DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-12, 15-20, 24-27, 29-30, 32-34, 36-37 and 39 are pending as of the response filed 06/01/2026. Claims 13-14, 21-23, 28, 31, 35 and 38 are cancelled. Claim 39 is newly added. Applicant’s election of Group II claims and a species of cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione, as glutathione monoethyl ester is maintained. Claims 1-8 and 37 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 9-12, 15-20, 24-27, 29-30, 32-34, 36 and 39 are examined herein.
The claim objections of previous record are either rendered moot in view of the cancellation of the objected claims or are overcome in consideration of the claim amendments. The objections are hereby withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of previous record is hereby withdrawn in consideration of the claim amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections of previous record are hereby withdrawn in consideration of the claim amendments.
Applicant’s remarks have been fully considered. In view of the pending claims, the following new rejections are made necessitated by the claim amendments. The new rejections address all the limitations of the amended claims.
Claim Interpretation
In instances where the claims recite multiple effected treatments as a result of administering the at least one injectable formulation of claim 9, the method is interpreted to require only one of said multiple options to be taught by the prior art. Moreover, the recitation of “and/or” is interpreted to require only one of said recited options to be taught by the prior art to satisfy the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - New
Claims 9, 11-12, 15-18, 24-27, 29-30, 33-34, 36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage (US 2016/0151443 A1, publication date 02 June 2016) in view of Nagasawa et al. (US 2012/0295855 A1, publication date 22 November 2012, hereinafter Nagasawa) as evidenced by Cacciatore et al. (Prodrug Approach for Increasing Cellular Glutathione Levels, published 03 March 2010, hereinafter Cacciatore, in the IDS).
Regarding instant claims 9 and 11, Gage teaches a method of treating a condition or conditions caused by damage to cells by a process of oxidative stress and glutathione depletion by administering reduced glutathione monoethyl ester (i.e., a prodrug of glutathione and the instantly elected species of a cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione) through injection or intravenous infusion (Abstract; Paras. [0009]-[0010]). Gage teaches the reduced glutathione monoethyl ester may be prepared according to known pharmaceutical standards and processed into a fluid solution for intravenous infusion or injection. Gage teaches the dose may be further diluted at the time of administration with about 10 ml NS to a total volume of about 20 ml, which may be infused intravenously over about a 20 minute interval (i.e., diluted from a concentrated solution) (Para. [0023]). Gage teaches diseases and conditions pathophysiologically related to oxidative stress and glutathione deficiency that may be treated using the method to include amyotrophic lateral sclerosis and major trauma (Para. [0027]).
Cacciatore evidences that esters of GSH are particularly effective in restoring mitochondrial GSH and provides neuroprotection against oxidative stress or chronic mitochondrial impairment (Pg. 1248, second paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that the GSH ester prodrugs (including the glutathione monoethyl ester), in which the carboxyl group of the glycine residue is esterified, are thought to be more lipophilic than GSH, sufficiently so to be taken up intact by cells, and have been shown to rapidly raise intracellular GSH levels (i.e., act as cell membrane permeable agents) (Pg. 1248, second paragraph).
According to MPEP 2112.01(II), "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In the instant case, the reduced glutathione monoethyl ester, by virtue of its inherent property is a cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione (Cacciatore also evidences this property of glutathione monoethyl ester).
Gage do not explicitly teach a continuous intravenous infusion.
Nagasawa teaches methods for reducing oxidative stress in a cell, increasing glutathione levels in a cell, by contacting a cell with a glutathione prodrug (Abstract). Nagasawa teaches the prodrug can be formulated as pharmaceutical compositions and administered to a subject, such as a human subject in a variety of forms adapted to the chosen route of administration, including intravenous, as a continuous infusion (Para. [0044]; Claim 42]).
