DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed June 25th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean-Hendricks et al. USPGPUB 2012/0323374 (hereinafter “Dean-Hendricks”), in view of Ayala et al. US 2007/0295665 (hereinafter “Ayala”), further in view of Mulvaney USPGPUB 2003/0034573 (hereinafter “Mulvaney”).
Regarding claim 1, Dean-Hendricks a method of monitoring heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) equipment (Paragraph [0008] “The present disclosure relates generally to methods and systems for monitoring the condition of an air filter of an HVAC system, and to provide an indication of when the air filter should be changed. While air filters are used here as an example, it is contemplated that the same principles can be applied to any replaceable component of an HVAC system, such as humidifier pads, UV lamps, etc.”), the method comprising:
installing a part into the HVAC equipment (Paragraph [0034] “The one or more HVAC components 6 may include, but are not limited to, a furnace, a heat pump, an electric heat pump, a geothermal heat pump, an electric heating unit, an air conditioning unit, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, an air cleaner, and/or the like”, and Paragraph [0008], wherein examiner interpreted HVAC system including air filter, a humidifier, and humidifier pads as installing a part into the humidifier);
installing a sensor into the HVAC equipment for sensing a parameter which is indicative of a condition of the part (Paragraph [0067] “While the HVAC system is operating in the selected mode, the controller (e.g., controller 18) may command or require the air filter monitor 34 to measure one or more parameters related to the current condition of the one or more air filters 30 of the HVAC system 4 with one or more sensors (not shown), where the one or more parameters may include, but are not limited to, the differential pressure drop across the air filter 30 to obtain a system differential pressure measurement that is related to an amount of flow restriction presented by the air filter 30 (Block 214)”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor measuring one or more parameters related to current condition of one or more air filters as installing a sensor into the HVAC equipment for sensing a parameter which is indicative of a condition of the part);
setting a lifespan of the part (Paragraph [0065] “FIG. 10 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 200 of setting an air filter change threshold value for an HVAC system with a first filter monitor calibration test (e.g., a clean filter monitor calibration test), which may be implemented on HVAC controller 18 with a programmed setup wizard. In such a case, a clean air filter may be first installed in the HVAC system and used in combination with controller 18 to determine and set an air filter change threshold value. During subsequent operation of HVAC system 4, the controller 18 may then use the air filter change threshold value to determine when to trigger an alert or filter change notification message on display 62, notifying the user that the air filter 30 is dirty and may need to be replaced”, wherein examiner interpreted controller setting filter change threshold as setting a lifespan of the part);
adjusting the lifespan in accordance with readings generated by the sensor (Paragraph [0008], Paragraph [0062] “In response to receiving information from a user relating to the one or more air filters 30 in HVAC system 4, controller 18 may be configured to adjust an air filter change notification indicator setting (e.g., a length of time of a timer set to indicate and/or display a filter change notification on the display 62 upon expiration of the timer indicating that air filter 30 replacement is desired, a filter threshold value against which a sensed measure is compared where when the sensed measure surpasses the filter threshold value a filter change notification is displayed, and/or any other air filter change notification settings, as desired)”, Paragraph [0067], Paragraph [0068] “Regardless of whether the user obtains a system differential pressure measurement from operating the HVAC system 4 in a single or multiple modes or states, the resulting system differential pressure measurement(s) may be used to determine one or more air filter change threshold value(s) (Block 218). The air filter change threshold value(s) may be indicative of an expected differential pressure across what is considered to be a dirty filter. For example, an air filter change threshold value for a particular operating mode or state may be an offset from a differential pressure measurement made while operating the HVAC system in the particular operating mode or state. The air filter change threshold value may be used to determine the current status of the filter 30 (e.g., clean or dirty or other status)”, wherein examiner interpreted changing the air filter change threshold value based on differential pressure measurement made by pressure sensors, as periodically adjusting the lifespan in accordance with readings generated by the sensor, also see Paragraph [0081-0082]); and
issuing an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan (Paragraph [0065] “During subsequent operation of HVAC system 4, the controller 18 may then use the air filter change threshold value to determine when to trigger an alert or filter change notification message on display 62, notifying the user that the air filter 30 is dirty and may need to be replaced”, Paragraph [0072] “the air filter change threshold value may be stored in the memory 52 of the controller 18 (FIG. 2) (Block 222). In some cases, the processor 44 may be programmed with an algorithm that uses the air filter change threshold value stored in the memory 52 to determine the status of the air filter 30 by comparing, for example, a current differential pressure measurement to the air filter change threshold value, and based on the results of this comparison, may trigger an alert indicating that that the air filter is dirty and needs to be replaced”, Paragraph [00123] “The controller 18 and/or processor 44 may be programmed with an algorithm that uses this measurement to determine the status of the air filter (e.g., clean or dirty), which may trigger a user alert or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0124] “the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, wherein examiner interpreted updating, displaying status of air filter, and triggering an alert or filter change notification or as issuing an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan, and Paragraph [0128], Paragraph [0132-0133]),
wherein the HVAC equipment comprises a humidifier, the part comprises a humidifier pad (Paragraph [0008] “The present disclosure relates generally to methods and systems for monitoring the condition of an air filter of an HVAC system, and to provide an indication of when the air filter should be changed. While air filters are used here as an example, it is contemplated that the same principles can be applied to any replaceable component of an HVAC system, such as humidifier pads, UV lamps, etc.”, and Paragraph [0034] “The one or more HVAC components 6 may include, but are not limited to, a furnace, a heat pump, an electric heat pump, a geothermal heat pump, an electric heating unit, an air conditioning unit, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, an air cleaner, and/or the like”, wherein examiner interpreted HVAC system including a humidifier, and humidifier pads as the HVAC equipment comprising a humidifier, and the part comprising a humidifier pad).
