DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 12, 14, 17, 18 are amended.
Claims 11 are canceled herein
Claim 21 is new.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims # 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used for the current rejection of the above claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Cheng (US 2020/0404107 A1) in view of Kumar (US 2020/0107401 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, 8, 14
Cheng discloses a method (See [Abstract]; A method to receive UE policy from policy control function)), comprising:
receiving, by a mobility management entity (MME) device (Fig.5(408)), an attach request associated with a user equipment (UE) (See [0089]; UE sends an attach request to the MME),
wherein the attach request includes a UE state indication associated with the UE (See [0069]; [0089]; [0091]; an indication that the UE supports 5G NAS and a policy container comprising current policy)
wherein the UE state indication indicates that the UE supports a UE route selection policy (URSP) (See [0062]; [0076]; UE request URSP from network) ,
sending, by the MME (Fig.5(408)), and to an access and mobility function (AMF) device (Fig.5(AMF)), (URSP) information request associated with the UE (See [0090]; [0096]; the policy container comprises request for URSP) based on the UE state indication (See [0069]; [0089]; [0091]; an indication that the UE supports 5G NAS and a policy container comprising current policy);
receiving, by the MME (Fig.5(408)), and from the AMF device (Fig.5(AMF)), a URSP information response indicating URSP information associated with the UE (See [0092]; [0096-0097]; MME received URSP according to UE context) based on the URSP information request (See [0090]; [0096]; the policy container comprises request for URSP);
and
sending, by the MME the URSP information (See [0093]; [0096]; UE received URSP from MME) based on the UE state indication included in the attach request (See [0069]; [0089]; [0091]; an indication that the UE supports 5G NAS and a policy container comprising current policy).
(Data transmission from UE and MME goes through a Base Station)
But Cheng fails to explicitly recite
the UE state indication further indicates a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI) of the UE;
However in an analogous art,
Kumar teaches about a UE state indication that indicates a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI) of the UE (See [0079]; the UE 100 may send an attach request with a native 5G GUTI details to the new MME 310b at step 640);
Cheng and Kumar are analog art because they all pertain to 4G and 5G internetwork operation technology. Cheng teaches about retrieving URSP for UE
from MME an 5G and 4G Core internetwork technology. Kumar teaches about a UE state indication that indicates a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI) of the UE. Cheng could use Kumar features to identify the UE to the 5G core network without using its permanent identifier. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the application to combine Cheng and Kumar as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Regarding Claim 2, 9, 15
Cheng and Kumar teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 8, 14 and Cheng further teaches
receiving a manage UE policy complete message (See [0092]; [0096]; UE received a UE Policy Container) .
(Data transmission from UE and MME goes through a Base Station)
Regarding Claim 3, 16
Cheng and Kumar teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 14 and Cheng further teaches
selecting the AMF device based on a distance between a location of the MME device and a location of the AMF device (See [0090]; Selecting AMF based on collocation between MME and AMF).
Regarding Claim 5, 18
Cheng and Kumar teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 14 and Cheng further teaches
wherein the URSP information is associated with an application executing on the UE (See [0096]; Alternatively, the PCF may include additional flags in the URSP rules to indicate which URSP rule(s) is suitable for the application in EPS).
Regarding Claim 6, 13, 19
Cheng and Kumar teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 8, 14 and Cheng further teaches
wherein the URSP information is associated with subscriber profile information associated with the UE (See [0061]; [0085]; [0091]; to facilitate the PCF obtaining the UE Policy from a unified data repository (UDR), the UE may provide, in the UE Policy Container, a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) of the UE).
Regarding Claim 7, 12, 20
Cheng teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8, 14 and Cheng further teaches
wherein the UE state indication further includes existing URSP information associated with the UE (See [0061]; [0070]; [0095-0097]; UE is provisioned with previous USRP included in policy container).
Regarding Claim 10,
Cheng and Kumar teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 and Cheng further teaches
wherein the UE state indication triggers retrieval of the URSP
information (See [0069-0070]; policy provisioning including URSP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2020/0404107 A1) in view of Kumar (US 2020/0107401 A1) and further in view of Atarius (US 2019/0335534 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, 17
Cheng and Kumar teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 14
But Cheng and Kumar fail to explicitly recite
selecting the AMF device based on a globally unique temporary identifier of the UE.
However in analogous art,
Atarius teaches about selecting the AMF device based on the GUTI of the UE (See [0222]; [0265]; AMF is selected based GUTI)
Cheng, Kumar and Atarius are analog art because they all pertain to 4G and 5G internetwork operation technology. Cheng teaches about retrieving URSP for UE from MME an 5G and 4G Core internetwork technology. Atarius teaches about selecting the AMF device based on a globally unique temporary identifier of the UE. Cheng and Kumar could use Atarius features as one procedure to identify the UE to the 5G core network with AMF. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the application to combine Cheng, Kumar and Atarius as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Regarding Claim 21,
Cheng and Kumar teach all the features with respect to claim 8 and Cheng further teaches
wherein, to receive, from the base station, the URSP information based on the UE state indication included in the attach request (See [0062]; [0076]; UE request URSP from network),
the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, via a single communication, an attach accept message and the URSP information (See Kumar [0083-0084]; receiving the registration accept message from an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) entity) .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2646