DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 07/09/2026, wherein claims 44 is cancelled, new claim 79 is added, and claims 1, 2, 8, 12, 36, 65, and 67 are amended .
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected, without traverse, Group I invention drawn to a formulation for transdermal delivery; and election of species: 1) sodium bicarbonate as the medicament species; and Phosphatidylcholine, Isopropyl Palmitate, Poloxamer 407, Benzyl Alcohol, and Polyglyceryl-4 laurate as the penetration excipient species, comprising, respectively, a phospholipid, fatty acid ester, viscosity-improving agent, penetration enhancer, and emulsifier, in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. The elected formulation species for transdermal delivery is construed as comprising sodium bicarbonate(medicament), penetration excipient species phosphatidylcholine ( phospholipid), isopropyl palmitate( fatty acid ester) , poloxamer 407 (viscosity-improving agent), benzyl alcohol( penetration enhancer) and polyglyceryl-4 laurate (emulsifier).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 67, 68, and 78-79 read on the elected invention of formulation.
Claim 69 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 67, 68, 69, 78 and 79 are pending.
Claim 69 remains withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 67, 68, 78 and 79 are under examination in this office action.
Priority
Instant application 18/351,192 filed 07/12/2023 is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2022/012330, filed January 13, 2022; and claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/137,127, filed January 13, 2021; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/218,983, filed July 7, 2021; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/219,280, filed July 7, 2021; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/227,330, filed July 29, 2021; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/261,510, filed September 22, 2021; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/271,014, filed October 22, 2021; and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/287,492, filed December 8, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/09/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR1.97. Accordingly, the reference listed in IDS are being considered by the Examiner. Reference written in foreign language is considered to the degree of English abstract or patent family of foreign patent by examiner.
Claim Objections
Amended claim 65 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 65 recites vast variety of medicament wherein some medicament are still duplicate, e.g.
These are only exemplary duplicate medicaments. Applicant is required to correct typo and any other duplicated recitation of medicaments.
Drawings
The drawings filed 07/09/2026 are objected to because the newly added legends describing topical formulation comprising the medicament in Figs 1-26 were not supported by original specification filed on 07/12/2023.
Specification
The amendment filed 07/09/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: [0003]-[0007] amended to recite description of formulations in Figures 1-26 which were not disclosed in previous specification dated 07/12/2023. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The disclosure filed on 07/09/2026 are amended to add variety of brand names/ trademarks Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. The amended specification recites brand names/ trademarks not followed by proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® . Further, the amended specification still recite duplicate medicament, e.g.
(See page 17),
(See page 18).
Response to Declaration
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 by Dr. Nathan Fitzsimmons filed on 07/09/2026 is fully considered. The argument regarding glucose component in Fitzsimmons '738 (US 10,842,758) is persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 49, 65 and 78 anticipated by Fitzsimmons '738 (US 10,842,758) under 35 USC 102 (a)(2) is withdrawn.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the formulation lacks a natural lecithin”, Fitzsimmons Declaration uses the analogy “natural sea water versus artificial sea water” and argues about the difference of natural lecithin versus synthesized or purified phosphatidylcholine. Fitzsimmons Declaration further argues that based on superior benefits from including lecithin in transdermal formulation of Sand ‘983 (US 20180271983), a skilled artisan would not have been motivated to omit lecithin and the omission of lecithin from instant formulation provides surprisingly improved properties that would not have been expected from the teachings of Sand (Declaration para 10-17).
It's noted instant claimed “lecithin-free” formulation does not omit phosphatidylcholine, the main component of natural lecithin. Although there might be slight difference between natural lecithin and synthesized/ purified phosphatidylcholine, the function/property of phosphatidylcholine is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source. Both natural lecithin and synthesized/ purified phosphatidylcholine are commonly used interchangeably in pharmaceutical composition. Sand ‘983 explicitly teaches other lecithin such as synthetic lecithin could also be used (See [0048]). Substitution of natural lecithin with synthesized/purified phosphatidylcholine is considered as experimentation/ optimization within the general knowledge of a skilled artisan in the art.
