one or more of instances of body parts, one or more instances of body implants, and one or more instances of outside structures, wherein the outside structures comprise one or more of annotations, measurements, and calibration objects.”
Claim 4: “The method of claim 3, wherein the at least one convolutional neural network used for object detection and classification is trained with training data comprising medical images with annotated and classified objects, wherein the annotated and classified objects are one or more from a group consisting of the* body parts, the* body implants, and the* outside structures, wherein the outside structures comprise one or more of annotations, measurements, and calibration objects.”
Note the difference between “consist” and “comprise.”
* “the” can be changed to “said”, corresponding to the limitations already recited in claim 3.
Claim 6: “The method of claim 1, wherein the object classification is configured to discriminate laterality of the detected objects.”
Claim 12: “The method of claim 1, wherein the medical image is a radiographic image, , an ultrasound image, a computer tomography image, a magnetic resonance image, or a positron emission image, wherein the radiographic image is a two-dimensional x-ray image.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of the four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. MPEP 2106. The four eligible categories of invention include: (1) process which is an act, or a series of acts or steps, (2) machine which is an concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices, (3) manufacture which is an article produced from raw or prepared materials by giving to these materials new forms, qualities, properties, or combinations, whether by hand labor or by machinery, and (4) composition of matter which is all compositions of two or more substances and all composite articles, whether they be the results of chemical union, or of mechanical mixture, or whether they be gases, fluids, powders or solids. MPEP 2106(I).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claims in light of the specification encompasses transitory signals ([0032]-[0033] of the specification only states “computer-readable medium” or “computer program product” and does not specify that the transitory signals are excluded). Transitory signals are not within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. non-statutory subject matter). See MPEP 2106(I). Claims directed toward a non-transitory computer readable medium may qualify as a manufacture and make the claim patent-eligible subject matter. MPEP 2106(I). Therefore, amending the claims to recite a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” would resolve this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai et al. (“Feature fusion Siamese network for breast cancer detection comparing current and prior mammograms,” Med Phys. 2022;49:3654–3669, DOI: 10.1002/mp.15598), hereinafter referred to as Bai.
Regarding claim 1, Bai teaches a method for processing a medical image, the method comprising the following steps:
receiving a medical image (Bai pg. 3656 left column: “developing a novel end-to-end model based on the Siamese CNN model that uses previous year and current year images as paired inputs to predict the probability of malignancy”);
performing an image content analysis for object detection and classification on said medical image (Bai pg. 3656 left column: “extract intraimage and interimage features from pairs of patients’ previous and current year FFDMs for more accurate breast cancer classification”; Bai pg. 3656 right column: “Vector d1 is concatenated with scalar d2 to build the distance feature for classification”), comprising:
propagating the medical image in one iteration through at least one convolutional neural network (Bai pg. 3666 left column: “The one-shot learning characteristic of Siamese-based models can contribute to the superior performance of the proposed model”; Bai Figs. 1-3: the CNNs show the images are propagated in one iteration, indicated by an arrow), and
determining after said one iteration one or more detected objects together with a respective classification label identifying one of two or more different available classes and with respective positional parameters relative to the medical image (Bai Table 3 & pg. 3661 left column: “493 mammogram pairs are labeled cancer … and 581 mammogram pares are labelled normal”; Bai pg. 3656: “designing a new distance learning function … The distance learning network measures the distance between the feature maps from the twin networks and employs a fully connected (FC) network to learn the differences between the feature maps (interimage features) … d1 measures the pixel-wise distance of fc and fp, d2 measures the Euclidean distance between fc and fp … Vector d1 is concatenated with scalar d2 to build the distance feature for classification”; Bai Fig. 7: “from the same location”); and
storing the determined classification label and positional parameters of one or more detected objects in association with the medical image (Bai Fig. 3 & pg. 3659-3660: “We used four datasets (three for pretraining and one for training and testing): (1) Digital Database for Screening Mammography (DDSM) … ”; Bai pg. 3662 right column: “We used Tesla V100 GPUs with 32 GB memory to train and test all models”).
