1. Applicant’s amendment filed 10/06/2025 is entered. Claims 1-9 are canceled. Claims 10-12 and 14 are amended. Claims 10-16 are pending for examination. Claims 11-16 depend from claim 1.
Response to Arguments
2.1. 35 USC 101 rejection:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, , filed 10/06/2025, with respect to rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of claims 1-9 and current amendment to claims 10-16. The rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
On reconsidering the amended claims 10-16, they are rejection under 35 USC 103 below.
3. Claim language claimed in the pending claims:
On reviewing the currently amended claims 10-16, they , as drafted, now recite non-functional descriptive data which is not functionally involved in the elements of the recited system. Those limitations are deemed to be nonfunctional descriptive material. The physical structure of Applicant's product would be the same regardless of what information was displayed. The difference between the content of the information displayed, for example, on charts of the claims and the prior art will be merely subjective. Thus, this nonfunctional descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994) also see MPEP 2111.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez; Michael S. [US 20070255589 A1], hereinafter Rodriguez in view of MacFarlane et al. [US Patent: 5,311,293 A], hereinafter MacFarlane in view of Tobiason [US Patent 5,562, 109].
Regarding claim 10, Rodriguez teaches a tool kit system of an artistic imagery consultation [See para 0122 , “ In an embodiment of the invention, one or more user appearance assessment tools may be used to assess user appearance. These tools include, but are not limited to, a concierge who serves as a single point of contact for a user seeking aesthetic improvements, an integrated consultation process, a feature-related flip chart, a diagnostic room, a diagnostician, a self-perception questionnaire, an electronic photograph system, an electronic image database, an electronic system for electronic image morphing, a user satisfaction survey, a beauty analysis system, a wrinkle measurement system, a tooth whiteness measurement system, an expert panel measurement tool, a beauty blueprint report, client summary report, and an outcomes measurement report.”, comprising the features described in (a), (b), (f) and (g): a. a questionnaire, b. a first chart including measurements of a customer's face [See paras 0122, 0127 “ [0122}……These tools include, but are not limited to, a concierge who serves as a single point of contact for a user seeking aesthetic improvements, an integrated consultation process, a feature-related flip chart, a diagnostic room, a diagnostician, a self-perception questionnaire,”…….[0127] In an embodiment of the invention, a feature-related flip chart may be used to allow a user to identify their needs and concerns. The chart utilizes pictures of facial and body features and describes the issues and concerns that the user has with particular facial and body features. “….[0198] A user is interested in having one or more aesthetic improvement procedures performed. he concierge performs a diagnosis (150) using one or more tools including, but not limited to, self-perception questionnaire tool (320), facial electronic photograph tool (330), facial beauty analytical tool (340) and facial measurement wrinkle tool (350). “. Regarding (f) and (g) Rodriguez, as discussed above includes a flip cart as part of tools displaying information on facial measurement and other data related to a user’s appearance but does not explicitly showing somatotopic and optical engagement data. However, the showing somatotopic and optical engagement data, as claimed, merely represent non-functional subject matter , which will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994) also see MPEP 2111.05. Therefore, in view of the Rodriguez teachings of the tools including a flip chart including facial measurements and other aesthetic data related to the user’s appearance it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have used the same flip chart to include the non-functional descriptive subject related to somatotopic and optical engagement data.
Reference limitations, (d) hair tone samples and hair extensions, Rodriguez teaches aesthetic procedures including hair extensions and hair coloring [See Rodriguez para 0115, “ other aesthetic procedures may be available, including, but not limited to, hair extensions”, and para 0118, “…Based on a selection of cosmetic dermatology, facial skin tone, hair color and eye color, a method consistent with the invention may, for example, identify a recommended level or type of make-up artistry. Appearance improvement domains include, but are not limited to, plastic surgery, cosmetic dermatology, cosmetic dentistry, hair styling, hair coloring, facial aesthetics, make-up artistry, fashion and eyewear consultation and nail care.”. In view of these teachings of Rodriguez it would be obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the tools or tool kit to include hair color samples and hair extensions for selections by users.