The alleged improved properties, e.g. more desirable aesthetics and whiter coloration are not considered as significant contribution to patentable weight of the formulation. As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
As for the stability comparation in post-filing data, Fitzsimmons Declaration only alleged that all formulations tested were consistent with the formulations of the pending claims and all formulations lacked glucose (Declaration, para 12). However, instant claimed formulation comprises variety of other components, e.g. fatty acid ester, fatty acid, emulsifier, etc. and combination thereof at different amount/ratio that have impact on the stability of formulation. The tested formulation does not list any active ingredient and other inactive component, e.g. fatty acid ester, long-chain fatty acid, emulsifiers, etc. As such, the tested formulations in Fitzsimmons Declaration do not represent vast variety of formulations comprising different active ingredient, phospholipid , fatty acid esters, emulsifiers, and combination thereof at different concentration and ratio thereof encompassed by claim 1. In other words, the alleged superior stability data in Fitzsimmons Declaration do not commensurate with the scope of instant claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a formulation for transdermal delivery of a medicament through the skin of a subject, the formulation comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a medicament and a penetrant portion, wherein the penetrant portion comprises: a phospholipid, a fatty acid ester formed from a low molecular weight alcohol, and a long-chain fatty acids, and, optionally, one or more of a viscosity-improving agent, a penetration enhancer, and an emulsifier; wherein the formulation lacks a natural lecithin and lacks glucose.
It's noted the function/property of phospholipid (e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.) is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source. If the prior art is silent about the source of phospholipid, embodiments is construed as lacking natural lecithin. If the prior art is silent about glucose, the embodiment is construed as comprising no glucose.
Applicant’s argument about the natural lecithin based on Fitzsimmons Declaration is considered. Please see Response to Declaration.
Action Summary
Applicant's remarks filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks .The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
The rejections of claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 49, 65 and
78 anticipated by Fitzsimmons '738 (US 10,842,758) under 35 USC 102 (a)(2) is withdrawn. Applicant’s argument regarding anticipation by Fitzsimmons '738 under 35 USC 102(a)(2) is moot.
Please see Response to Arguments in the following maintained/reapplied rejections under 35 USC § 112, 102 and 103 sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 65 and 67 remain rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of medicament is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share structural similarity and/or a common use. For example, claim 65 recites inorganic salt, e.g. sodium bicarbonate as medicament which has nothing common with antiviral medicament ( e.g. abacavir, etc.). Claim 67 recites medicaments combination that do not share common use, e.g. adapalene and benzoyl peroxide (for acne vulgaris) , Metformin and Sitagliptin (for diabetes), etc.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Applicant argues that “ independent of the use of the medicament, the size of the medicament, the solubility of the medicament, and so forth, their common ability to be delivered transdermally provides a grouping such that the Markush group is proper”(Remarks, page 13).
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is considered, but NOT persuasive. Instant claimed medicaments and combination thereof not only differ in size, but differ substantially in chemical and physical properties, including polarity, hydrophobicity/hydrophilicity, solubility, stability, etc. The ability of a particular medicament/compound to be delivered transdermally depends on individual physical/chemical properties and particular formulation. As such, merely asserting that medicaments could be delivered transdermally does not provide sufficient basis for including these medicaments as members of single Markush group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description Rejection
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 67, 68 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Instant claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention in full scope. This is a matter of written description, not a question of what one of ordinary skill in the art would or would not have known. Applicant is directed to the MPEP 2163 and Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st "Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.
MPEP 2163.02 states “ Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.”
Claim 1 recites formulation for transdermal delivery of a medicament comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a medicament and a penetrant portion, wherein the penetrant portion comprises: a phospholipid, a fatty acid ester formed from a low molecular weight alcohol, and a long-chain fatty acids, wherein the formulation lacks a natural lecithin. Claim 1 is construed as directed to formulation of any medicament in combination with a penetrant portion comprising any phospholipid, any long-chain fatty acid and fatty acid ester, which is extremely broad. Claims 65 and 67 refer to transdermal delivery of improper Markush grouping of medicament genus, or combination genus. The vast variety of medicament recited in claim 65 have different chemicals structures, different chemical/physical properties and pharmaceutical activities.
MPEP 2163 II states; “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above)”. While applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. “A representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus” See MPEP 2163 II.
Instant specification discloses embodiments comprising some instantly claimed medicament(See Examples 1-31, Table 1) . The instant specification does not provide working example comprising the medicament combination as recited in claim 67 in combination with the transdermal formulation comprising phospholipid, fatty acid ester and long-chain fatty acid. A "laundry list" disclosure of possible medicament species does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species. MPEP 2163.1.A. and Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 ”.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed.Cir. 1996).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Table 1 provides dosages for forty-seven (47) combinations of medicaments. The medicament dosages of Table 1 in the context of the General Formulations as shown in Tables 3A, 3B, 4, and 5 and their associated text, provides the distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention (Remarks, page 15).
