DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks, filed 05/12/2026, with respect to claims 1, 4-8, 9, 12-17, and 18 as currently amended have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang et al reference (US 20210266955 A1). Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 19, & 20 were cancelled by the previous amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 9, 12-17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al reference (US 20210266955 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10, Yang discloses a method and system for sending message (msg) 1 in a random access procedure, wherein the msg 1 is used to indicate that the terminal requires repeated transmission of msg 3 ( Para [0046] describes the terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss ... The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1. Para [0087] further describes the terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition ... The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1. Para [0141] further mentions the terminal and the base station ... [network] notifies the terminal to perform Msg3 repetition."); receiving a random access response or scheduling information of the random access response, wherein a repetition number of the msg 3 is indicated in the random access response or the scheduling information of the random access response (Yang discloses that the terminal receives RAR information or DCI scrambled by RA-RNTI / TC-RNTI, and that information includes the number of Msg3 repetitions. See Para [0010], RAR information or DCI scrambled by TC-RNTI, where the RAR or the DCI scrambled by the TC-RNTI includes number of Msg3 repetitions. See Para [0064] there is a first bit field that is used for indicating the repetition number of msg3. See Para [0119] , the base station transmits a RAR and corresponding DCI 1-0 ... to configure the parameter ... for Msg3 repetition ...See Para [0148] the base station sends a RAR and DCI 1-0 ... to schedule the terminal to perform Msg3 repetition); and wherein the random access response comprises a first bit field, the first bit field comprises a random access response scheduling grant (RARgrant) field, and the RARgrant field is used for indicating the repetition number of msg 3 (See Para [0064], there is a first bit field ... in the RAR message format, and the first bit field is used for indicating the repetition number of msg 3. Exemplarily, the first bit field includes: bits in the random access response scheduling grant field (RARgrant). It further explains that the RARgrant field can indicate repetition number via the CSIrequest field via partial bits of the PUSCH frequency resource allocation field, or via combinations of those bits.)
Regarding claims 4, 12, Yang further teaches wherein the msg 1 is further used to indicate at least one of following information: a channel quality of the terminal; and a repetition number of msg 3 expected by the terminal (See [0086], a trigger condition for Msg3 repetition based on the reference signal received power (RSRP)/reference signal received quality (RSRQ)/path loss. Para [0087] describes the terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss. Para [0108] says if the terminal detects that the signal quality of all SSBs is lower than the threshold value T0).
Regarding claims 5, 13, Yang further teaches wherein: random access channel resource used by the msg 1 is a resource in a first random access channel resource; and the first random access channel resource is a random access channel resource used when the repeated transmission of the msg 3 is required (Yang teaches Yang reference repeatedly discloses that, when Msg3 repetition is involved the terminal may use a new Msg1 resource, the resource may be based on a selected SSB number plus Msg1-related parameters, and there is a normal Msg1 resource versus a Msg3 repetition-related Msg1 resource. See various Paragraphs [0097], [0098], [0099], [0102], [0116], [0146], [0148] for the relevant teaching).
Regarding claims 6, 14, Yang further teaches the random access channel resource used by the msg 1 is a resource, in the first random access channel resource, corresponding to the channel quality of the terminal; and different random access channel resources in the first random access channel resource correspond to different channel qualities; or at least two random access channel resources in the first random access channel resource correspond to different channel qualities (See Para [0087] for the terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss. The terminal requests an Msg3 repetition from the base station through the Msg1. Para [0088]-[0091] for the first threshold value TO is used for selecting an SSB that satisfies the signal quality requirement for the Msg3 repetition. Para [0107]-[0109] for the terminal detects the signal quality RSRP of each SSB and determines whether to request Msg3 repetition. Para [0116] for the terminal selects an SSB with signal quality greater than the first threshold value T0 and transmits the Msg1 on the corresponding Msg1 time-frequency resource. Para [0099] for an Msg1 resource (preamble and RO) configured in the random access procedure of Msg3 repetition may be further divided into a plurality of small sets based on size of the Msg3 transport block. Para [0102]-[0105] for mappings may be specified between Msg1 preamble set / RACH occasion resource and SSB threshold value T0.)
Regarding claims 7, 16, Yang further teaches a random access preamble used by the msg 1 is a preamble in a first random access preamble group; and the first random access preamble group is a random access preamble group used when the repeated transmission of the msg 3 is required (See Para [0097] for the Msg1-related parameter includes a candidate PRACH preamble set. Para [0098] for … if the terminal needs to perform a random access procedure of Msg3 repetition, it needs to transmit the Msg1 according to new Msg1 parameters (preamble set and RO parameter). Para [0102] for Msg1 preamble set and/or random access channel occasion (RACH occasion, RO) resource . Para [0109]-[0116] for the terminal selects an SSB with signal quality greater than the first threshold value TO ... and transmits the Msg1 on the corresponding Msg1 time-frequency resource.)
Regarding claims 8, 17, the random access preamble used by the msg 1 is a preamble, in the first random access preamble group, corresponding to the channel quality of the terminal; and different random access preambles in the first random access preamble group correspond to different channel qualities; or at least two random access preambles in the first random access preamble group correspond to different channel qualities (See Para "[0097] for the Msg1-related parameter includes a candidate PRACH preamble set. Para [0098] for ... if the terminal needs to perform a random access procedure of Msg3 repetition, it needs to transmit the Msg1 according to new Msg1 parameters (preamble set and RO parameter). Para [0102]-[0106] for Msg1 preamble set and/or random access channel occasion (RACH occasion, RO) resource ... mappings may be specified through a system message. Para [0087] for the terminal determines whether to trigger an Msg3 repetition based on RSRP/RSRQ/path loss . Para [0108] for ... if the terminal detects that the signal quality of all SSBs is lower than the threshold value T0. Para [0116] for the terminal selects an SSB with signal quality greater than the first threshold value T0 and transmits the Msg1 on the corresponding Msg1 time-frequency resource. Para [0090]-[0091] for using threshold values ... for SSB selection.)
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464