DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 11/10/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “one or more reflection members” in claim 13.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
For examination purpose “one or more reflection members” will be understood as “a folding mirror or an aspheric mirror” as stated in Para [0029] of the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (US 2022/0155589, of record) in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko (US 2023/0115930, of record) and Yasuhiro (JP 2017173416, of record)
Regarding claim 1, Hirata discloses a picture generation apparatus (see Fig 2) comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (see Fig 4; Para [0046,0050]; LED substrate 102 which comprises a circuit board); one or more light sources disposed on the PCB and configured to emit light (see Fig 4; Para [0046]; LED elements 14a/b are placed on the LED substrate); a liquid crystal display (LCD) configured to emit an image based on the light emitted from the one or more light sources (see Fig 4; Para [0046-0047]; LCD panel 52 is configured to emit an image using light emitted from light sources 101); and an optical path control unit disposed between the PCB and the LCD and configured to change a travel path of the light emitted from the one or more light sources (see Fig 4; Para [0055]; light guide element 17 controls path of light emitted from LEDs 14a/b).
Hirata does not disclose wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB; wherein the PCB is a printed circuit board; and wherein the LCD is facing in a first direction offset from a second direction of an incident optical axis of external light, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light from the one or more light sources to be in a third direction opposite to the second direction of the incident optical axis. Hirata and Scheffler-Juschtschenko are related because both disclose picture generation apparatuses
Scheffler-Juschtschenko discloses a picture generation apparatus (see Fig 4) wherein the PCB is a printed circuit board (see Fig 4; Para [0032-0033]; LEDs 231 are placed on a printed circuit board 236); and wherein the LCD is facing in a first direction offset from a second direction of an incident optical axis of external light, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light from the one or more light sources to be in a third direction opposite to the second direction of the incident optical axis (see Fig 4; Para [0032-0035]; LCD display 3 is tilted in a direction offset from the incident light which arrives in a direction SL; the path control unit 33 changes the travel path of the light from one or more light sources 231).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata with wherein the PCB is a printed circuit board; and wherein the LCD is facing in a first direction offset from a second direction of an incident optical axis of external light, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light from the one or more light sources to be in a third direction opposite to the second direction of the incident optical axis of Scheffler-Juschtschenko for the purpose of reducing the number of optical surface on which undesired reflections may occur. (Para [0011-0013])
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko does not disclose wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB.
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro are related because both disclose picture generation apparatuses.
Yasuhiro discloses a picture generation apparatus (see Fig 1) wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB (see Fig 9; see Para [0002] of Description; LCD 12 is parallel to PCB 30 as seen in Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko with wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB of Yasuhiro for the purpose of minimizing the deterioration of display characteristics due to reflected external light (Page 7, lines 39-47)
Regarding claim 2, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 1. Yasuhiro further discloses wherein: the LCD is configured to rotate in a first rotational direction with respect to the incident optical axis of the external light (see Fig 7; LCD 12 is configured to rotate about its own Z axis with respect to external light axis), and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light to a second rotational direction opposite to the first rotational direction (see Fig 7 and 9; Reflection member 14 is configured to direct light out of the device and rotates light in a clockwise fashion compared to the counterclockwise rotation of the LCD of Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Ulasyuk with wherein: the LCD is configured to rotate in a first rotational direction with respect to the incident optical axis of the external light, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light to a second rotational direction opposite to the first rotational direction of Yasuhiro for the purpose of minimizing the deterioration of display characteristics due to reflected external light (Page 7, lines 39-47)
Regarding claim 3, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 1. Hirata further discloses wherein the optical path control unit comprises a prism (see Fig 4; Para [0055]; light guide element 17 is interpreted as a prism as it is translucent triangle).
Regarding claim 4, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 3. Hirata further discloses wherein the optical path control unit comprises a Fresnel lens (see Fig 4; Para [0060]; the light guide element 17 may also comprise the light direction converting panel 54 who may have a Fresnel lens provided on an emission side).