RESPONSE: Table 1 discloses hundreds of medicament and combination thereof. Table 3B discloses general penetrant formulation comprising phospholipid, fatty acid ester, long-chain fatty acids and optional viscosity-improving agent, penetration, emulsifier, enhancer. Table 3A, 4 and 5 disclose specific combination comprising phosphatidylcholine, isopropyl palmitate, benzyl alcohol, stearic acid, oleic acid, etc. at specific range. The general formulations as shown in Tables 3A, 3B, 4, and 5 specification do not adequately describe or exemplify the full range of phospholipid, fatty acid ester, long-chain fatty acids as encompassed by claim 1. Instant specification does not disclose working example comprising instantly claimed combination of medicament with the penetrant formulation. The ability of a particular medicament and combination thereof to be delivered transdermally depend on individual physical/chemical properties of the drug , interaction of active and inactive components in particular formulation. An ordinary skilled in the art would not know if all those claimed medicament and combination thereof could be delivered transdermally by instant penetrant portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 39, 47, 49, 65 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Glonek et al. (WO 2019/182969 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 07/09/2024)(reapplied as necessitated by amendment) .
Glonek teaches topical phospholipid formulation comprising a phospholipid component for transdermal delivery of active agents ( See abstract, page 2, lines 1-21; Example 1-2, claims 13-20).
Regarding the phospholipid component of claim 2, Glonek teaches phospholipid molecules selected from the group consisting of lysophosphatidic acid, lysodiphosphatidylglycerol, phosphatidylglycerol, lysophosphatidylethanolamine, phosphatidic acid, diphosphatidylglycerol, ethanolamine plasmalogen, phosphatidylethanolamine, phosphatidylserine, lysophosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylinositol, and phosphatidylcholine (See page 3, lines 14-19; page 6, lines 5-10; claim 19 ). Glonek teaches embodiments comprising various amount of phosphatidylcholine, e.g. 0.1 % w/w to about 10% w/w. to about 25%, etc. based on the total weight of the phospholipid component (See page 9, lines 14-22).
Regarding the amount of phospholipid of claim 5, Glonek teaches phospholipid component is present in a concentration of from about 0.1 % w/w to about 10% w/w based on the total weight of the formulation (See page 3, lines 12-13; page 5, lines 25-35; Example 1-2).
Regarding limitation of fatty acid ester of claim 8, 11, and long-chain fatty acid of claim 12 and 17-18, Glonek teaches oil phase comprising two or more components selected from the group consisting of cetyl alcohol, beeswax, isopropyl palmitate, oleic acid, sorbitan stearate, stearyl alcohol, stearic acid, glyceryl stearate, and an ester (See page 2, lines 17-21; Example 1-2, Table 1-2). Glonek teaches topical formulations include one or more thickening agent, emulsion stabilizer, rheology modifier, or viscosity modifier in an amount of from about 0.1 % w/w to about 10% w/w based on the total weight of the final formulation, e.g. long-chain fatty acid, saturated or unsaturated fatty acids, hydrogenated fatty acids, fatty acid glyceride, glycerol mono-oleate esters, glycerol mono-caprate, glyceryl monocaprylate, fatty alcohols, cetyl alcohol, isopropyl myristate, isopropyl palmitate, stearic acid, stearyl alcohol or any combination thereof, etc. (See page 10, lines 1-35).
Regarding claims 19 and 26, Glonek teaches gelling agents (poloxamers, carboxymethylcellulose etc.), in an amount from 0.01% to 5% w/w (See page 15, lines 1-5). Glonek teaches viscosity-increasing agent (e.g. carbomer, carboxymethylcellulose etc.) ( See page 15, lines 28).
Regarding claim 27, Glonek teaches topical carriers, e.g. liquid alcohols, liquid glycols, ethanol, isopropanol, glycerol, propylene glycol, etc. ( See page 12, lines 18-25). Glonek explicitly teaches embodiments comprising benzyl alcohol (See Example 1 and 2).
Glonek teaches embodiments comprising phospholipid component (5%), isopropyl palmitate (5%), oleic acid (2% ), stearic acid (1%) , benzyl alcohol (1%), water (50%), cetyl alcohol (emulsifier, 1%), sorbitan stearate emulsifier (e.g. Arlacel™ 60), etc. (See Examples 1-2, Table 1-2).
Regarding active agents/medicaments, Glonek teaches nutraceuticals (e.g. carnitine, minerals) in an amount of 0.01% w/w -5% w/w, pharmacologically active agents or drugs from major therapeutic areas e.g. steroids (e.g. corticosteroids), anti-inflammatory agents, anti-infectives such as antibiotics and antiviral agents, analgesics and analgesic combinations, anorexics, antiarthritics, anti-asthmatic agents, anticonvulsants, antihistamines, antiseptics, antimigraine preparations, anti-motion sickness agents, antinauseants, diagnostics, hormones, hypnotics, immunosuppressives, muscle relaxants, parasympatholytics, psychostimulants, sedatives, tranquilizers, anesthetics, vitamins (e.g. Vitamin D), etc. (See page 12, lines 30-35; page 13, lines 1-32; page 16, lines 1-10).
