DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments received November 05, 2025 have been fully considered. With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose (see applicant argument pages 8-13). This language corresponds to claims 1-16 and 22-21.
As such, these have been considered but applicant argument is not persuasive as addressed below. See the rejection below for how the art on record reads in view of amendment language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set. Furthermore, in response to applicant argument, applicant states Oya fails to teaches the claimed invention “when a registered on-demand camera is deactivated, a camera server does not apply server resources to intake the video stream from the deactivated camera; when the registered on-demand camera is activated, the camera server applies server resources to intake the video stream from the activated camera; displaying on a display a representation of available cameras including both system cameras and registered on-demand cameras, wherein the system cameras are represented using a first style of icon and the on-demand cameras are represented using a second style of icon different from the first style of icon;”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Para. 0039, Applicant Application Publication defines the claimed invention “intake of the video stream” as follows:
[0039] In some cases, intake of the video stream may include receiving and storing the video stream, and when the registered on-demand camera is deactivated by the operator, the camera server does not apply server resource to receive and possibly store the video stream from the deactivated camera. In some cases, the selected two or more cameras include two or more on-demand cameras, and wherein the method 28 may include activating and/or deactivating the two or more on-demand cameras in a bulk fashion. That is, the operator may designate two or more on-demand cameras for activation (or deactivation) in bulk, and once initiated, the video surveillance system may activate (or deactivate) all of the designed on-demand cameras in bulk without further operating input.
It is obvious the system of Oya reserve resources, if camera deactivated for any further action or processing data. The process of “a camera server does not apply resources or applying resources” appears an open-ended interpretation, since the processing device can be classified at least to fully or partially reserving server resources. Also, it is obvious the system of Oya applies server resources implicitly, if receiving data from camera activated or deactivated. Furthermore, applicant argument in regarding displaying camera status, the cited col. and lines clearly teaches the status of cameras with a unique marker for active or inactive cameras, as such, the examiner stands with the rejection. In addition, applicant argument, questioning the claimed invention “third-party” compare to the system of Oya, the system of Oya teaches:
(16) Referring to FIG. 3, workstations 50, 52, 54 and 56 are connected to a network 57. In the workstation 50, a camera apparatus 58 including a microphone which respectively corresponds to the camera 10 and microphone 12 is connected. In each of the workstations 52 and 54, image/sound output apparatuses 60 and 62, which integrally comprise monitors 60V, 62V and speakers 60A and 62A respectively, are connected. The workstation 56 manages cameras capable of being controlled by remote operation via a network, and also manages a privilege and an access condition of each user in one network.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
(32) According to the present embodiment, a user is classified into three types of users: a system administrator, a camera owner and a general user. The system administrator is a so-called super user, and possesses the right to set or change access privileges of all the cameras. The camera owner has the right to set or change an access privilege of his/her own camera. The general user is a user who is not a system administrator, and who attempts to access a camera possessed by another person.
As outlined above, the system of Oya at least provided different users camera connect to Network. Users are registered before they can able access network data. The privilege of access data between user and general user can be different. As such, the Network system of Oya “provided service to different clients” corresponds to the claimed invention “third-party cameras”, since all cameras are registered in order to use the Network.
Applicant argument in regarding art of Gali, as previously addressed, the examiner stands with the rejection since the system of Gali teaches ranking selection of cameras based on relevance of the received event data. See para. 0095 of Gali as outlined below.
[0095] As described above, according to the above exemplary embodiments, an intelligent video analysis system logically selects only surveillance cameras related to an event. Then ranks are assigned to the logically selected surveillance cameras based on event metadata representing a relevance to the event, and a video server assigns slots in ascending order of the ranks of the surveillance cameras, thereby reducing the number of surveillance cameras to be used to analyze a video.
As such, applicant argument in regarding to claim 1, the examiner stands with the rejection as outlined above and below under 103 rejections.
Applicant argument in regarding to claims 2-4, 7 and 9-11, the examiner stands with the rejection since the cited arts clearly teaches the claimed invention.
Applicant argument in regarding to claim 12, the examiner stands with the rejection with similar analysis to claim 1 as outlined above.
Applicant argument in regarding to claims 13 to 16, the examiner stands with the rejection since the cited arts clearly teaches the claimed invention.
Therefore, as outlined above and below under 103 rejection, all pending claims are rejected as final office action, since the cited arts clearly teaches the claimed invention. Furthermore, future argument or claimed amendments, applicant need to consider “printing matter issues” since the cited art and the claimed invention uses similar devices and similar functions in connection with the device.