Dean-Hendricks does not explicitly teach the sensor comprises a water hardness sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier.
However, Ayala teaches the sensor comprises a water hardness sensor ([Abstract] “An appliance using water including an incoming water valve is provided. The appliance also includes a sensor disposed in-line to an incoming flow of water received from the incoming water valve and is configured to sense a degree of hardness in the incoming flow of water”, and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor for sensing degree of hardness of flow of water for an appliance that includes a humidifier as installing a water hardness sensor into the humidifier for sensing a hardness of water flown through the humidifier pad as an indicator of a condition of the humidifier pad, wherein Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad).
Dean-Hendricks, and Ayala are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Dean-Hendricks, and incorporating water hardness sensor, as taught by Ayala.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring hardness of influent water in real time in home appliances for optimal performance, as suggested by Ayala (see Paragraphs [0001-0008]).
The combination does not explicitly teach sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier.
However, Mulvaney teaches sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier (Paragraph [0009] “The humidifier 10 of the present invention also employs a second humidity sensor 30, preferably located in the housing 16 proximate the air outlet 14 within the exiting air stream”, and Paragraph [0011], wherein examiner interpreted sensor located proximate the air outlet within the exiting air stream measuring humidity as a sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier, wherein Ayala teaches a water harness sensor placed in the water flow, additionally, Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad, and Mulvaney teaches evaporative wick assembly, therefore, the combination teaches a water hardness sensor that can be installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier).
Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Dean-Hendricks, and Ayala, and incorporating sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier, as taught by Mulvaney.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve determining the output efficiency of humidifier and to determine if the evaporative wick assemble needs servicing/replacement, as suggested by Mulvaney (see Paragraph [0013], and Paragraphs [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Ayala further teaches wherein the parameter is a hardness of water flown through the humidifier pad during humidifier operations ([Abstract] “An appliance using water including an incoming water valve is provided. The appliance also includes a sensor disposed in-line to an incoming flow of water received from the incoming water valve and is configured to sense a degree of hardness in the incoming flow of water”, and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted sensing degree of hardness of flow of water for an appliance that includes a humidifier as the parameter being a hardness of water flown through the humidifier pad during humidifier operations, wherein Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad).
Regarding claim 3, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein the condition of the part is an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad (Paragraph [0007], Paragraph [0038], and Paragraph [0039] “The differential pressure drop across a new, clean air filter 30 may be low, but may increase as the air filter 30 progresses from a clean air filter condition to a dirty air filter condition and catches dust and other particulate matter during the operation of the HVAC system 4”, Paragraph [0008] “While air filters are used here as an example, it is contemplated that the same principles can be applied to any replaceable component of an HVAC system, such as humidifier pads, UV lamps, etc.”, wherein examiner interpreted air filter catching dust and other particulate matter, wherein the same principle can be applied to humidifier pads as the condition of the part being an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad, wherein the pollutants, dust, and other particulate matter is interpreted as deposits, furthermore, Ayala teaches water hardness which is the concentration of calcium and magnesium in water, that the examiner interprets as deposits that can be deposited in a humidifier pad).
Regarding claim 4, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Ayala further teaches further comprising installing a water softener into the humidifier to reduce the hardness of the water (Paragraph [0031] “The controller 94 is also configured to output a value indicative of the degree of hardness removed by the water softener to a comparator 98”, Paragraphs [0032-0033],and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted water softener removing water harness in an appliance system that includes a humidifier as installing a water softener into the humidifier to reduce the hardness of the water).
Regarding claim 5, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein the setting of the lifespan comprises setting the lifespan at a predefined number of terms (Paragraph [0123], Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0132], wherein examiner interpreted sensors measuring differential pressure on a weekly basis to display the status of filter that is updated periodically as setting of the lifespan comprises setting the lifespan at a predefined number of terms).
Regarding claim 6, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein the predefined number of terms is a predefined number of weeks (Paragraph [0123], Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0132], wherein examiner interpreted sensors measuring differential pressure on a weekly basis to display the status of filter that is updated periodically as setting lifespan at predefined number of terms, wherein the predefined number of terms is a predefined number of weeks).
