DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On p. 7, Applicant alleges that the Hughes reference does not teach producing a request signal immediately after a parameter is determined to be out of a predetermined range.
Under BRI, the teaching of Hughes which produces a request immediately after one of the events (as noted by Applicant in the diagram), this limitation is met by Hughes in ¶[0155]. Furthermore, Applicant provides no guidance as to the time scale of “immediately”. The Examiner is considering “immediately after” to be met by a lack of intervening steps. Furthermore, Applicant’s characterization of Hughes in ¶¶[0167-0168] mischaracterizes the request in ¶[0168] as merely “further analysis.” By contrast, Hughes ¶[0168] states that the request for transmission is produced when a confidence exceeds a threshold, therefore meeting the requirement for an immediate request after a parameter is out of a predetermined range (the confidence exceeding a threshold).
Lastly, even though the Examiner considers the above sufficient to teach this limitation, Mass further teaches immediately requesting transmission upon a parameter exceeding a threshold in ¶[0129].
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification as filed lacks any antecedent basis for the phrase “immediately after” as no specific immediacy is apparently described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0188872) hereinafter referred to as Hughes; in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0317336) hereinafter referred to as Zhang; in view of Mass (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0310896) hereinafter referred to as Mass.
Regarding claim 3, Hughes teaches an electrocardiographic measurement system comprising:
an electrocardiographic transmitter (¶[0122] ECG circuit, ¶[0142] extract, transmit, and analyze electrocardiographic signal data) that includes a processor (¶[0181], ¶[0187], ¶[0188] processors), an electrocardiographic signal detection circuit configured to detect an electrocardiographic signal (¶[0122] ECG circuit) and a wireless communication circuit configured to wirelessly transmit the electrocardiographic signal (¶[0137]), the electrocardiographic transmitter being attachable to a body of a subject (¶[0095] flexible body and electrodes for wearing by the subject, Figs. 9A-9F); and
a terminal configured to receive the electrocardiographic signal that is wirelessly transmitted from the electrocardiographic transmitter (¶[0145] communication device receives data wirelessly, ¶[0153] server),
wherein:
the electrocardiographic signal detection circuit (¶[0122] ECG circuit) comprises:
a detection circuit for detecting a feature wave which is any one of an R-wave, a P-wave, a Q-wave, an S-wave or a T-wave in the electrocardiographic signal (¶[0162] R, Q, T peaks, ¶[0143] QRS complex onset or offset); and
the terminal (¶[0145] communication device receives data wirelessly, ¶[0153] server) is further configured to: (i) compute a parameter of the electrocardiographic signal, the parameter being obtained in real time (¶[0152] real-time estimate of R-peak location in the ECG, ¶[0161] real-time QRS complex detection algorithm) from a synchronous pulse (¶¶[0162-0164], ¶¶[0166-0167] feature extraction based on timing of a detected peak—the Examiner considers the timing of the peak to be a synchronous pulse for the purpose of computing a parameter though the synchronous pulse producer is taught below in combination with Zhang); (ii) determine whether or not the parameter is out of a predetermined range (¶¶[0166-0167]); and (iii) produce a request signal immediately after the parameter is determined to be out of the predetermined range (¶[0155] request signal for 90-second events in full resolution to support comprehensive analysis as the result of a triage approach, ¶¶[0167-0168] confidence of determination of arrhythmia, i.e. heart parameter is out of health range and may indicate arrhythmia and there is no intervening process therefore the request is produced immediately after a confidence exceeds a threshold);
the processor is further configured: (i) to transmit real time (¶[0150] transmit, in real-time or near real-time) electrocardiogram data based on the electrocardiographic signal through the wireless communication circuit to the terminal (¶[0145] communication device receives data wirelessly, ¶[0153] server), upon receipt of the request signal from the terminal, when the parameter is determined to be out of the predetermined range (¶[0155] request signal for 90-second events in full resolution to support comprehensive analysis as the result of a triage approach, ¶¶[0167-0168] confidence of determination of arrhythmia, i.e. heart parameter is out of health range and may indicate arrhythmia); and (ii) not to transmit the real time electrocardiogram data to the terminal when the parameter is determined to be within the predetermined range (¶[0155] only selected features are transmitted for every beat, and the full resolution signal is only sent upon request when an abnormality is detected, ¶[0150] transmit, in real-time or near real-time, specific sections, therefore not all of the signal); and
the power consumption in the electrocardiographic transmitter is reduced by not transmitting the real-time electrocardiogram data, but only the synchronous pulse, to the terminal when the parameter is determined to be within the predetermined range (¶[0142] selective transmission of extracted data allows for decreased power consumption because the wearable patch is not required to transmit all recorded data).