As elaborated, Glonek collectively teaches topical phospholipid formulation comprising a phospholipid component, fatty acid ester (e.g. isopropyl palmitate) and fatty acid (oleic acid, steric acid, etc.) for transdermal delivery of active agents. Glonek is silent about natural lecithin and glucose. As such, Glonek anticipates instantly claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 is amended by incorporating subject matter from claim 44, which was not anticipated by Glonek.
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is considered, but NOT persuasive. Please note a viscosity-improving agent, a penetration enhancer, and an emulsifier recited in claim 1 is optionally. Glonek teaches embodiments comprising phospholipid component (1 or 5%), isopropyl palmitate (5%), oleic acid (2 or 4% ), stearic acid (1%) , benzyl alcohol (1%), water (50%), cetyl alcohol (emulsifier, 1%), sorbitan stearate emulsifier (e.g. Arlacel™ 60), etc. (See Examples 1-2, Table 1-2) which read on the optional viscosity-improving agent, penetration enhancer, and emulsifier. Thus, Glonek anticipates claim 1 and its dependent claims thereof.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-18, 27, 34, 47, 49, 65, and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Perricone (US 9597401B2, hereafter “Perricone’401” ) (reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Perricone’401 teaches transdermal composition comprising a phosphatidylcholine carrier and other penetration enhancers (e.g. fatty acid ester, fatty acids and alcohols, surfactant, etc.) for transdermal delivery of active ingredient, e.g. nitric oxide and/or peptide (See abstract, Col. 1,lines 59-65, Examples 2, 6-8, claims 1-17). Please note nitric oxide read on the medicament of claim 65.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Perricone’401 teaches various amount of phosphatidylcholine from about at least about 1 wt. %, to at least about 10 wt. %, etc. (See Col 13, lines 32-50; Examples 6-8; claim 12 and14).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Perricone’401 teaches embodiments further comprising a fatty acid ester, e.g. isopropyl palmitate, at amount from 1% w/w to about 50% w/w (See Col. 11. lines 28-45; Example 7).
Regarding claims 12 and 17-18, Perricone’401 teaches embodiments comprising one or more transdermal penetration enhancers, e.g. cationic, anionic, or nonionic surfactants (e.g., sodium dodecyl sulfate, poloxamers, etc.); fatty acids and alcohols (e.g., ethanol, oleic acid, lauric acid, liposomes, etc.), or other agents wherein the transdermal penetration enhancers are present in amount from 10 wt. %, at least about 20 % w/w, at least about 30% w/w, etc. (See Col. 15, lines 7-32).
Regarding claims 27 and 34 , Perricone’401 teaches embodiments comprising polyglycol, polyethylene glycol, etc. at various amount from 1 wt.% to 30 wt.% ( See Col. 13, lines 5-30). Perricone’401 also teaches embodiments comprising benzyl alcohol, ethyl alcohol, isopropyl palmitate, etc. ( See Col.13, lines 32-50; Example 7).
Regarding water limitation of claim 47, Perricone’401 teaches embodiments comprising water, e.g.. 78.3% (See Example 7).
Regarding claim 49, Perricone’401 teaches the amount of active medicament(e.g. nitric oxide) from 0.3 wt. % to at least 10 wt. %( See Col. 8, lines 30-40).
Perricone’401 collectively teaches transdermal composition comprising a phosphatidylcholine and other penetration enhancers (e.g. fatty acid ester, fatty acids and alcohols, surfactant, etc.) for transdermal delivery of active ingredient (nitric oxide/peptide). Thus, Perricone’401 anticipates instant claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 is amended by incorporating subject matter from claim 44, which was not anticipated by Perricone’401.
