Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/12/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The opening sentence, “An apparatus for determining alternating current (AC) losses in a superconductor sample is disclosed” is improper.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (i.e., claims 1-15 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 8/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/29/2025.
Therefore, claims 1-15 and 17-20 have been examined on the merits in this Office action.
Claim status
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending.
Claim 16 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Takahata in the US Patent Number US 5111140 A.
Regarding claim 1, Takahata teaches an apparatus for determining alternating current (AC) losses in a superconductor sample (a device and a method for measuring characteristics of a superconductor such as repulsive displacements and repulsive forces with respect to a magnet; Column 1 Line 9-12; FIG. 6 is a longitudinal sectional view of a superconductor characteristic measuring device according to still another embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 7 is an enlarged sectional view showing a part of the measuring device.; Column 10 Line 5-9) comprising:
a sample holder [107] configured to hold the superconductor sample [108] (a specimen holder 107 (or first holding means) is provided in the cooling vessel 106 in such a manner that it is protruded from the center of the bottom of the cooling vessel. A recess is formed at the top end of the specimen holder 107. A superconductor specimen 108 is placed in the recess thus formed; Column 10 Line 17-22);
a frame [105+118] configured to support the sample holder [107] (The static pressure support mechanism 114 comprises a pivoting hole 119 formed in a frame 118, to pivotally support the spindle 113. The frame 118 consists of an outer frame 118a and an inner frame 118b; Column 10 Line 42-45; In FIGS. 6 and 7, reference numeral 101 designates a housing with an open bottom, the housing being made of an acrylic plate or the like. The housing 101 is divided by a partition board 102 into the upper chamber 111 and the lower chamber 103. In the lower chamber 103, a height adjusting lift 105 is provided; Column 10 Line 10-15),
wherein the frame [118] includes a pair of spaced apart parallel walls [118a] (The static pressure support mechanism 114 comprises a pivoting hole 119 formed in a frame 118, to pivotally support the spindle 113. The frame 118 consists of an outer frame 118a and an inner frame 118b; Column 10 Line 42-45), and
wherein the frame [118] is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (
The specimen holding shaft 1 penetrates the frame 1 horizontally. As shown in FIG. 2, a static pressure type gas bearing 11 is formed between the shaft 1 and the frame 2. The gas bearing 11 supports the specimen holding shaft 1 in such a manner that the shaft 1 is axially movable, and is rotatable; Column 6 Line 18-24; As shown in FIG. 3, the turbine section 19 and the jet paths 17 arranged around the turbine section 19 form means for rotating the specimen holding shaft 1 (hereinafter referred to as "a shaft rotating means", when applicable). The lead-in path 16 is connected to the other pipe 14b for the helium gas (hereinafter referred to as "a driving pipe 14b", when applicable). Further in FIG. 1, reference numeral 15b designates a valve connected to the driving pipe 14b; and 15c, a valve connected to the junction of the two pipes 14a and 14b; Column 6 Line 38-48; Therefore, from all other embodiment it is clear that frame is rotatable with spindle 113);
Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata
a rotor [112] positioned between the pair of spaced apart parallel walls [118a] of the frame [118] (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, and a static pressure support mechanism (or supporting means) which supports the spindle 113 in a non-contact mode; Column 10 Line 28-33; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata above shows a rotor [112] positioned between the pair of spaced apart parallel walls [118a] of the frame [118]),
wherein the rotor [112] is configured to rotate about the axis of rotation to generate a magnetic field (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, A mark for detecting an amount of rotation is provided on the upper surface of the disk 117 at such a position as is shifted from the center of the upper surface; Column 10 Line 28-41);
an extension arm [114] (a static pressure support mechanism as the extension arm of the frame) (a static pressure support mechanism (or supporting means) which supports the spindle 113 in a non-contact mode. The spindle 113 is made of non-magnetic material; Column 10 Line 31-34) coupled to the frame [118] (Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata above shows an extension arm [114] coupled to the frame [118]); and
a sensor device [141] (revolution counter with the reflected light sensor 140 as the sensor device as it senses amount of rotation) (Further in FIGS. 6 and 7, reference numeral 140 designates a reflected-light sensor penetrating the static pressure support mechanism 114 from above in such a manner that its lower end meets the mark on the disk 117 as the spindle 113 rotates. The reflected-light sensor 140 is connected to a revolution counter 141. The reflected-light sensor 140 and the revolution counter 141 form an amount-of-rotation detecting means (or amount-of-rotation detecting means); Column 11 Line 24-32) configured to detect a force exerted on the sensor device [141] by the extension arm [114] ((The revolution counter 141 counts the detection signals which the reflected-light sensor 140 outputs when detecting the mark on the disk 117 for the period of time which elapses from the driving of the turbine section is suspended until the spindle 113 stops by itself; that is, the amount of rotation of the spindle until the latter stops, is detected. The amount of rotation thus detected is utilized to calculate a time constant. According to the time constant thus calculated, the rotational resistance acting on the superconductor specimen 8 can be determined. That is, when the time constant is large, the rotational resistance is low; and when it is small, the rotational resistance is high. In addition, the mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting range in relation to the rotational resistance can be detected; Column 12 Line 1-16; As was described above, with the type II superconductor which is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting, a kind of frictional force is induced with the magnetic field. Hence, when such a superconductor is used for a mechanical part such as a bearing, then the frictional force would be a resistance against the operation of the mechanical part. Therefore, as for a type II superconductor, it is necessary to measure the range in which the superconductor is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting, and the resistance provided when it is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting; Column 2 Line 30-42; Therefore, force is calculated by calculating the resistance).