Regarding claim 11, Dean-Hendricks teaches a method of monitoring a humidifier (Paragraph [0008] “The present disclosure relates generally to methods and systems for monitoring the condition of an air filter of an HVAC system, and to provide an indication of when the air filter should be changed. While air filters are used here as an example, it is contemplated that the same principles can be applied to any replaceable component of an HVAC system, such as humidifier pads, UV lamps, etc.”, and Paragraph [0034] “The one or more HVAC components 6 may include, but are not limited to, a furnace, a heat pump, an electric heat pump, a geothermal heat pump, an electric heating unit, an air conditioning unit, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, an air cleaner, and/or the like”, wherein examiner interpreted HVAC system including a humidifier as a method of monitoring a humidifier), the method comprising:
installing a humidifier pad into the humidifier (Paragraph [0034] “The one or more HVAC components 6 may include, but are not limited to, a furnace, a heat pump, an electric heat pump, a geothermal heat pump, an electric heating unit, an air conditioning unit, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, an air cleaner, and/or the like”, and Paragraph [0008], wherein examiner interpreted HVAC system including a humidifier to include the installing of a humidifier pad into the humidifier);
Dean-Hendricks et al. USPGPUB 2012/0323374 (hereinafter “Dean-Hendricks”)
setting a lifespan of the humidifier pad as predefined a number of weeks (Paragraph [0008] “The present disclosure relates generally to methods and systems for monitoring the condition of an air filter of an HVAC system, and to provide an indication of when the air filter should be changed. While air filters are used here as an example, it is contemplated that the same principles can be applied to any replaceable component of an HVAC system, such as humidifier pads, UV lamps, etc.”, Paragraph [0062] “In response to receiving information from a user relating to the one or more air filters 30 in HVAC system 4, controller 18 may be configured to adjust an air filter change notification indicator setting (e.g., a length of time of a timer set to indicate and/or display a filter change notification on the display 62 upon expiration of the timer indicating that air filter 30 replacement is desired, a filter threshold value against which a sensed measure is compared where when the sensed measure surpasses the filter threshold value a filter change notification is displayed, and/or any other air filter change notification settings, as desired). In one example, the controller 18 may set a shorter time for a filter change notification when a filter has a smaller size, less depth or higher MERV rating than for a filter with a larger size, more depth or lower MERV rating. Similarly, the controller 18 may set a higher filter threshold value against which a sensed measure is compared to determine when a filter change notification is to be issued for a filter has a smaller size, less depth or higher MERV rating than for a filter with a larger size, more depth or lower MERV rating”, wherein examiner interpreted setting an air filter change notification indicator setting by setting a length of time of a timer, wherein same principle can be applied to humidifier pads, as setting a lifespan of the humidifier pad, including setting it as a predefined number of weeks);
periodically adjusting the lifespan by a single week or by a calculated number of weeks in accordance with readings generated by the water hardness sensor (Paragraph [0123], Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0132], wherein examiner interpreted sensors measuring differential pressure on a weekly basis to display the status of filter that is updated periodically as periodically adjusting the lifespan by a single week or by a calculated number of weeks in accordance with readings generated, wherein Ayala teaches a water harness sensor); and
issuing an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan (Paragraph [0065] “During subsequent operation of HVAC system 4, the controller 18 may then use the air filter change threshold value to determine when to trigger an alert or filter change notification message on display 62, notifying the user that the air filter 30 is dirty and may need to be replaced”, Paragraph [0072] “the air filter change threshold value may be stored in the memory 52 of the controller 18 (FIG. 2) (Block 222). In some cases, the processor 44 may be programmed with an algorithm that uses the air filter change threshold value stored in the memory 52 to determine the status of the air filter 30 by comparing, for example, a current differential pressure measurement to the air filter change threshold value, and based on the results of this comparison, may trigger an alert indicating that that the air filter is dirty and needs to be replaced”, Paragraph [00123] “The controller 18 and/or processor 44 may be programmed with an algorithm that uses this measurement to determine the status of the air filter (e.g., clean or dirty), which may trigger a user alert or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0124] “the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, wherein examiner interpreted updating, displaying status of air filter, and triggering an alert or filter change notification or as issuing an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan, and Paragraph [0128], Paragraph [0132-0133]).
Dean-Hendricks does not explicitly teach installing a water hardness sensor into the humidifier at or near an outlet of the humidifier for sensing a hardness of water flown through the humidifier pad as an indicator of a condition of the humidifier pad.
However, Ayala teaches installing a water hardness sensor into the humidifier for sensing a hardness of water flown through the humidifier pad as an indicator of a condition of the humidifier pad ([Abstract] “An appliance using water including an incoming water valve is provided. The appliance also includes a sensor disposed in-line to an incoming flow of water received from the incoming water valve and is configured to sense a degree of hardness in the incoming flow of water”, and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor for sensing degree of hardness of flow of water for an appliance that includes a humidifier as installing a water hardness sensor into the humidifier for sensing a hardness of water flown through the humidifier pad as an indicator of a condition of the humidifier pad, wherein Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad).
Dean-Hendricks, and Ayala are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to humidifiers.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Dean-Hendricks, and incorporating water hardness sensor, as taught by Ayala.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring hardness of influent water in real time in home appliances for optimal performance, as suggested by Ayala (see Paragraphs [0001-0008]).
the combination does not explicitly teach installing a sensor at or near an outlet of the humidifier.