Hughes does not teach a synchronous pulse producer for producing a synchronous pulse synchronizing with the feature wave, the synchronous pulse being supplied to the processor; the synchronous pulse is a periodic signal; the processor is configured to transmit the synchronous pulse. Hughes also does not teach the immediate real-time transmission including currently acquired ECG data.
Attention is brought to the Zhang reference, which teaches a synchronous pulse producer for producing a synchronous pulse synchronizing with the feature wave (Fig. 4, R-wave detection and trigger pulse generation), the synchronous pulse being supplied to the processor (¶[0047]); wherein the synchronous pulse is a periodic signal (Fig. 4) and the processor is configured to transmit the synchronous pulse through a communication circuit to a terminal (Fig. 1), wherein monitoring and detection is performed in real time (¶[0024], ¶¶[0026-0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the signal transmission of Hughes to include a synchronous pulse producer producing a synchronous pulse, as taught by Zhang, because using ECG timing as a trigger for signal acquisition improves cardiac function imaging (Zhang, ¶[0003]) as well as compensating for natural circuit delay in any system relying on ECG synchronization (Zhang, ¶[0003], ¶[0005]).
Hughes as modified also does not teach the real-time transmission including currently acquired ECG data.
Attention is brought to the Mass reference, which teaches continuous real-time wireless transmission including currently acquired ECG (¶[0041] electrogram) data (¶[0344]), triggered immediately after a patient emergency (¶[0129]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the transmission criteria of Hughes as modified to include real-time streaming of currently acquired ECG data, as taught by Mass, because Mass teaches that “dynamically adjusting the type and quantity of (medical device) data needed to evaluate a patient’s condition is preferably implemented to conserve (medical device) power,” (Mass ¶[0342]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is directed to substantially the same subject matter as claim 3 and is rejected under substantially the same sections of Hughes, Zhang, and Mass.
Regarding claims 11-12, Hughes as modified teaches the electrocardiographic measurement system/transmitter according to claim 3/9.
Hughes further teaches wherein the parameter is selected from the group consisting of average value, minimal value, maximal value, median value, most frequent value, dispersion, and standard deviation of a heart rate in a predetermined period of time (¶¶[0163-0164] minimum, range, maximum, R-R interval length refers to the timing between R-peaks therefore representing a heart rate).
Regarding claims 13-14, Hughes as modified teaches the electrocardiographic measurement system/transmitter according to claim 3/9.
Hughes further teaches transmitting electrocardiogram data based on the electrocardiographic signal through a wireless communication circuit to the terminal (¶[0145] communication device receives data wirelessly, ¶[0153] server), upon receipt of the request signal from the terminal, when the parameter is determined to be out of the predetermined range (¶[0155] request signal for 90-second events in full resolution to support comprehensive analysis as the result of a triage approach, ¶¶[0167-0168] confidence of determination of arrhythmia, i.e. heart parameter is out of health range and may indicate arrhythmia).
Mass further teaches wherein a processor (¶[0007]) is further configured to continuously transmit, in real time, the current electrocardiogram data based on the electrocardiographic signal through a wireless communication circuit (¶[0042]) to a terminal (¶[0037]), upon receipt of a request signal from the terminal (¶¶[0085-0086]), when a parameter is determined to meet an urgent or emergent criteria (¶[0344]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the transmission criteria of Hughes as modified to include real-time streaming of currently acquired ECG data, as taught by Mass, because Mass teaches that “dynamically adjusting the type and quantity of (medical device) data needed to evaluate a patient’s condition is preferably implemented to conserve (medical device) power,” (Mass ¶[0342]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792