According to MPEP 2144.05(II)(A), "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In the instant case, given the teachings of Gage and Nagasawa, it is prima facie obvious to select a suitable treatment regimen, say continuous intravenous infusion, to exert the intended therapeutic effect, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa render obvious the method of instant claims 9 and 11 (wherein the cell membrane permeable prodrug is a glutathione ester).
Regarding instant claim 12, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches the dosage for injection or intravenous infusion may be administered as a single dose or over multiple dosings in a day (Para. [0022]). This renders obvious the at least two or more injections of said at least one injectable formulation of an al least one membrane permeable prodrug, prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 15, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches the methods treat a condition caused by damage to cells by a process of oxidative stress (Para. [0002]; Para. [0010]; Para. [0027]). Therefore, it renders obvious the limitation of treating cellular damage from oxidation and/or effects of stress.
Regarding instant claim 17, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) as a condition related to oxidative stress and glutathione deficiency being treated with the methods (Para. [0027]). Cacciatore evidences that ALS is a condition in which thiol chemistry is altered (Pg. 1245, third full paragraph). Therefore, the method of Gage in view of Nagasawa when carried out in treating a subject with ALS, will result in treating a thiol sensitive disorder. Moreover, Gage teaches the methods treat cirrhosis and other inflammatory states of the liver (i.e., a hepatic disease) (Para. [0027). Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 24, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches glutathione is vital to combating oxidative stress in cells (Para. [0002]). Gage teaches the methods treat a condition caused by damage to cells caused by oxidative stress and glutathione depletion (Para. [0010]). Nagasawa teaches methods for reducing oxidative stress in a cell by administering a glutathione prodrug, that increases the glutathione levels in the cell, thereby reducing the oxidative stress in the cell (Para. [0018]). Therefore, the method of Gage in view of Nagasawa when carried out in treating a subject with ALS, will inherently result in treating at least one of DNA, lipid or protein oxidative damage, because the only target for oxidative damage inside the cells is one of the biomolecules - DNA, lipid or protein. This is evidenced by Cacciatore (Pg. 1245, third full paragraph – which states “Oxidative stress can cause cellular damage, and ROS oxidizes critical cellular components such as membrane lipids, proteins, and DNA, thereby inducing apoptosis”). Therefore, the limitations of claim 24 are rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 27, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches glutathione is vital to combating oxidative stress in cells (Para. [0002]). Gage teaches the methods cause amelioration of the side effects of chemotherapy and radiation therapy of cancer treatment (i.e., toxicity associated with chemotherapy or radiation therapy) (Para. [0027]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 27 are rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claim 29, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage does not explicitly teach wherein administering the at least one injectable formulation causes changes in nitric oxide levels or bioavailability, nitric oxide signaling, or a combination thereof .
Nagasawa teaches methods for reducing oxidative stress in a cell by administering a glutathione prodrug, that increases the glutathione levels in the cell, thereby reducing the oxidative stress in the cell (Para. [0018]). Nagasawa teaches the methods include treating a condition caused by poor utilization of nitric oxide by the administration of a prodrug of glutathione (Para. [0030]).
According to MPEP 2112.02 (II), “The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 154, 163 {(CCPA 1957}. However, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the “use’” is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated”. In re May, S74 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPO 601, 607 (CCPA 1978). In the instant case, Gage in view of Nagasawa render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Therefore, it only naturally flows that the method of Gage in view of Nagasawa when carried out in treating a subject with ALS, will result in changes in nitric oxide levels/bioavailability OR nitric oxide signaling. Therefore, the limitations of claim 29 are rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claims 33-34 and 36, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches glutathione is vital to combating oxidative stress in cells (Para. [0002]). Gage teaches the methods treat viral infection, sepsis, septic shock, heavy metal toxicity, organic poison toxicity (Para. [0025]; Para. [0027]) or retroviral infections (Para. [0013]). Therefore, the limitations of instant claims 33-34 are rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding instant claims 16, 18, 25-26 and 30, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches glutathione is vital to combating oxidative stress in cells and the cell death that is a consequence of such stress (Para. [0002]).