Note: A prior art has not used on the rejection but examiner strongly suggest to consider art of Dattilo-Green et al. US 2018/0018081, paras. 0378-0379 and 0385 [the ranking of established preliminary connections is based on historical usage information such as most recently viewed, most frequently viewed, and usage patterns of a particular user. In some implementations, the rank is based on a prediction of which cameras are most likely to be requested for viewing by a particular user] for further amendment to claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oya et al. US 6,208,379 further in view of Gali et al. US 2016/0050396.
In regarding to claim 1 Oya teaches:
1.A method for operating a video surveillance system that includes both system cameras and registered on-demand cameras, wherein the system cameras are commissioned as part of the video surveillance system and the registered on-demand cameras are voluntarily made available to the video surveillance system by third parties for use in conjunction with the video surveillance system, the method comprising:
registering third party camera(s) with the video surveillance system making the registered camera(s) available to the video surveillance system as registered on-demand cameras, wherein the registered on-demand cameras are available for subsequent activation and deactivation,
(86) In addition, a camera icon corresponding to the camera operated by another user and a camera icon corresponding to a non-operated camera are displayed in different colors so that they are distinguishable. Information for such display is updated on the basis of information sent periodically from the camera management server. In this stage, an operated camera icon changes its direction in real time in accordance with operation of the corresponding camera.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
wherein: when a registered on-demand camera is deactivated, a camera server does not apply server resources to intake the video stream from the deactivated camera;
(86) In addition, a camera icon corresponding to the camera operated by another user and a camera icon corresponding to a non-operated camera are displayed in different colors so that they are distinguishable. Information for such display is updated on the basis of information sent periodically from the camera management server. In this stage, an operated camera icon changes its direction in real time in accordance with operation of the corresponding camera.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
when the registered on-demand camera is activated, the camera server applies server resources to intake the video stream from the activated camera;
(86) In addition, a camera icon corresponding to the camera operated by another user and a camera icon corresponding to a non-operated camera are displayed in different colors so that they are distinguishable. Information for such display is updated on the basis of information sent periodically from the camera management server. In this stage, an operated camera icon changes its direction in real time in accordance with operation of the corresponding camera.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
displaying on a display a representation of available cameras including both system cameras and registered on-demand cameras, wherein the system cameras are represented using a first style of icon and the on-demand cameras are represented using a second style of icon different from the first style of icon;
(86) In addition, a camera icon corresponding to the camera operated by another user and a camera icon corresponding to a non-operated camera are displayed in different colors so that they are distinguishable. Information for such display is updated on the basis of information sent periodically from the camera management server. In this stage, an operated camera icon changes its direction in real time in accordance with operation of the corresponding camera.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
However, Oya fails to explicitly teach but Gali teaches:
ranking the activated on-demand cameras based at least in part on a number of times that a camera has been viewed by an operator, thereby indicating how much each of the activated on-demand cameras are used;
[0051] Therefore, the intelligent rank setting processor 130 may assign a highest rank to the seventh surveillance camera S417 and next ranks to the fifth surveillance camera S415 and the sixth surveillance camera S416 among the surveillance cameras S411 to S417 belonging to the logical camera group S400. Also, a higher rank may be assigned to a surveillance camera that is closer to the direction of movement of the stolen vehicle among the fifth surveillance camera S415 and the sixth surveillance camera S416.
Gali, 0051-0052, 0095 and Fig. 6, emphasis added
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gali with the system of Oya in order ranking the activated on-demand cameras based at least in part on how much each of the activated on-demand cameras are used, as such, an intelligent video analysis method and system logically selects only surveillance cameras associated with an event and assigns different ranks to the selected surveillance cameras according to the importance thereof. Thereafter, more video analysis resources are assigned to a surveillance camera of high importance, thereby rapidly and efficiently performing video analysis..—Abstract.
Furthermore, Oya teaches:
accepting a selection of one or more cameras from the representation of available cameras for display including one or more deactivated on-demand cameras;
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In addition, Gali teaches:
activating the selected one or more deactivated on-demand cameras, including: finding server resources on one or more camera servers for streaming on-demand cameras, and when sufficient camera server resources are determined to not be currently available, deactivating one or more currently activated on-demand cameras before activating the selected one or more deactivated on-demand cameras to free up camera server resources, wherein the one or more currently activated on-demand cameras that are deactivated have a camera ranking that indicates it is among the least used activated on- demand cameras;
[0094] After the ranks are assigned to the surveillance cameras, a video analysis server may assign resources such as slots according to the ranks (operation S740).