Regarding claim 2, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the superconductor sample [108] comprises a superconductor tape, a superconductor coil, a superconductor film, a superconductor conductor, a superconductor wire, or a superconductor material (By the way, superconductors are classified into two groups; a group of type I superconductor to which mainly pure metals belong, and a group of type II superconductor to which alloys, inorganic compounds, amorphous alloys and organic compounds belong; Column 2 Line 5-10; alloys, inorganic compounds, amorphous alloys and organic compounds are superconductor material).
.
Regarding claim 3, Takahata teaches an apparatus, further comprising
a motor [129b] configured to rotate a shaft [113] (A nitrogen gas pump 129a is connected to the inlets 121, and another nitrogen gas 129b is connected to the inlet 127. The pump 129b forms a rotation driving mechanism (or rotation driving means); Column 10 Line 66-68 & Column 11 Line 1-2) about the axis of rotation (Under the condition that the pump 129a is in operation, the other pump 129b is operated to jet the nitrogen gas to the turbine section 116 thereby to rotate the spindle 113 for a predetermined period of time, and then the driving of the turbine section 116 is suspended; Column 11 Line 55-59; a specimen holding shaft for holding a superconductor specimen; a gas bearing for supporting the specimen holding shaft in such a manner that the specimen holding shaft is held horizontal and is rotatably and axially movable; gas drive means for jetting a gas to a turbine section provided on the specimen holding shaft, to rotate the specimen holding shaft; Column 4 Line 20-26),
wherein the shaft [113] extends through each of the spaced apart parallel walls [118a] (The static pressure support mechanism 114 comprises a pivoting hole 119 formed in a frame 118, to pivotally support the spindle 113. The frame 118 consists of an outer frame 118a and an inner frame 118b; Column 10 Line 42-45; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata above shows the shaft [113] extends through each of the spaced apart parallel walls [118a]), and
wherein the rotor [112] is mounted on the shaft [113] between the spaced apart parallel walls [118a] (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, and a static pressure support mechanism (or supporting means) which supports the spindle 113 in a non-contact mode; Column 10 Line 28-33; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata above).
Regarding claim 4, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
further comprising at least one bearing assembly [gas bearing] configured to rotatably support the shaft [113] (The magnet rotor 112 is constructed as described above. That is, it provides a non-contact type static pressure bearing structure including the spindle 113 and the inner frame 118b in it; Column 11 Line 33-36; Claim 14. A device for measuring characteristics of a superconductor, comprising: a specimen holding shaft for holding a superconductor specimen; a gas bearing for supporting said specimen holding shaft in such a manner that said specimen holding shaft is held horizontally and is rotatable and axially movable; Claim 14; Two bearing nitrogen gas inlets 121 are formed in the upper portion and in the middle portion of the outer frame 118a, respectively. Two lead-in base flow-paths 122 are formed in the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are communicated with the inlets 121, respectively; Column 10 Line 45-50).
