DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a single search can cover all species (see page 9 of Remarks 12/31/2025).
This is not found persuasive since there are four independent species disclosed. A single search, encompassing each species and including mutually exclusive features such as RTIR and TIR prism bracketing as well as alternative bracket embodiments for each specific prism type, would require search terms so broad as to create a serious search burden. Furthermore, the projection apparatus wherein the light-transmitting optical element and the prism group are fixed in the housing as a whole, and the light modulation assembly further includes a second bracket, the second bracket has a planar structure and is disposed in the housing, the second bracket includes: a second body, the light-transmitting optical element being disposed on a first surface of the second body proximate to the digital micromirror device, and the prism group being disposed on a second surface of the second body away from the digital micromirror device, the first surface and the second surface being opposite to each other; and a second through hole disposed on the second body and running through the second body along a thickness direction of the second body, the first laser-exit side of the prism group facing towards the second through hole is not obvious over or anticipated by the projection apparatus wherein the first bracket further includes a first support portion, the first support portion is disposed on the first body, and the first laser inlet side of the prism group abuts against the first support portion wherein the first support portion includes a plurality of blocking blocks that are collinear with each other, the first laser inlet side of the prism group abuts against the plurality of blocking blocks, and the plurality of blocking blocks each are located at edges of the first laser inlet side.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osaka (JP 2018004676 A) in view of Wang (CN 203259766 U).
With respect to claim 1, Osaka discloses a projection apparatus (see fig. 19), comprising: a housing (see fig.19, 60) including a first opening (see the end adjacent to 25) and a second opening (see the opening above 26) ; a laser source (see 2nd para. above Light source using individual light source: “As an individual light source, an LED (Light Emitting Diode), an LD (Laser Diode), or the like can be used.”), a laser-exit side of the laser source facing towards the first opening (see the entrance of 25 in fig.19 ); a projection lens (see the projection lens in 40 of fig.19), a laser inlet side (see the opening above 26 in fig.19) of the projection lens facing towards the second opening (see the opening above 26); and a light modulation assembly (see at least 26 in fig.19) disposed in the housing, the light modulation assembly including: a prism group (see 26 in fig.19) disposed in the housing, a second laser-exit side of the prism group facing towards the second opening (see the top side of 26 in fig.19), and an orthogonal projection of the laser inlet side of the projection lens (see the side of the projection lens of 40 which faces the opening above 26) on the prism group being within a region where the second laser-exit side of the prism group is located (see the configuration of 26 and the opening above); a digital micromirror (30) device fixed with the housing (see the contiguous structure of fig.19 in turning operation (see arrow) which demonstrates “fixed with housing”), a reflecting surface of the digital micromirror device facing towards a first laser-exit side of the prism group (see the arrangement of 30 and 26 in fig.19).
Osaka does not explicitly disclose a lens group disposed in the housing, a laser inlet side of the lens group facing towards the first opening; a prism group disposed in the housing, a laser-exit side of the lens group facing towards a first laser inlet side of the prism group, and a light-transmitting optical element disposed in the housing and located between the digital micromirror device and the prism group, the first laser-exit side and a second laser inlet side of the prism group being a same side and facing towards the light-transmitting optical element.
Wang discloses a lens group (5 in fig.2) disposed on the prism, a -exit side of the lens group facing towards a first inlet side of the prism group (see 5 in relation to 6 in fig.2), and a light-transmitting optical element (7a) and located between the digital micromirror device (7B) and the prism group (6), the laser-exit side and a second laser inlet side of the prism group being a same side (see the structure of the bottom of 6) and facing towards the light-transmitting optical element (see 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Osaka with the teaching of Wang so that a lens group disposed in the housing, a laser inlet side of the lens group facing towards the first opening; a prism group disposed in the housing, a laser-exit side of the lens group facing towards a first laser inlet side of the prism group, and a light-transmitting optical element disposed in the housing and located between the digital micromirror device and the prism group, the first laser-exit side and a second laser inlet side of the prism group being a same side and facing towards the light-transmitting optical element to compactly facilitate control of the light beam and to protect the modulator by providing a protective light transmitting optical element.
With respect to claim 2, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, Osaka discloses wherein a main optical axis (see the axis of symmetry of 40 in fig.19) of the projection lens is perpendicular to a first plane where the second laser-exit side of the prism group is located (see the top side of 26 in fig.19 and a plane on an exit side of 26, perpendicular to the optical axis of the lenses of 40).
With respect to claim 3, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, Osaka discloses wherein a second plane (see the plane wherein the DMD 30 is located) where the digital micromirror device is located is parallel to a third plane where the first laser-exit side of the prism group is located (see the DMD adjacent laser-exit side of the prism group of fig.19).
With respect to claim 4, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, Osaka in combination with Wang discloses wherein a fourth plane where the light-transmitting optical element (see 7a of Wang) is located is parallel to a second plane where the digital micromirror device is located (see the location of 7b with respect to 7a in fig.2 of Wang).