However, Mulvaney teaches installing a sensor at or near an outlet of the humidifier (Paragraph [0009] “The humidifier 10 of the present invention also employs a second humidity sensor 30, preferably located in the housing 16 proximate the air outlet 14 within the exiting air stream”, and Paragraph [0011], wherein examiner interpreted sensor located proximate the air outlet within the exiting air stream measuring humidity as a sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier, wherein Ayala teaches a water harness sensor placed in the water flow, additionally, Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad, and Mulvaney teaches evaporative wick assembly, therefore, the combination teaches a water hardness sensor that can be installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier).
Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Dean-Hendricks, and Ayala, and incorporating sensor installed at or near an outlet of the humidifier, as taught by Mulvaney.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve determining the output efficiency of humidifier and to determine if the evaporative wick assemble needs servicing/replacement, as suggested by Mulvaney (see Paragraph [0013], and Paragraphs [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein the condition of the humidifier pad is an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad (Paragraph [0007], Paragraph [0038], and Paragraph [0039] “The differential pressure drop across a new, clean air filter 30 may be low, but may increase as the air filter 30 progresses from a clean air filter condition to a dirty air filter condition and catches dust and other particulate matter during the operation of the HVAC system 4”, Paragraph [0008] “While air filters are used here as an example, it is contemplated that the same principles can be applied to any replaceable component of an HVAC system, such as humidifier pads, UV lamps, etc.”, wherein examiner interpreted air filter catching dust and other particulate matter, wherein the same principle can be applied to humidifier pads as the condition of the humidifier pad being an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad, wherein the pollutants, dust, and other particulate matter is interpreted as deposits, furthermore, Ayala teaches water hardness which is the concentration of calcium and magnesium in water, that the examiner interprets as deposits that can be deposited in a humidifier pad).
Regarding claim 13, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Ayala further teaches further comprising installing a water softener into the humidifier to reduce the hardness of the water (Paragraph [0031] “The controller 94 is also configured to output a value indicative of the degree of hardness removed by the water softener to a comparator 98”, Paragraphs [0032-0033],and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted water softener removing water harness in an appliance system that includes a humidifier as installing a water softener into the humidifier to reduce the hardness of the water).
Claims 7-10, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean-Hendricks et al. USPGPUB 2012/0323374 (hereinafter “Dean-Hendricks”), in view of Ayala et al. US 2007/0295665 (hereinafter “Ayala”), further in view of Mulvaney USPGPUB 2003/0034573 (hereinafter “Mulvaney”) as applied to claims 1-6, and 11-13, further in view of DAMENO et al. USPGPUB 2021/0207833 (hereinafter “DAMENO”).
Regarding claim 7, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein the adjusting of the lifespan comprises periodically taking readings of the sensor (Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor taking measurements periodically as periodically taking readings of the sensor).
The combination does not explicitly teach periodically calculating an average of the readings.
However, DAMENO teaches periodically calculating an average of the readings (Paragraph [0116] “The processing circuitry is configured to determine a pressure difference between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor and the processing circuitry is configured to periodically collect the pressure difference between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor at a first frequency, store the pressure difference, and periodically compare the stored pressure differences at a second frequency, the first frequency is more frequent than the second frequency. The processing circuitry is configured to average a plurality of sequentially collected pressure differences between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor to generate a plurality of average pressure differences of the filter and the plurality of average pressure differences are analyzed to determine a threshold reduced pressure difference for the filter”, wherein examiner interpreted taking average of the pressure differences as periodically calculating an average of the readings).
Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney, and incorporating averages of sensor readings, as taught by DAMENO.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve tracking performance of HVAC components to identify issues more quickly, as suggested by DAMENO (see Paragraphs [0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO teaches all of the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein: the adjusting of the lifespan comprises periodically reducing the lifespan by a single term in an event the average of the readings is less than a predefined average, and the adjusting of the lifespan comprises periodically reducing the lifespan by a calculated number of terms in an event the average of the readings is greater than the predefined average (Paragraph [0123], Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0132], wherein DAMENO teaches taking average of the readings, and wherein comparing the differential pressure measurements with air filter change threshold value, wherein the air filter change threshold value is changed every reading, therefore, examiner interpreted the change in threshold value that determines adjusting the status of filter as periodically reducing the lifespan by a single term, and periodically reducing the lifespan by a calculated number of terms in an event the average of the readings is less than or greater than a predefined average, since the threshold value changes with each reading so does the average, and larger the average the greater the term of adjustment, therefore, reducing the lifespan is dependent on the sensor values compared to threshold values).
Regarding claim 9, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO teaches all of the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
DAMENO further teaches further comprising determining the calculated number of terms in accordance with a current lifespan reduced by a single term and further reduced by a number of terms derived from a health index for the average of the readings (Paragraph [0030] “This can be considered an evaluation of the health and efficiency of the HVAC system and each individual air filter. A good health rating for an air filter may correspond to threshold air flow through the air filter, as detected by the first and second pressure sensor. A poor health rating for an air filter may correspond to large pressure difference between the first and second pressure sensor, i.e. the filter is clogged so less air is passing through the filter. The health ratings per filter will be determined by threshold air flow or pressure differences. These thresholds can be set when the system is first installed. In addition, the thresholds can be automatically or manually adjusted over time as the system gathers data and behaviors of the HVAC system are collected, evaluated, and adjusted”, wherein examiner interpreted adjusting threshold based on the health ratings for an air filter as determining the calculated number of terms in accordance with a current lifespan reduced by a single term and further reduced by a number of terms derived from a health index for the average of the readings).