[0095] As described above, according to the above exemplary embodiments, an intelligent video analysis system logically selects only surveillance cameras related to an event. Then ranks are assigned to the logically selected surveillance cameras based on event metadata representing a relevance to the event, and a video server assigns slots in ascending order of the ranks of the surveillance cameras, thereby reducing the number of surveillance cameras to be used to analyze a video.
[0096] Also, only surveillance cameras that are highly associated with the event may be selected to reduce resources and costs for analyzing a video. Also, a video can be rapidly analyzed by assigning ranks to the surveillance cameras that are highly associated with the event.
Gali, 0094-0096 and Fig. 6, emphasis added
Furthermore, Oya teaches:
and displaying video streams from each of the selected two or more cameras on the display viewable by an operator of the video surveillance system.
(24) FIG. 4 shows an example of an image display operation screen displayed on the bitmap display 35 by using the camera control client 72. On the bitmap display 35, a window system capable of simultaneous displaying of multiple windows is assumed to be running. An image display operation window 80 includes an image display section 82 which displays an image taken by a camera, a camera condition display section 84 which displays condition of the camera, an access condition display section 86 which displays access condition, camera control buttons 88 to 100 for controlling panning, tilting and zooming, a sound level display section 102 which displays a sound level, an access setting button 104 and end button 106.
(25) In the camera condition display section 84, a camera-condition table as shown in FIG. 5 is displayed. Displayed information relates to all the cameras connected to the network 57 and includes names of the cameras, host names of terminals to which each of the cameras is connected, panning/tilting angles, zooming, owners, access conditions and the like. The name of the camera indicates a specific name which identifies each camera; and the panning and tilting angles, image sensing directions of each camera. The owner is the user who possesses the right to set an access privilege of the camera, and normally who uses the terminal directly connected to the camera. When no one is remote-controlling the camera, the access condition shows a blank field (not used). Hereinafter, the information displayed in the camera condition display section 84 will be referred to as a camera list.
(92) When a user clicks the setting button 168, the camera control client 72 draws vertical and horizontal lines in the map window 160 as shown in FIG. 33. The area divided by the lines is the unit of setting the display-not-permitted area. The user designates, on the map window 160, one or a plurality of the divided areas where displaying of an image should not be permitted. The designated divided area (e.g. an area 192 in FIG. 33) is displayed with a red frame so that the area is easily distinguished from other divided areas. When the display-not-permitted area is to be canceled, the clear button 170 is clicked with a mouse.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32, col. 16 line 66 to col. 17 line 9 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 2 Oya and Gali teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: wherein the selected two or more cameras include at least one system camera and at least one registered on-demand camera.
(20) The workstations 52 and 54 store image/sound communication software 70 used for receiving image and sound data from the workstation 50 and outputting the data to the image/sound output apparatuses 60 and 62, and a camera control client (software) 72 including GUI (Graphical User Interface) used for performing user verification, image display, sound output, camera operation and setting of an access privilege. The camera control client 72 performs user verification at start-up time, and displays information such as a list of available cameras and access conditions of other users or the like. The camera control client 72 also updates the displayed information in real-time in accordance with the information transmitted from the camera management server 68. In addition, the camera control client 72 performs, for a user, the setting of an access privilege with respect to its camera.
Oya, co. 6 lines 14-29 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 3 Oya and Gali teaches:
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: furthermore, Oya teaches: while displaying the video stream from each of the selected one or more cameras on the display, accepting a selection of two or more system cameras from the representation of available cameras for recording; and recording video streams from each of the selected two or more system cameras.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 4 Oya and Gali teaches:
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: furthermore, Oya teaches: while displaying the video stream from each of the selected one or more cameras on the display, accepting a selection of two or more cameras from the representation of available cameras for video analytics;
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
and performing video analytics on each of the selected two or more cameras for video analytics.
(24) FIG. 4 shows an example of an image display operation screen displayed on the bitmap display 35 by using the camera control client 72. On the bitmap display 35, a window system capable of simultaneous displaying of multiple windows is assumed to be running. An image display operation window 80 includes an image display section 82 which displays an image taken by a camera, a camera condition display section 84 which displays condition of the camera, an access condition display section 86 which displays access condition, camera control buttons 88 to 100 for controlling panning, tilting and zooming, a sound level display section 102 which displays a sound level, an access setting button 104 and end button 106.
