0DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed September 18, 2025. Claims 2-9 and 15-34 are pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9, 15-18, 21, 23, 24, 27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (US 2007/0250713, cited by IDS filed October 29, 2024, “Rahman”) in view of Gantman et al. (US 2014/0247711, “Gantman”).
Regarding claim 2, Rahman teaches a communication apparatus (FIG. 9 – Child mesh AP 921), comprising:
at least one processing circuit, causing the communication apparatus (FIG. 2, [0046]) to perform operations comprising:
{controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards};
controlling to transmit on one of a plurality of frequencies {and after receiving the Probe Response}, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink. [0060] 1) The child AP 104 as infrastructure supplicant (IS) sends a Mesh Association Request in 507 including its security parameters needed to establish link security with its selected parent node (mesh point), the parent mesh AP 114. [0104] - When the child mesh AP first associates with a controller 901 (C1) via the parent mesh AP 912 to form the first link, it indicates that it wishes to form multiple links to the advertised BSSID-M and BSSID-N using its two identities, e.g., two radios IS-A and IS-B, thus asserting it wishes to use the multiple-identities-key hierarchy. [0046] - In particular, the backhaul radio interface 201 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11a standard in the approximately 5 GHz band, and the access radio interface 203 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11b,g standard in the approximately 2.4 GHz band) indicating that the communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink) ; and
controlling, at least after receiving an Association Response that the single access point apparatus transmits as a response to the Association Request and that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards ([0063] - The parent mesh AP 114, as the authenticator's agent, receives the LWAPP Mesh Response and sends a Mesh Association Response encoding the authenticator's association result in it) {and that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links}, to set up with the single access point apparatus, a plurality of links ([0064] Once the child AP 105 (the IS) receives the Mesh Association Response in 509 from the parent mesh AP 114 with success result, it proceeds to the authentication phase. If the response is negative, a different mesh network and/or parent mesh AP is/are selected in 503. Suppose in 511 the response to the association request is positive, i.e., the received response message includes a success result. The potential child mesh AP 105 proceeds to the mesh backhaul security protocol authentication phase. [0074] - Once the authentication phase is complete and the LWAPP join phase is complete, so that the child mesh AP 105 joins its chosen mesh network 110. [0103] - Suppose Parent mesh AP 912 (P2) also has two identities, e.g., radios identified by BSSID-M and BSSID-N. Again, and the child identities are identified as IS-A and IS-B. Suppose a first link between the parent identity BSSID-M and the child identity IS-A, denoted [IS-A, BSSID-M] is part of the backbone network of the mesh to the root AP and forms a first link. One embodiment allows the mesh network to form an additional second link from child mesh AP 921 to the parent mesh AP 912 using the second respective radio of both the parent and child) {using the different frequencies}.
Rahman does not expressively teaches
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request,
set up with the access point apparatus, the plurality of links… using the different frequencies
association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links.
Gantman teaches
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (FIG. 3, [0038] at messages 1b, the second device 320 may send a probe request and receive a probe response frame from the first device 310. [0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request (FIG. 39, [0039] - At message 3, the second device 320 may send an Association Request frame to establish the first wireless connection),
set up with the access point apparatus, the plurality of links… using the different frequencies ([0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))
association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ([0039] At message 4, the first device 310 may respond with an Association Response frame to grant the first wireless connection. In some implementations, the association response may also indicate support for reciprocal wireless connections. Furthermore, the association response may include configuration information regarding the establishment of the second wireless connections).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request,
set up with the access point apparatus, the plurality of links… using the different frequencies
association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links, as taught by Gantman in Rahman to support support failover, load balancing, traffic distribution.
Regarding claim 3, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 1, and Rahman further teaches wherein the at least one processing circuit executes a set of instructions stored in at least one memory to cause the communication apparatus to perform the operations (FIG. 2, [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 3, and further teaches wherein the at least one processing circuit is a central processing unit (FIG. 2, [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 2, and further teaches wherein the at least one processing circuit is a central processing unit (FIG. 2, [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 5 but fails to teach wherein the at least one processing circuit is an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC).
However, the Examiner take official notice that using an ASIC is well known in the art. ASICs are known to provide high performance at smaller footprint.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature of wherein the at least one processing circuit is an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), in Rahman to provide an integrated circuit at smaller footprint.
Regarding claim 7, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the communication apparatus is another access point apparatus (FIG. 9 shows child mesh AP 921).