Regarding claim 10, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
DAMENO further teaches wherein the health index is variable for different geographic locations of the HVAC equipment (Paragraph [0030] “This can be considered an evaluation of the health and efficiency of the HVAC system and each individual air filter. A good health rating for an air filter may correspond to threshold air flow through the air filter, as detected by the first and second pressure sensor. A poor health rating for an air filter may correspond to large pressure difference between the first and second pressure sensor, i.e. the filter is clogged so less air is passing through the filter. The health ratings per filter will be determined by threshold air flow or pressure differences. These thresholds can be set when the system is first installed. In addition, the thresholds can be automatically or manually adjusted over time as the system gathers data and behaviors of the HVAC system are collected, evaluated, and adjusted. The good and poor health ratings can be applied to each air filter and to regions of an HVAC system and to the system as a whole”, wherein examiner interpreted good and poor health ratings applied to each air filter and to regions of an HVAC system as health index being variable for different geographic locations of the HVAC equipment).
Regarding claim 14, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein the periodically adjusting of the lifespan comprises periodically taking readings of the water hardness sensor (Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor taking measurements periodically as periodically taking readings of the sensor, and wherein Ayala teaches water harness sensor).
The combination does not explicitly teach periodically calculating an average of the readings.
However, DAMENO teaches periodically calculating an average of the readings (Paragraph [0116] “The processing circuitry is configured to determine a pressure difference between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor and the processing circuitry is configured to periodically collect the pressure difference between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor at a first frequency, store the pressure difference, and periodically compare the stored pressure differences at a second frequency, the first frequency is more frequent than the second frequency. The processing circuitry is configured to average a plurality of sequentially collected pressure differences between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor to generate a plurality of average pressure differences of the filter and the plurality of average pressure differences are analyzed to determine a threshold reduced pressure difference for the filter”, wherein examiner interpreted taking average of the pressure differences as periodically calculating an average of the readings).
Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, and Mulvaney, and incorporating averages of sensor readings, as taught by DAMENO.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve tracking performance of HVAC components to identify issues more quickly, as suggested by DAMENO (see Paragraphs [0002-0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO teaches all of the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein: the periodically adjusting of the lifespan comprises periodically reducing the lifespan by a single week in an event the average of the readings is less than a predefined average, and the periodically adjusting of the lifespan comprises periodically reducing the lifespan by a calculated number of weeks in an event the average of the readings is greater than the predefined average (Paragraph [0123], Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0132], wherein DAMENO teaches taking average of the readings, and wherein comparing the differential pressure measurements with air filter change threshold value, wherein the air filter change threshold value is changed every reading, therefore, examiner interpreted the change in threshold value that determines adjusting the status of filter as periodically reducing the lifespan by a single term, and periodically reducing the lifespan by a calculated number of terms in an event the average of the readings is less than or greater than a predefined average, since the threshold value changes with each reading so does the average, and larger the average the greater the term of adjustment, therefore, reducing the lifespan is dependent on the sensor values compared to threshold values, wherein the sensor readings when taken weekly would be adjusting lifespan by week, or calculated number of weeks).
Regarding claim 16, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
DAMENO further teaches further comprising determining the calculated number of weeks in accordance with a current lifespan reduced by a single week and further reduced by a number of weeks derived from a health index for the average of the readings (Paragraph [0030] “This can be considered an evaluation of the health and efficiency of the HVAC system and each individual air filter. A good health rating for an air filter may correspond to threshold air flow through the air filter, as detected by the first and second pressure sensor. A poor health rating for an air filter may correspond to large pressure difference between the first and second pressure sensor, i.e. the filter is clogged so less air is passing through the filter. The health ratings per filter will be determined by threshold air flow or pressure differences. These thresholds can be set when the system is first installed. In addition, the thresholds can be automatically or manually adjusted over time as the system gathers data and behaviors of the HVAC system are collected, evaluated, and adjusted”, wherein examiner interpreted adjusting threshold based on the health ratings for an air filter as determining the calculated number of terms in accordance with a current lifespan reduced by a single term and further reduced by a number of terms derived from a health index for the average of the readings).
Regarding claim 17, Dean-Hendricks, Ayala, Mulvaney, and DAMENO teaches all of the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
DAMENO further teaches wherein the health index is variable for different geographic locations of the HVAC equipment (Paragraph [0030] “This can be considered an evaluation of the health and efficiency of the HVAC system and each individual air filter. A good health rating for an air filter may correspond to threshold air flow through the air filter, as detected by the first and second pressure sensor. A poor health rating for an air filter may correspond to large pressure difference between the first and second pressure sensor, i.e. the filter is clogged so less air is passing through the filter. The health ratings per filter will be determined by threshold air flow or pressure differences. These thresholds can be set when the system is first installed. In addition, the thresholds can be automatically or manually adjusted over time as the system gathers data and behaviors of the HVAC system are collected, evaluated, and adjusted. The good and poor health ratings can be applied to each air filter and to regions of an HVAC system and to the system as a whole”, wherein examiner interpreted good and poor health ratings applied to each air filter and to regions of an HVAC system as health index being variable for different geographic locations of the HVAC equipment).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quam et al. USPGPUB 2011/0068486 (hereinafter “Quam”), in view of Ayala et al. US 2007/0295665 (hereinafter “Ayala”), further in view of Dean-Hendricks et al. USPGPUB 2012/0323374 (hereinafter “Dean-Hendricks”), further in view of Mulvaney USPGPUB 2003/0034573 (hereinafter “Mulvaney”).