Regarding claim 5, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 1. Hirata further discloses wherein the optical path control unit comprises one or more lenses (see Fig 4; Para [0060]; the light guide element 17 may also comprise the light direction converting panel 54 who may have a Fresnel lens provided on an emission side).
Regarding claim 6, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 5. Hirata further wherein each of the one or more lenses has a Fresnel lens-shape (see Fig 4; Para [0060]; the light guide element 17 may also comprise the light direction converting panel 54 who may have a Fresnel lens provided on an emission side).
Regarding claim 7, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 1. Hirata further discloses further comprising an optical path guiding unit disposed between the PCB and the optical path control unit and configured to guide the light emitted from the light source to the optical path control unit (see Fig 4; Para [0049]; LED collimators 15 comprise the optical path guiding unit disposed between substrate 102 and light guide element 17).
Regarding claim 8, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 7. Hirata further discloses wherein the optical path guiding unit comprises one or more collimating lenses (see Fig 4; Para [0049]; LED collimators 15 comprise the optical path guiding unit disposed between substrate 102 and light guide element 17).
Regarding claim 13, Hirata discloses a head-up display (see Fig 3) comprising: a picture generation apparatus configured to emit an image (see Fig 3; Para [0038]; a video display apparatus 48 configured to project an image); and one or more reflection members configured to reflect the image emitted from the picture generation apparatus (see Fig 3; Para [0038, 0068]; transparent sheet 51 acts as a mirror reflecting emitted light from display apparatus 48), wherein the picture generation apparatus is disposed to be offset from an incident optical axis of external light (see Fig 4; Para [0041]; the video display apparatus which includes the LCD is disposed offset from the incident external light as seen in annotated figure 4), and comprises a light source configured to emit light (see Fig 4; Para [0046]; LED elements 14a/b are placed on the LED substrate 102); a printed circuit board (PCB) (see Fig 4; Para [0046,0050]; LED substrate 102 which comprises a circuit board); a liquid crystal display (LCD) configured to emit an image based on the light emitted from the light source (see Fig 4; Para [0046-0047]; LCD panel 52 is configured to emit an image using light emitted from light sources 101); and an optical path control unit configured to change a travel path of the light emitted from the light source (see Fig 4; Para [0055]; light guide element 17 controls path of light emitted from LEDs 14a/b).
Hirata does not disclose wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB; wherein the PCB is a printed circuit board and wherein the LCD is facing in a first direction offset from a second direction of the incident optical axis, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light emitted from the light source to be in a third direction opposite to the second direction of the incident optical axis. Hirata and Scheffler-Juschtschenko are related because both disclose picture generation apparatuses
Scheffler-Juschtschenko discloses a picture generation apparatus (see Fig 4) wherein the PCB is a printed circuit board (see Fig 4; Para [0032-0033]; LEDs 231 are placed on a printed circuit board 236); and wherein the LCD is facing in a first direction offset from a second direction of the incident optical axis, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light emitted from the light source to be in a third direction opposite to the second direction of the incident optical axis (see Fig 4; Para [0032-0035]; LCD display 3 is tilted in a direction offset from the incident light which arrives in a direction SL; the path control unit 33 changes the travel path of the light from one or more light sources 231).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata with wherein the PCB is a printed circuit board; and wherein the LCD is facing in a first direction offset from a second direction of the incident optical axis, and the optical path control unit changes the travel path of the light emitted from the light source to be in a third direction opposite to the second direction of the incident optical axis of Scheffler-Juschtschenko for the purpose of reducing the number of optical surface on which undesired reflections may occur. (Para [0011-0013])
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko does not disclose wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB.
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro are related because both disclose picture generation apparatuses.