Regarding claim 8, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 2 but fails to teach wherein the communication apparatus supports a Wi-Fi EasyMesh standard.
However, EasyMesh is well known in a protocol developed reusing IEEE1905.1 standard to facilitate network with multiple 802.11x access points for improved range without reduced performance.
It would have been obvious to implement a mesh network using Wi-Fi EasyMesh in Rahman for improved range without reduce performance.
Regarding claim 9, Rahman teaches a communication apparatus (FIG. 9 – Parent mesh AP 912), comprising:
at least one processing circuit, causing the communication apparatus (FIG. 2, [0046]) to perform operations comprising:
{receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards}
receiving, on one of a plurality of frequencies {and after transmitting the Probe Response}, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink. [0060] 1) The child AP 104 as infrastructure supplicant (IS) sends a Mesh Association Request in 507 including its security parameters needed to establish link security with its selected parent node (mesh point), the parent mesh AP 114. [0104] - When the child mesh AP first associates with a controller 901 (C1) via the parent mesh AP 912 to form the first link, it indicates that it wishes to form multiple links to the advertised BSSID-M and BSSID-N using its two identities, e.g., two radios IS-A and IS-B, thus asserting it wishes to use the multiple-identities-key hierarchy. [0046] - In particular, the backhaul radio interface 201 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11a standard in the approximately 5 GHz band, and the access radio interface 203 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11b,g standard in the approximately 2.4 GHz band) indicating that the single other communications apparatus is capable of establishing multiple link ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink);
transmitting, to the single other communication apparatus, an Association Response that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards ([0063] - The parent mesh AP 114, as the authenticator's agent, receives the LWAPP Mesh Response and sends a Mesh Association Response encoding the authenticator's association result in it) {and that includes information indicating that the communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple link}, and
after transmitting the Association Response, establishing the plurality of links with the other communication apparatus ([0064] Once the child AP 105 (the IS) receives the Mesh Association Response in 509 from the parent mesh AP 114 with success result, it proceeds to the authentication phase. If the response is negative, a different mesh network and/or parent mesh AP is/are selected in 503. Suppose in 511 the response to the association request is positive, i.e., the received response message includes a success result. The potential child mesh AP 105 proceeds to the mesh backhaul security protocol authentication phase. [0074] - Once the authentication phase is complete and the LWAPP join phase is complete, so that the child mesh AP 105 joins its chosen mesh network 110. [0103] - Suppose Parent mesh AP 912 (P2) also has two identities, e.g., radios identified by BSSID-M and BSSID-N. Again, and the child identities are identified as IS-A and IS-B. Suppose a first link between the parent identity BSSID-M and the child identity IS-A, denoted [IS-A, BSSID-M] is part of the backbone network of the mesh to the root AP and forms a first link. One embodiment allows the mesh network to form an additional second link from child mesh AP 921 to the parent mesh AP 912 using the second respective radio of both the parent and child) {using different frequencies}.
Rahman does not expressively teaches
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request,
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies.
association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links.
Gantman teaches
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (FIG. 3, [0038] at messages 1b, the second device 320 may send a probe request and receive a probe response frame from the first device 310. [0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request (FIG. 39, [0039] - At message 3, the second device 320 may send an Association Request frame to establish the first wireless connection),
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies ([0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links. ([0039] At message 4, the first device 310 may respond with an Association Response frame to grant the first wireless connection. In some implementations, the association response may also indicate support for reciprocal wireless connections. Furthermore, the association response may include configuration information regarding the establishment of the second wireless connections).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request,
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies.