Rodriguez does not teach that the kit includes (c) a first set of scarves of skin _tones. MacFarlane, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to include a swatch pack of fabric samples [ corresponds to the claimed scarves] compatible with skin tones [see col. 5, lines 3-6, “ FIG. 5 is a perspective view illustrating a swatch pack of fabric samples that are assembled together for their compatibility with one of a number of skin color classifications.”. Therefore, in view of the teachings of McFarlane, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the effective date of filing the application , to have modified Rodriguez to include scarves [swatch packs] of skin tones, because, as shown in MacFarlane it can help for skin color classifications.
Rodriguez does not teach that the kit includes ( e ) a second set of scarves of clothing shades. Tobiason, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to include a set of swatches of fabric of clothing shades [ corresponds to the claimed second set of scarves] [see col. 3, lines 26-30, “ U.S. Pat. No. 4,909,632 illustrates a color chart, as well as a package containing swatches of fabric which are intended to assist an individual in selecting apparel, cosmetics and hair tints having colors compatible with the individual's skin..”. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Tobiason, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the effective date of filing the application , to have modified Rodriguez to include scarves of clothing shades [swatches of fabric], because, as shown in Tobiason it can help for selecting clothing, cosmetics and hair tints.
4.2. Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of MacFarlane in view of Tobiason and in view of Yamamura [US 2022/0044445 A1] in view of CN 210826532U, hereinafter CN’ 532U.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings of Rodriguez, MacFarlane, and Tobiason teach and render obvious all the limitations of the base claim 10, as analyzed above but fail to teach the first set of scarves include colors of gold, light gold, silver, and white. Yamamura teaches [see para 0063, “ that the colors of the color swatches preferably include a plurality of colors with significantly different color coordinates. Typically, the colors of the color swatches include at least any of red, green, blue, black, white, and gold and silver. More preferably, the colors of the color swatches include at least any of red, green, blue, black, white, gold, silver, cyan, and magenta and yellow.”, and CN’532U teaches that there are fabrics on light gold as well [See page 1, “ textile fabric, specifically claims a light gold with snow-woven fabric.”]. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Yamamura and CN’532 U which teach there are fabrics [corresponds to scarves] exist of colors of gold, light gold, silver, and white, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to have modified the combined teachings of Rodriguez, MacFarlane, and Tobiason as applied to claim 1 to include the scarves made of fabrics of colors of gold, light gold, silver, and white, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
4.3. Claims 12-13 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of MacFarlane in view of Tobiason and in view of Hickman et al. [US 20160335711 A1], hereinafter Hickman , in view of R. -S. Seo, "A study of image-making by personal color analysis: A focus on autumn type make-up and hair," 2017 4th International Conference on Computer Applications and Information Processing Technology (CAIPT), Kuta Bali, Indonesia, 2017, pp. 1-3; retrieved from IP. Com on 11152025, hereinafter Seo and in view of Grayson et al. [US Patent 4160271 A], hereinafter Grayson.
.
Regarding claims 12-13, the limitations of claim 12 , “ The tool kit system according to Claim 10, wherein said hair tone samples include Cool and Warm colors”, and of claim 13” The tool kit system according to Claim 12, wherein a. the Cool hair color tone is selected from a group consisting of Blue Black, Cool Red, Dark Brown, Wine Red, Chocolate Brown, Ash Light Brown, Cool Ash Blonde, Platinum Blonde, Medium Ash, and Silver; b. the Warm hair color tone is selected from a group consisting of Copper, Light Golden Copper, Golden Blonde, Light Golden Blonde, Light Blonde, Light Warm Brown, Strawberry Blonde, Light Gold Blonde, Sandy Blonde, and Pale Blonde.”, as recited describe different hair tone colors falling into cool and warm colors types which are known colors and are merely packaged together to be used in their conventional ways and none of these colors , as recited describe new functions or new composition. Hickman, Seo and Grayson teach, in the same filed of endeavor, using a hair color for determining a color palette comprising plurality of colors to identify garments and accessories and cosmetic items :
[See Hickman paras 0021-0022, “ [0021] …… For example, the styler application 146 may be configured to determine a skin tone associated with the person depicted in the image. For example, the skin tone may be the warm, cool or neutral hue that shows through the surface of the skin. Warm skin tones may appear yellow, gold, peach, olive, or combinations thereof. Cool skin tones may appear pink, blue, red, and combinations thereof. Neutral skin tones lack the yellow, gold, peach, and olive hue associated with warm skin tones and neutral skin tones lack the pink, red, and blue hue associated with cool skin tones….[0022] Once the styler application 146 determines the skin tone associated with the person depicted in the image, the styler application 146 may determine a color palette comprising a plurality of colors based on the skin tone. For example, the styler application 146 may be configured to perform a color analysis to determine which palette of colors best compliments the skin tone associated with the person depicted in the image. The color analysis may also be based on the hair color associated with the person depicted in the image, …….. The styler application 146 may identify one or more garments to present to the user via a user interface 159 based on the body shape, the color palette, and combinations thereof. …… Similarly, the styler application 146 may also be configured to identify at least one cosmetic item corresponding to the color palette. Also, the styler application 146 may be configured to identify one or more accessories that compliment the identified one or more garments.”].