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is considered, but NOT persuasive. Please note a viscosity-improving agent, a penetration enhancer, and an emulsifier recited in claim 1 is optionally. Perricone’401 teaches embodiments comprising phospholipid (10%), isopropyl palmitate (5%), fatty acid, and benzyl alcohol, etc. which read on the optional viscosity-improving agent, penetration enhancer, and/or emulsifier. Thus, Perricone’401 anticipates claim 1 and its dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 68, 78 and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sand et al. (US 20180271983 A1, hereafter “Sand’ 983”)(reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Sand’ 983 teaches transdermal delivery and/or systemic delivery of an active agent (e.g. lidocaine) through skin, nails or hair follicles, wherein the formulation comprises an effective amount of active agent along with multiple-component penetration enhancers, e.g. benzyl alcohol at 0.5 - 20 % w / w, lecithin organogel at 25- 70 % w / w, detergents (e.g. nonionic detergents), bile salts, polar solvents, etc. (See abstract, [0007]-[0009], [0045]-[0047], Examples 1-22, claims 1-16). Sand ‘983 teaches lecithin organogel is clear, thermodynamically stable, viscoelastic, and biocompatible jelly- like permeation agent, chiefly composed hydrated phospholipids and appropriate organic liquid, e.g. lecithin isopropyl palmitate, which is formed when isopropyl palmitate is used to dissolve lecithin and the ratio of lecithin to isopropyl palmitate is 50: 50 (See [0048]).
Regarding the phospholipid- based permeation enhancer of claims 2 and 5, Sand ‘983 teaches micro- emulsion based organic gel in liquid phase characterized by 1, 2- diacyl-sn- glycero- 3- phosphatidyl choline, and an organic solvent (e.g. isopropyl palmitate, etc.) (See [0049]) and the lecithin organogel is present in the final formulation in the range of 25 - 70 % w / w (See [0048], claims 1-2) (which reads on the elected PC and fatty acid ester species). Sand ‘983 teaches other lecithin such as synthetic lecithin could also be used (See [0048])(which reads on instant negative limitation of natural lecithin and claim 78). Sand ‘983 teaches embodiments comprising 0.8% w/w of phosphatidylcholine, 1 % w/w caffeine, 2% w/w benzyl alcohol, 30% w/w lecithin isopropyl palmitate, 22% w/w deoxycholic acid, 30% poloxamer(See Example 7). Sand ‘983 teaches embodiments that lacks glucose (See Examples 1-22).
Regarding fatty acid ester of claims 8 and 11, Sand teaches an effective amount of anesthetic along with 25% - 70% w / w or 30 %- 60 % w / w or 30 % - 40 % w / w of lecithin organogel wherein the lecithin organogel comprises soy lecithin in combination with isopropyl palmitate or isopropyl myristate and benzyl alcohol (See [0181]). Sand ‘983 teaches organogel is typically amphiphilic permeation agent wherein suitable gelling components, e.g. isopropyl palmitate , ethyl laurate, ethyl myristate and isopropyl myristate, etc. can be used (See [0048], Examples 1-22).
Regarding the long-chain fatty acid recited in claim 12, 17-18 and 79, Sand ‘983 teaches formulation components further comprise fatty acids, lipids, terpenes, cationic and anionic detergents, wherein the exemplary fatty acid include linoelaidic acid, linoleic acid, oleic acid, etc. (See [0048], [0060]-[0062]).
Regarding the viscosity-improving agent of claims 19 and 26, Sand ‘983 teaches nonionic detergent (e.g. poloxamer, Pluronic® F68, Pluronic® F127, etc. ) provides gel-like or creams properties and is present from 10% w/w to 40%w/w (See [0054]-[0056], Examples 1-22). Sand ‘983 explicitly teaches embodiments comprising poloxamer 407 (See Example 6)
Regarding other penetration agent of claims 27 and 34, Sand ‘983 teaches alcohol as additional components (e.g. benzyl alcohol, PEG/propylene glycol, etc.) at concentration of 0.15-20% w/w along with lecithin isopropyl palmitate (See [0051], [0084]-[0094], Examples 1-22).
Regarding emulsifier of claim 36 and 39, Sand ‘983 teaches surfactants/ detergents e.g. Tween® 60, Tween® 80, Span® 80, in the range of 1 % w/w-15% w/w formation of miscellas for superior penetration (See [0035], [0050], [0056]).
Sand ‘983 explicitly teaches embodiments comprising instant elected penetration enhancer species (See Example 6, [0258]): Example 6: a formulation containing 65 % w / w of Pluronic® lecithin organic gel made up of 33.17 % poloxamer 407 powder , 33.17 % soy lecithin granules , and 33.17 % isopropyl palmitate syrup was mixed with 2 % w / w benzyl alcohol and buffer to pH 10-11 wherein the buffer comprises 10 g sodium bicarbonate and 12.6 g of sodium carbonate, etc.
Regarding water in claim 47, Sand ‘983 teaches aqueous form of embodiments comprising water, glycerol, etc. (See [0050], [0057], [0109] ).
Regarding the amount of active ingredients recited in claim 49, Sand ‘983 teaches the amount of active ingredients from 0.01 to 50% w/w, 0.25% w/w to 30% w/w (See [0040], [0110], Examples 1-22).