association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links, as taught by Gantman in Rahman to support support failover, load balancing, traffic distribution
Regarding claim 15, Rahman teaches a control method executed by a communication apparatus (FIG. 9 – Child mesh AP 921), the control method comprising:
{controlling to transmit, to an a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards}
controlling to transmit on one of a plurality of frequencies {and after receiving the Probe Response}, to the access point apparatus, an Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink. [0060] 1) The child AP 104 as infrastructure supplicant (IS) sends a Mesh Association Request in 507 including its security parameters needed to establish link security with its selected parent node (mesh point), the parent mesh AP 114. [0104] - When the child mesh AP first associates with a controller 901 (C1) via the parent mesh AP 912 to form the first link, it indicates that it wishes to form multiple links to the advertised BSSID-M and BSSID-N using its two identities, e.g., two radios IS-A and IS-B, thus asserting it wishes to use the multiple-identities-key hierarchy. [0046] - In particular, the backhaul radio interface 201 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11a standard in the approximately 5 GHz band, and the access radio interface 203 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11b,g standard in the approximately 2.4 GHz band) indicating that the communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink) and
controlling, at least after receiving an Association Response that the single access point apparatus transmits as a response to the Association Request ([0063] - The parent mesh AP 114, as the authenticator's agent, receives the LWAPP Mesh Response and sends a Mesh Association Response encoding the authenticator's association result in it) {that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links}, to set up, with the single access point apparatus, a plurality of links ([0064] Once the child AP 105 (the IS) receives the Mesh Association Response in 509 from the parent mesh AP 114 with success result, it proceeds to the authentication phase. If the response is negative, a different mesh network and/or parent mesh AP is/are selected in 503. Suppose in 511 the response to the association request is positive, i.e., the received response message includes a success result. The potential child mesh AP 105 proceeds to the mesh backhaul security protocol authentication phase. [0074] - Once the authentication phase is complete and the LWAPP join phase is complete, so that the child mesh AP 105 joins its chosen mesh network 110. [0103] - Suppose Parent mesh AP 912 (P2) also has two identities, e.g., radios identified by BSSID-M and BSSID-N. Again, and the child identities are identified as IS-A and IS-B. Suppose a first link between the parent identity BSSID-M and the child identity IS-A, denoted [IS-A, BSSID-M] is part of the backbone network of the mesh to the root AP and forms a first link. One embodiment allows the mesh network to form an additional second link from child mesh AP 921 to the parent mesh AP 912 using the second respective radio of both the parent and child) {using the different frequencies}.
Rahman does not expressively teaches
controlling to transmit, to an a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request,
set up, with the single access point apparatus, a plurality of links … using the different frequencies
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links.
Gantman teaches
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (FIG. 3, [0038] at messages 1b, the second device 320 may send a probe request and receive a probe response frame from the first device 310. [0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request (FIG. 39, [0039] - At message 3, the second device 320 may send an Association Request frame to establish the first wireless connection),
set up, with the single access point apparatus, a plurality of links … using the different frequencies ([0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ([0039] At message 4, the first device 310 may respond with an Association Response frame to grant the first wireless connection. In some implementations, the association response may also indicate support for reciprocal wireless connections. Furthermore, the association response may include configuration information regarding the establishment of the second wireless connections).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature
controlling to transmit, to an a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request,
set up, with the single access point apparatus, a plurality of links … using the different frequencies
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links, as taught by Gantman in Rahman to support support failover, load balancing, traffic distribution
Regarding claim 16, Pirzada teaches a control method executed by a communication apparatus (FIG. 9 – Parent mesh AP 912), comprising:
{receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards;}
receiving on one of a plurality of frequencies {and after transmitting the Probe Response}, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink . [0060] 1) The child AP 104 as infrastructure supplicant (IS) sends a Mesh Association Request in 507 including its security parameters needed to establish link security with its selected parent node (mesh point), the parent mesh AP 114. [0104] - When the child mesh AP first associates with a controller 901 (C1) via the parent mesh AP 912 to form the first link, it indicates that it wishes to form multiple links to the advertised BSSID-M and BSSID-N using its two identities, e.g., two radios IS-A and IS-B, thus asserting it wishes to use the multiple-identities-key hierarchy. [0046] - In particular, the backhaul radio interface 201 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11a standard in the approximately 5 GHz band, and the access radio interface 203 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11b,g standard in the approximately 2.4 GHz band) indicating that the single other communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple link ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink); and
transmitting, to the other communication apparatus, an Association Response that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards ([0063] - The parent mesh AP 114, as the authenticator's agent, receives the LWAPP Mesh Response and sends a Mesh Association Response encoding the authenticator's association result in it),
after transmitting the Association Response, establishing the plurality of links with the other communication apparatus ([0064] Once the child AP 105 (the IS) receives the Mesh Association Response in 509 from the parent mesh AP 114 with success result, it proceeds to the authentication phase. If the response is negative, a different mesh network and/or parent mesh AP is/are selected in 503. Suppose in 511 the response to the association request is positive, i.e., the received response message includes a success result. The potential child mesh AP 105 proceeds to the mesh backhaul security protocol authentication phase. [0074] - Once the authentication phase is complete and the LWAPP join phase is complete, so that the child mesh AP 105 joins its chosen mesh network 110. [0103] - Suppose Parent mesh AP 912 (P2) also has two identities, e.g., radios identified by BSSID-M and BSSID-N. Again, and the child identities are identified as IS-A and IS-B. Suppose a first link between the parent identity BSSID-M and the child identity IS-A, denoted [IS-A, BSSID-M] is part of the backbone network of the mesh to the root AP and forms a first link. One embodiment allows the mesh network to form an additional second link from child mesh AP 921 to the parent mesh AP 912 using the second respective radio of both the parent and child) {using different frequencies}
Rahman does not expressively teaches
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request,
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies.