Seo teaches , see pages 1-3” Personal Color Analysis is to find the best matching colors to one’s skin, hair, and eye colors, and the personal color remains unchanged one’s skin own unique color…… A. Determinants of skin color diagnosis Body colors are divided into warm colors and cool colors followed by soft tone and hard tone depending on brightness and chroma…… …… Overall, people feel warm from beige to yellowish color group, and feel cool from pinkish color group. Skin types can be divided into yellowish beige color family (shades of yellow and cream) and pinkish beige color family (shades of pink) and, shades of yellow, shades of cream, which people can feel warm is called as warm tone, and pinkish skin which people feel cool is called as cool tone. According to research, it is the most harmonious to match warm tone to warm tone and cool tone to cool tone with having common features[8]…….. B. Hair color There are many hair colors such as black, red and blond color depending on races, which are determined by distribution and amount of melanin pigment, can be determined. ….. Spring People of spring type have baby faces and their skin color is cream. They look lively and are likable style. Many have bright brown hair and brown eyes but some Asians may have black eyes and hair. They go well with clear warm color family with yellow base and clear bright colors such as scarlet, light green, coral, clear salmon, and warm aqua, etc. • Summer People of summer type look feminine with soft eyes. ….. Matching colors are strong faded colors, lavender of pastel tone with blue as a base, rose pink, gray navy, sky blue, etc. • Autumn People of autumn type look urban and placid. ……. Their matching color is a quite and deep color with gold as a base. Examples are coffee brown, dark brown, moss green, mustard, etc. • Winter People of winter type look sharp and match to vivid color. …. Matching colors are vivid colors with blue as a base. Examples are black and white, fuchsia, burgundy, navy blue, royal blue, etc[10]…….. A. Personal color analyzing process 1) Analyze skin, eye, and hair colors through each color charts 2) Compare and analysis warm tone and cool tone using silver fabric, gold fabric, and four season analysis fabric. 3) After determining weather the subject is warm tone or cool tone, compare soft tone and hard tone. 4) Select final personal colors out of the 4 season types B. Producing seasonal make-up based on the result C. Oriducing hair design and color based on the result”, and
Grayson reference teaches , see col.2, displaying color index numerical range associated with cool including light cool, and warm color, and see col.8, Table I displaying a variety of shades which can be selected for clothing shades based upon the skin tone and hair tone “ Slightly Peach or Golden 3 6 Slightly Grey or Pale Olive 3 7 Tan, Brown or Very Olive 4 1 Silver, Grey, White, Platinum, Auburn, Mahogany or Henna, Reddish Brown 4 2 Strawberry Blonde, Reddish Blonde, Mixed Grey Slate, Blue Black 4 3 Champagne, Beige Blonde, Wheat Blonde, Light Ash or Brown, Medium to Dark Brown, Black 4 4 Ash Blonde, Frosted Blonde, Warm Blonde, Warm Brown, Ginger, Rusty 4 5 Pale Gold, White, Honey Blonde, Golden - Blonde, Golden Brown, Copper, Golden Copper 5 1 Grey or Blue-Grey 5 2 Violet or Blue 5 3 Grey-Brown, Brown or Dark Brown 5 4 Golden Brown or Hazel 5 5 Grey-Green or Green”.