Regarding claim 68, Sand ‘983 teaches transdermal or systemic delivery of active ingredients (See abstract, [0007], [0073], [0137], etc.)
Regarding the active ingredients recited in claim 65, Sand ‘983 teaches variety of medicament/active ingredients, e.g. anesthetic (e.g. lidocaine, etc.), antivirals (e.g. acyclovir, penciclovir, etc.) , fat-dissolving agent, a nutrient or nutrient combination, a tissue volume enhancer, a vaccine component, a hair growth modulator, an antifungal agent, an agent to promote smoking cessation, and/or a cannabinoid, etc. (See Examples 1-22, [0084]-0095], [0130]- [0184], claims 14-17). Sand ‘983 teaches antivirals as the medicament, e.g. acyclovir, penciclovir, etc. (See [0173]-0175]). Sand ‘983 explicitly teaches sodium bicarbonate as the active ingredients for athletic performance (See [0131], Examples 9)(which reads on instant elected medicament).
Regarding claim 67, Sand ‘983 teaches additional active ingredients and combination of active ingredients, e.g. benzocaine + lidocaine + tetracaine ( BLT) (See [0090]-[0092], Example 25).
Sand ‘983 collectively teaches multiple-component penetration formulation comprising phospholipid(e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.), fatty acid ester (e.g. isopropyl palmitate ), alcohol (e.g. benzyl alcohol), detergent/surfactant (e.g. poloxamer, etc.) for transdermal delivery and/or systemic delivery of an active agent, wherein the formulation synergistically induce skin permeation enhancements better than that induced by the individual components (See [0047]).
It’s noted the function/property of phospholipid (e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.) is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source. Sand ‘983 teaches other lecithin such as synthetic lecithin could also be used (See [0048]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to explore different source of phospholipid ( natural lecithin or synthetic ) in search for alternative transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of Sand ‘983, together with experimentation/ optimization of penetrant component based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation, and arrive at instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. Further exploration of excipients/penetration enhancer and concentration thereof for improved drug permeation is within the general knowledge of an ordinary skilled in the art. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
A skilled artisan would be motivated to further explore the penetration formulation for different medicament since Sand ‘983 collectively teaches multiple-component penetration formulation synergistically induce skin permeation enhancements better than that induced by the individual components (See [0047]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that each formulation described in Sand includes a natural lecithin and present claims require that a formulation lacks a natural ( e.g. plant or animal derived) lecithin. Thus, a prior art that teaches inclusion of a natural lecithin would be irrelevant to the claimed invention.
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is considered, but NOT persuasive. As explained in preceding Response to Declaration, instant claimed “lecithin-free” formulation does not omit phosphatidylcholine, the main component of natural lecithin. The function/property of phosphatidylcholine is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source. Both natural lecithin and synthesized/ purified phosphatidylcholine are commonly used interchangeably in pharmaceutical composition. Sand ‘983 explicitly teaches other lecithin such as synthetic lecithin could also be used (See [0048]). Substitution of natural lecithin with synthesized/purified phosphatidylcholine is considered as experimentation/ optimization within the general knowledge of a skilled artisan in the art.
Applicant also argues the formulations of the pending claims are unexpectedly superior to their prior formulations and this unexpected success that could not have been predicted from the teaching of Sand: "The color differences and improvement in feel (e.g., decrease in oiliness and separation) is immediately obvious between formulations including lecithin versus lecithin-free formulations.
RESPONSE: The alleged improved properties, e.g. more desirable aesthetics and whiter coloration are not considered as significant contribution to patentable weight of the formulation. As stated in MPEP 2144.05, " It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Sand et al. (US 20180271983 A1, hereafter “Sand’ 983”) , in view of EPIDUO® (adapalene and benzoyl peroxide)( 2013)(maintained).
The collective teachings of Sand’ 983 is elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Sand ‘983 collectively teaches multiple-component penetration formulation comprising phospholipid(e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.), fatty acid ester (e.g. isopropyl palmitate ), alcohol (e.g. benzyl alcohol), detergent/surfactant (e.g. poloxamer, etc.) for transdermal delivery and/or systemic delivery of an active agent.
Sand ‘983 is silent about the medicament combination recited in claim 67, e.g. adapalene and benzoyl peroxide.
