DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-16, 19, 23-25, 27, 29-30, 32, and 37-41 are pending. Claims 7, 9, 17-18, 20-22, 26, 28, 31, and 33-36 are cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8, and 37-41 are under current examination. Claims 10-16, 19, 23-25, 27, 29-30, and 32 are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Objections and Rejections
All objections and rejections of claims 7, 20, and 21 are moot because the claims are cancelled in the amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026.
All objections to claims 2-6 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026.
All rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) pertaining to claims 2, 5, and 6 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026.
All non-statutory double patenting rejections over U.S. Patent No. 6,231,605 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 6/29/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-5, 8, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinclair (WO2020131513, publication year: 2020).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, Sinclair teaches hydrogel compositions that comprise a polysaccharide and polyzwitterionic component (Claim 1). The polyzwitterionic component that may include hydrophilic repeat units of polyvinyl alcohol (Claim 7). The hydrogel composition may be used to provide materials or products with non-Newtonian behavior such as pseudoplastic and Bingham plastic properties [00146]. In some embodiments, the hydrogel composition may be used to provide an injectable or spreadable material for biomedical applications, particularly in applications requiring non-Newtonian fluid properties and high biocompatibility, such as injectable or spreadable materials capable of mechanical support, such as those used in reconstructive surgery, blood vessel prostheses, skin repair devices, cochlear replacements, injectable vitreous substances, artificial cartilage, artificial fat, collagen mimics and other soft tissue-mimics or supports [00150]. The hydrogel composition may further comprise an aqueous liquid [00133].
Claim 1 is a product-by-process claim. According to MPEP 2113: product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art”; therefore, the Examiner considers the teaching of Sinclar to read on the limitations of the instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Sinclair teaches that the hydrogel composition may be used to provide materials or products with non-Newtonian behavior such as shear thinning (pseudoplastic) and Bingham plastic properties [00146].
Regarding claim 3, Sinclair teaches that the hydrogel composition may be included in packaged product comprising a syringe loaded with the hydrogel composition and a needle [00137].
Regarding claim 4, Sinclair teaches that the composition may be transferred or injected into a casting mold prior to UV-crosslinking [00113]. The composition may be expected to create a supportive tissue-mimetic structure after injection or implantation in the human body [00127].
Regarding claim 5, Sinclair teaches that the polyzwitterionic component may have a molecular weight of 1 to about 10,000 [0011].
Regarding claim 8, Sinclair teaches that the network structure may be supplemented or blended with one or more additives of cosmetic or therapeutic utility [0016].
Regarding claim 37, Sinclair teaches that the syringe comprising the hydrogel composition may be packaged or fitted with a needle of any size that is appropriate for injecting the hydrogel into the soft tissue of interest, such as a needle with about a 25, 27, or 30 gauge [00137].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Sinclair does not teach a single embodiment or example meeting all limitation of the invention of claims 1-5, 8, and 37.
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Within the broader scope of Sinclair all of the limitations of the invention of claims 1-5, 8, and 37 are met. It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to choose the limitations in the instant claims from those disclosed by Sinclair and arrive at this conclusion because such was contemplated by Sinclair.
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinclair (WO2020131513, publication year: 2020), as applied to claims 1-5, 8, and 37 above, and further in view of Ku (U.S. Patent No. 6,231,605, issue year: 2001, cited in the IDS filed 10/12/2023, of record).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 38 and 39, Sinclair teaches that the polyzwitterionic component may have a molecular weight of 1 to about 10,000 [0011].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 38, and 39, Sinclair does not teach a molecular weight of the polyvinyl alcohol within the range embraced by the instant claims . However, this deficiency is cured by Ku.
Ku teaches a non-dehydrated polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) hydrogel construct which is capable of being molded into a number of shapes, and which is capable of retaining a wide range of mechanical strengths for various applications (col. 2 lines 32-37). The hydrogel tissue replacement construct is especially useful in surgical and other medical applications as an artificial material for replacing and reconstructing soft tissues in humans and other mammals (col. 3 lines 11-14). The molecular weight of the polyvinyl alcohol can be chosen depending upon the particular application envisioned for the hydrogel. Generally, increasing the molecular weight of the polyvinyl alcohol increases the tensile strength and tensile stiffness, and thereby improves the properties of constructs such as vascular grafts, wherein increased strength is desirable. In other applications, lower molecular weight polyvinyl alcohol can be employed because lower tensile strength and lower tensile stiffness are desirable (col. 5 lines 1-13).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding the molecular weight of polyvinyl alcohol as specified in claims 38 and 39, MPEP 2144.05 states:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Ku teaches that the molecular weight of polyvinyl alcohol present in hydrogel compositions has a direct effect on the tensile strength of the composition. The Applicants' specification provides no evidence that the selected molecular weight ranges in claims 38 and 39 was not due to routine optimization and/or that the results should be considered unexpected compared to the prior art. Due to the direct effect of molecular weight on the tensile strength of the hydrogel composition, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine these teachings and alter the molecular weight based on the desired properties of the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the molecular weight as this could be expected to be advantageous for achieving the desired tensile strength of the final composition.
Claims 6, 40, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinclair (WO2020131513, publication year: 2020), as applied to claims 1-5, 8, and 37 above, and further in view of Gaaz et. al. (Molecules, pg. 22833-22847; publication year: 2015).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 6, 40, and 41, Sinclair teaches the relevant limitations of claim 1 above.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 6, 40, and 41, Sinclair does not teach a degree of hydrolysis of the polyvinyl alcohol. However, this deficiency is cured by Gaaz.
Gaaz teaches that the hydrolysis levels of PVA range from what is considered a typical value of 80% to reach more than 99%. Nearly fully hydrolyzed forms result in forming PVA hydrogels with tunable properties through crosslinking the linear polymers, which subsequently result in polymer (gel)-fluid (sol) species. Polymer contents affect the physical status of the resulting material: low polymer content results in a soft material because the fluid moves freely through the matrix, whereas a higher polymer content results in considerably stiffening or strengthening of the material’s matrix (pg. 22835, 2. Chemical Structure of PVA).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
The degree of hydrolysis of polyvinyl alcohol is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal degree of hydrolysis in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous physical characteristics of the hydrogel. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Gaaz teaches that an increased degree of hydrolysis of PVA yields a hydrogel with increased stiffening or strengthening of the material’s matrix. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the degree of hydrolysis, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the degree of hydrolysis would have a direct effect on the stiffness and strength of the hydrogel and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections over Porter have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner has relied on Ku in the new grounds of rejection for teachings that were not specifically challenged in the arguments, specifically regarding the relationship between PVA molecular weight and tensile strength. Thus, the arguments over Ku in the reply filed 6/29/2026 are moot.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617