(25) In the camera condition display section 84, a camera-condition table as shown in FIG. 5 is displayed. Displayed information relates to all the cameras connected to the network 57 and includes names of the cameras, host names of terminals to which each of the cameras is connected, panning/tilting angles, zooming, owners, access conditions and the like. The name of the camera indicates a specific name which identifies each camera; and the panning and tilting angles, image sensing directions of each camera. The owner is the user who possesses the right to set an access privilege of the camera, and normally who uses the terminal directly connected to the camera. When no one is remote-controlling the camera, the access condition shows a blank field (not used). Hereinafter, the information displayed in the camera condition display section 84 will be referred to as a camera list.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 5 Oya and Gali teaches:
5. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: wherein registering third party camera with the video surveillance system comprises:
onboarding the registered camera including receiving one or more camera parameters for each of the registered cameras; and validating the onboarded camera(s), including validating the one or more camera parameters, and once validated, making the registered camera(s) available to the video surveillance system as on-demand cameras.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
(44) Next, detailed descriptions are provided for setting and changing of an access privilege according to the present invention. In the software structure shown in FIG. 3, camera control server 66 and camera management server 68 cooperate to manage the access privilege and control accesses. In other words, the camera management server 68 manages information in the entire system such as an access condition of each camera and setting of an access privilege or the like. In accordance with the set access privilege, the camera management server 68 permits or rejects an access request for transmitting sound and/or an image or camera control. In a case where a user attempts to access a camera whose control ranges of camera parameters e.g. panning, tilting, zooming or the like are limited, the camera control server 66 rejects a camera control request which exceeds the permitted range of control.
Oya, col. 7 lines 4-32, col. 10 lines 9-24 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 6 Oya and Gali teaches:
6. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Gali teaches: wherein ranking the activated on-demand cameras comprises ranking the activated on-demand cameras based at least in part on one or more of: the number of times that the video stream from the activated on-demand camera has been selected to be viewed by the operator;
[0044] The intelligent rank setting processor 130 of FIG. 1 may assign weights to cameras belonging to a logical camera group by assigning weights to pieces of information constituting event metadata representing features of an occurred event, based on Equation 1 below.
Rank=Pc*Σx.sub.iw.sub.i [Equation 1]
In Equation 1, ‘Pc’ denotes a priority assigned to a surveillance camera, ‘x.sub.i’ denotes each of pieces of information constituting event metadata, and ‘w.sub.i’ denotes weights assigned to the pieces of the information constituting the event metadata. ‘Pc’ denoting the priority assigned to a surveillance camera may be set according to a priority assigned to a logical camera group to which the surveillance camera belongs or may be set by a user.
Gali, at least 0044 and Fig. 6 element 130 (ranking based information or metadata), emphasis added.
the number of times that the activated on-demand camera has been activated or deactivated; and how recently has the activated on-demand camera been activated or deactivated.
[0044] The intelligent rank setting processor 130 of FIG. 1 may assign weights to cameras belonging to a logical camera group by assigning weights to pieces of information constituting event metadata representing features of an occurred event, based on Equation 1 below.
Rank=Pc*Σx.sub.iw.sub.i [Equation 1]
In Equation 1, ‘Pc’ denotes a priority assigned to a surveillance camera, ‘x.sub.i’ denotes each of pieces of information constituting event metadata, and ‘w.sub.i’ denotes weights assigned to the pieces of the information constituting the event metadata. ‘Pc’ denoting the priority assigned to a surveillance camera may be set according to a priority assigned to a logical camera group to which the surveillance camera belongs or may be set by a user.
Gali, at least 0044 and Fig. 6 element 130 (ranking based information or metadata), emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 7 Oya and Gali teaches:
7. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: comprising performing camera server load balancing by automatically moving one or more of the selected one or more cameras between two or more camera servers.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 8 Oya and Gali teaches:
8. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: wherein the intake of the video stream includes one or more of receiving the video stream, processing the video stream and/or displaying the video stream.
(24) FIG. 4 shows an example of an image display operation screen displayed on the bitmap display 35 by using the camera control client 72. On the bitmap display 35, a window system capable of simultaneous displaying of multiple windows is assumed to be running. An image display operation window 80 includes an image display section 82 which displays an image taken by a camera, a camera condition display section 84 which displays condition of the camera, an access condition display section 86 which displays access condition, camera control buttons 88 to 100 for controlling panning, tilting and zooming, a sound level display section 102 which displays a sound level, an access setting button 104 and end button 106.
