DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to claims 1-11 and 16-17 in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving member,” “first engagement member,” and “second engagement member,” in claim 1.
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the “driving member”:
The generic place holder, “member,” is identified as a replacement for the generic “means for,” and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“member” is modified by the functional language “driving.” The generic placeholder is set forth by the function it performs.
A lack of sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation.
Thus, claim 1 and dependent claims 2-11 (by virtue of dependency) are given the broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the specifications to mean: “an externally threaded portion” which engaged with an internally threaded portion, wherein rotation of the driving members moves the internally threaded portion, drawing support from applicant’s specification, p. 7 para. 0028.
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the “first engagement member”:
The generic place holder, “member,” is identified as a replacement for the generic “means for,” and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“member” is modified by the functional language “engagement.” The generic placeholder is set forth by the function it performs.
A lack of sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation.
Thus, claim 1 and dependent claims 2-11 (by virtue of dependency) are given the broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the specifications to include: an internally threaded aperture with a plurality of tabs for engagement to the second engagement member (specification, para. 0031).
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the “second engagement member”:
The generic place holder, “member,” is identified as a replacement for the generic “means for,” and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“member” is modified by the functional language “engagement.” The generic placeholder is set forth by the function it performs.
A lack of sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation.
Thus, claim 1 and dependent claims 2-11 (by virtue of dependency) are given the broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the specifications to include: a platform which supports the dispensable product and engagement arms for engaging the first engagement member (specification, paras. 0033, 0034 and fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakoshi et al . (US 20070147948 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murakoshi discloses a container system, comprising:
a case member (main body cylinder 2) extending between a first end and an opposite second end and including a hollow interior (hollow interior which accommodates solid paste 4, refer to fig 1);
a driving member (screw rod 5) rotatable relative to the case member (para. 0059);
a first engagement member (slider 7) engaged with the driving member (para. 0059); and
a second engagement member (solid paste receiving member 8) positionable in the hollow interior of the case member (refer to fig. 1) and configured to engage with a dispensable material positionable in the hollow interior (para. 0060);
wherein the first engagement member and the second engagement member are configured to releasably engage with one another (refer to para. 0060, wherein the slider and receiving member detachably engage) in an arrangement where rotation of the driving member relative to the case member moves the first engagement member and the second engagement member in the hollow interior relative to the case member (paras. 0059 and 0060, wherein both the receiving member and slider move along guide ridge 6 towards the outlet).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the first engagement member includes an internally threaded aperture (part 9) configured to receive and engage with the driving member (para. 0061).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the first engagement member includes one or more arms extending therefrom (refer to the annotated figure below),
the one or more arms being configured to engage with the case member to prevent rotation of the first engagement member in the hollow interior (engages with guide ridge 6, refer to fig. 1 and the annotated figure below).
It is the examiner position that the feature above corresponds to the guide ridge for preventing rotation of the first engagement part (slider 7, paras. 0059-60). Since the driving member is fully inserted within the case member when the first and second engagement member are in the retracted position (see fig. 1), the arms engaged with the guide ridge of the case member are essential to oppose rotational forces of the driving member, such that the first and second engagement members translate towards the dispensing end of the device.
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the first engagement member includes an engagement platform (upper surface of engaging holes 14) positioned about a central aperture (refer to the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 4, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the second engagement member includes a number of engagement arms (at least one locking piece 21) extending therefrom and configured to engage with the engagement platform of the first engagement member (paras. 0070-0071 and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 5, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the second engagement member further includes a number of spacing arms (at least one guide locking piece 20) configured to engage with the first engagement member (via at least one rearward converging groove 12) and maintain a predefined spacing of the first engagement member relative to the second engagement member (refer to the annotated figure below)
when the first engagement member is engaged with the second engagement member (para. 0069-0071, wherein the guide locking pieces ensure a correct orientation and spacing necessary for proper engagement of the first and second engagement members).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 6, Murakoshi further discloses wherein at least one engagement arm is positioned on opposite sides of each of the number of spacing arms (refer to the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 5, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the first engagement member includes one or more arms (refer to the annotated figure below)
extending therefrom and configured to engage with the case member to prevent rotation of the first engagement member in the hollow interior upon rotation of the driving member (engages with guide ridge 6, refer to fig. 1 and the annotated figure below).
It is the examiner position that the feature above corresponds to the guide ridge for preventing rotation of the first engagement part (slider 7, paras. 0059-60). Since the driving member is fully inserted within the case member when the first and second engagement member are in the retracted position (see fig. 1), the arms engaged with the guide ridge of the case member are essential to oppose rotational forces of the driving member, such that the first and second engagement members translate towards the dispensing end of the device.
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the first engagement member includes a pair of elongated and convexly rounded portions (outer peripheral surface 10a, fig. 3) and the second engagement member includes a pair of spaced engagement arms (two of the axial guide locking pieces 20) configured to receive and engage with the convexly rounded portions (para. 0069).
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Murakoshi further discloses wherein the first engagement member includes a pair of elongated and convexly rounded portions (two of the outer peripheral surface 10a) and the second engagement member includes a number of engagement arms (axial guide locking pieces 20) configured to receive and engage with the convexly rounded portions (para. 0069).
Regarding claim 16, Murakoshi discloses a method, comprising: providing a container system including: a case member extending between a first end and an opposite second end (main body cylinder 2, refer to fig. 1) and including a hollow interior (hollow interior which accommodates solid paste 4, refer to fig 1); a driving member (screw rod 5 with integrally formed tail wheel 3) engaged with and rotatable relative to the case member (engaged with case member via integrally formed wheel 3, paras. 0058-0059 and 0068); and a first engagement member (slider 7) engaged with the driving member (via part 9, paras. 0059 and 0061); and positioning a dispensable material (solid paste 4, para. 0058, 0060, and 0078) including a second engagement member (solid paste receiving member 8) engaged therewith in the hollow interior of the case member (via guide groove 6, paras. 0059-0060) with the first engagement member releasably engaged with the second engagement member (para. 0060).
Regarding claim 17, in addition to the limitations of claim 16, Murakoshi further discloses rotating the driving member relative to the case member to move the first engagement member, the second engagement member and the dispensable material in the hollow interior relative to the case member (paras. 0059-0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thulin et al. (US 9265327 B2) for separable first and second engagement members and Quimenton et al. (WO 2009009849 A1) for the inclusion of first and second engagement members with engagement arms.
/CHRISTOPHER S. PARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754