DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to an Abstract Idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category
Claims 1 – 14 are directed to a method, which falls within the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong 1: Judicial Exception
Claim 1 is directed to an Abstract Idea, specifically Certain Methods of organizing human activity and Mental Processes.
The claim recites the steps:
Generating a bid for participating in the ancillary service market over a time period,
transmitting, via the at least one communication interface, the bid to the ancillary service market,
receive, via the at least one communication interface, a response from the ancillary service market indicating that the bid was accepted, and
identify a request from the ancillary service market for the virtual power plant to provide grid support to the electric grid during the time period,
generate, based on the bid and in response to the request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the virtual power plant,
provide, via the at least one communication interface, the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support.
These claims recite a Certain Methods of organizing human activity - fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions), including:
fundamental economic practices (generating a bid, managing a fuel cost curve)
commercial or legal interactions (transmitting and receiving a bid)
managing personal behavior or interactions between people (identifying a request for a plan)
These claims recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, including:
collecting information (generating a bid, transmitting the bid, receiving the bid, identifying a request for a plan),
analyzing information (generating a charging profile based on EV supply equipment), and
displaying certain results (providing, via at least one communication interface the at least one charging profile).
Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception in the form of mental processes.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements beyond the abstract idea include a controller, processor, communication interface, virtual power plan, electric vehicle supply equipment, and electric gird. These elements are recited at a high level of generality and are describe only as performing their ordinary functions of receiving information, transmitting information, processing information, and executing instructions.
The claim:
does not improve the functioning of the electric vehicle or electric vehicle supply equipment,
does not recited a specific technical implementation for controlling the electric vehicle supply equipment or electric grid operation, and
the charging profiles are generated and distributed as a consequence of the abstract economic process of participation and bid management.
The recited claims merely apply the Abstract Idea in the environment of Electric vehicle charging infrastructure and electric grid management.
Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B, Prong 2: Additional elements
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements include:
an electric vehicle,
a processor, and
communication of information (bid information)
electric g
These elements are recited a high level of generality and represent well understood,
routine, conventional activities in the relevant field of electric vehicle charging and data processing.
For example:
generating a bid for service is conventional,
transmitting information is conventional, and
providing a charging profile is conventional.
The dependent claims further recite additional data sources and conventional techniques
(e.g. generating a fuel cost), which likewise do not amount to significantly more than the Abstract Idea.
Taken individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not add a specific limitation beyond the Abstract Idea that is not well understood, routine and conventional.
Hence, claims 1-14 are not patent eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/355,026 (US 20250026226) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are covered by the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application: 18351175
USPGPUB 20250026226
Claim 1:
A controller for managing a participation of a virtual power plant comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in an ancillary service market for an electric grid, the controller
comprising:
at least one communication interface;
at least one processor configured to:
generate a bid for participating in the ancillary service market over a time period;
transmit, via the at least one communication interface, the bid to the ancillary service market;
receive, via the at least one communication interface, a response from the ancillary service market indicating that the bid was accepted;
identify a request from the ancillary service market for the virtual power plant to provide grid support to the electric grid during the time period;
generate, based on the bid and in response to the request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the virtual power plant; and
provide, via the at least one communication interface, the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support.
Claim 1:
A controller for managing a participation of an electric vehicle charging station comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in grid support of an electric grid, the controller comprising:
at least one communication interface;
at least one processor configured to:
estimate a maximum charging power supplied by the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period;
submit, via the at least one communication interface to at least one management server of the electric grid, the estimate and a request to participate in a demand response program for the electric grid;
identify, via the at least one communication interface, a demand response request from the at least one management server for the electric vehicle charging station to participate in the demand response program during the time period;
generate, based on the estimate and in response to the demand response request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the electric vehicle charging station; and
provide, via the at least one communication interface, the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the demand response request.
Claim 8:
A method of managing a participation of a virtual power plant comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in an ancillary service market for an electric grid, the method comprising: generating a bid for participating in the ancillary service market over a time period; transmitting bid to the ancillary service market; receiving a response from the ancillary service market indicating that the bid was accepted; identifying a request from the ancillary service market for the virtual power plant to provide grid support to the electric grid during the time period; generating, based on the bid and in response to the request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the virtual power plant; and providing the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support.