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Hickman, Seo, and Grayson it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to have modified the combined teachings of Rodriguez, MacFarlane, and Tobiason as applied to claim 1 at the time of the effective filing date of the Application to incorporate including hair tone samples including Cool and Warm colors”, wherein a. the Cool hair color tone is selected from a group consisting of Blue Black, Cool Red, Dark Brown, Wine Red, Chocolate Brown, Ash Light Brown, Cool Ash Blonde, Platinum Blonde, Medium Ash, and Silver; b. the Warm hair color tone is selected from a group consisting of Copper, Light Golden Copper, Golden Blonde, Light Golden Blonde, Light Blonde, Light Warm Brown, Strawberry Blonde, Light Gold Blonde, Sandy Blonde, and Pale Blonde, because, as taught in Hickman, Seo, the determination of hair tones/colors would help in determining and identifying garments, and accessories, based on the type of a person’s hair tone/color and secondly.
Regarding claims 14-15, the limitations, “ The tool kit system according to Claim 10, wherein said second set of scarves include clothing shades of Cool, Light Cool, Warm, and Pastel, wherein a. the Cool clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Black, Dark Red, Royal Blue, Neon Yellow, Kelly Green, Teal, Sky Blue, Light Pink, Sage, Mint, or Purple; b. the Light Cool clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Midnight Blue, Red, Pink, Magenta, Lilac, Light Yellow, Off White, Sand, Blue, or Light Blue; c. the Warm clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Dark Orange, Brown, Violet, Lime Green, Dark Olive, Ovaltine, or Rose Gold; d. the Pastel clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Plum, Peach, Blue, Copper, Orange, Mist Gold, or Shrimp”, are similar to the limitations of claims 12-13 describing different colors for the scarves, which, as recited describe different colors falling into cool, light cool, pastel and warm colors types which are known colors and are merely packaged together to be used in their conventional ways and none of these colors , as recited describe new functions or new composition. Hickman, in the same filed of endeavor teaches using different colors for identifying clothing including cool, warm and neutral colors [see paragraphs 0021-0022] as determined above for determining a color palette comprising plurality of colors to identify garments and accessories and cosmetic items [See Hickman paras 0021-0022]. Similarly, Seo, see pages 1-3 cited above for claims 12-13, teaches using colors /shades for clothing based on season including warm, cool, pastel colors including a variety of colors falling into these groups and Grayson reference also teaches , see col.2, displaying color index numerical range associated with cool including light cool, and warm color, and see col.8, Table I displaying a variety of shades which can be selected for clothing shades based upon the skin tone and hair tone “ Slightly Peach or Golden 3 6 Slightly Grey or Pale Olive 3 7 Tan, Brown or Very Olive 4 1 Silver, Grey, White, Platinum, Auburn, Mahogany or Henna, Reddish Brown 4 2 Strawberry Blonde, Reddish Blonde, Mixed Grey Slate, Blue Black 4 3 Champagne, Beige Blonde, Wheat Blonde, Light Ash or Brown, Medium to Dark Brown, Black 4 4 Ash Blonde, Frosted Blonde, Warm Blonde, Warm Brown, Ginger, Rusty 4 5 Pale Gold, White, Honey Blonde, Golden - Blonde, Golden Brown, Copper, Golden Copper 5 1 Grey or Blue-Grey 5 2 Violet or Blue 5 3 Grey-Brown, Brown or Dark Brown 5 4 Golden Brown or Hazel 5 5 Grey-Green or Green”. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Hickman, Seo, and Grayson it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to have modified the combined teachings of Rodriguez, Macfarlane, and Tobiason as applied to claim 1 that the kit includes said second set of scarves include clothing shades of Cool, Light Cool, Warm, and Pastel, wherein a. the Cool clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Black, Dark Red, Royal Blue, Neon Yellow, Kelly Green, Teal, Sky Blue, Light Pink, Sage, Mint, or Purple; b. the Light Cool clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Midnight Blue, Red, Pink, Magenta, Lilac, Light Yellow, Off White, Sand, Blue, or Light Blue; c. the Warm clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Dark Orange, Brown, Violet, Lime Green, Dark Olive, Ovaltine, or Rose Gold; d. the Pastel clothing shade is selected from a group consisting of Plum, Peach, Blue, Copper, Orange, Mist Gold, or Shrimp , because such clothing shades can be used for matching with the skin tone and hair tone of the user and would help in in identifying garments, and accessories, based on the type of a person’s hair tone/color and skin tone, and secondly. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
4.4. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez in view of MacFarlane in view of Tobiason and in view of Hickman et al. [US 20160335711 A1], hereinafter Hickman
