DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamimura, U.S. Patent No. 11,350,198, patented on May 31, 2022 (Kamimura).
As to Claim 1, Kamimura discloses an earphone housing comprising: a main body [1, 2]; and an inserter [13] extending from the main body [1, 2] and configured to be inserted into an outer ear hole [Ea] of an ear (col. 4, lines 61-63), wherein the main body [1] includes a bottom surface [21, 23] and a side surface [11a, 11b] that are configured to contact a surface of a cavum concha of the ear (see Fig. 7A), wherein the side surface [11a, 11b] includes a first region [11a, 11b] configured to contact a side wall [Eb1] of an antihelix [Eb] of the ear (see Fig. 7A), and wherein the first region [11a, 11b] includes a protrusion [22] configured to contact an inner side [Eb2] of the antihelix [Eb] (see Fig. 7A).
As to Claim 3, Kamimura remains as applied above to Claim 1. Kamimura further discloses that the bottom surface [21, 23] of the main body [1, 2] is elliptically shaped (see Fig. 4).
As to Claim 6, Kamimura discloses an earphone comprising: a main body [1, 2]; an inserter [13] extending from the main body [1, 2] and configured to be inserted into an outer ear hole [Ea] of an ear (col. 4, lines 61-63); and an earpiece [3] covering the inserter [13], wherein the main body [1] includes a bottom surface [21, 23] and a side surface [11a, 11b] that are configured to contact a surface of a cavum concha of the ear (see Fig. 7A), wherein the side surface [11a, 11b] includes a first region [11a, 11b] configured to contact a side wall [Eb1] of an antihelix [Eb] of the ear (see Fig. 7A), and wherein the first region [11a, 11b] includes a protrusion [22] configured to contact an inner side [Eb2] of the antihelix [Eb] (see Fig. 7A).
As to Claim 7, Kamimura remains as applied above to Claim 6. Kamimura further discloses that the inserter [13] includes a nozzle [13b], and the earpiece [3] is replaceable and shrouds over the nozzle [13b] (col. 3, lines 46-47; see Fig. 3).
As to Claim 8, Kamimura remains as applied above to Claim 7. Kamimura further discloses that the nozzle [13b] extends outwardly from a side of the bottom surface [21, 23] of the main body [1, 2] (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura, U.S. Patent No. 11,350,198, patented on May 31, 2022 (Kamimura), in view of Forrest et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,722,828, filed on November 17, 2021 (Forrest).
As to Claim 9, Kamimura remains as applied above to Claim 6. Kamimura does not explicitly disclose a user interface disposed on an outer side of the main body. However, providing a user interface on an earphone in such a manner was well known. Forrest discloses an earphone [2] similar to Kamimura, comprising a user interface [8] disposed on an outer side of the main body [4] (there is a button [8] on the outer side of main body [4]; col. 9, lines 30-31; see Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, to incorporate a user interface on the outer side of the main body, in the earphone disclosed by Kamimura, for the added functionality of user control of playback.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 2 recites the unique features of the main body including a second region located opposite to the first region, and the second region contacts a tragus of the ear. Claim 5 recites the unique feature of a height of the protrusion gradually reducing from the bottom surface toward an outer surface opposite to the bottom surface. The closest prior art does not disclose or suggest such features.
Conclusion
/RYAN ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694