DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iannelli (2022/0093345 A1) in view of Pham (Dopant-free novel hole-transporting materials based on quinacridone dye for high-performance and humidity-stable mesoporous perovskite solar cells).
Regarding claims 1-4, Iannelli discloses (See Fig. 1) a composite material comprising:
a film comprising a metal halide perovskite (120 [0039] methylammonium lead trihalide), the film having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; and a coating comprising a p-type hole transport layer (115 [0048][0049]), wherein the coating at least partially coats the first side of the film (perovskite and hole transport layer are in direct contact and therefore one coats other).
Iannelli discloses a listing of hole transport materials and one of the hole transport materials can comprise quinacridone ([0049]).
Quinacridone has the following structure:
Pham discloses that using quinacridone material which have a skeleton of QA leads to a low-lying highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) level, which minimizes the energy offset between the valence band maximum of perovskite and the HOMO of the hole-transporting layer. This increases the open-circuit voltage (Voc) and ultimately the efficiency of PSCs (perovskite solar cells) (see Introduction, pg. 5316, left hand column, first paragraph).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to choose the quinacridone material out of the listing of materials for a hole transporting material of Iannelli because as disclosed by Pham hole transporting materials with this skeleton increase the open-circuit voltage (Voc) and ultimately the efficiency of PSCs (perovskite solar cells).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Iannelli discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iannelli discloses that the perovskite film can have a range of 200 nm to 2 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 7, modified Iannelli discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Iannelli discloses that the perovskite layer is applied to the hole transport layer through a solution based method ([0103]).
Therefore, the perovskite layer will complete coat the hole transport layer and vice-versa since it is applied through a solution based method.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Iannelli discloses (See Fig. 1) a composite material comprising:
a film comprising a metal halide perovskite (120 [0039] methylammonium lead trihalide), the film having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; and a coating comprising a p-type hole transport layer (115 [0048][0049]), wherein the coating at least partially coats the first side of the film (perovskite and hole transport layer are in direct contact and therefore one coats other).
Iannelli discloses a listing of hole transport materials and one of the hole transport materials can comprise quinacridone ([0049]).
Quinacridone has the following structure:
Pham discloses that using quinacridone material which have a skeleton of QA leads to a low-lying highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) level, which minimizes the energy offset between the valence band maximum of perovskite and the HOMO of the hole-transporting layer. This increases the open-circuit voltage (Voc) and ultimately the efficiency of PSCs (perovskite solar cells) (see Introduction, pg. 5316, left hand column, first paragraph).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to choose the quinacridone material out of the listing of materials for a hole transporting material of Iannelli because as disclosed by Pham hole transporting materials with this skeleton increase the open-circuit voltage (Voc) and ultimately the efficiency of PSCs (perovskite solar cells).
Iannelli discloses that the perovskite film can have a range of 200 nm to 2 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claims 8, 9, 12 and 13, modified Iannelli discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Iannelli discloses that a hole transporting layer (115 [0052][0049]) on a perovskite layer (120) can consist of quinacridone ([0049]).
With regards to the limitation of claims 8, 9, 12, and 13 which includes wherein the quinacridone is derived from a derivative of quinacridone and wherein the derivative is di-tert-butyl-7, 14-dioxo-7, 14-dihydroquinolino[2,3-b ]acridine-5,12-dicarboxylate and wherein the derivative structure is discloses in claims 12 and 13, this is considered a product-by-process limitation. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen (Fully solution processed p-i-n organic solar cells with an industrial pigment – Quinacridone).
Chen discloses that a p-type quinacridone layer used in a solar cell can be formed from solution based deposition of a quinacridone derivative, namely Tert-butoxycarbonyl quinacridone which is annealed. Tert-butoxycarbonyl quinacridone has the same structure as disclosed in claims 12 and 13.
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726