Regarding claim 18, Quam teaches a system for monitoring heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) equipment (Paragraph [0031] “HVAC controller 198 may be or include a thermostat, a humidistat, temperature sensor(s), humidity sensor(s), and/or any other suitable sensor, processor, hardware, firmware, software, and/or any other components related to the monitoring and/or control of HVAC system 100 and/or humidifier 140”), the system comprising:
a duct through which conditioned air flows (Paragraph [0027] “In the illustrative HVAC system 100, return air duct 110 delivers return air 115 from a conditioned air space to cabinet 120. Cabinet 120 encloses an air handler, or air-handling fan (not shown), that when activated pulls air from the enclosed space via the return air duct 110, and delivers conditioned air 135 to the enclosed spaced via a supply air duct 130”);
a humidifier comprising a humidifier pad installed along the duct such that the conditioned air flows through the humidifier pad (Paragraph [0030] “the bypass humidifier 140 of FIG. 1 is shown coupled to a water source 142 that supplies water 144 to the humidifier 140. A water source control valve 146 (e.g. a solenoid water valve) may be provided to control the flow of water 144 from the water source 142 to the humidifier 140. When flowing, water 144 is provided to a humidifier pad (not illustrated in this figure) within the humidifier 140, which moistens the humidifier pad. The humidifier 140 is configured such that bypass air 192 that passes from the supply air duct 130 to the return duct 110 via the bypass duct 190 must pass through the moistened humidifier pad”, and Paragraph [0052], and Fig. 5);
a water supply system coupled to the humidifier to direct water to the humidifier pad whereby the humidifier pad adds moisture to the conditioned air (Paragraph [0030] “the bypass humidifier 140 of FIG. 1 is shown coupled to a water source 142 that supplies water 144 to the humidifier 140. A water source control valve 146 (e.g. a solenoid water valve) may be provided to control the flow of water 144 from the water source 142 to the humidifier 140. When flowing, water 144 is provided to a humidifier pad (not illustrated in this figure) within the humidifier 140, which moistens the humidifier pad. The humidifier 140 is configured such that bypass air 192 that passes from the supply air duct 130 to the return duct 110 via the bypass duct 190 must pass through the moistened humidifier pad”, and Paragraph [0052], and Fig. 5, Paragraph [0033] “As shown, fan-assisted humidifier 240 is configured to draw air from supply air duct 230 through an air intake (not shown) under the influence of a humidifier fan (not shown), pass the air through a moistened humidifier pad (not shown), during which moisture may be imparted to the air via evaporation, and return the air to the same duct through an air outlet port (not shown). Similarly to humidifier 140 of FIG. 1, humidifier 240 of FIG. 2 may be coupled to a water source 242 that supplies water 244 to the humidifier pad of the humidifier 240 through a water source control valve 246. Some of the water provided to the humidifier pad may reach the bottom of the humidifier pad”);
Quam does not explicitly teach a water hardness sensor disposed in a flow of the water at or near an outlet of the humidifier to sense a hardness of the water as an indicator of an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad; and a controller disposed to communicate with the water hardness sensor and configured to set a lifespan of the humidifier pad, to periodically adjust the lifespan in accordance with readings generated by the water hardness sensor and to issue an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan.
However, Ayala teaches a water hardness sensor disposed in a flow of the water to sense a hardness of the water as an indicator of an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad ([Abstract] “An appliance using water including an incoming water valve is provided. The appliance also includes a sensor disposed in-line to an incoming flow of water received from the incoming water valve and is configured to sense a degree of hardness in the incoming flow of water”, and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor for sensing degree of hardness of flow of water for an appliance that includes a humidifier as a water harness sensor disposed in a flow of the water to sense a harness of the water as an indicator of an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad, wherein Quam, and Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad); and
a controller disposed to communicate with the water hardness sensor ([Abstract] “The appliance further includes a controller configured to receive a signal indicative of hardness of the flow of water from the sensor”).
Quam, and Ayala are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system for monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Quam, and incorporating water hardness sensor, as taught by Ayala.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring hardness of influent water in real time in home appliances for optimal performance, as suggested by Ayala (see Paragraphs [0001-0008]).
The combination does not explicitly teach a controller configured to set a lifespan of the humidifier pad, to periodically adjust the lifespan in accordance with readings generated by the water hardness sensor and to issue an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan, and sensor disposed in a flow of the water at or near an outlet of the humidifier.