Yasuhiro discloses a picture generation apparatus (see Fig 1) wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB (see Fig 9; see Para [0002] of Description; LCD 12 is parallel to PCB 30 as seen in Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko with wherein the LCD is disposed parallel to the PCB of Yasuhiro for the purpose of minimizing the deterioration of display characteristics due to reflected external light (Page 7, lines 39-47)
Regarding claim 14, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the head-up display of claim 13 (see Fig 2). Hirata further discloses wherein: the light source comprises one or more light sources configured to emit the light (see Fig 4; Para [0046]; multiple LED elements 14a/b are placed on the LED substrate 102), and the one or more light sources are disposed on the PCB (see Fig 4; Para [0046]; LED elements 14a/b are placed on the LED substrate 102)
Regarding claim 15, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the head-up display of claim 13 (see Fig 3). Hirata further discloses wherein the optical path control unit comprises a Fresnel lens (see Fig 4; Para [0060]; the light guide element 17 may also comprise the light direction converting panel 54 who may have a Fresnel lens provided on an emission side).
Claim 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (US 2022/0155589, of record) in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko (US 2023/0115930, of record) and Yasuhiro (JP 2017173416, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chien (US 2016/0209013, of record).
Regarding claim 9, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 1. Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro does not disclose wherein the picture generation apparatus further comprises a control unit configured to rotate the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit. Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro and Chien are related because both disclose light projection devices.
Chien discloses a light projection device (see Fig 1) wherein the picture generation apparatus further comprises a control unit configured to rotate the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit (see Fig 1; see Claim 14; Para [0022]; an LCD display means 1f; inner circuit means and optic lens means 1j may be configured in a device that rotates together)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro with wherein the picture generation apparatus further comprises a control unit configured to rotate the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit of Chien for the purpose of enabling images of enlarged size to be projected onto a preferred surface making it easier for people to see (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko, Yasuhiro, and Chien discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 9.
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko does not disclose further comprising a sensing unit configured to sense at least one of an intensity and an incident angle of the external light, wherein the control unit rotates the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit based on at least one of the intensity and the incident angle of the external light sensed by the sensing unit.
Yasuhiro discloses a picture generation apparatus (see Fig 1) further comprising a sensing unit configured to sense at least one of an intensity and an incident angle of the external light (see Fig 1; Page 3, line 36-39; an illumination sensor 18 detects the intensity of ambient light supplied to the device), wherein the control unit rotates the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit based on at least one of the intensity and the incident angle of the external light sensed by the sensing unit (see Fig 1; Page 3, line 36-39; an illumination sensor 18 detects the intensity of ambient light supplied to the device and the control circuit 45 adjusts the tilt angle of the LCD based on the illuminance value; Chien discloses the rotation of the PCB, LCD, and optical path control unit)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko with further comprising a sensing unit configured to sense at least one of an intensity and an incident angle of the external light, wherein the control unit rotates the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit based on at least one of the intensity and the incident angle of the external light sensed by the sensing unit of Yasuhiro for the purpose of minimizing the deterioration of display characteristics due to reflected external light (Page 7, lines 39-47)
Regarding claim 11, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko, Yasuhiro, and Chien discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 10.
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro does not disclose wherein the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit are configured to rotate together.
Chien discloses wherein the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit are configured to rotate together (see Fig 1; see Claim 14; Para [0022]; an LCD display means 1f; inner circuit means and optic lens means 1j may be configured in a device that rotates together)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko and Yasuhiro with wherein the PCB, the LCD and the optical path control unit are configured to rotate together of Chien for the purpose of enabling images of enlarged size to be projected onto a preferred surface making it easier for people to see (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko, Yasuhiro, and Chien discloses the picture generation apparatus of claim 10.
Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko does not disclose wherein the sensing unit comprises one or more sensors.
Yasuhiro discloses wherein the sensing unit comprises one or more sensors (see Fig 1; Page 3, line 36-39; There is at least one illumination sensor 18 that detects the intensity of ambient light supplied to the device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirata in view of Scheffler-Juschtschenko with wherein the sensing unit comprises one or more sensors of Yasuhiro for the purpose of minimizing the deterioration of display characteristics due to reflected external light (Page 7, lines 39-47)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872