Regarding claim 5, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
further comprising: a first ball bearing assembly [121] configured to rotatably support the shaft [113] near one end of the shaft [113]; and a second ball bearing assembly [125] configured to rotatably support the shaft [113] near the other end of the shaft [113] (Two bearing nitrogen gas inlets 121 are formed in the upper portion and in the middle portion of the outer frame 118a, respectively. Two lead-in base flow-paths 122 are formed in the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are communicated with the inlets 121, respectively. Furthermore, connecting flow-paths 123 are formed in the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are extended from the lead-in base flow-paths 122 to the inner frame 118b. First, second, third and fourth bearing nitrogen gas outlets 125 are formed in the outer wall of the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are arranged vertically in the stated order from above and are located at positions circumferentially different from those of the above-described gas paths. Connecting flow-paths 126 are extended from the outlets 125 to the inner frame 118b. A turbine driving nitrogen gas inlet 127 is formed in the outer wall of the outer frame 118 in such a manner that it is located at a position different from those of the outlets 125 and between the third and fourth outlets 125. A connecting flow-path 128 is extended from the inlet 127 to the inner frame 118b. A nitrogen gas pump 129a is connected to the inlets 121, and another nitrogen gas 129b is connected to the inlet 127; Column 10 Line 45-68).
Regarding claim 6, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the sample holder [107] comprises a tank [106] (a cooling vessel 106) for immersing the superconductor sample [108] in a coolant (liquid nitrogen) (In the lower chamber 103, a height adjusting lift 105 is provided, and cooling means, namely, a cooling vessel 106 is placed on the height adjusting lift 105. And a specimen holder 107 (or first holding means) is provided in the cooling vessel 106 in such a manner that it is protruded from the center of the bottom of the cooling vessel. A recess is formed at the top end of the specimen holder 107. A superconductor specimen 108 is placed in the recess thus formed, in such a manner that it is confronted with an opening 104 formed at the center of the partition board 102. A liquid nitrogen lead-in pipe 110 is provided to supply a liquid nitrogen into the cooling vessel 106 from a container provided outside the housing 101; Column 10 Line 14-24).
Regarding claim 7, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the coolant comprises nitrogen, helium, hydrogen, neon, or oxygen (A liquid nitrogen lead-in pipe 110 is provided to supply a liquid nitrogen into the cooling vessel 106 from a container provided outside the housing 101; Column 10 Line 24-27).
Regarding claim 9, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the sample holder [107] further comprises a linear stage assembly coupled to the frame [118] and the tank [106], and wherein the linear stage assembly is configured to position the superconductor sample [108] at one or more predetermined distances from the rotor [112] (In the lower chamber 103, a height adjusting lift 105 is provided, and cooling means, namely, a cooling vessel 106 is placed on the height adjusting lift 105. And a specimen holder 107 (or first holding means) is provided in the cooling vessel 106 in such a manner that it is protruded from the center of the bottom of the cooling vessel. A recess is formed at the top end of the specimen holder 107. A superconductor specimen 108 is placed in the recess thus formed, in such a manner that it is confronted with an opening 104 formed at the center of the partition board 102; Column 10 Line 14-24; Figure 6(b): Modified Figure 6 (b) of Takahata below shows the sample holder [107] further comprises a linear stage assembly coupled to the frame [118] and the tank [106], and wherein the linear stage assembly is configured to position the superconductor sample [108] at one or more predetermined distances from the rotor [112]).
Figure 6(b): Modified Figure 6 (b) of Takahata
Regarding claim 10, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the frame [118] is configured to pivot or rotate about the axis of rotation when the magnetic field generated by the rotor [112] is applied to the superconductor sample [108] (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, and a static pressure support mechanism (or supporting means) which supports the spindle 113 in a non-contact mode. The spindle 113 is made of non-magnetic material. A permanent magnet 115 is bonded to the lower end of the spindle with adhesive. A turbine section 106 is formed in the middle of the spindle 113. A disk 117 larger in diameter than the spindle 113 is secured to the upper end of the latter 113. A mark for detecting an amount of rotation is provided on the upper surface of the disk 117 at such a position as is shifted from the center of the upper surface; Column 10 Line 28-41).
