DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-11, is/are filed on 10/2/23 are currently pending. Claim(s) 10-11 is/are withdrawn, 1-9 is/are rejected.
Election-Restrictions
The applicant elected group 1 corresponding to claims 1-9 in the reply filed 11/17/2025. Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed.
Applicants argue there is no search or examination burden because, applicant believes all the claims are in the same overlapping class. However, this not found persuasive. There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species the inventions required a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries even though the inventions are classified together) (refer MPEP 808.02). Moreover, in this case the method and apparatus have separate classification as noted in the restriction, thereby employing a search burden. This restriction is made final.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all apparatus claims of US 20230098200 A1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) of US 20230098200 A1 substantially correspond to claims 1-2, 5-7 of instant application because each of claims of the instant application are broader version the patent. Instant claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1. Instant claim 2 is anticipated by reference claim 3. Instant claim 5 is anticipated by reference claim 6. Instant claim 6 is anticipated by reference claim 7. Instant claim 7 is anticipated by reference claim 8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 and dependent claim(s) thereof is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 4 recites the limitation ‘wherein the shut off valve spring is located in a blind cavity outside of the path of fluid flow through the assembly’. It is unclear what is meant by a blind cavity. For interpretation, it means any cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur (US 20030127384 A1) in view of Pall (US 3262563 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kapur teaches a filter assembly comprising: a manifold (2) having a fluid inlet (3) and a fluid outlet (4); a filter housing (13); a filter medium (12) within the filter housing (13), the filter medium (12) defining an inner filter chamber (chamber inside filter 12) and defining an outer filter chamber (chamber between 12 and 13) between the filter medium (12) and the filter housing (13), the filter housing being removably attached to the manifold so as to provide a fluid flow path from the inlet into the inner filter chamber, through the filter medium into the outer chamber and out of the outlet (intended use); and the filter housing (13) being removably attached to the manifold (2) so as to provide a fluid flow path from the inlet (3) into the inner filter chamber (chamber inside filter 12), through the filter medium (12) into the outer chamber (chamber between 12 and 13) and out of the outlet (4); and a valve assembly mounted inside the manifold (2), the valve assembly comprising a shut off valve piston (8) and a shut off valve spring (18) arranged in engagement with the valve piston (8) to bias the valve piston (8) into a first position; an adaptor ring (19) located between the shut off valve piston (8) and the filter housing (13) and provided with an annular outlet seal (19); wherein the shut off valve piston (8) is provided with a radially extending flange (flange laterally extending out of valve 8) and an inner piston wall configured such that as the filter housing (13) is being detached from the manifold (2), the shut off valve spring (18) expands to move the shut off valve piston (8) to a shut off position whereby the piston flange (flange laterally extending out of valve 8) is in sealing engagement with the adaptor ring (19) and the outlet seal (19), and the inner piston wall is in sealing engagement with inlet seals (19) such that flow from the fluid inlet (3) and the fluid outlet (4) is shut off from entering the filter housing (13); a bypass channel (ports 31) between the fluid inlet (3) and the fluid outlet (4) [0019-0028].
Kapur utilizes a bypass valve 30 maintained in engagement with valve seat 32 by spring 18, which opens under differential pressure to allow bypass flow. Kapur does not teach disk spring. Pall teaches a disk spring (83) as a bypass relief valve in a filter assembly. As modified with Kapur, Pall would teach positioned across the bypass channel (passage 5) such that, in its default state, the disk spring (83) extends across the bypass channel (passage 5) to prevent flow from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet via the bypass channel (passage 5) and wherein, when the pressure differential across the disk spring (83) exceeds a predetermined threshold, the disk spring (83) deforms to open the bypass channel (passage 5) and allow the flow of fluid from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet via the bypass channel (passage 5) (C7/62 to C8/1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disk spring bypass of Kapur with the filter assembly of Pall to provide an alternative solution to ensure that fluid is always provided until the filter material is replaced, as the disk spring offers a well-known alternative to a shut-off valve sitting in a valve seat to prevent unwanted damage to the filter assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Kapur does not teach the wherein the outlet seal is a lip seal. However, lip seals are a standard, well-known components. Choosing a lip seal over another seal type (like a simple gasket or O-ring) to address a known sealing issue is often considered a basic and routine engineering decision, not an inventive leap (see at least US 7469906 B2, item 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the lip seal of US 7469906 B2 with the filter assembly of Kapur to provide enhanced bidirectional sealing under pressure, as lip seals offer flexible engagement and improved leak prevention in fluid systems compared to standard annular seals and provide low insertion force, high removal force, prevention of accidental detachment, accommodation for greater sealing protrusion.
Regarding claim 3, Kapur teaches a cap ring (20) mounted to the top of the filter housing (13
Regarding claim 4, Kapur teaches the shut off valve spring (18) is located in a blind cavity (cavity/space inside 18) outside of the path of fluid flow through the assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Kapur teaches further comprising: a supply chamber (chamber of 22) between the fluid inlet and the inner filter chamber.
Regarding claim 6, Kapur teaches further comprising: a supply channel (channel of 10) fluidly connecting the supply chamber and the inner filter chamber.
Regarding claim 7, Kapur teaches further comprising: an outlet chamber between the outer filter chamber (11) and the fluid outlet.
Regarding claim 8, Kapur teaches further comprising sealing means (seal between threaded engagement at 15 and 16 – shown in fig. 1) between the manifold and the filter housing.
Regarding claim 9, Kapur teaches a fuel filter (45) arranged between a fuel supply (49) and a fuel application (not shown but implicit) and comprising the filter assembly as claimed in claim 1, the inlet arranged to be connected to the fuel supply and the outlet arranged to be connected to the fuel application [0001, 0028-0029]. Note, the term fuel is material worked upon. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777