Claim 9:
A method of managing a participation of an electric vehicle charging station comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in grid support of an electric grid, the method comprising: estimating a maximum charging power supplied by the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; submitting to at least one management server of the electric grid, the estimate and a request to participate in a demand response program for the electric grid; identifying a demand response request from the at least one management server for the electric vehicle charging station to participate in the demand response program during the time period; generating, based on the estimate and in response to the demand response request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the electric vehicle charging station; and providing the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the demand response request.
Claim 15:
A controller for managing a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment for participation in a frequency control of an electric grid, the controller comprising at least one processor configured to: generate a bid to participate in the frequency control of the electric grid; determine whether the bid was accepted; identify a request to provide the frequency control of the electric grid; and cause, based on the bid and in response to the request, one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid to implement the frequency control of the electric grid.
Claim 17:
A controller for managing a participation of an electric vehicle charging station comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in grid support of an electric grid, the controller comprising at least one processor configured to: estimate a maximum charging power supplied by the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; identify a demand response request for the electric vehicle charging station to participate in a demand response program for the electric grid during the time period; and generate, based on the estimate and in response to the demand response request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the electric vehicle charging station
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otogasako (US 20210304300) in view of Galbraith (US 20240157836).
Regarding claim 1, Otogasako teaches a controller for managing a participation of a virtual power plant comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in an ancillary service market for an electric grid (shown figure 1 item 100 defined as a bid management apparatus), the controller comprising:
at least one communication interface (paragraph [0026] discloses wherein the controller includes a wired or wireless communication network);
at least one processor (figure 2 shows a processor, interpreted as a processing unit 110) configured to:
generate a bid for participating in the ancillary service market over a time period (figure 7 step 15 and paragraph [0065] wherein a bid determination is performed and a bid is generated or performed);
transmit, via the at least one communication interface, the bid to the ancillary service market (paragraph [0065] discloses wherein the bid determination unit transmits information, indicating the bid);
receive, via the at least one communication interface, a response from the ancillary service market indicating that the bid was accepted (paragraph [0066] discloses wherein the information is received);
identify a request from the ancillary service market for the virtual power plant to provide grid support to the electric grid during the time period (paragraph [0028] discloses wherein the ancillary service market, interpreted as an aggregator item 5, makes request for power stored in a virtual power plant, or a vehicle battery);
generate, based on the bid and in response to the request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the virtual power plant (paragraph [0066] discloses wherein a bid is generated or provided based on the charging profile determined from vehicle information provided. Paragraph [0030] discloses wherein the vehicle information is acquired within item 111. This information is used to determine if a bid may be made, then a bid is generated).
Otogasako does not explicitly teach a processor to provide, via the at least one communication interface, the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support.
Galbraith teaches to provide, via the at least one communication interface, the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support (paragraph [0067] – [0068] discloses wherein the a communication interface may comprise a user interface as an operator dashboard item 238 to display information such as a bid, interpreted as a charging offer. Paragraph [00668] discloses wherein this information may also be provided on a user interface to receive and accept a charging offer to provide charging to the grid. Paragraph [0056] discloses wherein the system comprises a vehicle-to-grid charging system, wherein offers are provided to the users to provide charge. Thus, charging offers includes bid for a vehicle-to-grid charging system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Otogasako figure 1 shows a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) system and a vehicle-to-house system (V2H) wherein bids are determined.
Galbraith figure 5 discloses a system which displays bid information
Regarding claim 2, Otogasako teaches the controller of claim 1, wherein the request comprises an automatic generation control request (figure 4 and paragraph [0037] discloses wherein the vehicle acquisition determines the vehicle travel route and determines a likelihood of the vehicle connecting to an EVSE, thus upon this detection, the steps to perform a bid generation is automatically initiated).