With respect to claim 5 and 6, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the digital micromirror device and the first laser-exit side of the prism group is less than or equal to 10 mm, wherein the distance between the digital micromirror device and the first laser-exit side of the prism group is equal to 6.6 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical engine of Osaka in view of Wang so that a distance between the digital micromirror device and the first laser-exit side of the prism group is less than or equal to 10 mm, wherein the distance between the digital micromirror device and the first laser-exit side of the prism group is equal to 6.6 mm, since it would predictable make the projection system more compact and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claim 7, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, Osaka discloses wherein the prism group includes a total internal reflection prism (see prism 26), and a third plane where the first laser- exit side of the prism group is located is parallel to a first plane where the second laser-exit side is located (see the top and bottom surfaces of 26 in fig.19).
With respect to claim 8, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 7, Osaka discloses wherein the prism group includes a first prism and a second prism (see 26 which is a total refection prism formed by joining two triangular prisms: see fourth para. from description of embodiments: “The illumination optical system 20 includes a first relay lens 21 and a second relay lens 22 that guide the illumination light, and a mirror 23 that bends the direction of the illumination light that is guided. The illumination optical system 20 also includes a third relay lens 24 and a fourth relay lens 25 that guide the illumination light reflected by the mirror 23 to the total reflection prism 26. The total reflection prism 26 is formed by joining two triangular prisms, reflects the illumination light introduced and irradiates the DMD 30, and emits the reflected light from the DMD 30 to the outside. ”); a first surface (see the side surface of the bottom prism) of the first prism is the first laser inlet side of the prism group, a second surface of the first prism is the first laser-exit side and the second laser inlet side of the prism group (see the bottom surface of the bottom prism in fig.19), a first surface of the second prism is the second laser-exit side of the prism group (see the top side surface of the second prism in fig.19); and a third surface (see the central part of the two triangular prisms in fig.19) of the first prism is attached to a second surface of the second prism facing towards the first prism (see the joined prisms in fig.19).
With respect to claim 9, Osaka in view of Wang the projection apparatus according to claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the prism group and the light-transmitting optical element is substantially 1.1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical engine of Osaka in view of Wang so that a distance between the prism group and the light-transmitting optical element is substantially 1.1 mm, since it would predictably make the projection system more compact and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osaka (JP 2018004676 A) in view of Wang (CN 203259766 U) and Shie (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0191245).
With respect to claims 11 ,12 and 17, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the light-transmitting optical element and the prism group each are independently fixed in the housing, and the light modulation assembly further includes: a fixing plate fixed in the housing, the light-transmitting optical element being disposed on the fixing plate; and a first bracket disposed in the housing, the prism group being disposed on the first bracket, wherein the first bracket includes: a first body; a limiting member connected with the first body, the limiting member being configured to fix the prism group on the first body, so as to limit the prism group; and a first through hole running through the first body along a thickness direction of the first body, the first laser-exit side of the prism group facing towards the first through hole, wherein the first bracket further includes a plurality of first protrusions, the plurality of first protrusions are not all linear, and surfaces of the plurality of first protrusions in contact with the prism group are substantially coplanar, and the prism group is disposed on the plurality of first protrusions.
Shie discloses wherein the light-transmitting optical element (see 136) and the prism group (138 in fig.4) each are independently fixed in the housing (see wherein 136 which is fixed by 132b; see 138 which is fixed by 132a and 132c ), and the light modulation (122 in fig.3) assembly further includes: a fixing plate (see 133) fixed in the housing, the light-transmitting optical element (136) being disposed on the fixing plate (133); and a first bracket (132c2) disposed in the housing, the prism group (138 in fig.4) being disposed on the first bracket (132c2), wherein the first bracket includes: a first body (see the triangular body of 132c and 132a); a limiting member (see 132c2) connected with the first body, the limiting member being configured to fix the prism group on the first body (see the operation of 132c in fig.4; see para.[0030]: “The platform portion 132c further has a recess 132c3 on the supporting surface 132c1, the recess 132c3 is configured to accommodate an adhesive, and the light guide element 138 is adhered to the platform portion 132c by the adhesive.”), so as to limit the prism group; and a first through hole (see the hole in 132a) running through the first body along a thickness direction of the first body (see direction of the optical axis), the first -exit side of the prism group facing towards the first through hole (see the bottom of 138), wherein the first bracket further includes a plurality of first protrusions (see the protrusions of 132c1), the plurality of first protrusions are not all linear (see their triangular arrangement in fig.4), and surfaces of the plurality of first protrusions in contact with the prism group are substantially coplanar (see arrangement in fig.4 of 132c1), and the prism group is disposed on the plurality of first protrusions (see fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Osaka in view of Wang with the teaching of Shie so that the light-transmitting optical element and the prism group each are independently fixed in the housing, and the light modulation assembly further includes: a fixing plate fixed in the housing, the light-transmitting optical element being disposed on the fixing plate; and a first bracket disposed in the housing, the prism group being disposed on the first bracket, wherein the first bracket includes: a first body; a limiting member connected with the first body, the limiting member being configured to fix the prism group on the first body, so as to limit the prism group; and a first through hole running through the first body along a thickness direction of the first body, the first laser-exit side of the prism group facing towards the first through hole, wherein the first bracket further includes a plurality of first protrusions, the plurality of first protrusions are not all linear, and surfaces of the plurality of first protrusions in contact with the prism group are substantially coplanar, and the prism group is disposed on the plurality of first protrusions to enhance the stability of the optical engine.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osaka (JP 2018004676 A) in view of Wang (CN 203259766 U) and Dong (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0384146 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Osaka in view of Wang discloses the projection apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the housing has a fourth through hole facing towards the second opening, the digital micromirror device is fixed outside the housing, and a portion of the digital micromirror device extends into the fourth through hole, so that the reflecting surface of the digital micromirror device faces towards an inside of the housing.