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links.
Gantman teaches
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (FIG. 3, [0038] at messages 1b, the second device 320 may send a probe request and receive a probe response frame from the first device 310. [0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request (FIG. 39, [0039] - At message 3, the second device 320 may send an Association Request frame to establish the first wireless connection),
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies ([0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links. ([0039] At message 4, the first device 310 may respond with an Association Response frame to grant the first wireless connection. In some implementations, the association response may also indicate support for reciprocal wireless connections. Furthermore, the association response may include configuration information regarding the establishment of the second wireless connections).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request,
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies.
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links, as taught by Gantman in Rahman to support support failover, load balancing, traffic distribution
Regarding claim 17, Rahman teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program (FIG. 2, [0046]) for causing a communication apparatus (FIG. 9 – Child mesh AP 921) to perform operations comprising:
{controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards};
controlling to transmit on one of a plurality of frequencies {and after receiving the Probe Response}, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information ([0060] 1) The child AP 104 as infrastructure supplicant (IS) sends a Mesh Association Request in 507 including its security parameters needed to establish link security with its selected parent node (mesh point), the parent mesh AP 114. [0104] - When the child mesh AP first associates with a controller 901 (C1) via the parent mesh AP 912 to form the first link, it indicates that it wishes to form multiple links to the advertised BSSID-M and BSSID-N using its two identities, e.g., two radios IS-A and IS-B, thus asserting it wishes to use the multiple-identities-key hierarchy. [0046] - In particular, the backhaul radio interface 201 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11a standard in the approximately 5 GHz band, and the access radio interface 203 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11b,g standard in the approximately 2.4 GHz band) indicating that the communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ; and
controlling, at least after receiving an Association Response that the single access point apparatus transmits as a response to the Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards ([0063] - The parent mesh AP 114, as the authenticator's agent, receives the LWAPP Mesh Response and sends a Mesh Association Response encoding the authenticator's association result in it), {and that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links} to set up with the single access point apparatus, the plurality of links ([0064] Once the child AP 105 (the IS) receives the Mesh Association Response in 509 from the parent mesh AP 114 with success result, it proceeds to the authentication phase. If the response is negative, a different mesh network and/or parent mesh AP is/are selected in 503. Suppose in 511 the response to the association request is positive, i.e., the received response message includes a success result. The potential child mesh AP 105 proceeds to the mesh backhaul security protocol authentication phase. [0074] - Once the authentication phase is complete and the LWAPP join phase is complete, so that the child mesh AP 105 joins its chosen mesh network 110. [0103] - Suppose Parent mesh AP 912 (P2) also has two identities, e.g., radios identified by BSSID-M and BSSID-N. Again, and the child identities are identified as IS-A and IS-B. Suppose a first link between the parent identity BSSID-M and the child identity IS-A, denoted [IS-A, BSSID-M] is part of the backbone network of the mesh to the root AP and forms a first link. One embodiment allows the mesh network to form an additional second link from child mesh AP 921 to the parent mesh AP 912 using the second respective radio of both the parent and child) {using the different frequencies}.
Rahman does not expressively teaches
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request,
set up with the single access point apparatus, the plurality of links… using the different frequencies
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links.