Regarding claim 11, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
further comprising: a first bearing assembly [121] configured to rotatably support one of the spaced apart parallel walls [118a]; and a second bearing assembly [125] configured to rotatably support the other spaced apart parallel wall [118a], wherein the first bearing assembly [121] and the second bearing assembly [125] are configured to be coupled to a gas or air source (gas flow path 123, 130, 126 are the gas source) (Two bearing nitrogen gas inlets 121 are formed in the upper portion and in the middle portion of the outer frame 118a, respectively. Two lead-in base flow-paths 122 are formed in the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are communicated with the inlets 121, respectively. Furthermore, connecting flow-paths 123 are formed in the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are extended from the lead-in base flow-paths 122 to the inner frame 118b. First, second, third and fourth bearing nitrogen gas outlets 125 are formed in the outer wall of the outer frame 118a in such a manner that they are arranged vertically in the stated order from above and are located at positions circumferentially different from those of the above-described gas paths. Connecting flow-paths 126 are extended from the outlets 125 to the inner frame 118b. A turbine driving nitrogen gas inlet 127 is formed in the outer wall of the outer frame 118 in such a manner that it is located at a position different from those of the outlets 125 and between the third and fourth outlets 125. A connecting flow-path 128 is extended from the inlet 127 to the inner frame 118b. A nitrogen gas pump 129a is connected to the inlets 121, and another nitrogen gas 129b is connected to the inlet 127; Column 10 Line 45-68; Figure 6(b): Modified Figure 6 (b) of Takahata above shows a first bearing assembly [121] configured to rotatably support one of the spaced apart parallel walls [118a]; and a second bearing assembly [125] configured to rotatably support the other spaced apart parallel wall [118a], wherein the first bearing assembly [121] and the second bearing assembly [125] are configured to be coupled to a gas or air source).
Regarding claim 12, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
further comprising an absorption material (a heat insulating material 3 surrounding the frame 2) disposed between the extension arm [114] and the sensor device [141] (When the pump 129a is operated to supply a nitrogen gas through the nitrogen gas lead-in path 130 into the pivoting hole 119, the fluid film formed between the inner cylindrical wall of the inner frame 118 and the cylindrical wall of the spindle 113 by the nitrogen gas supplied through the lead-in paths 130 communicated with the lower lead-in base flow-path 122 supports the spindle 113 radially in such a manner that it is not in contact with the inner cylindrical wall of the inner frame 118. When the nitrogen gas is supplied through the lead-in paths 130, the fluid film formed between the upper and lower surfaces of the disk 117 and the upward and downward surfaces 133b and 133a of the annular recess 133 supports the spindle 113 axially in such a manner that the spindle is not in contact with the inner cylindrical wall of the inner frame 118b.; Column 11 Line 36-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata ‘140 A in view of Otaka et al. (Hereinafter, “Otaka”) in the US Patent Number US 5059903 A.
Regarding claim 13, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the rotor [112] comprises a permanent magnetic rotor or a superconductor rotor (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, and a static pressure support mechanism (or supporting means) which supports the spindle 113 in a non-contact mode. The spindle 113 is made of non-magnetic material. A permanent magnet 115 is bonded to the lower end of the spindle with adhesive; Column 10 Line 28-35).
However, Takahata fails to teach that the sensor device comprising a pressure or force transducer.
Otaka teaches a method and apparatus for detecting degradation of a metal material (Column 1 Line 8-9), wherein
the sensor device comprising a pressure or force transducer [32] in Figure 2 (FIG. 2 shows in detail the structure of the exciting system 2 and magnetization sensor system 3. Referring to FIG. 2, the exciting system 2 includes an oscillator 21 of waveform control type for controlling the waveform of a magnetizing current used for magnetization, a transducer 32 to the magnetization control unit 4; Column 11 Line 8-23). The purpose of doing so is to employ an exciting system and a magnetization sensor system in which a superconducting quantum interference device is used to accurately detect a change in the magnetism, to detect the degree of brittleness of a metal material used at high temperatures quickly in a non-destructive way, to prevent a rupture failure of such a metal material before it occurs, and to improve the safety of a practical plant member of such a metal material.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahata to include a pressure or force transducer as disclosed by Otaka, because Otaka teaches to include a a pressure or force transducer employs an exciting system and a magnetization sensor system in which a superconducting quantum interference device is used to accurately detect a change in the magnetism (Column 7 Line 65-68), detects the degree of brittleness of a metal material used at high temperatures quickly in a non-destructive way, prevents a rupture failure of such a metal material before it occurs, and improves the safety of a practical plant member of such a metal material (Column 8 Line 40-47).
Claim(s) 8, 14-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata ‘140 A in view of Probir K. Ghoshal et al. (Hereinafter, “Probir”) in the NPL- Experimental Set Up to Measure AC Losses of HTS in Rotating Magnetic Field- IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON APPLIED SUPERCONDUCTIVITY, VOL. 17, NO. 2, JUNE 2007 (Pages 3199-3202).
Regarding claim 8, Takahata fails to teach an apparatus, further comprising a cryocooler having a cold head, wherein the cold head is thermally coupled to the superconductor sample.