The limitations of claims 16, 18, 25-26 and 30, with respect to
wherein the administering the at least one injectable formulation to treat, prevent, or reduce aging and or symptoms of aging; treats, reduces, or prevents oxidative damage associated with aging; increases levels of glutathione that decline with age; or a combination thereof; wherein the mitochondrial disease is associated with aging;
wherein the administering the at least one injectable formulation to treats or reduces symptoms associated with inborn errors of metabolism and/or enzyme deficiency and/or enzyme inefficiency in at least one enzyme selected from glutamate cysteine ligase, glutathione synthase, cystathionine-beta-synthase, cystathionase, methionine synthase, or a combination thereof;
wherein the administering the at least one injectable formulation increases DNA repair, enhances healing from a wound or injury, reduces cellular apoptosis, reduces impaired fertility, or a combination thereof;
wherein the administering the at least one injectable formulation to repairs or restores mitochondrial function and or mitochondrial respiration; and/or increases the number of mitochondria; and/or treats at least one mitochondrial disease and/or improves a redox imbalance thereof;
wherein administering the at least one injectable formulation protects neurons, nerves, and/or the brain;
are related to the treatment effects obtained by the sole step of administering the at least one injectable formulation to a subject afflicted with say, ALS, TBI mitochondrial disease or a combination thereof. Gage teaches a method of treating a condition or conditions caused by damage to cells by a process of oxidative stress and glutathione depletion by administering reduced glutathione monoethyl ester (i.e., a prodrug of glutathione and the instantly elected species of a cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione) through injection or intravenous infusion. Gage teaches the conditions treated using the methods to include amyotrophic lateral sclerosis and major trauma. Nagasawa render the use of a continuous intravenous infusion prima facie obvious. Therefore, it only naturally flows that the method of Gage in view of Nagasawa when carried out in treating a subject with ALS would have necessarily resulted in the intended treatment benefits.
According to MPEP 2112.02 (II), “The discovery of a new use for an old structure based on unknown properties of the structure might be patentable to the discoverer as a process of using. In re Hack, 245 F.2d 246, 248, 114 USPQ 154, 163 {(CCPA 1957}. However, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the “use’” is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated”. In re May, S74 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPO 601, 607 (CCPA 1978).
Moreover, Cacciatore evidences that the role of glutathione (GSH) in human disease is seen in a multitude of pathologies in individuals with inborn deficiencies of specific enzymes of GSH metabolism (Pg. 1245, second paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that in humans, an inherited deficiency of the enzymes of the γ-glutamyl cycle leads to reduced production of GSH, frequently associated with mitochondrial dysfunction (Pg. 1245, second paragraph). Cacciatore evidences reduced GSH levels as a common feature of aging as well as of a wide range of pathologies, including neurodegenerative disorders (Pg. 1245, second paragraph; Pg. 1247, second – third paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that esters of GSH are particularly effective in restoring mitochondrial GSH and provides neuroprotection against oxidative stress or chronic mitochondrial impairment (Pg. 1248, second paragraph).
Therefore, the limitations of instant claims 25-26 and 30, are held unpatentable.
Regarding instant claim 39, Gage teaches a method of treating a condition or conditions caused by damage to cells by a process of oxidative stress and glutathione depletion by administering reduced glutathione monoethyl ester (i.e., a prodrug of glutathione and the instantly elected species of a cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione) through injection or intravenous infusion (Abstract; Paras. [0009]-[0010]). Gage teaches the reduced glutathione monoethyl ester may be prepared according to known pharmaceutical standards and processed into a fluid solution for intravenous infusion or injection. Gage teaches the dose may be further diluted at the time of administration with about 10 ml NS to a total volume of about 20 ml, which may be infused intravenously over about a 20 minute interval (i.e., diluted from a concentrated solution) (Para. [0023]). Gage teaches diseases and conditions pathophysiologically related to oxidative stress and glutathione deficiency that may be treated using the method to include amyotrophic lateral sclerosis and major trauma (Para. [0027]).