(25) In the camera condition display section 84, a camera-condition table as shown in FIG. 5 is displayed. Displayed information relates to all the cameras connected to the network 57 and includes names of the cameras, host names of terminals to which each of the cameras is connected, panning/tilting angles, zooming, owners, access conditions and the like. The name of the camera indicates a specific name which identifies each camera; and the panning and tilting angles, image sensing directions of each camera. The owner is the user who possesses the right to set an access privilege of the camera, and normally who uses the terminal directly connected to the camera. When no one is remote-controlling the camera, the access condition shows a blank field (not used). Hereinafter, the information displayed in the camera condition display section 84 will be referred to as a camera list.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 9 Oya and Gali teaches:
9. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: wherein the intake of the video stream includes receiving the video stream,
(24) FIG. 4 shows an example of an image display operation screen displayed on the bitmap display 35 by using the camera control client 72. On the bitmap display 35, a window system capable of simultaneous displaying of multiple windows is assumed to be running. An image display operation window 80 includes an image display section 82 which displays an image taken by a camera, a camera condition display section 84 which displays condition of the camera, an access condition display section 86 which displays access condition, camera control buttons 88 to 100 for controlling panning, tilting and zooming, a sound level display section 102 which displays a sound level, an access setting button 104 and end button 106.
(25) In the camera condition display section 84, a camera-condition table as shown in FIG. 5 is displayed. Displayed information relates to all the cameras connected to the network 57 and includes names of the cameras, host names of terminals to which each of the cameras is connected, panning/tilting angles, zooming, owners, access conditions and the like. The name of the camera indicates a specific name which identifies each camera; and the panning and tilting angles, image sensing directions of each camera. The owner is the user who possesses the right to set an access privilege of the camera, and normally who uses the terminal directly connected to the camera. When no one is remote-controlling the camera, the access condition shows a blank field (not used). Hereinafter, the information displayed in the camera condition display section 84 will be referred to as a camera list.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
and wherein when the registered on-demand camera is deactivated by the operator, the camera server does not apply camera server resource to receive the video stream from the deactivated on-demand camera.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 10 Oya and Gali teaches:
10. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: comprising: accepting a section of two or more of the on-demand cameras for activation by the operator; and activating the selected two or more on-demand cameras in bulk.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 11 Oya and Gali teaches:
11. The method of claim 1, furthermore, Oya teaches: comprising: accepting a section of two or more on-demand cameras for deactivation by an operator; and, deactivating the two or more on-demand cameras in bulk.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 12 Oya and Gali teaches:
12. A method for operating a video surveillance system that includes both system cameras and registered on-demand cameras, the video surveillance system configured to provide video streams from cameras within each of a plurality of surveillance areas, the method comprising:
allowing private owners to register their camera(s) with the video surveillance system;
(30) Descriptions will be provided on a setting method of an access privilege according to the present embodiment. A concept of the access privilege is described first. In the present embodiment, the access privilege is set for a person (user), and a log-in name predeterminedly registered in the system is used to recognize a person. In the present embodiment, the access privilege can be set with respect to image reception, sound reception and camera control. The access privilege regarding the image reception and sound reception is set by a user who possesses the right to manage the camera. The setting is related to whether to permit other users to receive image/sound taken by the camera. Similarly, setting of the access privilege regarding camera control is related to whether or not the user having the right to manage a camera permits other users to perform camera control such as panning, tilting and zooming of the camera. In the present embodiment, with respect to the camera control, a "partially permitted" mode can be set in addition to a "permitted" mode and a "rejected" mode. In the "partially permitted" mode, the range of camera control such as panning, tilting and zooming is limited, and camera control within the limited range is allowed.
Oya, co. 8 lines 1-22 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
onboarding the registered camera(s) including receiving one or more camera parameters for each of the registered camera; validating the onboarded camera(s) including validating the one or more camera parameters, and once validated, making the registered camera(s) available to the video surveillance system as on-demand cameras, wherein the registered on-demand cameras are available for subsequent activation and deactivation,
(30) Descriptions will be provided on a setting method of an access privilege according to the present embodiment. A concept of the access privilege is described first. In the present embodiment, the access privilege is set for a person (user), and a log-in name predeterminedly registered in the system is used to recognize a person. In the present embodiment, the access privilege can be set with respect to image reception, sound reception and camera control. The access privilege regarding the image reception and sound reception is set by a user who possesses the right to manage the camera. The setting is related to whether to permit other users to receive image/sound taken by the camera. Similarly, setting of the access privilege regarding camera control is related to whether or not the user having the right to manage a camera permits other users to perform camera control such as panning, tilting and zooming of the camera. In the present embodiment, with respect to the camera control, a "partially permitted" mode can be set in addition to a "permitted" mode and a "rejected" mode. In the "partially permitted" mode, the range of camera control such as panning, tilting and zooming is limited, and camera control within the limited range is allowed.