Probir teaches measure the total ac loss in 2G tape subjected to a rotating magnetic field of up to 1 Tesla applied perpendicular to the tape axis and at speeds of up to 3600 rpm, while carrying a transport current (Abstract Line 1-4; Column 1),
further comprising a cryocooler having a cold head, wherein the cold head is thermally coupled to the superconductor sample (A small pick up coil attached to the body of the cryostat acts as a reference and is compared to the centre field measured by the hall probe while the magnet is rotated at a fixed speed, at one particular point in time. This is to indirectly measure and record the field accuracy while the ac loss measurement is in progress. The motor connected to the magnet indirectly controls the rotational speed of the magnet. The cryostat—this is a double walled vacuum insulated dewar holding the sample holder in the vacuum space. This consists of an inner vessel as shown in Fig. 3 to hold liquid nitrogen and; Page 3200 D. Experiment and Accuracy; Column 2 Line 7-17; Cryostat as the cryocooler as it does the same function). The purpose of doing so is to indirectly measure and record the field accuracy while the ac loss measurement is in progress, to indirectly control the rotational speed of the magnet.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahata to include a pressure or force transducer as disclosed by Probir, because Probir teaches to include a cryocooler having a cold head indirectly measures and records the field accuracy while the ac loss measurement is in progress, indirectly controls the rotational speed of the magnet (Column 2 Line 7-13).
Regarding claim 14, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the sensor device [141] is configured to generate a signal (resistance as the indicative of force) indicative of the force applied to the sensor device [141] by the extension arm [114] (The revolution counter 141 counts the detection signals which the reflected-light sensor 140 outputs when detecting the mark on the disk 117 for the period of time which elapses from the driving of the turbine section is suspended until the spindle 113 stops by itself; that is, the amount of rotation of the spindle until the latter stops, is detected. The amount of rotation thus detected is utilized to calculate a time constant. According to the time constant thus calculated, the rotational resistance acting on the superconductor specimen 8 can be determined. That is, when the time constant is large, the rotational resistance is low; and when it is small, the rotational resistance is high. In addition, the mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting range in relation to the rotational resistance can be detected; Column 12 Line 1-16; As was described above, with the type II superconductor which is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting, a kind of frictional force is induced with the magnetic field. Hence, when such a superconductor is used for a mechanical part such as a bearing, then the frictional force would be a resistance against the operation of the mechanical part. Therefore, as for a type II superconductor, it is necessary to measure the range in which the superconductor is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting, and the resistance provided when it is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting; Column 2 Line 30-42; Therefore, force is calculated by calculating the resistance).
Takahata fails to teach further comprising a computing device configured to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample.
Probir teaches measure the total ac loss in 2G tape subjected to a rotating magnetic field of up to 1 Tesla applied perpendicular to the tape axis and at speeds of up to 3600 rpm, while carrying a transport current (Abstract Line 1-4; Column 1),
further comprising a computing device (The schematic arrangement as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the experimental set up for the total ac loss measurement using the indirect calorimetric method in terms of temperature rise; C. Experimental Setup; Column 1 Line 1-3; Page 3200) configured to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample (Present work is to measure the ac loss in a rotating fixed magnetic field in the HTS sample, and in order to do that we need to produce a sufficiently large magnetic field (Nominal) that can be rotated up to 3600 rpm (equivalent to 60 Hz); Introduction; Column 2 Line 26-29; Page 3199; Since ac losses directly affect the efficiency of ac applications, it is important to understand the ac loss characteristics of these superconductors when subjected to changing magnetic fields; Introduction Column 1 Line 13-16; Page 3199). The purpose of doing so is to measure ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors
and generators, to use a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahata in view of Probir, because Probir teaches to include a computing device to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample measures ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators (Introduction Column 2 Line 5-7; Page 3199), uses a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines (Discussion; Column 2; Page 3202).
Regarding claim 15, Takahata teaches an apparatus,
wherein the apparatus determines the force applied to the sensor device and a distance between the axis of rotation and the superconductor sample (Claim 1: 1. A method of measuring repulsive displacement of a superconductor, comprising the steps of: supporting said superconductor in a predetermined position without contact inhibiting the repulsive displacement; disposing a magnet at a position opposed to said superconductor along an axis of displacement; increasing the magnetic forced of said magnet; and measuring a repulsive displacement of said superconductor from said predetermined position to a stop position; Claim 1; In view of the foregoing, a first object of this invention is to make it possible to directly detect the repulsive displacement and repulsive force of a superconductor with respect to a magnet, thereby to measure the repulsive displacement and repulsive force with ease and to improve the measurement accuracy; Column 3 Line 3-8).