Gantman teaches
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (FIG. 3, [0038] at messages 1b, the second device 320 may send a probe request and receive a probe response frame from the first device 310. [0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request (FIG. 39, [0039] - At message 3, the second device 320 may send an Association Request frame to establish the first wireless connection),
set up with the access point apparatus, the plurality of links… using the different frequencies ([0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ([0039] At message 4, the first device 310 may respond with an Association Response frame to grant the first wireless connection. In some implementations, the association response may also indicate support for reciprocal wireless connections. Furthermore, the association response may include configuration information regarding the establishment of the second wireless connections).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature
controlling to transmit, to a single access point apparatus, a Probe Request, and receive, from the single access point apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request… controlling to transmit… after receiving the Probe Response, to the single access point apparatus, an Association Request,
set up with the access point apparatus, the plurality of links… using the different frequencies
association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links, as taught by Gantman in Rahman to support support failover, load balancing, traffic distribution
Regarding claim 18, Rahman teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program (FIG. 2, [0046]) for causing a communication apparatus (FIG. 9 – Parent mesh AP 912) to perform operations comprising:
{receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards}
receiving, on one of a plurality of frequencies {and after transmitting the Probe Response}, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards and that includes information related to setting up of a plurality of links using respective one of the plurality frequencies ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink [0060] 1) The child AP 104 as infrastructure supplicant (IS) sends a Mesh Association Request in 507 including its security parameters needed to establish link security with its selected parent node (mesh point), the parent mesh AP 114. [0104] - When the child mesh AP first associates with a controller 901 (C1) via the parent mesh AP 912 to form the first link, it indicates that it wishes to form multiple links to the advertised BSSID-M and BSSID-N using its two identities, e.g., two radios IS-A and IS-B, thus asserting it wishes to use the multiple-identities-key hierarchy. [0046] - In particular, the backhaul radio interface 201 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11a standard in the approximately 5 GHz band, and the access radio interface 203 is configured to communicate according to the IEEE 802.11b,g standard in the approximately 2.4 GHz band) indicating that the single other communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links ([0101] the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink);
transmitting, to the single other communication apparatus, an Association Response that is compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards ([0063] - The parent mesh AP 114, as the authenticator's agent, receives the LWAPP Mesh Response and sends a Mesh Association Response encoding the authenticator's association result in it) {and that includes information indicating that the communication apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links}, and
after transmitting the Association Response, establishing the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus ([0064] Once the child AP 105 (the IS) receives the Mesh Association Response in 509 from the parent mesh AP 114 with success result, it proceeds to the authentication phase. If the response is negative, a different mesh network and/or parent mesh AP is/are selected in 503. Suppose in 511 the response to the association request is positive, i.e., the received response message includes a success result. The potential child mesh AP 105 proceeds to the mesh backhaul security protocol authentication phase. [0074] - Once the authentication phase is complete and the LWAPP join phase is complete, so that the child mesh AP 105 joins its chosen mesh network 110. [0103] - Suppose Parent mesh AP 912 (P2) also has two identities, e.g., radios identified by BSSID-M and BSSID-N. Again, and the child identities are identified as IS-A and IS-B. Suppose a first link between the parent identity BSSID-M and the child identity IS-A, denoted [IS-A, BSSID-M] is part of the backbone network of the mesh to the root AP and forms a first link. One embodiment allows the mesh network to form an additional second link from child mesh AP 921 to the parent mesh AP 912 using the second respective radio of both the parent and child) {using different frequencies}.
Rahman does not expressively teaches
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request,
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies.
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links.
Gantman teaches
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (FIG. 3, [0038] at messages 1b, the second device 320 may send a probe request and receive a probe response frame from the first device 310. [0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request (FIG. 39, [0039] - At message 3, the second device 320 may send an Association Request frame to establish the first wireless connection),
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies ([0033] A first wireless connection 231 utilizes the 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11a/b/g/n/ac protocol). A second wireless connection 232 utilizes the 60 GHz spectrum (and an associated protocol such as 802.11ad protocol))
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links. ([0039] At message 4, the first device 310 may respond with an Association Response frame to grant the first wireless connection. In some implementations, the association response may also indicate support for reciprocal wireless connections. Furthermore, the association response may include configuration information regarding the establishment of the second wireless connections).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the feature
receiving, from a single other communication apparatus, a Probe Request, and transmit, to the single other communication apparatus, a Probe Response that is a response to the Probe Request, wherein the Probe Request and the Probe Response are compliant with the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards… receiving… after transmitting the Probe Response, from the single other communication apparatus, an Association Request,
set up the plurality of links with the single other communication apparatus using the different frequencies.
Association Response… that includes information indicating that the single access point apparatus is capable of establishing multiple links, as taught by Gantman in Rahman to support support failover, load balancing, traffic distribution.
Regarding claim 21, Rahman in view of Gantman teaches claim 2 and Rahman further teaches wherein the Association Request includes an information to initiate the establishment of the plurality of links ([0101] – the child mesh AP, when requesting association, announces that it has two identities and is capable of multilink. [0104] - When the child mesh AP