(44) Next, detailed descriptions are provided for setting and changing of an access privilege according to the present invention. In the software structure shown in FIG. 3, camera control server 66 and camera management server 68 cooperate to manage the access privilege and control accesses. In other words, the camera management server 68 manages information in the entire system such as an access condition of each camera and setting of an access privilege or the like. In accordance with the set access privilege, the camera management server 68 permits or rejects an access request for transmitting sound and/or an image or camera control. In a case where a user attempts to access a camera whose control ranges of camera parameters e.g. panning, tilting, zooming or the like are limited, the camera control server 66 rejects a camera control request which exceeds the permitted range of control.
Oya, co. 8 lines 1-22, col. 10 lines 9-24 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
wherein: wherein: when a registered on-demand camera is deactivated, a camera server does not apply server resources to intake the video stream from the deactivated camera;
(86) In addition, a camera icon corresponding to the camera operated by another user and a camera icon corresponding to a non-operated camera are displayed in different colors so that they are distinguishable. Information for such display is updated on the basis of information sent periodically from the camera management server. In this stage, an operated camera icon changes its direction in real time in accordance with operation of the corresponding camera.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
when the registered on-demand camera is activated, the camera server applies server resources to intake the video stream from the activated camera;
(86) In addition, a camera icon corresponding to the camera operated by another user and a camera icon corresponding to a non-operated camera are displayed in different colors so that they are distinguishable. Information for such display is updated on the basis of information sent periodically from the camera management server. In this stage, an operated camera icon changes its direction in real time in accordance with operation of the corresponding camera.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
Oya, col. 16 lines 5-21 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
accepting from an operator of the video surveillance system a selection of a particular surveillance area out of the plurality of surveillance areas;
(30) Descriptions will be provided on a setting method of an access privilege according to the present embodiment. A concept of the access privilege is described first. In the present embodiment, the access privilege is set for a person (user), and a log-in name predeterminedly registered in the system is used to recognize a person. In the present embodiment, the access privilege can be set with respect to image reception, sound reception and camera control. The access privilege regarding the image reception and sound reception is set by a user who possesses the right to manage the camera. The setting is related to whether to permit other users to receive image/sound taken by the camera. Similarly, setting of the access privilege regarding camera control is related to whether or not the user having the right to manage a camera permits other users to perform camera control such as panning, tilting and zooming of the camera. In the present embodiment, with respect to the camera control, a "partially permitted" mode can be set in addition to a "permitted" mode and a "rejected" mode. In the "partially permitted" mode, the range of camera control such as panning, tilting and zooming is limited, and camera control within the limited range is allowed.
Oya, co. 8 lines 1-22 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
displaying a graphical representation of cameras within the operator-selected surveillance area on a display, the cameras including both system cameras and registered on-demand cameras;
(20) The workstations 52 and 54 store image/sound communication software 70 used for receiving image and sound data from the workstation 50 and outputting the data to the image/sound output apparatuses 60 and 62, and a camera control client (software) 72 including GUI (Graphical User Interface) used for performing user verification, image display, sound output, camera operation and setting of an access privilege. The camera control client 72 performs user verification at start-up time, and displays information such as a list of available cameras and access conditions of other users or the like. The camera control client 72 also updates the displayed information in real-time in accordance with the information transmitted from the camera management server 68. In addition, the camera control client 72 performs, for a user, the setting of an access privilege with respect to its camera.
Oya, co. 6 lines 14-29 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
However, Oya fails to explicitly teach but Gali teaches:
ranking the activated on-demand cameras based at least in part on how much each of the activated on-demand cameras are used;
[0051] Therefore, the intelligent rank setting processor 130 may assign a highest rank to the seventh surveillance camera S417 and next ranks to the fifth surveillance camera S415 and the sixth surveillance camera S416 among the surveillance cameras S411 to S417 belonging to the logical camera group S400. Also, a higher rank may be assigned to a surveillance camera that is closer to the direction of movement of the stolen vehicle among the fifth surveillance camera S415 and the sixth surveillance camera S416.
Gali, 0051-0052 and Fig. 6, emphasis added
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gali with the system of Oya in order ranking the activated on-demand cameras based at least in part on how much each of the activated on-demand cameras are used, as such, an intelligent video analysis method and system logically selects only surveillance cameras associated with an event and assigns different ranks to the selected surveillance cameras according to the importance thereof. Thereafter, more video analysis resources are assigned to a surveillance camera of high importance, thereby rapidly and efficiently performing video analysis..—Abstract.