Regarding claim 3, Otogasako teaches controller of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: generate a fuel cost curve for the virtual power plant over the time period; and generate the bid based on the fuel cost curve.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: generate a fuel cost curve for the virtual power plant over the time period; and generate the bid based on the fuel cost curve (paragraph [0069] discloses wherein a fuel cost, interpreted as a power grid energy cost, is determined over a period of time. An optimal price is determined and paragraph [0112] discloses wherein a bid or offer for charging is made based on this information. Figure 6 and paragraph [0133] a fuel cost curve or a prices horizon which determines prices overtime).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 4, Otogasako teaches controller of claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a compound revenue, wherein the compound revenue comprises a sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant at different power limits and a revenue for participating in the ancillary service market at the different power limits.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a compound revenue, wherein the compound revenue comprises a sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant at different power limits and a revenue for participating in the ancillary service market at the different power limits (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the energy costs varies over time, during different power limits. Paragraphs [0041] and [0113] discloses revenue for EV charging and participating in the ancillary service market).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 5, Otogasako teaches controller of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a difference between the compound revenue and a base revenue, where in the base revenue comprises the sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant over the time period.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a difference between the compound revenue and a base revenue, where in the base revenue comprises the sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant over the time period (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the energy costs varies over time, during different power limits. Paragraphs [0041] and [0113] discloses revenue for EV charging and participating in the ancillary service market).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 6, Otogasako teaches controller of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the bid comprises a power level and a price for the virtual power plant to participate in the ancillary service market over the time period; and the at least one processor is further configured to generate the at least one charging profile based on the power level for the bid and a current power demand of the virtual power plant on the electric grid.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the bid comprises a power level and a price for the virtual power plant to participate in the ancillary service market over the time period (paragraphs [0067]- [0068] discloses wherein the user receives bid information via user interface such as a power level and charging pricing. Paragraph [0060] discloses wherein energy levels, power production or fuel levels are provided as information); and
the at least one processor is further configured to generate the at least one charging profile based on the power level for the bid and a current power demand of the virtual power plant on the electric grid (paragraphs [015] – [0107] discloses wherein charging profiles based on information such as bids or pricing, and current demand for a vehicle is stored in a database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 7, Otogasako teaches controller of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: generate the at least one charging profile based on a priority associated with the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: generate the at least one charging profile based on a priority associated with the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (paragraphs [015] – [0107] discloses wherein charging profiles based on priority information such as location for a vehicle is stored in a database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 8, Otogasako teaches a method of managing a participation of a virtual power plant comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in an ancillary service market for an electric grid (shown figure 1 item 100 defined as a bid management apparatus), the method comprising:
generating a bid for participating in the ancillary service market over a time period; (figure 7 step 15 and paragraph [0065] wherein a bid determination is performed and a bid is generated or performed);
transmitting bid to the ancillary service market (paragraph [0065] discloses wherein the bid determination unit transmits information, indicating the bid);
receiving a response from the ancillary service market indicating that the bid was accepted (paragraph [0066] discloses wherein the information is received);
identifying a request from the ancillary service market for the virtual power plant to provide grid support to the electric grid during the time period (paragraph [0028] discloses wherein the ancillary service market, interpreted as an aggregator item 5, makes request for power stored in a virtual power plant, or a vehicle battery);
generating, based on the bid and in response to the request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the virtual power plant (paragraph [0066] discloses wherein a bid is generated or provided based on the charging profile determined from vehicle information provided. Paragraph [0030] discloses wherein the vehicle information is acquired within item 111. This information is used to determine if a bid may be made, then a bid is generated).
Otogasako does not explicitly teach a processor providing the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support.
Galbraith teaches providing the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the request for the grid support (paragraph [0067] – [0068] discloses wherein the a communication interface may comprise a user interface as an operator dashboard item 238 to display information such as a bid, interpreted as a charging offer. Paragraph [00668] discloses wherein this information may also be provided on a user interface to receive and accept a charging offer to provide charging to the grid. Paragraph [0056] discloses wherein the system comprises a vehicle-to-grid charging system, wherein offers are provided to the users to provide charge. Thus, charging offers includes bid for a vehicle-to-grid charging system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 9, Otogasako teaches the method of claim 8, wherein: the request comprises an automatic generation control request (figure 4 and paragraph [0037] discloses wherein the vehicle acquisition determines the vehicle travel route and determines a likelihood of the vehicle connecting to an EVSE, thus upon this detection, the steps to perform a bid generation is automatically initiated).
