DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed December 15, 2025. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1, 6-8, 13-16, and 20 were previously pending; no claims were cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1, 6-8, 13-16, and 20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 7 of Remarks) states that claims 6-8, 13-16, and 20 maintain the “original” status. However, the amend claims received December 15th, 2025 maintain that claim 7 is withdrawn. It will be assumed that this claim is NOT withdrawn by the Examiner because no restriction or election pertains to claim 7.
The Applicant's second point (page 7-10 of Remarks) amends claim 1 to further highlight the detail of the longitudinal segment and the fluid passage. The Applicant goes on to argue that the new amendments further narrow the claims enough to remove the 102 rejection applied by MATSUMOTO in the Non-Final rejection filed on August 14th, 2025. The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants reasoning. After reading the newly amended claim 1 and applying the broadest reasonable interpretations provided in MPEP 2111 it is easily interpreted by one skilled in the art that MATSUMOTO anticipated the present application.
Regarding the dependent claims, the Applicant argues claims 6-8 and 20 are substantial different from MATSUMOTO. The applicant uses limited definitions of the claim language when the claims are interpreted by the broadest reasonable interpretation as stated in the MPEP 2111. Therefore, MATSUMOTO anticipating the present claims is upheld and the 102 rejection is maintained.
Regarding claims 14-15, the Applicant argues that’s MATSUMOTO does not teach the abutting structure. This is shown in detail in the following 102 rejection. Therefore, MATSUMOTO anticipating the present claims is upheld and the 102 rejection is maintained.
The Applicant's third point (page 11-13 of Remarks) argues that the modifications brought by the other embodiments of MATSUMOTO do not teach the amended claim 1. The Examiner agrees with this logic because the limitations introduced by claim 1 of the present application are taught by the embodiment shown in Fig 2 of MATSUMOTO. This is shown in detail in the following 102 rejection. Therefor MATSUMOTO teaches the present claims (13 and 16) with a combination of embodiments and the 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: the amended claims received December 15th, 2025 maintain that claim 7 is withdrawn, even though the Applicant states that claims 6-8, 13-16, and 20 maintain the “original” status. It will be assumed that this claim is NOT withdrawn by the Examiner because no restriction or election pertains to claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation, “a non-circular cross sectional profile including at least on contoured side,” contains a spelling mistake. It is believed by the examiner that “on” is meant to be “one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 14-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated MATSUMOTO (US 20200235627 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MATSUMOTO teaches:
An e-machine (Fig 1; 10) comprising:
a stator core (Fig 1; 26) having a first axial end and a second axial end that are separated along a longitudinal axis(Fig 1; Y), the stator core having a slot (Fig 2; 30)that extends between the first axial end and the second axial end[0009];
a plurality of winding members(Fig 2; 34), the plurality of winding members comprising a plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36) that are received in the slot (Fig 2; 30)and that extend between the first axial end and the second axial end[0047], individual ones of the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36) having a non-circular[0050] cross sectional profile including at least on(e) contoured side(Fig 2; 3611/3621), the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36) being disposed in an abutting arrangement such that the contoured side(Fig 2; 3611/3621) of the longitudinal segment cooperatively define a fluid passageway(Fig 2; 50) within the slot (Fig 2; 30), the fluid passage extending(Fig 2; 50) between the first axial end and the second axial end of the stator core(Fig 2; 26)[0050] (also shown in Fig 3), the fluid passageway (Fig 2; 50)being defined by the abutting geometries of the neighboring longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36) and not by a groove or channel formed in a face of the longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36)(Fig 2 shows that a fluid passageway 50 is formed by two abutting longitudinal segments 36. In the case of MATSUMOTO, at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found these two equivalent in the art).
Regarding claim 6, MATSUMOTO teaches the e-machine of claim 1:
wherein the neighboring ones includes a first one (Fig 2; 361)of the plurality of longitudinal segments and a second one (Fig 2; 362)of the plurality of longitudinal segments, the first one (Fig 2; 361)including a wavy cross-sectional profile with a concave contour(Fig 2; 3611) and a convex contour(Fig 2; 3612), the convex contour abutting against a second one(Fig 2; 362) of the plurality of longitudinal segments in the abutting arrangement;
the concave contour (Fig 2; 3611)and the second one (Fig 2; 362)of the plurality of longitudinal segments cooperating to define the fluid passageway(Fig 2; 50).
Regarding claim 7, MATSUMOTO teaches the e-machine of claim 6:
wherein the first one (Fig 2; 361)and the second one(Fig 2; 362) of the plurality of longitudinal segments (Fig 2; 36)are stacked along a radial axis(Fig 2; Y);
wherein the second one (Fig 2; 362)of the plurality of longitudinal segments includes the wavy cross-sectional profile with an opposite concave contour(Fig 2; 3621) and an opposite convex contour(Fig 2; 3622), the concave contour(Fig 2; 3611) and the opposite concave contour(Fig 2; 3621) being contoured opposite each other along the radial axis(Fig 2; Z), the convex contour (Fig 2; 3612)and the opposite convex contour (Fig 2; 3622)being contoured opposite each other along the radial axis(Fig 2; Z);
wherein the convex contour (Fig 2; 3612)of the first one abuts the opposite convex contour (Fig 2; 3622)of the second one; and
wherein the concave contour(Fig 2; 3611) of the first one is aligned along the radial axis (Fig 2; Z)with the opposite concave contour(Fig 2; 3621) of the second one to cooperatively define the fluid passageway(Fig 2; 50).
