DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on April 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the method search would be in a different classification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “has a value no higher than a threshold value determined by an equation” is vague and considered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hippauf et al. (“Hippauf”, US 2022/0029242 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10, Hippauf discloses a solid electrolyte membrane for a solid state battery ([0006]), where the solid electrolyte material can be Li6PS5Cl (argyrodite) ([0046]), which reads on the formula claimed in claim 1 as well as a) of claim 9 and the limitation of claim 10.
Hippauf teaches the binding agent can be fibrillated polytetrafluoroethylene in small amounts of a maximum of 1 weight percent ([0007]).
Hippauf does not expressly teach the bending strain of no less than 0.1% with the claimed formula.
However, Hippauf teaches a “flexible composite layer” should be understood as a composite layer that can be bent or folded and unfolded by up to 180o without breaking at room temperature, and a bending radius is preferably 90 to 100 microns ([0008]). The claimed limitation is considered to be inherent in Hippauf or at least obvious in view of the above teachings.
As to claim 2, the limitation is rejected under 112 above and does not further limit claim 1.
As to claims 3 and 4, acrylate and PTFE binders are well known in the art. Hippauf teaches PTFE ([0006]) as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the amount of binder through routine experimentation. Furthermore, both sides of the equation could be zero, meaning the binder and the Cl/Br are optional and not required in the claims.
As to claims 5 and 6, Hippauf teaches conducitivity of 2.5 and 2.7 mS/cm (see Fig. 15).
As to claim 7, Hippauf teaches bending radius is preferably 90 to 100 microns ([0008]), which would imply the thickness in that range.
As to claim 8, Hippauf teaches non-crimp fabric ([0025]), which is a type of nonwoven fabric and acts as a scaffold layer.
As to claim 11, Hippauf does not teach the exact formulae claimed in the Markush group.
However, Hippauf teaches Li6PS5Cl (argyrodite) ([0046]) and teaches different substitutions and of elements, which overlap the combinations in the claimed Markush group. Therefore, the formulae claimed are considered obvious variants.
As to claims 12-14, Hippauf teaches a solid state battery with a solid electrolyte membrane ([0027]) and teaches a cathode unit with a composite material of lithium nickel manganese cobalt ([0046]).
Hippauf also shows voltages well above 2.0 in Figs. 5-9.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746