However, Takahata fails to teach to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample.
Probir teaches measure the total ac loss in 2G tape subjected to a rotating magnetic field of up to 1 Tesla applied perpendicular to the tape axis and at speeds of up to 3600 rpm, while carrying a transport current (Abstract Line 1-4; Column 1),
to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample (The schematic arrangement as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the experimental set up for the total ac loss measurement using the indirect calorimetric method in terms of temperature rise; C. Experimental Setup; Column 1 Line 1-3; Page 3200; Present work is to measure the ac loss in a rotating fixed magnetic field in the HTS sample, and in order to do that we need to produce a sufficiently large magnetic field (Nominal) that can be rotated up to 3600 rpm (equivalent to 60 Hz); Introduction; Column 2 Line 26-29; Page 3199; Since ac losses directly affect the efficiency of ac applications, it is important to understand the ac loss characteristics of these superconductors when subjected to changing magnetic fields; Introduction Column 1 Line 13-16; Page 3199). The purpose of doing so is to measure ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators, to use a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahata in view of Probir, because Probir teaches to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample measures ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators (Introduction Column 2 Line 5-7; Page 3199), uses a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines (Discussion; Column 2; Page 3202).
Regarding claim 17, Takahata teaches a method for determining alternating current (AC) losses in a superconductor sample [108] in Figure 6 (a device and a method for measuring characteristics of a superconductor such as repulsive displacements and repulsive forces with respect to a magnet; Column 1 Line 9-12; FIG. 6 is a longitudinal sectional view of a superconductor characteristic measuring device according to still another embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 7 is an enlarged sectional view showing a part of the measuring device.; Column 10 Line 5-9) comprising:
providing the superconductor sample [108] in sample holder [107] (a specimen holder 107 (or first holding means) is provided in the cooling vessel 106 in such a manner that it is protruded from the center of the bottom of the cooling vessel. A recess is formed at the top end of the specimen holder 107. A superconductor specimen 108 is placed in the recess thus formed; Column 10 Line 17-22);
wherein the sample holder [107] is coupled to a movable support assembly ([105] + [118]) (The static pressure support mechanism 114 comprises a pivoting hole 119 formed in a frame 118, to pivotally support the spindle 113. The frame 118 consists of an outer frame 118a and an inner frame 118b; Column 10 Line 42-45; In FIGS. 6 and 7, reference numeral 101 designates a housing with an open bottom, the housing being made of an acrylic plate or the like. The housing 101 is divided by a partition board 102 into the upper chamber 111 and the lower chamber 103. In the lower chamber 103, a height adjusting lift 105 is provided; Column 10 Line 10-15),
wherein the moveable support assembly [105+118] includes a frame [105] configured to support the sample holder [107] (The static pressure support mechanism 114 comprises a pivoting hole 119 formed in a frame 118, to pivotally support the spindle 113. The frame 118 consists of an outer frame 118a and an inner frame 118b; Column 10 Line 42-45; In FIGS. 6 and 7, reference numeral 101 designates a housing with an open bottom, the housing being made of an acrylic plate or the like. The housing 101 is divided by a partition board 102 into the upper chamber 111 and the lower chamber 103. In the lower chamber 103, a height adjusting lift 105 is provided; Column 10 Line 10-15),
wherein the frame includes a pair of spaced apart parallel walls [118a] (The static pressure support mechanism 114 comprises a pivoting hole 119 formed in a frame 118, to pivotally support the spindle 113. The frame 118 consists of an outer frame 118a and an inner frame 118b; Column 10 Line 42-45; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata above), and
wherein the frame [118] is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (The specimen holding shaft 1 penetrates the frame 1 horizontally. As shown in FIG. 2, a static pressure type gas bearing 11 is formed between the shaft 1 and the frame 2. The gas bearing 11 supports the specimen holding shaft 1 in such a manner that the shaft 1 is axially movable, and is rotatable; Column 6 Line 18-24; As shown in FIG. 3, the turbine section 19 and the jet paths 17 arranged around the turbine section 19 form means for rotating the specimen holding shaft 1 (hereinafter referred to as "a shaft rotating means", when applicable). The lead-in path 16 is connected to the other pipe 14b for the helium gas (hereinafter referred to as "a driving pipe 14b", when applicable). Further in FIG. 1, reference numeral 15b designates a valve connected to the driving pipe 14b; and 15c, a valve connected to the junction of the two pipes 14a and 14b; Column 6 Line 38-48; Therefore, from all other embodiment it is clear that frame is rotatable with spindle 113 as the axis of rotation);
