DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (Pub. No. 20200314868).
*Regarding to optional language in the claim “at least one of”; “or”, Examiner select only one to exam.
- With respect to claims 1, 15 and 20, Tseng teaches a terminal state switch method, comprising: when a first condition is met (e.g. the step S210 in Fig. 2 discloses “ mobility and/or a location of the electronic device within the serving cell can be determined, as described above. The mobility and/or the location can be determined based on a signal in the serving cell. In some examples, the location can be determined based on the signal in the serving cell and signal(s) in the one or more neighboring cells.”), a terminal switching from a first state to a second state, wherein the second state is an idle state, a connected state, or an inactive state (e.g. step S220 in Fig. 2 discloses “whether to switch the electronic device from the current state to a next state can be determined based on the mobility and/or the location determined at S210, as described above with reference to FIG. 1 (e.g., the first embodiment, the second embodiment, the third embodiment). The next state is one of the first state and the second state and is different from the current state.”), and communication power consumption of the terminal in the first state is less than communication power consumption of the terminal in the second state (it is inherently to know the terminal device from inactive to active is less power consumption), wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the terminal receives a wake-up signal or an activation signal, and the wake-up signal or the activation signal is used to instruct the terminal to switch from the first state to the second state or exit from the first state (e.g. the base station transmit signal to device to be active see par. 58 discloses “the mobility and/or the location can be determined based on a signal in the serving cell”); and wherein after the terminal switches from the first state to the second state, the method further comprises: the terminal maintaining the second state (e.g. the device stays in second state as relaxed level of RRM in Fig. 3-5 discloses); wherein the terminal maintaining the second state comprises: when a fourth condition is met, the terminal maintaining the second state, wherein the fourth condition comprises at least one of the following: it is determined based on terminal mobility that the terminal may move out of the area in which the terminal is located (e.g. Fig. 3-5 blocks 320, 420 and 520 discloses the service cell not suitable so when it suitable the terminal relaxes and maintain in second state); it is determined based on area information that the terminal may move out of the area in which the terminal is located; the type of the terminal changes; the attribute of the terminal changes; the scenario of the terminal changes; the state of the terminal changes; or the terminal determines based on the internal implementation that the terminal moves.
- With respect to claims 2, 16, Tseng teaches when a second condition is met, determining that the area in which the terminal is located changes (e.g. the switching criterion in fig. 5), wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: area information corresponding to the area in which the terminal is located is changed (e.g. Fig. 3 bloc 320 and par. 66 discloses “ Referring to FIG. 3 again, in an example, the electronic device is in the second state. In the period T2, when a switching criterion 320 is satisfied, the electronic device can be switched from the second state to the first state. The switching criterion 320 can be based on the mobility and the location of the electronic device. In an example shown in FIG. 3, the switching criterion 320 includes one or more of: 1) the serving cell for the electronic device is not suitable (e.g., the signal strength of the signal in the serving cell is less than a threshold), 2) the signal variation of the signal in the serving cell satisfies a first switch-back condition (e.g., the signal variation is larger than the threshold S2), and 3) the signal strength of the signal in the serving cell satisfies a second switch-back condition (e.g., the signal strength is less than or equal to the threshold l2 or the difference between the signal strength and the largest neighbor signal strength is less than or equal to the threshold D2). In an example, the signal variation satisfying the first switch-back condition indicates that the mobility is the high mobility. The signal strength satisfying the second switch-back condition indicates that the location is at the edge of the serving cell”).
- With respect to claims 4, 17, Tseng teaches wherein when the first condition comprises that the terminal receives the wake-up signal or the activation signal, or the terminal does not receive the wake-up signal or the activation signal within the first preset duration, the method further comprises: before the terminal enters the first state, receiving, by the terminal, configuration information sent by a network side device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the terminal to monitor a relevant parameter of the wake-up signal or the activation signal (see par. 53 discloses “The network 101 can include processing circuitry 125 that can configure a relaxation mode (or trigger criteria) for the electronic device 110. The relaxation mode can be signaled to the electronic device 110. The relaxation mode can indicate when the electronic device 110 can implement the relaxed RRM measurements (or be switched to the second state). In an example, the relaxation mode indicates that the electronic device 110 can implement the relaxed RRM measurements when the electronic device 110 has the low mobility and is not at the cell edge of the serving cell, as described in the first embodiment. In an example, the relaxation mode indicates that the electronic device 110 can implement the relaxed RRM measurements when the electronic device 110 has the low mobility, as described in the second embodiment. In an example, the relaxation mode indicates that the electronic device 110 can implement the relaxed RRM measurements when the electronic device 110 is not at the cell edge of the serving cell or the location is the second location, as described in the third embodiment.”).
- With respect to claims 5, 18, Tseng teaches wherein after the terminal switches from the first state to the second state, the method further comprises at least one of the following: receiving, by the terminal, a reference signal (e.g. par. 28 discloses “The signals can include reference signals (RSs) that can be used to estimate a link quality of the link between the electronic device 110 and the network 101, cell qualities of the respective serving cell and the one or more neighboring cells, and/or the like. The RSs can include a channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), and the like. In some embodiments, an SSB that includes resources in time and frequency is formed with a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH)”).
- With respect to claims 8, 19, Tseng teaches wherein after the terminal switches from the first state to the second state, when a fifth condition is met, the terminal switching to the first state (see par. 11, Fig. 3-5)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471