However, Dean-Hendricks teaches a controller configured to set a lifespan of the humidifier pad (Paragraph [0065] “FIG. 10 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 200 of setting an air filter change threshold value for an HVAC system with a first filter monitor calibration test (e.g., a clean filter monitor calibration test), which may be implemented on HVAC controller 18 with a programmed setup wizard. In such a case, a clean air filter may be first installed in the HVAC system and used in combination with controller 18 to determine and set an air filter change threshold value. During subsequent operation of HVAC system 4, the controller 18 may then use the air filter change threshold value to determine when to trigger an alert or filter change notification message on display 62, notifying the user that the air filter 30 is dirty and may need to be replaced”, wherein examiner interpreted controller setting filter change threshold, wherein same principle can be applied to humidifier pads, as a controller configured to set a lifespan of the humidifier pad), to periodically adjust the lifespan in accordance with readings generated by the water hardness sensor (Paragraph [0008], Paragraph [0062] “In response to receiving information from a user relating to the one or more air filters 30 in HVAC system 4, controller 18 may be configured to adjust an air filter change notification indicator setting (e.g., a length of time of a timer set to indicate and/or display a filter change notification on the display 62 upon expiration of the timer indicating that air filter 30 replacement is desired, a filter threshold value against which a sensed measure is compared where when the sensed measure surpasses the filter threshold value a filter change notification is displayed, and/or any other air filter change notification settings, as desired)”, Paragraph [0067], Paragraph [0068] “Regardless of whether the user obtains a system differential pressure measurement from operating the HVAC system 4 in a single or multiple modes or states, the resulting system differential pressure measurement(s) may be used to determine one or more air filter change threshold value(s) (Block 218). The air filter change threshold value(s) may be indicative of an expected differential pressure across what is considered to be a dirty filter. For example, an air filter change threshold value for a particular operating mode or state may be an offset from a differential pressure measurement made while operating the HVAC system in the particular operating mode or state. The air filter change threshold value may be used to determine the current status of the filter 30 (e.g., clean or dirty or other status)”, wherein examiner interpreted changing the air filter change threshold value based on differential pressure measurement made by pressure sensors, wherein the same principle can be applied to humidifier pads, and Ayala teaches water harness sensor, as periodically adjusting the lifespan in accordance with readings generated by the water hardness sensor, also see Paragraph [0081-0082]) and to issue an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan (Paragraph [0065] “During subsequent operation of HVAC system 4, the controller 18 may then use the air filter change threshold value to determine when to trigger an alert or filter change notification message on display 62, notifying the user that the air filter 30 is dirty and may need to be replaced”, Paragraph [0072] “the air filter change threshold value may be stored in the memory 52 of the controller 18 (FIG. 2) (Block 222). In some cases, the processor 44 may be programmed with an algorithm that uses the air filter change threshold value stored in the memory 52 to determine the status of the air filter 30 by comparing, for example, a current differential pressure measurement to the air filter change threshold value, and based on the results of this comparison, may trigger an alert indicating that that the air filter is dirty and needs to be replaced”, Paragraph [00123] “The controller 18 and/or processor 44 may be programmed with an algorithm that uses this measurement to determine the status of the air filter (e.g., clean or dirty), which may trigger a user alert or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0124] “the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, wherein examiner interpreted updating, displaying status of air filter, and triggering an alert or filter change notification or as issuing an alert as to an adjustment in the lifespan, and Paragraph [0128], Paragraph [0132-0133]).
Quam, Ayala, and Dean-Hendricks are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system for monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Quam, and Ayala, and incorporating setting and adjusting lifespan of humidifier pad, as taught by Dean-Hendricks.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring condition of various replaceable components of an HVAC system to provide an indication of when these replaceable components should be changed, as suggested by Dean-Hendricks (see Paragraphs [0007-0008]).
The combination does not explicitly teach sensor disposed in a flow of the water at or near an outlet of the humidifier.
However, Mulvaney teaches sensor disposed in a flow of the water at or near an outlet of the humidifier (Paragraph [0009] “The humidifier 10 of the present invention also employs a second humidity sensor 30, preferably located in the housing 16 proximate the air outlet 14 within the exiting air stream”, and Paragraph [0011], wherein examiner interpreted sensor located proximate the air outlet within the exiting air stream measuring humidity as a sensor disposed in a flow of the water at or near an outlet of the humidifier, wherein Ayala teaches a water harness sensor placed in the water flow, additionally, Dean-Hendricks teaches a humidifier pad, and Mulvaney teaches evaporative wick assembly, therefore, the combination teaches a water hardness sensor that can be disposed in a flow of the water at or near an outlet of the humidifier to sense a hardness of the water as an indicator of an amount of deposits deposited on the humidifier pad).
Quam, Ayala, Dean-Hendricks, and Mulvaney are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Quam, Ayala, and Dean-Hendricks, and incorporating sensor disposed at or near an outlet of the humidifier, as taught by Mulvaney.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve determining the output efficiency of humidifier and to determine if the evaporative wick assemble needs servicing/replacement, as suggested by Mulvaney (see Paragraph [0013], and Paragraphs [0016-0017]).
Regarding claim 19, Quam, Ayala, Dean-Hendricks, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 18 as outlined above.