controlling a rotor [112] to generate a force on the superconductor sample [108] to attempt to cause the movable support assembly to move in a first direction (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, and a static pressure support mechanism (or supporting means) which supports the spindle 113 in a non-contact mode; Column 10 Line 28-33; Figure 6: Modified Figure 6 of Takahata above shows a rotor [112]; magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, A mark for detecting an amount of rotation is provided on the upper surface of the disk 117 at such a position as is shifted from the center of the upper surface; Column 10 Line 28-41);
measuring a force exerted on a sensor device [141] (revolution counter with the reflected light sensor 140 as the sensor device as it senses amount of rotation) (Further in FIGS. 6 and 7, reference numeral 140 designates a reflected-light sensor penetrating the static pressure support mechanism 114 from above in such a manner that its lower end meets the mark on the disk 117 as the spindle 113 rotates. The reflected-light sensor 140 is connected to a revolution counter 141. The reflected-light sensor 140 and the revolution counter 141 form an amount-of-rotation detecting means (or amount-of-rotation detecting means); Column 11 Line 24-32) based on the attempted movement of the moveable support assembly ((The revolution counter 141 counts the detection signals which the reflected-light sensor 140 outputs when detecting the mark on the disk 117 for the period of time which elapses from the driving of the turbine section is suspended until the spindle 113 stops by itself; that is, the amount of rotation of the spindle until the latter stops, is detected. The amount of rotation thus detected is utilized to calculate a time constant. According to the time constant thus calculated, the rotational resistance acting on the superconductor specimen 8 can be determined. That is, when the time constant is large, the rotational resistance is low; and when it is small, the rotational resistance is high. In addition, the mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting range in relation to the rotational resistance can be detected; Column 12 Line 1-16; As was described above, with the type II superconductor which is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting, a kind of frictional force is induced with the magnetic field. Hence, when such a superconductor is used for a mechanical part such as a bearing, then the frictional force would be a resistance against the operation of the mechanical part. Therefore, as for a type II superconductor, it is necessary to measure the range in which the superconductor is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting, and the resistance provided when it is mixedly superconducting and normal-conducting; Column 2 Line 30-42; Therefore, force is calculated by calculating the resistance).
However, Takahata fails to teach to determining the AC losses for the superconductor sample.
Probir teaches measure the total ac loss in 2G tape subjected to a rotating magnetic field of up to 1 Tesla applied perpendicular to the tape axis and at speeds of up to 3600 rpm, while carrying a transport current (Abstract Line 1-4; Column 1), wherein
determining the AC losses in the superconductor sample (The schematic arrangement as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the experimental set up for the total ac loss measurement using the indirect calorimetric method in terms of temperature rise; C. Experimental Setup; Column 1 Line 1-3; Page 3200; Present work is to measure the ac loss in a rotating fixed magnetic field in the HTS sample, and in order to do that we need to produce a sufficiently large magnetic field (Nominal) that can be rotated up to 3600 rpm (equivalent to 60 Hz); Introduction; Column 2 Line 26-29; Page 3199; Since ac losses directly affect the efficiency of ac applications, it is important to understand the ac loss characteristics of these superconductors when subjected to changing magnetic fields; Introduction Column 1 Line 13-16; Page 3199). The purpose of doing so is to measure ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators, to use a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahata in view of Probir, because Probir teaches to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample measures ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators (Introduction Column 2 Line 5-7; Page 3199), uses a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines (Discussion; Column 2; Page 3202).
Regarding claim 18, Takahata teaches a method,
wherein the superconductor sample [108] comprises a superconductor tape, a superconductor coil, a superconductor film, a superconductor conductor, a superconductor wire, or a superconductor material (By the way, superconductors are classified into two groups; a group of type I superconductor to which mainly pure metals belong, and a group of type II superconductor to which alloys, inorganic compounds, amorphous alloys and organic compounds belong; Column 2 Line 5-10; alloys, inorganic compounds, amorphous alloys and organic compounds are superconductor material).
