Final Rejection
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “a support member” as recited in claims 1,9 and 16 line 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Therefore, the limitations “a first direction” as recited in claim 1,17, line 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s claim 16 recites the limitations “data processing hardware” in line 5, “memory hardware” in line 6, “monitoring, using the opto-electrical sensor” in line 9, “detecting, using the opto-electrical sensor” in line 11 and “transmitting the dispensing signal,” as recited in line 15 are not disclosed in the provided specifications. The disclosure of the recited elements or the corresponding structure elements are not found in the specifications in a way to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had procession of the claimed elements as the time of the invention.
Therefore, the limitations as recited are new matter. Thus, claims 16-20 are not treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “data processing hardware” in line 5, “memory hardware” in line 6, “monitoring, using the opto-electrical sensor” in line 9, “detecting, using the opto-electrical sensor” in line 11 and “transmitting the dispensing signal to a central controller,” as recited in line 15. It is unclear as to what specifically is a data processing hardware, memory hardware, monitoring, using the opto-electrical sensor, detecting, using the opto-electrical sensor and transmitting the dispensing signal to a central controller since the specification do not disclose the said structures in the disclosure. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Beilenhoff (US 2009/0212064 A1).
Referring to claims 1 and 9. Beilenhoff discloses a merchandise dispensing system (10; Figure 1) comprising:
one or more dispensers (dispenser of 10) extending from a front end (front end adjacent to member 16; Figure 1) to a rear end (rear end adjacent to member 14; Figure 10) spaced from the front end, each of the one of more dispensers (dispenser of 10) including:
a support member (52; Figure 10) extending in a first direction (direction from the back towards end 16) from a first end (end opposite 16) fixed at the rear end (rear end adjacent to member 14; Figure 10) to a second end (end 16) spaced from the first end and configured to support a merchandise item (24);
a dispensing member (20) attached to the support member (52; Figure 10) and operable to selectively bias (move toward the front 16) the merchandise item (24) in the first direction (direction from the back towards end 16) with respect to the support member (52; Figure 10); and
a housing (40) attached to the dispensing member (20) and having a backside facing the second end of the support member (52; Figure 10), the housing (40) including
(i) a sensor operable to monitor a space between the backside of the housing and the second end of the support member to detect when a merchandise item is dispensed (placing a sales sensor in the region of the turning point 43 between the lower groove section 42 and the upper groove section 44; Para. [0062]), and
(ii) an electronic controller (control board; not shown) operable to generate a first dispensing signal when the sensor detects a merchandise item is dispensed (as a result of which certain control combinations result, depending, for example, on the direction of movement of the chain 18, with which certain states of the chain 18 can be detected, for example its advancing or return movement; Para. [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5,8,10-13,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beilenhoff (US 2009/0212064 A1) in view of in view of Siegel (US 8,260,456).
Referring to claims 2,10, 17 and 20. Beilenhoff discloses a merchandise dispensing system (10; Figure 1) comprising a sensor for monitor a space between the backside of the housing.
Beilenhoff does not specifically wherein the sensor is an opto-electric sensor attached to the backside of the housing and faces the second end of the support member.
Siegel discloses a retail shelf monitoring system (Figure 17) wherein the sensor (284 and 282) is an opto-electric sensor attached to the backside of the housing and faces the second end of the support member (Col.13 lines 15-24).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Beilenhoff to include the sensor as being an opto-electric sensor attached to the backside of the housing and faces the second end of the support member as taught by Siegel because and optical sensor would be able to detect movement of the stored product thus detecting a dispensing event.
Referring to claims 3 and 11. Siegel discloses a retail shelf monitoring system (Figure 17) wherein further comprising a central controller (32; Figure 1) in electrical communication with the electronic controller (microprocessor control) and operable to receive the first dispensing signal (dispensing single from the sensor).
Referring to claims 4,12 and 19. Siegel discloses a retail shelf monitoring system (Figure 17)
wherein the central controller (32) is operable to generate at least one of an audio indication (48) or a visual indication (40) upon receipt of the first dispensing signal (actuated by detection of a dispensing event).
Referring to claims 5, 13 and 16. Siegel discloses a retail shelf monitoring system (Figure 17)
wherein the one or more dispensers (12; consisting of a plurality of dispensers) include a first dispenser (60; Figure 2) having a first electronic controller (internal microprocessor control of first dispenser) in communication with the central controller (32) and a second dispenser (second dispenser 60; Figure 2) having a second electronic controller (second internal microprocessor control) in communication with the central controller (12).
Referring to claims 8 and 15. Siegel discloses a retail shelf monitoring system (Figure 17) wherein each of the one or more dispensers (12; consisting of a plurality of dispensers) further includes a battery disposed within the housing and configured to power the electronic controller and the sensor (such systems must be, for the most part, battery powered, thus entailing a design that minimizes power without sacrificing effectiveness and reliability; Col. 1 lines 55-56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,7,14,18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See modified rejections above including all newly amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments to the drawing objections are not persuasive. Applicant argues the limitations “a support member” and “a first direction” are disclosed in the specifications and provides either an alternative name for the said elements or a description of the elements. However, the specifications do not positively recite a specific element number for the said objected elements. Since, there are no specific element numbers in the specification to refer to the structural members in questions, the claims remain objected. The applicant should indicate where in the specifications there is a disclosure reciting “a support member” and “a first direction” as a numeral found in the drawings.
In a similar manner Applicant’s claim 16 recites the limitations “data processing hardware” in line 5, “memory hardware” in line 6, “monitoring, using the opto-electrical sensor” in line 9, “detecting, using the opto-electrical sensor” in line 11 and “transmitting the dispensing signal,” as recited in line 15 are not disclosed in the provided specifications. The disclosure of the recited elements or the corresponding structure elements are not found in the specifications in a way to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had procession of the claimed elements as the time of the invention. Therefore, the limitations are indicated as new matter. Thus, claims 16-20 are not treated on the merits.
Applicant argues” Applicant respectfully submits that the cited art of record fails to teach, suggest, or disclose a merchandise dispensing system including one or more dispensers extending from a front end to a rear end spaced from the front end, each of the one or more dispensers including (a) a support member extending in a first direction from a first end fixed at the rear end to a second end spaced from the first end and configured to support a merchandise item.”
In view of the Examiner, the reference of Beilenhoff discloses one or more dispensers (dispenser of 10) extending from a front end (front end adjacent to member 16; Figure 1) to a rear end (rear end adjacent to member 14; Figure 10) spaced from the front end, each of the one of more dispensers (dispenser of 10) including:
a support member (52; Figure 10) extending in a first direction (direction from the back towards end 16) from a first end (end opposite 16) fixed at the rear end (rear end adjacent to member 14; Figure 10) to a second end (end 16) spaced from the first end and configured to support a merchandise item (24);
a dispensing member (20) attached to the support member (52; Figure 10) and operable to selectively bias (move toward the front 16) the merchandise item (24) in the first direction (direction from the back towards end 16) with respect to the support member (52; Figure 10); and
a housing (40) attached to the dispensing member (20) and having a backside facing the second end of the support member (52; Figure 10). Thus, the limitations as claimed are disclosed by the cited references.
It is suggested the Applicant include additional structure to overcome the cited references or included the indicated the allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651