Regarding claim 2, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the image content analysis is configured to detect and classify also partially cropped and/or at least partially overlapped objects and the determined classification label and positional parameters of said partially cropped and/or at least partially overlapped objects detected in the medical image (Bai pg. 3655 left column: “In a mammography there is a likelihood of missing small tumors surrounded by dense fibroglandular breast tissue, resulting in delays in the diagnosis and missing early detection”; Bai pg. 3661: “In order to increase the generalizability of the data set, we included a variety of tumor and breast density types. The mass type in the data set contains round, oval, architectural distortion, irregular, and lobulated … The data set contains all types of breast density including fatty breast, fibroglandular dense breast, heterogeneously dense breast, and extremely dense breast … All mammograms … where N is height, and M is width, are cropped”; Bai Fig. 4: shows that the cancer is detected and classified even in dense breast tissue, in which the cancer is cropped/overlaid by the dense tissue).
Regarding claim 6, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the object classification is configured to discriminate laterality of the detected objects when applicable (Bai pg. 3661 discussed above teaches distinguishing between different mass types; also see Bai pg. 3656 left column: “learn both interimage (between images) and intraimage features form both Craniocaudal (CC) and (mediolateral oblique) MLO views of patient’s particular breast”).
Regarding claim 7, Bai teaches the method of claim 6, wherein two or more specialized processing modules are selected based on the at least one matching parameter, wherein the image is processed with all of the selected processing modules, wherein labels corresponding to medical conditions detected by different processing modules are collectively stored in association with the same image or stored in association with separate copies of the image (Bai pg. 3656 right column: “The goal of the proposed model is to predict the similarity between a current year image, denoted by C, and its corresponding previous year image, denoted by P, where ‘similar’ means normal and ‘dissimilar’ means cancer”; Bai pg. 3657 left column: “at the output layer a sigmoid function, as given in Equation (3) is applied to the distance feature to predict the probability of dissimilarity (cancer) or similarity (normal) … the similarity probability represents the likelihood of abnormal changes between current year and previous year images”; Bai Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the object classification is configured to discriminate view position of the detected objects (Bai pg. 3661 left column: “The FFDMS of two breasts and two view for each breast (LCC, RCC, LMLO, and RMLO) from a majority of patients are included in the data set … The cancer cases were defined as labeled breast CC views and MLO views with biopsy confirmed cancerous breast lesions”).
Regarding claim 9, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising the following steps:
providing two or more specialized processing modules, wherein each specialized processing module is associated with one or more compatible mandatory object classes (Bai pg. 3656-3657 & Figs. 1-3 discussed above);
comparing the one or more detected object classes associated with the image with each of the one or more compatible mandatory object classes to determine at least one matching parameter for each specialized processing module (Bai pg. 3656-3657 & Figs. 1-3 discussed above),
selecting at least one of the two more specialized processing modules based on the at least one matching parameter (Bai pg. 3656-3657 discussed above; see Bai Eq. (3)-(7) for FFS-CNN & Eq. (8) for Siamese CNN),
processing the image with the selected at least one processing module, wherein the selected processing module detects one or more medical conditions and stores one or more corresponding labels in association with the image for displaying to a viewer of the image (Bai pg. 3656-3657 & Figs. 1-3 discussed above; also see Bai Fig. 4 & 7).
Regarding claim 11, Bai teaches the method of claim 9, wherein each specialized processing module is associated with zero or more compatible optional object classes, wherein the comparing step comprises comparing the one or more detected object classes associated with the image with each of the one or more compatible mandatory object classes and each of the zero or more compatible optional object classes to determine at least one matching parameter for each specialized processing module (Bai pg. 3656-3657, Figs. 1-3, & Eq. (3)-(8) discussed above).
Regarding claim 12, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the medical image is a radiographic image, in particular a two-dimensional x-ray image, an ultrasound image, a computer tomography image, a magnetic resonance image, or a positron emission image (Bai Figs. 1-4 & pg. 3661 left column: “493 mammogram pairs are labeled cancer … 581 mammogram pairs are labeled normal”).
Regarding claim 13, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the medical image is received in the Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) format (Bai pg. 3661 left column: “the DICOMs were exported from Picture Archiving and Communication Systems (PACS)”).