EPIDUO® (adapalene and benzoyl peroxide) is combination of adapalene, a retinoid, and benzoyl peroxide, indicated for the topical treatment of acne vulgaris.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to incorporate the penetration formulation taught by Sand ‘983 for transdermal delivery of different medicament or combination thereof, e.g. adapalene and benzoyl peroxide taught by Epiduo label, together with experimentation/ optimization of penetrant component based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation, and arrive at instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would be motivated to explore penetration formulation taught by Sand ‘983 for transdermal delivery of different medicament combination, e.g. adapalene and benzoyl peroxide, because multiple-component penetration formulation synergistically induce skin permeation enhancements better than that induced by the individual components as taught by Sand ‘983. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-18, 27, 34, 47, 49, and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US patent No. 10842758B1 (maintained/ reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a transdermal delivery formulation comprising the following components:
a. Cannabidiol (CBD) at a concentration from 1% to 7%;
b. a phosphatidylcholine at a concentration from 4% to 15%;
c. glucose at a concentration from 0% to 3%;
d. benzyl alcohol at a concentration from 0.25% to 5%;
e. deionized water at a concentration from 10% to 75%;
f. safflower oil at a concentration from 1% to 20%;
g. oleic acid at a concentration from 0.2% to 7.5%;
h. stearic acid at a concentration from 0.1% to 7%; and
i. isopropyl palmitate at a concentration from 5% to 30%.
It’s noted the phosphatidylcholine, isopropyl palmitate, benzyl alcohol read on instant elected penetration excipient species. Oleic acid and stearic acid read on the long-chain fatty acid (instant claim 12, 17-18), and CBD read on medicament recited in claim 65.
Reference claims comprising glucose at a concentration of 0% read on instant negative limitation of glucose. Reference claims are silent about natural lecithin and construed as encompassing embodiments that lacks natural lecithin.
It’s noted the function/property of phospholipid (e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.) is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to explore different source of phospholipid ( natural lecithin or synthetic ) in search for alternative transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of reference claims together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-18, 27, 34, 47, 49, and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US patent No. 11026896 B2 (maintained/ reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a method of treating a patient with an ailment by applying a transdermal formulation to the skin of the patient, the transdermal formulation comprising the following components:
a. Cannabidiol at a concentration from 1% to 7%;
b. a phosphatidylcholine at a concentration from 4% to 15%;
c. glucose at a concentration from 0% to 3%;
d. benzyl alcohol at a concentration from 0.25% to 5%;
e. deionized water at a concentration from 10% to 75%;
f. safflower oil at a concentration from 1% to 20%;
g. oleic acid at a concentration from 0.2% to 7.5%;
h. stearic acid at a concentration from 0.1% to 7%; and
i. isopropyl palmitate at a concentration from 5% to 30%,
It’s noted the phosphatidylcholine, isopropyl palmitate, benzyl alcohol read on instant elected penetration excipient species. Oleic acid and stearic acid read on the long-chain fatty acid (instant claim 12, 17-18), and CBD read on medicament recited in claim 65.
Reference claims comprising glucose at a concentration of 0% read on instant negative limitation of glucose. Reference claims are silent about natural lecithin and construed as encompassing embodiments that lacks natural lecithin.
It’s noted the function/property of phospholipid (e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.) is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to explore different source of phospholipid ( natural lecithin or synthetic ) in search for alternative transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of reference claims together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 27, 34, 49, 65 and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US patent No. 11052152 B2, in view of Glonek et al. (WO 2019/182969 A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 07/09/2024) (maintained/reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a method of treating an individual to impede lactic acidosis, wherein the individual is administered a topical formulation for transdermal delivery of an active agent through the skin of a subject, wherein said active agent comprises sodium bicarbonate,
wherein said formulation comprises a penetrant that provides a lecithin at 5%-15% w/w of said formulation and sodium bicarbonate at 20%-40% w/w of the formulation, wherein said formulation further comprises an isopropyl palmitate, benzyl alcohol at 0.5%-20% w/w of the formulation, propylene glycol at about 1%-5% w/w of the formulation, poloxamer 407 at 1%-15% w/w of the formulation.
Reference claims are silent about glucose and “natural” lecithin. It’s noted the function/property of phospholipid (e.g. phosphatidylcholine, etc.) is construed as the same or at least equivalent whether it’s natural lecithin or from synthetic source.
Reference claims are silent about fatty acids.