Cacciatore evidences that the role of glutathione (GSH) in human disease is seen in a multitude of pathologies in individuals with inborn deficiencies of specific enzymes of GSH metabolism (Pg. 1245, second paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that in humans, an inherited deficiency of the enzymes of the γ-glutamyl cycle leads to reduced production of GSH, frequently associated with mitochondrial dysfunction (Pg. 1245, second paragraph). Cacciatore evidences reduced GSH levels as a common feature of aging as well as of a wide range of pathologies, including neurodegenerative disorders (Pg. 1245, second paragraph; Pg. 1247, second – third paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that esters of GSH are particularly effective in restoring mitochondrial GSH and provides neuroprotection against oxidative stress or chronic mitochondrial impairment (Pg. 1248, second paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that the GSH ester prodrugs (including the glutathione monoethyl ester), in which the carboxyl group of the glycine residue is esterified, are thought to be more lipophilic than GSH, sufficiently so to be taken up intact by cells, and have been shown to rapidly raise intracellular GSH levels (i.e., act as cell membrane permeable agents) (Pg. 1248, second paragraph).
According to MPEP 2112.01(II), "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In the instant case, the reduced glutathione monoethyl ester, by virtue of its inherent property is a cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione (Cacciatore also evidences this property of glutathione monoethyl ester).
Gage do not explicitly teach a continuous intravenous infusion or that the subject with ALS necessarily had enzyme ineffectiveness, enzyme deficiency, and/or enzyme inefficiency in at least one enzyme selected from the group consisting of glutamate cysteine ligase, glutathione synthase, cystathionine-beta-synthase cystathionase, methionine synthase, or a combination thereof.
Nagasawa teaches methods for reducing oxidative stress in a cell, increasing glutathione levels in a cell, by contacting a cell with a glutathione prodrug (Abstract). Nagasawa teaches the prodrug can be formulated as pharmaceutical compositions and administered to a subject, such as a human subject in a variety of forms adapted to the chosen route of administration, including intravenous, as a continuous infusion (Para. [0044]; Claim 42]).
Cacciatore makes it clear that the key enzymes involved in the synthesis of GSH in vivo include γ-glutamylcysteine synthetase (GCS) and GSH synthetase (GS) (Pg. 1243, first full paragraph, Scheme 1). GCS is glutamate cysteine ligase, as evidenced by Para. [0007] of the instant specification. Cacciatore makes it clear that altered GSH metabolism is seen in a multitude of pathologies in individuals with inborn deficiencies of specific enzymes of GSH metabolism and reduced GSH levels are implicated in neurodegenerative disorders, including ALS (Pg. 1245, second paragraph – third paragraph). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to apply the method of Gage in view of Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, to treating subjects having an enzyme ineffectiveness, enzyme deficiency, and/or enzyme inefficiency in at least one enzyme selected from the group consisting of glutamate cysteine ligase, glutathione synthase, cystathionine-beta-synthase cystathionase, methionine synthase, or a combination thereof, with a reasonable expectation of success in treating the condition.
According to MPEP 2144.05(II)(A), "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." In the instant case, given the teachings of Gage and Nagasawa, it is prima facie obvious to select a suitable treatment regimen, say continuous intravenous infusion, to exert the intended therapeutic effect, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 39 (wherein the cell membrane permeable prodrug is a glutathione ester).
Claims 10 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage (US 2016/0151443 A1, publication date 02 June 2016) in view of Nagasawa et al. (US 2012/0295855 A1, publication date 22 November 2012, hereinafter Nagasawa) as applied to claims 9, 11-12, 15-18, 24-27, 29-30, 33-34, 36 and 39 above, and further in view of Zeevalk et al. (Characterization of intracellular elevation of glutathione (GSH) with glutathione monoethyl ester and GSH in brain and neuronal cultures: Relevance to Parkinson's disease, 17 October 2006, hereinafter Zeevalk, in the IDS).
