DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 1/18/2024, 1/23/2024, and 10/24/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/4/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 2/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mao et al. (2019/0206054), hereinafter Mao.
Regarding claim 1, Mao discloses, in figures 1, 5, and 9, a method for characterizing floaters (paragraph 0022) comprising: receiving, by a computing device, one or more images of a patient's eye (100, capture fundus image, paragraph 0027 and 902, horizontal image of a retina, paragraph 0040); identifying, by the computing device, one or more shaded regions (104, identify ROI, region of interest, paragraph 0027 and 904, identify ROI from the horizontal retina image, paragraph 0040) in the one or more images (paragraphs 0027 and 0040); processing, by the computing device, the one or more shaded regions to obtain one or more (ROI, regions of interest) measurements of the one or more shaded regions (906, measurements of the ROI locations) (paragraph 0040); and processing, by the computing device, the one or more measurements using a machine learning model to obtain an estimated clinical significance of floaters in the patient's eye (908, the data from the measurements and imaging are analyzed and reported; paragraph 0040 and paragraph 0027 discloses machine learning system produces an output (e.g., a retinopathy) based on an input image (e.g., a fundus image of the eye) can be used to identify regions of the image (and correspondingly, the eye) having an abnormality that likely caused the machine learning system to output the particular retinopathy associated with the abnormality).
Regarding claim 2, Mao discloses wherein the one or more measurements include a size of each of the one or more shaded regions (paragraph 0004 discloses the area size of the ROI and paragraph 0042 discloses limiting scan area of the ROI; which mean a smaller area size).
Regarding claim 3, Mao discloses wherein the one or more measurements include a contrast of each of the one or more shaded regions (paragraph 0037 discloses variations in color shade, hue with some regions having a darker shade).
Regarding claim 4, Mao discloses wherein the one or more images include a series of frames (paragraph 0022 discloses multimodal imaging systems capable of taking multiple images).
Regarding claim 9, Mao discloses wherein the one or more images include images from one of a scanning laser ophthalmoscope (SLO) and an optical coherence tomography (OCT) microscope (paragraph 0022 discloses OCT imaging).
Regarding claim 10, Mao discloses wherein the estimated clinical significance of the floaters in the patient's eye comprises a selection from a set of possible output categories (paragraphs 0024 , 0027-0028, and 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (20019/0206054), hereinafter Mao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laksono et al. (2015/0279418), hereinafter Laksono.
Regarding claim 5, Mao discloses all the limitations in common with claim 1, and such is hereby incorporated.
Mao does not disclose wherein the one or more measurements include a direction of movement of each of the one or more shaded regions.
Laksono discloses wherein the one or more measurements include a direction of movement of each of the one or more shaded regions (paragraph 0035 discloses fovea tracking to determine regions of interest).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Mao with the measurements of Laksono for the purpose of to determining regions of interest.
Regarding claim 6, Laksono discloses wherein the direction of movement indicates only movement toward or away from a fovea of the patient's eye (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 7, Laksono discloses wherein the one or more measurements include a location of each of the one or more shaded regions relative to a fovea of the patient's eye (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 8, Mao discloses wherein the one or more images include a series of video frames (paragraph 0028 discloses a convolution neural network; which is a image and video recognition); and wherein the one or more measurements include all of: a size of each of the one or more shaded regions (paragraph 0004 discloses the area size of the ROI and paragraph 0042 discloses limiting scan area of the ROI; which mean a smaller area size); a contrast of each of the one or more shaded regions (paragraph 0037 discloses variations in color shade, hue with some regions having a darker shade).
Mao does not disclose a direction of movement of each of the one or more shaded regions; and a location of each of the one or more shaded regions relative to a representation of a fovea of the patient's eye in the one or more images.
Laksono discloses a direction of movement of each of the one or more shaded regions (paragraph 0035 discloses fovea tracking to determine regions of interest); and a location of each of the one or more shaded regions relative to a representation of a fovea of the patient's eye in the one or more images (paragraph 0035).
Conclusion
/BRANDI N THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872