Regarding claim 14, Bai teaches a medical image processing system comprising means adapted to execute the method described in claim 1 (Bai Figs. 1-3 & pg. 3662 right column: “We used Tesla V100 GPUs with 32 GB memory”). Therefore, claim 14 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 1 discussed above.
Regarding claim 15, Bai teaches a computer program product comprising instructions to cause a medical image processing system to execute the method described in claim 1 (Bai Figs. 1-3 & pg. 3662 right column: “We used Tesla V100 GPUs with 32 GB memory”). Therefore, claim 15 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 1 discussed above.
Regarding claim 16, Bai teaches a computer-readable medium having stored thereon the computer program of claim 15 (Bai Fig. 3 & pg. 3662 right column discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (Med Phys. 2022;49:3654–3669, DOI: 10.1002/mp.15598), in view of Poltaretskyi et al. (US 2019/0380792 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bai and Poltaretskyi, respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Bai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the object detection and classification is configured for objects detecting and classifying one or more instances of body parts (Bai Fig. 4).
However, Bai does not appear to explicitly teach detecting body implants and outside structures e.g., measurement/calibration objects.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Poltaretskyi teaches detecting body implants and outside structures (Poltaretskyi Fig. 28: 2200 bone structure and 1506 implant components & Poltaretskyi ¶¶0277: “The optimization process can employ any suitable optimization algorithm (e.g., a minimization algorithm such as an Iterative Closest Point or genetic algorithm) to perfect alignment of virtual bone model 1008 with observed bone structure 2200. At block 2016 of FIG. 20A, upon completion of execution of the optimization algorithm, the registration procedure is complete”; Poltaretskyi Fig. 30 & ¶¶0286-¶¶0290: “fixed optical marker 3010 may include a planar fiducial marker … stickers 3016A-3016C that include planar fiducial markers”).
Bai and Poltaretskyi are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to medical image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the feature fusion Siamese network for breast cancer detection (as taught by Bai) to detect implants and other structures (as taught by Poltaretskyi) because the combination aids the surgeons by guiding tools to correct locations during surgical procedures (Poltaretskyi Abstract & ¶¶0162).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record teaches that it was known at the time the application was filed to use the method of claim 3, wherein the at least one convolutional neural network used for object detection and classification is trained with training data comprising medical images with annotated and classified objects, wherein the annotated and classified objects are one or more of body parts, body implants and outside structures, in particular annotation, measurements and calibration objects (Bai pg. 3656: “We used pretrained ResNEt as the backbone … Pairs of current and previous mammogram images are inputs of the proposed model, FFS-CNN … Define S … to present the training data set, where yi represent the class label”; Bai Fig. 2; Poltaretskyi Figs. 28, 30 & ¶¶0277, ¶¶0286-¶¶0290).
However, the prior art, alone or in combination, does not appear to teach or suggest that the annotated and classified objects are one or more from a group consisting of body parts, body implants and outside structures, in particular annotation, measurements and calibration objects, i.e., the group consists of no other additional objects and no less than the listed objects due to the use of the phrase “consisting of”.
Refer to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above regarding the limitation “in particular” for the examiner’s interpretation. The examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter applies to the claims only as interpreted by the examiner due to the indefinite claim limitation. The statement may no longer apply if any amendments change the scope of the claim.
Claim 5 is objected to for the same reason as claim 4 discussed above due to dependency.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record teaches that it was known at the time the application was filed to use the method of claim 9, wherein the selecting step uses a distance measure applied to the at least one matching parameter and selects processing module(s) corresponding to the smallest distance measure of the two or more specialized processing modules (Bai pg. 3656: “The proposed model consists of two identical parallel CNNS (twin CNNs) with shared weights as twin networks followed by a distance learning network … These feature vectors are input to the distance learning functions … measures the Euclidean distance between fc and fp”; Bai pg. 3656-3657 & Eq. (3)-(8) discussed above).
However, the prior art, alone or in combination, does not appear to teach or suggest selecting exactly one processing module corresponding to the smallest distance measure of the two or more specialized processing modules.
Conclusion
/Soo Shin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667