Regarding claim 10, Otogasako teaches the method of claim 8, wherein: the method further comprises: generating a fuel cost curve for the virtual power plant over the time period, and generating the bid further comprises: generating the bid based on the fuel cost curve.
Gailbrath teaches generating a fuel cost curve for the virtual power plant over the time period, and generating the bid further comprises: generating the bid based on the fuel cost curve (paragraph [0069] discloses wherein a fuel cost, interpreted as a power grid energy cost, is determined over a period of time. An optimal price is determined and paragraph [0112] discloses wherein a bid or offer for charging is made based on this information. Figure 6 and paragraph [0133] a fuel cost curve or a prices horizon which determines prices overtime).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved
Regarding claim 11, Otogasako teaches the method of claim 10, wherein: generating the fuel cost curve further comprises: generating the fuel cost curve based on a compound revenue, wherein the compound revenue comprises a sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant at different power limits and a revenue for participating in the ancillary service market at the different power limits.
Gailbrath teaches generating the fuel cost curve further comprises: generating the fuel cost curve based on a compound revenue, wherein the compound revenue comprises a sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant at different power limits and a revenue for participating in the ancillary service market at the different power limits (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the energy costs varies over time, during different power limits. Paragraphs [0041] and [0113] discloses revenue for EV charging and participating in the ancillary service market).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 12, Otogasako teaches the method of claim 11, wherein: generating the fuel cost curve further comprises: generating the fuel cost curve based on a difference between the compound revenue and a base revenue, where in the base revenue comprises the sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant over the time period.
Galbraith teaches : generating the fuel cost curve further comprises: generating the fuel cost curve based on a difference between the compound revenue and a base revenue, where in the base revenue comprises the sum of charging revenue for the virtual power plant over the time period (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the energy costs varies over time, during different power limits. Paragraphs [0041] and [0113] discloses revenue for EV charging and participating in the ancillary service market).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 13, Otogasako teaches the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the bid comprises a power level and a price for the virtual power plant to participate in the ancillary service market over the time period; and generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating the at least one charging profile based on the power level for the bid and a current power demand of the virtual power plant on the electric grid.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the bid comprises a power level and a price for the virtual power plant to participate in the ancillary service market over the time period (paragraphs [0067]- [0068] discloses wherein the user receives bid information via user interface such as a power level and charging pricing. Paragraph [0060] discloses wherein energy levels, power production or fuel levels are provided as information);
generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating the at least one charging profile based on the power level for the bid and a current power demand of the virtual power plant on the electric grid (paragraphs [015] – [0107] discloses wherein charging profiles based on information such as bids or pricing, and current demand for a vehicle is stored in a database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 14, Otogasako teaches the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein: generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating the at least one charging profile based on a priority associated with the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment.
Galbraith teaches generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating the at least one charging profile based on a priority associated with the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (paragraphs [015] – [0107] discloses wherein charging profiles based on priority information such as location for a vehicle is stored in a database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 15, Otogasako teaches a controller for managing a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment for participation in a frequency control of an electric grid (shown figure 1 item 100 defined as a bid management apparatus), the controller comprising at least one processor configured to:
generate a bid to participate in the frequency control of the electric grid (figure 7 step 15 and paragraph [0065] wherein a bid determination is performed and a bid is generated or performed);
determine whether the bid was accepted paragraph [0066] discloses wherein the information is received);
identify a request to provide the frequency control of the electric grid(paragraph [0028] discloses wherein the ancillary service market, interpreted as an aggregator item 5, makes request for power stored in a virtual power plant, or a vehicle battery); and
Otogasako does not explicitly teach cause, based on the bid and in response to the request, one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid to implement the frequency control of the electric grid.