The teachings of Gage in view of Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore are set forth in the obviousness rejection above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding instant claims 10 and 32, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage teaches the glutathione monoethyl ester raises intracellular glutathione levels (Para. [0016]). Gage and Nagasawa do not teach wherein intracellular glutathione levels are increased by more than 1%; further comprising administering the at least one injectable formulation via delivery into cerebral spinal fluid, into the skull, into the brain, or a combination thereof.
Zeevalk teaches a neurodegenerative disease, Parkinson's disease (PD) is associated with loss of total glutathione (GSH) which may contribute to progressive cell death (Abstract). Zeevalk teaches administration of the monoethyl ester of GSH (GEE) (i.e., the instantly elected species of cell membrane permeable prodrug), but not GSH (1–10 mM, 24 h) produced a dose-dependent elevation in GSH (Abstract; Figure 1) (comparison of Figure 1A versus 1B indicates glutathione monoethyl ester significantly elevates intracellular glutathione (GSH) levels by roughly 150% to over 300% depending on concentration). Zeevalk teaches elevation of GSH with GEE protected neurons from oxidative stress (Abstract). Zeevalk teaches rats were administered 0.1-50 mg/kg/day GEE via a cannula placed into the left cerebral ventricle (icv) for 28 days (Abstract) (i.e., delivered directly to the brain and the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) system, which satisfies the limitations of instant claim 32). Zeevalk concludes that the ethyl ester of GSH but not GSH per se can elevate intracellular GSH, that brain elevation of GSH requires central delivery of the ethyl ester and that this elevation provides neuroprotection against oxidative stress or chronic mitochondrial impairment (Pg. 519, second column, last paragraph). Cacciatore evidences that PD and ALS share a common pathway of mitochondrial dysfunction leading to slow progressive neuronal death (Pg. 1245, third paragraph).
Given the teachings of Gage, Nagasawa and Zeevalk, as evidenced by Cacciatore, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer the injectable formulation via delivery into the cerebrospinal fluid, with a reasonable expectation of success in increasing intracellular glutathione levels by more than 1%.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage (US 2016/0151443 A1, publication date 02 June 2016) in view of Nagasawa et al. (US 2012/0295855 A1, publication date 22 November 2012, hereinafter Nagasawa) as applied to claims 9, 11-12, 15-18, 24-27, 29-30, 33-34, 36 and 39 above, and further in view of Cuenod et al. (US 2009/0297494 A1, 03 December 2009, hereinafter Cuenod, of previous record).
The teachings of Gage in view of Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore are set forth in the obviousness rejection above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding instant claim 19, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 18. Gage and Nagasawa do not teach further comprising gene/genetic sequencing or detecting genetic mutations in, and/or measuring levels of, and/or measuring levels of activity of, one or more enzymes involved in and/or related to the metabolism of cysteine, glutamylcysteine, glutathione, or a combination thereof.
Cuenod relates to neurological dysfunction associated disorders such as Schizoprenia (Abstract). Cuenod teaches the expression of genes and activity of proteins involved in regulating the intracellular glutathione (GSH) level and/or GSH oxidative stress-related gene expression as well as plasmatic levels of amino acids are perturbed in patients affected by Schizophrenia (Para. [0010]). Cuenod teaches determining the presence of at least one polymorphism and/or at least one combination of polymorphisms of at least one copy of a gene involved in regulating the intracellular glutathione (GSH) level and/or GSH-oxidative stress-related gene expression in a human being, especially genes encoding glutamate-cysteine ligase (GCL), and glutathione synthetase (GSS) will help the diagnosis of a mental disorder or a predisposition therefor (Abstract; Para. [0013]; Para. [0228]).