Furthermore, Oya teaches:
accepting a selection of one or more cameras from the graphical representation of cameras including one or more deactivated on-demand cameras;
(24) FIG. 4 shows an example of an image display operation screen displayed on the bitmap display 35 by using the camera control client 72. On the bitmap display 35, a window system capable of simultaneous displaying of multiple windows is assumed to be running. An image display operation window 80 includes an image display section 82 which displays an image taken by a camera, a camera condition display section 84 which displays condition of the camera, an access condition display section 86 which displays access condition, camera control buttons 88 to 100 for controlling panning, tilting and zooming, a sound level display section 102 which displays a sound level, an access setting button 104 and end button 106.
(25) In the camera condition display section 84, a camera-condition table as shown in FIG. 5 is displayed. Displayed information relates to all the cameras connected to the network 57 and includes names of the cameras, host names of terminals to which each of the cameras is connected, panning/tilting angles, zooming, owners, access conditions and the like. The name of the camera indicates a specific name which identifies each camera; and the panning and tilting angles, image sensing directions of each camera. The owner is the user who possesses the right to set an access privilege of the camera, and normally who uses the terminal directly connected to the camera. When no one is remote-controlling the camera, the access condition shows a blank field (not used). Hereinafter, the information displayed in the camera condition display section 84 will be referred to as a camera list.
(87) Note that the window 80' shown in Fig. 32 is the same as the screens for general users. However, for a general user who does not possess a camera-management privilege, a camera icon is displayed in a special color to inform the user that the camera icon corresponding to a camera on which no management-privilege is provided, cannot be selected. In addition, with respect to a camera whose image can be seen but cannot be controlled, the camera icon is displayed in a distinguishable color.
(92) When a user clicks the setting button 168, the camera control client 72 draws vertical and horizontal lines in the map window 160 as shown in FIG. 33. The area divided by the lines is the unit of setting the display-not-permitted area. The user designates, on the map window 160, one or a plurality of the divided areas where displaying of an image should not be permitted. The designated divided area (e.g. an area 192 in FIG. 33) is displayed with a red frame so that the area is easily distinguished from other divided areas. When the display-not-permitted area is to be canceled, the clear button 170 is clicked with a mouse.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32, col. 16 lines 5-21, col. 16 line 66 to col. 17 line 9 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In addition, Gali teaches:
activating the selected one or more deactivated on-demand cameras, including: finding server resources on one or more camera servers for streaming on streaming video streams from each of the selected one or more deactivated on-demand cameras, and when sufficient camera server resources are determined to not be currently available, deactivating one or more currently activated on-demand cameras before activating the selected one or more deactivated on-demand cameras to free up camera server resources, wherein the one or more currently activated on-demand cameras that are deactivated have a camera ranking that indicates it is among the least used activated on- demand cameras;
[0094] After the ranks are assigned to the surveillance cameras, a video analysis server may assign resources such as slots according to the ranks (operation S740).
[0095] As described above, according to the above exemplary embodiments, an intelligent video analysis system logically selects only surveillance cameras related to an event. Then ranks are assigned to the logically selected surveillance cameras based on event metadata representing a relevance to the event, and a video server assigns slots in ascending order of the ranks of the surveillance cameras, thereby reducing the number of surveillance cameras to be used to analyze a video.
[0096] Also, only surveillance cameras that are highly associated with the event may be selected to reduce resources and costs for analyzing a video. Also, a video can be rapidly analyzed by assigning ranks to the surveillance cameras that are highly associated with the event.
Gali, 0094-0096 and Fig. 6, emphasis added
Furthermore, Oya teaches:
and displaying video streams from the selected one or more cameras on the display.
(24) FIG. 4 shows an example of an image display operation screen displayed on the bitmap display 35 by using the camera control client 72. On the bitmap display 35, a window system capable of simultaneous displaying of multiple windows is assumed to be running. An image display operation window 80 includes an image display section 82 which displays an image taken by a camera, a camera condition display section 84 which displays condition of the camera, an access condition display section 86 which displays access condition, camera control buttons 88 to 100 for controlling panning, tilting and zooming, a sound level display section 102 which displays a sound level, an access setting button 104 and end button 106.
(25) In the camera condition display section 84, a camera-condition table as shown in FIG. 5 is displayed. Displayed information relates to all the cameras connected to the network 57 and includes names of the cameras, host names of terminals to which each of the cameras is connected, panning/tilting angles, zooming, owners, access conditions and the like. The name of the camera indicates a specific name which identifies each camera; and the panning and tilting angles, image sensing directions of each camera. The owner is the user who possesses the right to set an access privilege of the camera, and normally who uses the terminal directly connected to the camera. When no one is remote-controlling the camera, the access condition shows a blank field (not used). Hereinafter, the information displayed in the camera condition display section 84 will be referred to as a camera list.
