DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumazaki et al. (US 20180254600 A1) in view of Ohkubo (US 20090274963 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumazaki discloses
A laser system (narrowband laser apparatus, figs.1, 27) connectable to an exposure apparatus (exposure apparatus 4, fig.1), comprising:
a spectrometer (first etalon spectrometer 18, second etalon spectrometer 19, figs.1, 27) configured to acquire a measurement waveform from an interference pattern of laser light output from the laser system (narrowband laser apparatus, figs.1, 27) [Par.0066 cited: “…first etalon spectrometer 18 may be used for measuring the wavelength of each pulse P of the pulsed laser beam. PL…”]; and
a processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) configured to calculate a convolution spectrum waveform using the measurement waveform and a first intermediate function obtained through a process of deconvolution of an aerial image function of the exposure apparatus (exposure apparatus 4) with an instrument function (device function I(λ), Par.0110) of the spectrometer (first etalon spectrometer 18, second etalon spectrometer 19) [Par.0110 cited: “…deconvolution processor 32 may perform deconvolution processing on the observed spectral waveform O(A) with the device function I(λ) stored in the device function storage 22a …”].
However Komazaki does not disclose the aerial image function is a function expressing a pattern projected onto a photosensitive substrate in the exposure apparatus by the exposure apparatus.
Okubo discloses an aerial image function (aerial image 40, fig.1) is a function expressing a pattern projected onto a photosensitive substrate (sensor 50, fig.1) [Abstract cited: “…measurement apparatus which illuminates a pattern positioned on an object plane to form an aerial image 40 on an image plane…”] in an exposure apparatus (measurement apparatus 100, fig.1) by the exposure apparatus (measurement apparatus 100) [Par.0107 cited: “…signal SS1 which is close to the actual aerial image can be measured by referring to slit transmission characteristics previously stored or by calculating the slit transmission characteristics by a computer to perform a recovery process such as a deconvolution…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the process of deconvolution of a function of Komazaki, by using an aerial image function is a function expressing a pattern projected onto a photosensitive substrate in the exposure apparatus by the exposure apparatus, as taught by Okubo, in order to improve the quality of aerial image.
Regarding claim 2, Kumazaki discloses
a storage medium (device function storage 22a, fig.1) in which the first intermediate function is stored, wherein the first intermediate function is a result of deconvolution of the aerial image function with the instrument function (device function I(λ), Par.0110), and the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) reads the first intermediate function from the storage medium (device function storage 22a) and calculates the convolution spectrum waveform by convolution of the first intermediate function and the measurement waveform [Par.0110 cited: “…deconvolution processor 32 may perform deconvolution processing on the observed spectral waveform O(A) with the device function I(λ) stored in the device function storage 22a …”].
Regarding claim 3, Kumazaki discloses
the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) calculates the result as the first intermediate function and stores the first intermediate function in the storage medium (device function storage 22a, fig.1) [Par.0110 cited: “…deconvolution processor 32 may perform deconvolution processing on the observed spectral waveform O(A) with the device function I(λ) stored in the device function storage 22a …”].
Regarding claim 4, Kumazaki discloses
a storage medium (device function storage 22a, fig.1) in which the first intermediate function is stored, wherein the first intermediate function is a function obtained by performing Fourier transform on a result of deconvolution of the aerial image function with the instrument function (device function I(λ), Par.0110), and the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) reads the first intermediate function from the storage medium (device function storage 22a), calculates a second intermediate function obtained by performing Fourier transform on the measurement waveform, calculates a product of the first intermediate function and the second intermediate function, and calculates a convolution spectrum waveform by performing inverse Fourier transform on the product [Par.0110 cited: “…deconvolution processor 32 may perform deconvolution processing on the observed spectral waveform O(A) with the device function I(λ) stored in the device function storage 22a …”].