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings of Rodriguez, MacFarlane, and Tobiason teach and render obvious all the limitations of the base claim 10, as analyzed above but fail to teach the somatotopic type is selected from a group consisting of Straight, Spoon, Top Hourglass, Oval, Pear, Hourglass, Inverted Triangle, and Diamond. Hickman teaches that the somatotopic type [corresponds to the body parts shape and size] can be selected from a group consisting of Straight, Spoon, Top Hourglass, Oval, Pear, Hourglass, Inverted Triangle, and Diamond which are different shapes of a person’s body’s parts including the bust and hip together [See Hickman para 0020, “ 0020] In one embodiment, a user employing a client 106 sends an image of a person to the server 103 over a network 113. The styler application 146 may determine a body shape associated with the person depicted in the image. In one embodiment, the styler application 146 may be configured to perform a two-dimensional scan of the person depicted in the image such that the body shape is determined based at least in part on the two-dimensional scan. ….. The styler application 146, obtains, in response to a user input, at least one body measurement associated with the person depicted in the image and determines the body shape associated with the person based on the body measurement. For example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with the person depicted in the image is a straight body shape in which the styler application 146 may be configured to determine that the bust and the hips associated with the person depicted in the image are approximately the same size and the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is slight smaller than both the bust and the hips. In another example, the styler application 146 may determine the body shape associated with person depicted in image is a pear body shape in which the styler application 146 is configured to determine that the hips associated with the person depicted in the image are larger than the bust associated with the person depicted in the image and the waist associated with the person depicted in the image gradually slopes out to the hips. In another example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with the person depicted in the image is a spoon body shape in which the slyer application 146 is configured to determine that the hips associated with the person depicted in the image are larger than the bust associated with the person depicted in the image and the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is slightly smaller than the bust. In yet another example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with the person depicted in the image is an hourglass shape in which the styler application 146 is configured to determine that the bust associated with the person depicted in the image and the hips associated with the person depicted in the image are approximately the same size and the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is well-defined. In another example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with the person depicted In the image is a top hourglass shape in which the styler application 146 is configured to determine that the bust associated with the person depicted in the image is larger than the hips associated with the person depicted in the image and the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is well-defined. In still yet another example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with the person depicted in the image is an inverted triangle body shape in which the styler application 146 is configured to determine that the bust associated with the person depicted In the image is large, the hips associated with the person depicted in the image are narrow, and the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is not well-defined. In yet another example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with the person depicted in the image is an oval body shape in which the styler application 146 is configured to determine that the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is larger than the bust and hips associated with the person depicted in the image and the hips are narrow in comparison with the shoulders associated with the person depicted in image. In still yet another example, the styler application 146 may determine that the body shape associated with person depicted in the image is a diamond body shape in which the styler application 146 is configured to determine that the waist associated with the person depicted in the image is larger than the bust associated with the person depicted In the image, and the shoulders are narrow compared to the hips, and the breasts associated with the person depicted in the image are small to medium in size.”]. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Hickman it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to have modified the combined teachings of Rodriguez, MacFarlane, and Tobiason as applied to claim 1 to include the somatotopic type is selected from a group consisting of Straight, Spoon, Top Hourglass, Oval, Pear, Hourglass, Inverted Triangle, and Diamond, because by determining and knowing these types it would help identifying garments, accessories, based on the type of a person’s body, as disclosed in Hickman [See Abstract] and secondly, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(i) Galazin [See Abstract, col.2, line 44-col.3, line 22] describes using a kit and color charts to determine an overall value for the individual by reference to skin, eye and hair features, for determining a hue of the individual by reference to colors such as facial powders applied to the skin, and presents the personal colors based on the overall value and hue determined. A personal color direction chart correlates values and hues to the desired personal colors.
6. Final Action:
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOGESH C GARG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688