Galbraith teaches based on the bid and in response to the request, one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid to implement the frequency control of the electric grid (paragraphs [0015],[0016] and [0095] discloses wherein the electrical power drawn or rate of charging or discharging is modified based on the bid or the dynamic pricing determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 16, Otogasako teaches the controller of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: generate a fuel cost curve for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; and generate the bid based on the fuel cost curve.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: generate a fuel cost curve for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; and generate the bid based on the fuel cost curve (paragraph [0069] discloses wherein a fuel cost, interpreted as a power grid energy cost, is determined over a period of time. An optimal price is determined and paragraph [0112] discloses wherein a bid or offer for charging is made based on this information. Figure 6 and paragraph [0133] a fuel cost curve or a prices horizon which determines prices overtime).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 17, Otogasako teaches the controller of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a compound revenue, wherein the compound revenue comprises a sum of charging revenue for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment at different power limits and a revenue for participating in the frequency control at the different power limits.
Galbraith teaches the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a compound revenue, wherein the compound revenue comprises a sum of charging revenue for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment at different power limits and a revenue for participating in the frequency control at the different power limits(paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the energy costs varies over time, during different power limits. Paragraphs [0041] and [0113] discloses revenue for EV charging and participating in the ancillary service market).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 18, Otogasako teaches the controller of claim 17, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a difference between the compound revenue and a base revenue, where in the base revenue comprises the sum of charging revenue for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over the time period.
Galbraith teaches wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to generate the fuel cost curve based on a difference between the compound revenue and a base revenue, where in the base revenue comprises the sum of charging revenue for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over the time period (paragraphs [0040] – [0041] discloses wherein the energy costs varies over time, during different power limits. Paragraphs [0041] and [0113] discloses revenue for EV charging and participating in the ancillary service market).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 19, Otogasako teaches the controller of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the bid comprises a power level and a price for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to participate in the frequency control; and the at least one processor is further configured to cause the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid based on the power level for the bid and a current power demand of the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment on the electric grid.
Galbraith teaches the bid comprises a power level and a price for the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to participate in the frequency control (paragraphs [0067]- [0068] discloses wherein the user receives bid information via user interface such as a power level and charging pricing. Paragraph [0060] discloses wherein energy levels, power production or fuel levels are provided as information);
the at least one processor is further configured to cause the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid based on the power level for the bid and a current power demand of the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment on the electric grid (paragraphs [015] – [0107] discloses wherein charging profiles based on information such as bids or pricing, and current demand for a vehicle is stored in a database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Regarding claim 20, Otogasako teaches the controller of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to: cause the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to vary a charging profile for one or more electric vehicles coupled thereto in order to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid.
Galbraith teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: cause the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to vary a charging profile for one or more electric vehicles coupled thereto in order to modify their electrical power drawn from the electric grid (paragraphs [015] – [0107] discloses wherein charging profiles based on priority information such as location for a vehicle is stored in a database).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Otogasako reference with the display system of the Galbraith reference so that charging efficiency is improved by scheduling EV charging when energy costs are relatively low.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Galbraith reference in paragraph [0004] wherein charging efficiency is improved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20170259683 A1 Optimized Charging PEV Shimizu; Takayuki Et Al.
Us 20230219447 A1 Power Supply System Ehara; Masato Et Al.
Us 20230286408 A1 Managing EV Charging Station Availability Kinsey; Jeffrey Et Al.
Us 20220258638 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Aggregation Harirchi; Farshad Et Al.
Us 20220203861 A1 Communication Between EV, Supply Equipment, And Power Grid Operation Server Dow; Young Soo
Us 20230278451 A1 Power Supply System Ehara; Masato Et Al.
Us 20200101850 A1 Electric Charge Management System Harty; Ryan D. Et Al.
Us 20190359065 A1 Performing V2G Regulation Al-Awami; Ali T. Et Al.
Us 20130211988 A1 Electric Vehicle Distributed Intelligence Dorn; John Z. Et Al.
Us 20170005515 A1 Renewable Energy Integrated Storage Sanders; Dean Et Al.
Us 20110191265 A1 EV Charging Station Pricing Lowenthal; Richard Et Al.
Us 20130229149 A1 Dispatching V2G Ancillary Services With Discrete Switching Sortomme; Eric
Us 20130179061 A1 Smart EV Charging And Grid Gadh; Rajit Et Al.
Us 20200156495 A1 Aggregating Energy Resources Lindup; John
Us 11074773 B1 Network-Based Control Autonomous Vehicles Morris; David R.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859