Regarding claim 5, Kumazaki discloses
the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) calculates the result, calculates the first intermediate function by performing Fourier transform on the result, and stores the first intermediate function in the storage medium (device function storage 22a, fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, Kumazaki discloses
the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) performs Fourier transform on the measurement waveform using fast Fourier transform and performs inverse Fourier transform on the product using fast inverse Fourier transform [Par.0089 cited: “…second etalon spectrometer 19 is used for measuring the spectral linewidth while the first etalon spectrometer 18 is used for measuring the center wavelength…”].
Regarding claim 7, Kumazaki discloses
the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) receives the aerial image function from the exposure apparatus (exposure apparatus 4, fig.1).
Regarding claim 8, Kumazaki discloses
the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) further calculates a line width of the convolution spectrum waveform [Par.0100 cited: “…center wavelength calculator 21a may calculate the center wavelength from the interference pattern data without converting the interference pattern data to a spectral waveform that represents the light intensity and the wavelength…”].
Regarding claim 9, Kumazaki discloses
the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) receives a target value of the line width from the exposure apparatus (exposure apparatus 4, fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Kumazaki discloses
an adjustment mechanism (output coupler 60, fig.27), wherein the processor (deconvolution processor 32, fig.5) controls the adjustment mechanism (output coupler 60) based on the line width.
Regarding claim 11, Kumazaki discloses
a laser resonator (rear mirror 63, fig.27), wherein the adjustment mechanism (output coupler 60, fig.27) includes a wavefront adjuster (high rejection mirrors 61, 62, fig.27) arranged on an optical path of the laser resonator (rear mirror 63) [Par.0150 cited: “…rear mirror 63 and the output coupler 73 may be partial reflection mirrors, and may constitute an optical resonator…”].
Regarding claim 12, Kumazaki discloses
a line narrowing module (line narrowing module 14, fig.27) including a grating (14a, fig.27) and a plurality of prisms (prism 14b, c, d, figs.27, Par..0097), wherein the adjustment mechanism (output coupler 60, fig.27) changes a beam width of light incident on the grating (14a, fig.27) by changing a posture or a position of the plurality of prisms (prism 14b, c, d).
Regarding claim 13, Kumazaki discloses
a laser chamber (laser chamber 10, figs.1, 27) which accommodates laser gas containing fluorine, wherein the adjustment mechanism (output coupler 60, fig.27) includes a fluorine partial pressure adjustment device which adjusts fluorine partial pressure in the laser chamber (laser chamber 10).
Regarding claim 14, Kumazaki discloses
a master oscillator (master oscillator (MO), Par.0248) and a power oscillator (power oscillator (PO), Par.0249), wherein the adjustment mechanism (output coupler 60, fig.27) adjusts a delay time of a second oscillation trigger signal output to the power oscillator (power oscillator (PO)) with respect to a first oscillation trigger signal output to the master oscillator (master oscillator (MO)).
Response to Amendment/Argument
With respect to Specification Objection: the applicant’s amendment to the title filed on 09/02/2026 that overcame the Specification Objection.
With respect to Rejection 102: Applicant's amendment/argument filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The newly cited Okubo reference discloses an aerial image function (aerial image 40, fig.1) is a function expressing a pattern projected onto a photosensitive substrate (sensor 50, fig.1) [Abstract cited: “…measurement apparatus which illuminates a pattern positioned on an object plane to form an aerial image 40 on an image plane…”] in an exposure apparatus (measurement apparatus 100, fig.1) by the exposure apparatus (measurement apparatus 100) [Par.0107 cited: “…signal SS1 which is close to the actual aerial image can be measured by referring to slit transmission characteristics previously stored or by calculating the slit transmission characteristics by a computer to perform a recovery process such as a deconvolution…”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hall (US 20180154484 A1) is relevant prior art in field of an additive manufacturing method, as shown in figs.1 and 3, with a processor, a waveforms, and a convolution, but it does not specific disclose a spectrometer can be used to perform the same function as claimed….
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
09/20/2026