Regarding claim 19, Takahata teaches a method,
wherein a magnetic field is generated by a rotating rotor [112] (A magnet rotor 112 is mounted on the partition board 102 in the upper chamber 111. The magnet rotor 112 is made up of a spindle 113 (or second holding means) extended vertically, A mark for detecting an amount of rotation is provided on the upper surface of the disk 117 at such a position as is shifted from the center of the upper surface; Column 10 Line 28-41), wherein the rotating rotor [112] rotates about an axis of rotation [113] (Claim 1: 1. A method of measuring repulsive displacement of a superconductor, comprising the steps of: supporting said superconductor in a predetermined position without contact inhibiting the repulsive displacement; disposing a magnet at a position opposed to said superconductor along an axis of displacement; increasing the magnetic forced of said magnet; and measuring a repulsive displacement of said superconductor from said predetermined position to a stop position; Claim 1; In view of the foregoing, a first object of this invention is to make it possible to directly detect the repulsive displacement and repulsive force of a superconductor with respect to a magnet, thereby to measure the repulsive displacement and repulsive force with ease and to improve the measurement accuracy; Column 3 Line 3-8), and
wherein the support assembly [105+118] rotates or attempts to rotate about the axis of rotation (138) when the magnetic field is applied to the superconductor sample [108] (The specimen holding shaft 1 penetrates the frame 1 horizontally. As shown in FIG. 2, a static pressure type gas bearing 11 is formed between the shaft 1 and the frame 2. The gas bearing 11 supports the specimen holding shaft 1 in such a manner that the shaft 1 is axially movable, and is rotatable; Column 6 Line 18-24; As shown in FIG. 3, the turbine section 19 and the jet paths 17 arranged around the turbine section 19 form means for rotating the specimen holding shaft 1 (hereinafter referred to as "a shaft rotating means", when applicable). The lead-in path 16 is connected to the other pipe 14b for the helium gas (hereinafter referred to as "a driving pipe 14b", when applicable). Further in FIG. 1, reference numeral 15b designates a valve connected to the driving pipe 14b; and 15c, a valve connected to the junction of the two pipes 14a and 14b; Column 6 Line 38-48; Therefore, from all other embodiment it is clear that frame is rotatable with spindle 113 as the axis of rotation).
Regarding claim 20, Takahata teaches a method of claim 19,
wherein the method comprising determines at least the measured force and a distance between the axis of rotation [(113] and the superconductor sample (Claim 1: 1. A method of measuring repulsive displacement of a superconductor, comprising the steps of: supporting said superconductor in a predetermined position without contact inhibiting the repulsive displacement; disposing a magnet at a position opposed to said superconductor along an axis of displacement; increasing the magnetic forced of said magnet; and measuring a repulsive displacement of said superconductor from said predetermined position to a stop position; Claim 1; In view of the foregoing, a first object of this invention is to make it possible to directly detect the repulsive displacement and repulsive force of a superconductor with respect to a magnet, thereby to measure the repulsive displacement and repulsive force with ease and to improve the measurement accuracy; Column 3 Line 3-8).
However, Takahata fails to teach to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample.
Probir teaches measure the total ac loss in 2G tape subjected to a rotating magnetic field of up to 1 Tesla applied perpendicular to the tape axis and at speeds of up to 3600 rpm, while carrying a transport current (Abstract Line 1-4; Column 1),
to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample (The schematic arrangement as shown in Fig. 2 illustrates the experimental set up for the total ac loss measurement using the indirect calorimetric method in terms of temperature rise; C. Experimental Setup; Column 1 Line 1-3; Page 3200; Present work is to measure the ac loss in a rotating fixed magnetic field in the HTS sample, and in order to do that we need to produce a sufficiently large magnetic field (Nominal) that can be rotated up to 3600 rpm (equivalent to 60 Hz); Introduction; Column 2 Line 26-29; Page 3199; Since ac losses directly affect the efficiency of ac applications, it is important to understand the ac loss characteristics of these superconductors when subjected to changing magnetic fields; Introduction Column 1 Line 13-16; Page 3199). The purpose of doing so is to measure ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators, to use a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takahata in view of Probir, because Probir teaches to determine the AC losses in the superconductor sample measures ac losses because it better reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines e.g., motors and generators (Introduction Column 2 Line 5-7; Page 3199), uses a dc magnetic field and rotating at variable speed to give the desired frequency maximum of up to 60 Hz and reproduces the field seen within the rotating machines (Discussion; Column 2; Page 3202).
Regarding claim 21, Takahata teache