DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the remarks and amendments filed on 11/13/25. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 11737512_B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims teach all of the instant independent claim’s limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng CN 109251464 A (see Machine English translation).
Regarding Claims 1-11, Zeng discloses shoe products (implicitly embraces Applicants’ boot and sandals), specifically midsoles (paragraph 0004) (corresponds to claimed insole heel portion and insole toe portion) made from a foam material comprising
10 to 50 pbw SEBS (meets Applicants’ SEBS);
20 to 50 pbw EVA (meets Applicants’ EVA and overlaps content thereof);
10 to 30 pbw POE (meets Applicants’ POE and overlaps content thereof);
3 to 10 pbw EDPM;
0.4 to 10 pbw external lubricant;
0.4 to 1 pbw internal lubricant;
0.2 to 1.2 pbw vulcanizing agent;
0.5 to 1.5 pbw vulcanizing activator;
0.6 to 2.0 pbw foaming agent; and (e.g., abstract, Examples).
Considering Zeng discloses the production of a shoe from a similar composition in Example 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce a shoe (implicitly suggests all footwear inclusive of boots and sandals) (paragraphs 0093, 0124) from Zeng’s above-described Example 2 foam material with the reasonable expectation of success. To the extent only the foam material is used, it would be expected that the resultant shoe would necessarily have a one-piece unitary structure wherein all its portions are composed of the exemplified foam material. Furthermore, Zeng discloses having a compression set of less than 30% (Table 1, paragraph 0134), which meets limitation “iii.” of instant Claim 1. Moreover, based on Zeng’s Table 1 [0134], it would be expected that Zeng’s resultant shoe, being similarly-constituted to the presently claimed boot and sandals, would meet at least one of the remaining claimed properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state: “Zeng nowhere describes a shoe, let alone a shoe comprising an outsole, a separately formed and attached upper, and an insole core disposed within the outsole.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that Zeng discloses shoe products, having midsoles (paragraph 0004) (corresponds to claimed insole heel portion and insole toe portion), that is used to form an entire “shoe” (paragraphs 0093, 0124). The very fact that Zeng discloses making a “shoe” and then moreover specifies that this “shoe” has “midsoles”, implies it having an upper portion and an outsole, because this what is plainly understood by “shoe”.
Applicants state: “The Office Action asserts that "it would have been expected" to produce a one-piece shoe from Zeng's foam. Even if that were true, a one-piece monolithic article is the antithesis of Applicant's claimed multi-component shoe having distinct, separately formed structures.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that what was meant by one-piece is that the entire shoe is made in the mold, which includes the “midsole” (corresponds to claimed insole) as well as by implication, the upper and outsoles.
Applicants state: “The Office Action provides no teaching, suggestion, or articulated motivation to take Zeng's foamed article and convert it into one sub-component (an insole core), while sourcing the outsole and upper from different materials and assembling them as separate, distinct structures.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that Zeng discloses shoe products, having midsoles (paragraph 0004) (corresponds to claimed insole heel portion and insole toe portion), that is used to form an entire “shoe” (paragraphs 0093, 0124). The very fact that Zeng discloses making a “shoe” and then moreover specifies that this “shoe” has “midsoles”, implies it having an upper portion and an outsole, because this what is plainly understood by “shoe”.
Applicants state: “Further, each independent claim requires that the insole core exhibit at least one quantified material performance property, skid resistance, hardness, compression set, density, or abrasion resistance, defined by a specific numerical range and measured on the finished article using standardized test protocols. Zeng neither reports nor enables these properties, and the Office has not carried its burden to show that the claimed performance limitations are disclosed or inherently met.”
Zeng discloses having a compression set of less than 30% (Table 1, paragraph 0134), which meets limitation “iii.” of instant Claim 1. Moreover, based on Zeng’s Table 1 [0134], it would be expected that Zeng’s resultant shoe, being similarly-constituted to the presently claimed boot and sandals, would meet at least one of the remaining claimed properties.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 March 17, 2026