Given the teachings of Gage, Nagasawa and Cuenod as evidenced by Cacciatore, it would have been prima facie obvious to assess the expression of genes and activity of proteins involved in regulating the intracellular glutathione GSH levels, glutathione-related enzymes through genetic sequencing and activity measurement in order to diagnose predisposition and/or progression of a disorder. The motivation being to screen for modulators of the disorder, thereby aiding in effective treatments (Cuenod, Para. [0011]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage (US 2016/0151443 A1, publication date 02 June 2016) in view of Nagasawa et al. (US 2012/0295855 A1, publication date 22 November 2012, hereinafter Nagasawa) as applied to claims 9, 11-12, 15-18, 24-27, 29-30, 33-34, 36 and 39 above, and further in view of Meister (US 4,710,489 A, date of patent 01 December 1987, in the IDS).
The teachings of Gage in view of Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore are set forth in the obviousness rejection above and incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding instant claim 20, the combined teachings of Gage and Nagasawa as evidenced by Cacciatore, render obvious the method of instant claim 9. Gage and Nagasawa do not teach further comprising measuring levels of one or more of cysteine, glutamylcysteine, reduced glutathione, oxidized glutathione, and/or metabolites thereof, in whole blood, blood plasma, blood cells, and/or tissue samples; before said administration, during said administration, after said administration, or a combination thereof, of said at least one injectable formulation of an at least one cell membrane permeable prodrug of glutathione.
Meister teaches a method for increasing intracellular glutathione levels by administering an alkyl monoester of glutathione in animals whereby said ester is transported into said cells and hydrolyzed intracellularly to glutathione (Col. 3, Lns. 14-26; Claim 1). Meister teaches the ester to be an ethyl monoester of glutathione (Claim 1; Claim 3) (i.e., the instantly elected species of cell membrane permeable prodrug). Meister teaches one can monitor glutathione level in the patient or use other parameters of effectiveness depending on the nature of the toxicity being treated (“monitor” is construed as measuring the levels before, during, and after treatment to assess the therapeutic efficacy, or the impact of interventions) (Col. 5, Lns. 14-16).
Given the teachings of Gage, Nagasawa and Meister, as evidenced by Cacciatore, it would have been prima facie obvious to monitor glutathione level in the patient. The motivation being to assess the therapeutic efficacy or the impact of interventions.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Gemili (US 2022/ 0016062 A1, 20 January 2022) teaches a powder formulated for reconstitution in a liquid to form a nutritional product for oral administration (Para. [0034]; Para. [0084]) that comprises amino acids that serve as precursors to the production of glutathione (Para. [0045]). Gemili teaches the compositions replenish glutathione pools (Para. [0040]), specifically intracellular GSH levels (Para. [0122]). Gemili teaches achieving at least one result selected from the following - reducing severity and/or incidence of effects of aging; supporting at least one of normal mitochondrial function; treating, reducing incidence of, or reducing severity of another condition associated with oxidative stress and/or reduced GSH (e.g., aging and its effects such as skin aging); promoting rehabilitation from injury, illness or surgery, for example rehabilitation specific to neurological conditions such as traumatic brain injury or stroke; modulating glutathione levels in a patient having cancer or in remission from cancer, etc. comprising administering to an individual an effective amount of said formulation (Para. [0111]). Gemili teaches treating conditions that include, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (also known as ALS and as Lou Gehrig's disease) ([0078]) and traumatic brain injury (Para. [0024]; Para. [0099]; Para. [0111]).
Gemili does not explicitly teach formulating an injectable composition. However, while Gemili exemplifies an oral nutritional composition, Gemili does not exclude formulations for other routes of administration. Gemili teaches pharmaceutical compositions that comprise appropriate pharmaceutically acceptable carriers or diluents, that may be formulated into preparations in solid, semi-solid, liquid or gaseous forms (Paras. [0132]-[0133]).
Conclusion
Claims 9-12, 15-20, 24-27, 29-30, 32-34, 36 and 39 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PADMAJA S RAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627