DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 (hereinafter "Remarks”) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Warner (USPN 2009/0207175) in view of Yeh et al. (USPN 2012/0013571).
With respect to claim 3, Warner teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-13), comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory (Figs. 1-13. At least Fig. 13, item 1320 and paragraphs [0069]-[0073]);
a touch screen (Figs. 1-13. At least Fig. 10 and paragraph [0058] teach a touch screen); and
one or more processors in communication with the at least one non-transitory memory, and the touch screen (Figs. 1-13. At least Fig. 13, item 1310 and paragraphs [0069]-[0074]), wherein the one or more processors execute instructions in the at least one non-transitory memory, to cause the apparatus to:
display an object and at least one other object (Figs. 1-13. At least Figs. 7A-7C and paragraphs [0038], [0039] and [0052]-[0054] teach display and manipulation of GUI objects. At least Figs. 7A-7C, items 204 and 206 read on an object/user interface element and at least one other object/image element);
detect at least part of a gesture on the touch screen (Figs. 1-13. At least Fig. 10 and paragraph [0058] teach detecting input on a touch screen. Examiner notes the term “gesture” is subject to a reasonably broad interpretation and includes the touch inputs of Warner); and
during detection of at least a portion of the gesture, blur, based on a change in a magnitude of the gesture being detected on the touch screen, at least a portion of the at least one other object (Figs. 1-13. At least Figs. 7A-7C, item 206 and paragraphs [0052]-[0054] teach blur of the other object/image element based on a change in the distance magnitude. Fig. 10 and paragraph [0058] teach input can be performed via touch gestures on a touch screen) while maintaining display of the object without applying the blur to the object (Figs. 1-13F. At least Figs. 7A-7C, items 204 and 704a-704c and paragraphs [0052]-[0054] teach blur of the image element does not change the object/user interface element); and
detect a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact to trigger interaction with the touch screen (Figs. 1-13. At least Claim 4, Fig. 10 and paragraph [0058] teach touch screen input. Although not expressly disclosed, Examiner notes the most basic touch input inherently requires an arbitrary increase/decrease threshold to determine a transition between a touch and non-touch state).
However, Warner fails to expressly teach “detect a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen” (emphasis added).
Yeh teaches a known technique detecting contact pressure in a touch system (Figs. 1-7 and paragraphs [0003], [0011] and [0022]-[0024]).
Warner teaches a base process/product of touch screen detection including a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that a touch screen detection includes a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen. Yeh teaches a known technique of detecting contact pressure in a touch system that is comparable to the base process/product.
Yeh’s known technique of detecting contact pressure in a touch system would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Warner and the results would have been predictable and resulted in touch screen detection including a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 28 and 29 of U.S. Patent No. 10,365,758.
U.S. Patent No. 10,365,758 teaches all of the claim elements (i.e., display of an object and one other object, blurring the one other object based on a change and maintaining the object without applying blur and usage of contact pressure of a touch).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations fall under the broad scope of the instant application.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15, 27, 29, 31 and 42 of U.S. Patent No. 10,275,087 in view of Yeh et al. (USPN 2012/0013571).
U.S. Patent No. 10,275,087 teaches most of the claim (i.e., display of an object and one other object, blurring the one other object based on a change and maintaining the object without applying blur). However, U.S. Patent No. 10,275,087 fails to teach “detect a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen” (emphasis added).
Yeh teaches a known technique detecting contact pressure in a touch system (Figs. 1-7 and paragraphs [0011] and [0022]-[0024]).
U.S. Patent No. 10,275,087 teaches a base process/product of touch screen detection including gesture detection which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that gesture detection includes a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen. Yeh teaches a known technique of detecting contact pressure in a touch system that is comparable to the base process/product.
Yeh’s known technique of detecting contact pressure in a touch system would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of U.S. Patent No. 10,275,087 and the results would have been predictable and resulted in touch screen detection including a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 40 and 78 of U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 in view of Warner (USPN 2009/0207175) and further in view of Yeh et al. (USPN 2012/0013571).
U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 teaches most of the claim. However, U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 fails to teach “display an object and at least one other object” and “blur the at least one other object while maintaining display of the object without applying the blur to the object.”
Warner teaches a known technique displaying multiple objects and blurring at least one other object based on distance magnitude of a gesture while maintaining display of the object without applying the blur to the object (Figs. 1-13. At least Figs. 7A-7C and paragraphs [0052-[0054]).
U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 teaches a base process/product of displaying an interface and blurring a portion of the interface based on magnitude which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that an object and at least one other object are displayed and blur the at least one other object while maintaining display of the object without applying the blur to the object. Warner teaches a known technique of displaying multiple objects and blurring at least one other object based on distance magnitude of a gesture that is comparable to the base process/product.
Warner’s known technique of displaying multiple objects and blurring at least one other objects based on distance magnitude of a gesture would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 and the results would have been predictable and resulted in displaying multiple objects and blurring at least one other objects based on distance magnitude of a gesture while maintaining display of the object without applying the blur to the object which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 in view of Warner teach touch screen detection including gestures. However, U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 in view of Warner fails to teach “detect a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen” (emphasis added).
Yeh teaches a known technique detecting contact pressure in a touch system (Figs. 1-7 and paragraphs [0011] and [0022]-[0024]).
U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 in view of Warner teaches a base process/product of touch screen detection including gesture detection which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that gesture detection includes a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen. Yeh teaches a known technique of detecting contact pressure in a touch system that is comparable to the base process/product.
Yeh’s known technique of detecting contact pressure in a touch system would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757 in view of Warner and the results would have been predictable and resulted in touch screen detection including a predefined pattern of increases and decreases of contact pressure to trigger interaction with the touch screen which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,740,727 in view of Warner (USPN 2009/0207175) and further in view of Yeh et al. (USPN 2012/0013571).
U.S. Patent No. 11,740,727 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757, discussed above.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,656,754 in view of Yeh et al. (USPN 2012/0013571).
U.S. Patent No. 10,656,754 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as U.S. Patent No. 10,656,757, discussed above.
Conclusion
/Antonio Xavier/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622