Dong discloses the housing has a fourth (see the hole in fig.2a) through hole facing towards the second opening (see where 1 is located fig.2a), the digital micromirror device (DMD in fig.2a) is fixed outside the housing, and a portion of the digital micromirror device (DMD in fig.2a) extends into the fourth through hole, so that the reflecting surface of the digital micromirror device faces towards an inside of the housing (see the position of the DMD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Osaka in view of Wang with the teaching of Dong so that the housing has a fourth through hole facing towards the second opening, the digital micromirror device is fixed outside the housing, and a portion of the digital micromirror device extends into the fourth through hole, so that the reflecting surface of the digital micromirror device faces towards an inside of the housing to enhance cooling of the optical engine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 14, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the projection apparatus according to claim 1, the light-transmitting optical element and the prism group each are independently fixed in the housing, and the light modulation assembly further includes: a fixing plate fixed in the housing, the light-transmitting optical element being disposed on the fixing plate; and a first bracket disposed in the housing, the prism group being disposed on the first bracket, wherein the first bracket includes: a first body; a limiting member connected with the first body, the limiting member being configured to fix the prism group on the first body, so as to limit the prism group; and a first through hole running through the first body along a thickness direction of the first body, the first laser-exit side of the prism group facing towards the first through hole, wherein the first bracket further includes a first support portion, the first support portion is disposed on the first body, and the first laser inlet side of the prism group abuts against the first support portion.
The closest prior art of record, Shie, discloses wherein the light-transmitting optical element (see 136) and the prism group (138 in fig.4) each are independently fixed in the housing (see wherein 136 which is fixed by 132b; see 138 which is fixed by 132a and 132c ), and the light modulation (122 in fig.3) assembly further includes: a fixing plate (see 133) fixed in the housing, the light-transmitting optical element (136) being disposed on the fixing plate (133); and a first bracket (132c2) disposed in the housing, the prism group (138 in fig.4) being disposed on the first bracket (132c2), wherein the first bracket includes: a first body (see the triangular body of 132c and 132a); a limiting member (see 132c2) connected with the first body, the limiting member being configured to fix the prism group on the first body (see the operation of 132c in fig.4; see para.[0030]: “The platform portion 132c further has a recess 132c3 on the supporting surface 132c1, the recess 132c3 is configured to accommodate an adhesive, and the light guide element 138 is adhered to the platform portion 132c by the adhesive.”), so as to limit the prism group; and a first through hole (see the hole in 132a) running through the first body along a thickness direction of the first body (see direction of the optical axis), the first -exit side of the prism group facing towards the first through hole (see the bottom of 138), wherein the first bracket further includes a plurality of first protrusions (see the protrusions of 132c1), the plurality of first protrusions are not all linear (see their triangular arrangement in fig.4), and surfaces of the plurality of first protrusions in contact with the prism group are substantially coplanar (see arrangement in fig.4 of 132c1), and the prism group is disposed on the plurality of first protrusions (see fig.3) but does not disclose the light-transmitting optical element and the prism group each are independently fixed in the housing, and the light modulation assembly further includes: a fixing plate fixed in the housing, the light-transmitting optical element being disposed on the fixing plate; and a first bracket disposed in the housing, the prism group being disposed on the first bracket, wherein the first bracket includes: a first body; a limiting member connected with the first body, the limiting member being configured to fix the prism group on the first body, so as to limit the prism group; and a first through hole running through the first body along a thickness direction of the first body, the first laser-exit side of the prism group facing towards the first through hole, wherein the first bracket further includes a first support portion, the first support portion is disposed on the first body, and the first laser inlet side of the prism group abuts against the first support portion.
Claims 15 and 16 are allowable as they depend from allowed claims.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882