The collective teachings of Glonek is elaborated in preceding 102 rejection and applied as before. Glonek collectively teaches topical phospholipid formulation comprising a phospholipid component, fatty acid ester (e.g. isopropyl palmitate) and fatty acid (oleic acid, steric acid, etc.) for transdermal delivery of active agents.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to explore more penetrant portion(e.g. fatty acid) based on the combined teaching of reference claims and Glonek, together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation, and arrive at instant claims with reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would be motivated to combine reference claims and Glonek because Glonek teaches fatty acid could be combined with phospholipid component for delivering active agent. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12, 17-19, 27, 34, 36, 49, 65 and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of US patent No. 11357792B2 (maintained /reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a formulation suitable for transdermal delivery of active agents, wherein the active agents consist of a buffering agent and tranexamic acid, and the formulation further comprises a long chain fatty acid, a phosphatidylcholine (Phospholipon® 90G), and a fatty acid ester; and wherein the buffering agent comprises sodium carbonate and/or sodium bicarbonate. tranexamic acid read on active medicament of claim 65.
Reference claim 2 recites the long chain-fatty acid that read on instant claim 12. Reference claim 19 recites the lecithin is selected from synthetic lecithin, further comprises benzyl alcohol, isopropyl palmitate (IPP), and one or more of water, a poloxamer, and a polyglyceryl-4 Laurate (Durosoft®).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to further explore different penetrant and combination thereof for transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of reference claims together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12, 27, 49, 65 and 78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of US patent No. 11389472B2 (maintained/reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a method for treating gout or reducing a symptom of gout, comprising topically administering to a subject in need thereof a transdermal formulation comprising a buffering agent and menthol, wherein the buffering agent comprises sodium bicarbonate or sodium carbonate.
Reference claim 16 recites transdermal formulation further comprises a penetrant or a penetration enhancer comprising one or more of benzyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, isododecane, isopropyl palmitate (IPP), isopropyl stearate, menthol, phosphatidyl choline, undecane, and lecithin, wherein the lecithin is selected from an egg lecithin, a soy lecithin, and a synthetic lecithin.
Reference claim 16 recites fatty acids comprising one or more of an alkanoic acid, caprid acid, diacid, ethyloctadecanoic acid, hexanoic acid, lactic acid, lauric acid, a lecithin, linoelaidic acid, linoleic acid, linolenic acid, neodecanoic acid, oleic acid, palmitic acid, etc.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to further explore different penetrant and combination thereof for transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of reference claims together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12 , 27, 36, 49 and 65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-16 of US patent No. 11793830 B2 (maintained/reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a method treating melasma or reducing a sign or a symptom of melasma comprising topically administering to a subject in need thereof a transdermal formulation having two active agents, wherein the two active agents consist of a buffering agent and tranexamic acid; wherein the buffering agent is selected from the group consisting of sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate.
Reference claims 13-16 further recite limitation of transdermal formulation.
Reference 13 recites wherein the transdermal formulation further comprises a penetrant or penetration enhancer comprising one or more of benzyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol, isododecane, isopropyl palmitate (IPP), isopropyl stearate, menthol, phosphatidyl choline, undecane, and/or a lecithin, wherein the lecithin is selected from an egg lecithin, a soy lecithin, and a synthetic lecithin.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to further explore different penetrant and combination thereof for transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of reference claims together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12 , 19, 27 and 65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of US patent No. 12070503B2(maintained/reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a method for impeding lactic acidosis in an individual, the method comprising administering to the individual a topical formulation for transdermal delivery of an active agent through the skin of a subject, wherein the active agent comprises sodium bicarbonate,
wherein the topical formulation comprises: a lecithin at about 5%-15% w/w of the formulation, sodium bicarbonate at about 20%-40% w/w of the formulation, a poloxamer at about 1%-15% w/w of the formulation or an aqueous solution comprising about 15%-50% w/w poloxamer, an isopropyl palmitate, and menthol.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to further explore different penetrant and combination thereof for transdermal delivery of active medicament, based on the collectively teaching of reference claims together with experimentation/ optimization based on general knowledge of transdermal delivery formulation. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 47, 49, 65, 68, and 78-79 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 49, 68 and 69 of copending US application No. 18/796.818. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented(reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Reference claims are directed to a formulation for transdermal delivery of a medicament through the skin of a subject, the formulation comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a medicament and a penetrant portion, wherein the penetrant portion comprises: a phospholipid, a fatty acid ester formed from a low molecular weight alcohol, and a long-chain fatty acids, and, optionally, one or more of a viscosity-improving agent, a penetration enhancer, and an emulsifier; wherein the formulation lacks a natural lecithin.
Reference claims 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17-19, 26, 27, 34, 36, 39, 44, 47, 49 recite the same or similar limitation that read on instant claims.
Reference claim 68 recite narrow scope of medicament that read on instant claim 65.
The scope of reference application is narrower than instant claim.
The instant application shares at least one common inventor and applicant with the reference patent. Further, the instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists. See MPEP 804.01.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628