Regarding claim 8, MATSUMOTO teaches the e-machine of claim 6:
wherein the cross-sectional profile has at least one contoured side and at least one flat side(longitudinal segments 361/362 but contain a flat and curves side radial opposite to each other).
Regarding claim 14, MATSUMOTO teaches:
An electric motor(Fig 1; 10) system comprising:
a housing (Fig 1; 18) that defines a motor cavity;
an electric motor(Fig 1; 10) that is received in the motor cavity(Fig 1; 18), the electric motor including a stator core (Fig 1; 26) having a first axial end and a second axial end that are separated along a longitudinal axis(Fig 1; Y), the stator core (Fig 1; 26)having a slot (Fig 1; 30)that extends between the first axial end and the second axial end[0047], the electric motor (Fig 1; 10)including a plurality of winding members(Fig 1; 34), the plurality of winding members (Fig 1; 34)comprising a plurality of longitudinal segments (Fig 2; 36)that are received in the slot (Fig 1; 30)and that extend between the first axial end and the second axial end[0050], individual ones of the plurality of longitudinal segments (Fig 2; 36)having a cross-sectional profile that is non-circular[0050], the plurality of longitudinal segments (Fig 2; 36)disposed in an abutting arrangement to define a fluid passageway (Fig 2; 50)within the slot (Fig 2; 30)and between neighboring ones of the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36), the fluid passageway (Fig 2; 50)extending between the first axial end and the second axial end of the stator core(Fig 2; 26)[0050] (also shown in Fig 3); and
a fluid coolant system [0051]configured to provide a coolant fluid into the cavity for flow along the fluid passageway(Fig 2; 50) between the first axial end and the second axial end[0057].
Regarding claim 15, MATSUMOTO teaches the e-machine of claim 14:
wherein the housing (Fig 1; 18)has a fluid inlet (Fig 1; 40)and a fluid outlet(Fig 1; 44), the fluid inlet (Fig 1; 40)and the fluid outlet (Fig 1; 44)being spaced apart along the longitudinal axis(Fig 1; Y), and the fluid inlet (Fig 1; 40)and the fluid outlet (Fig 1; 44)being in fluid communication with the fluid passageway(Fig 1; 50) [0051,0057].
Regarding claim 20, MATSUMOTO teaches:
A method of manufacturing an e-machine (Fig 1; 10)comprising:
providing a stator core (Fig 1; 26)having a first axial end and a second axial end that are separated along a longitudinal axis(Fig 1; Y), the stator core (Fig 1; 26)having a slot (Fig 1; 30) that extends between the first axial end and the second axial end[0047];
providing a plurality of winding members(Fig 2; 34), the plurality of winding members comprising a plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36); and
inserting the plurality of longitudinal segments (Fig 2; 36)in the slot (Fig 2; 30)to extend between the first axial end and the second axial end(Fig 6; S18), individual ones of the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36) having a cross-sectional profile that is non-circular[0050], including disposing the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36) in an abutting arrangement to define a fluid passageway(Fig 2; 50) within the slot (Fig 2; 30)and between neighboring ones of the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 2; 36), the fluid passageway (Fig 2; 50)extending between the first axial end and the second axial end of the stator core(Fig 2; 26)[0050].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over several embodiments of MATSUMOTO (US 20200235627 A1).
In regards to claim 13, the embodiment of MATSUMOTO shown in figure 2, teaches the e-machine of claim 1.
The embodiment of MATSUMOTO shown in figure 2 does not teach:
wherein the cross-sectional profile is asymmetrical.
The embodiment of MATSUMOTO shown in figure 9 teaches:
wherein the cross-sectional profile is asymmetrical(Fig 9 shows a different embodiment that is asymmetrical along the radial axis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment shown in Fig 2 of MATSUMOTO by using the asymmetrical cross sectional shape of the longitudinal taught by the embodiment shown in Fig 9 of MATSUMOTO in order to further ensured that the cooling fluid supplied to the coil end portions reaches the cooling grooves [0068 MATSUMOTO].
In regards to claim 16, the embodiment of MATSUMOTO shown in figure 2, teaches the e-machine of claim 14:
wherein the slot (Fig 2; 30)is defined by an inner slot surface of the stator core(Fig 2; 26).
The embodiment of MATSUMOTO shown in figure 2 does not teach:
wherein the plurality of longitudinal segments is disposed in the abutting arrangement within the slot to define another fluid passageway between the inner slot surface and the plurality of longitudinal segments, the other fluid passageway extending substantially along the longitudinal axis.
The embodiment of MATSUMOTO shown in figure 13 teaches:
wherein the plurality of longitudinal segments(Fig 13; 36) is disposed in the abutting arrangement within the slot (Fig 13; 30) to define another fluid passageway (Fig 13; 50)between the inner slot surface and the plurality of longitudinal segments, the other fluid passageway (Fig 13; 50)extending substantially along the longitudinal axis(Fig 13; Y)(another embodiment shown in Fig 13 has fluid passages 50 abutting two separate longitudinal segments 36 and abutting the slot wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment shown in Fig 2 of MATSUMOTO by using the fluid passages created by the cross sectional shape of the longitudinal taught by the embodiment shown in Fig 13 of MATSUMOTO in order to further ensured that the cooling fluid supplied from the rotor can reach the cooling groove with a higher degree of reliability. [0071-73 MATSUMOTO].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834