Ayala further teaches wherein the humidifier further comprises a water softener to reduce the hardness of the water (Paragraph [0031] “The controller 94 is also configured to output a value indicative of the degree of hardness removed by the water softener to a comparator 98”, Paragraphs [0032-0033],and Paragraph [0029] “Some non-limiting examples of the appliance system 44 include a clothes washing machine, a dishwasher, pressure driven reverse osmosis membrane, a water purifier and humidifier”, wherein examiner interpreted water softener removing water harness in an appliance system that includes a humidifier as installing a water softener into the humidifier to reduce the hardness of the water).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quam et al. USPGPUB 2011/0068486 (hereinafter “Quam”), in view of Ayala et al. US 2007/0295665 (hereinafter “Ayala”), further in view of Dean-Hendricks et al. USPGPUB 2012/0323374 (hereinafter “Dean-Hendricks”), further in view of Mulvaney USPGPUB 2003/0034573 (hereinafter “Mulvaney”) as applied to claims 18-19 above, further in view of DAMENO et al. USPGPUB 2021/0207833 (hereinafter “DAMENO”).
Regarding claim 20, Quam, Ayala, Dean-Hendricks, and Mulvaney teaches all of the features with respect to claim 18 as outlined above.
Dean-Hendricks further teaches wherein: the controller periodically adjusts the lifespan by periodically taking readings of the water hardness sensor (Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, wherein examiner interpreted sensor taking measurements periodically as periodically taking readings of the sensor) and
a periodic adjustment of the lifespan comprises a periodic reduction of the lifespan by a single term in an event the average of the readings is less than a predefined average and by a calculated number of terms in an event the average of the readings is greater than the predefined average (Paragraph [0123], Paragraph [0124] “FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an illustrative method 624 of monitoring a status of an air filter of an HVAC system during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system. In some cases, the status of the air filter is monitored by comparing a differential pressure measurement obtained when the HVAC system is operating in a predetermined state such as, for example, an air filter monitoring state. This method may be periodically or occasionally repeated during routine or normal operation of the HVAC system, with each new differential pressure measurement used, at least in part, to determine and/or update the status of the air filter. In some cases, the status of the air filter may be displayed by the controller and/or may be used to trigger a user alert”, Paragraph [0125] “the controller 18 may be adapted to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode such that the air filter monitor may measure the differential pressure across the air filter 30 on a monthly basis, a weekly basis, every five days, every three days, every 48 hours, every 24 hours, every 12 hours, or every 6 hours, every 20 hours of fan operation, or at any other suitable time, as desired. Alternatively, or in addition, the controller 18 may be programmed to place the HVAC system in the air filter monitoring mode and to command or instruct the air filter monitor 34 to measure the differential pressure in response to a user input or request (i.e., on demand)”, Paragraph [0131] “The controller 18 may be programmed to receive the measured differential pressure value from the air filter monitor and compare the measured differential pressure value to the air filter change threshold value stored in the controller memory. As described above, the air filter change threshold value against which the measured differential pressure is evaluated may be determined using, for example, a clean air filter, an at least partially blocked air filter (and/or blocking panel) according to the methods as described herein, or any other suitable method as desired. If the differential pressure measurement as measured by the air filter monitor 34 during operation of the HVAC system 4 is greater than air filter change threshold value then, in some cases, the controller 18 and/or processor 44 may display the status of the air filter 30 on the user interface 48 (FIG. 2), provide an alarm, or perform any other suitable action, as desired”, and Paragraph [0132], wherein DAMENO teaches taking average of the readings, and wherein comparing the differential pressure measurements with air filter change threshold value, wherein the air filter change threshold value is changed every reading, therefore, examiner interpreted the change in threshold value that determines adjusting the status of filter as periodically reducing the lifespan by a single term, and periodically reducing the lifespan by a calculated number of terms in an event the average of the readings is less than or greater than a predefined average, since the threshold value changes with each reading so does the average, and larger the average the greater the term of adjustment, therefore, reducing the lifespan is dependent on the sensor values compared to threshold values).
The combination does not explicitly teach periodically calculating an average of the readings.
However, DAMENO teaches periodically calculating an average of the readings (Paragraph [0116] “The processing circuitry is configured to determine a pressure difference between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor and the processing circuitry is configured to periodically collect the pressure difference between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor at a first frequency, store the pressure difference, and periodically compare the stored pressure differences at a second frequency, the first frequency is more frequent than the second frequency. The processing circuitry is configured to average a plurality of sequentially collected pressure differences between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor to generate a plurality of average pressure differences of the filter and the plurality of average pressure differences are analyzed to determine a threshold reduced pressure difference for the filter”, wherein examiner interpreted taking average of the pressure differences as periodically calculating an average of the readings).
Quam, Ayala, Dean-Hendricks, Mulvaney, and DAMENO are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to HVAC systems.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system for monitoring HVAC equipment, as taught by Quam, Ayala, Dean-Hendricks, and Mulvaney, and incorporating averages of sensor readings, as taught by DAMENO.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve tracking performance of HVAC components to identify issues more quickly, as suggested by DAMENO (see Paragraphs [0002-0006]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Balidas et al. (USPGPUB 2019/0336960) teaches a water softening device.
Johnson et al. (USPGPUB 2024/0068679) teaches an evaporative humidifier.
ZHANG et al. (CN 201193861 Y) teaches a soft water supplying system for supplying water used for the humidification of air-conditioning device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119