(92) When a user clicks the setting button 168, the camera control client 72 draws vertical and horizontal lines in the map window 160 as shown in FIG. 33. The area divided by the lines is the unit of setting the display-not-permitted area. The user designates, on the map window 160, one or a plurality of the divided areas where displaying of an image should not be permitted. The designated divided area (e.g. an area 192 in FIG. 33) is displayed with a red frame so that the area is easily distinguished from other divided areas. When the display-not-permitted area is to be canceled, the clear button 170 is clicked with a mouse.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32, col. 16 line 66 to col. 17 line 9 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 13 Oya and Gali teaches:
13. The method of claim 12, furthermore, Oya teaches: wherein the selected one or more cameras include both system cameras and registered on-demand cameras.
(20) The workstations 52 and 54 store image/sound communication software 70 used for receiving image and sound data from the workstation 50 and outputting the data to the image/sound output apparatuses 60 and 62, and a camera control client (software) 72 including GUI (Graphical User Interface) used for performing user verification, image display, sound output, camera operation and setting of an access privilege. The camera control client 72 performs user verification at start-up time, and displays information such as a list of available cameras and access conditions of other users or the like. The camera control client 72 also updates the displayed information in real-time in accordance with the information transmitted from the camera management server 68. In addition, the camera control client 72 performs, for a user, the setting of an access privilege with respect to its camera.
Oya, co. 6 lines 14-29 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 14 Oya and Gali teaches:
14. The method of claim 12, furthermore, Gali teaches: comprising: ranking two or more camera servers based at least in part on current server load on each of the two or more camera servers; and moving one or more activated on-demand cameras between the two or more camera servers based on the current ranking of the each of the two or more camera servers.
[0044] The intelligent rank setting processor 130 of FIG. 1 may assign weights to cameras belonging to a logical camera group by assigning weights to pieces of information constituting event metadata representing features of an occurred event, based on Equation 1 below.
Rank=Pc*Σx.sub.iw.sub.i [Equation 1]
In Equation 1, ‘Pc’ denotes a priority assigned to a surveillance camera, ‘x.sub.i’ denotes each of pieces of information constituting event metadata, and ‘w.sub.i’ denotes weights assigned to the pieces of the information constituting the event metadata. ‘Pc’ denoting the priority assigned to a surveillance camera may be set according to a priority assigned to a logical camera group to which the surveillance camera belongs or may be set by a user.
Gali, at least 0044 and Fig. 6 element 130 (ranking based information or metadata), emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 15 Oya and Gali teaches:
15. The method of claim 14, furthermore, Gali teaches: comprising assigning a newly activated on-demand camera to a camera server of the two or more camera servers that has a ranking that correspond to the lower current server load.
[0044] The intelligent rank setting processor 130 of FIG. 1 may assign weights to cameras belonging to a logical camera group by assigning weights to pieces of information constituting event metadata representing features of an occurred event, based on Equation 1 below.
Rank=Pc*Σx.sub.iw.sub.i [Equation 1]
In Equation 1, ‘Pc’ denotes a priority assigned to a surveillance camera, ‘x.sub.i’ denotes each of pieces of information constituting event metadata, and ‘w.sub.i’ denotes weights assigned to the pieces of the information constituting the event metadata. ‘Pc’ denoting the priority assigned to a surveillance camera may be set according to a priority assigned to a logical camera group to which the surveillance camera belongs or may be set by a user.
Gali, at least 0044 and Fig. 6 element 130 (ranking based information or metadata), emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 16 Oya and Gali teaches:
16. The method of claim 12, furthermore, Oya teaches: comprising automatically load balancing by automatically moving one or more of the selected two or more cameras between two or more camera servers.
(23) The camera management server 68 is a software which manages all the camera apparatuses (and microphone) connected to the network 57. More specifically, the camera management server 68 stores information such as names of all the cameras connected to the network 57, names of the host, setting locations, directions, access conditions and access privileges or the like. The camera management server 68 manages access permission/rejection in response to a camera access request sent by a user, in addition to the register process necessary for a camera to connect with the network 57 and the deleting process necessary to be disconnected with the network 57. The camera management server 68 also informs all the camera control client 72 via the network 57, of the various information related to the cameras connected to the network 57 on a regular basis or upon a request.
Oya, co. 7 lines 4-32 and Figs. 3, 6-7, 32-33, emphasis added
Claims 21-22 list all similar elements of claims 1 and 6, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1 and 6 applies equally as well to claims 21-22.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481