DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18351729 has a total of 12 claims pending in the application, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
I. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF REFERENCES CITED BY APPLICANT
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P 609(c), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 7/13/2023 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
III. REJECTIONS NOT BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is a process type claim. Therefore, claims 1-13 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
As per claim 1,
2A Prong 1:
“Processing the instance data using one or more … algorithms to derive knowledge to be added to the knowledge model” A user mentally or with pencil and paper looks at data to see if its suitable to be added to their graph.
“augmenting the knowledge model to represent the derived knowledge” The user mentally or with pencil and paper adds the data to their graph.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
“data analytics algorithm” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims denote a generic machine learning algorithm with no limitations or details beyond generic, off the shelf algorithms.
“obtaining instance data relating to at least one component of an industrial automation system, wherein the component represent an instance of at least one entity in the knowledge model” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“data analytics algorithm” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims denote a generic machine learning algorithm with no limitations or details beyond generic, off the shelf algorithms.
“obtaining instance data relating to at least one component of an industrial automation system, wherein the component represent an instance of at least one entity in the knowledge model” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “receiving or transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed obtaining step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claims 2-9 and 11-12, these claims contain additional mental steps and generic machine learning algorithms similar to claim 1, and are rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 10, this claim contains similar mental steps to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons.
III. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Examiners Note: Some rejections will be followed by an ‘EN’ that will denote an examiners note. This will be placed to further explain a rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (“Learning to Update Knowledge Graphs by Reading News”) in view of Wu et al (US 20200201875 A1).
As per claim 1, Tang discloses, “A method of automatically” (Pg.2632, abstract; EN: this denotes the model automatically updating the knowledge graph). “a knowledge model… the method comprising” (Pg.2632, abstract; EN; this denotes a knowledge graph (i.e. knowledge model)).
“Obtaining instance data relating to at least one component … wherein the component represents an instance of at least one entity in the knowledge model” (Pg.2634, particularly C1, the 1Hop-Subrgaph section; EN: this denotes updating the Barack Obama and Michelle Obama sections based upon new data discovered by the system, with the Barack Obama and Michelle Obama being examples of components of the knowledge graph).
“Processing the instance data using one or more data analytics algorithms to drive knowledge to be added to the knowledge model” (Pg.2634, particularly C1, the 1Hop-Subrgaph section; EN: this denotes updating the Barack Obama and Michelle Obama sections based upon new data discovered by the system).
“augmenting the knowledge model to represent the derived knowledge” (Pg.2634, particularly C1, the 1Hop-Subrgaph section; EN: this denotes updating the Barack Obama and Michelle Obama sections based upon new data discovered by the system However, Tang fails to explicitly disclose, “representing one or more automation engineering domains”, and “component of an industrial automation system”
Wu discloses, “representing one or more automation engineering domains” (Abstract; EN: this denotes knowledge graphs used for industrial operations).
“component of an industrial automation system” (Pg.5, particularly paragraph 0046; EN: this denotes portions of the knowledge graphs being components of the industrial process).
Tang and Wu are analogous art because both involve knowledge graphs.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of knowledge graphs to combine the work of Tang and Wu in order to automatically update knowledge graphs relating to industrial systems.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow “the customized industrial graph knowledge base to be updated as new knowledge is gained” (Wu, Pg.7, paragraph 0064) or in the case of Tang, allow the system to read data other than news in order to update knowledge graphs for other types of data.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of knowledge graphs to combine the work of Tang and Wu in order to automatically update knowledge graphs relating to industrial systems.
As per claim 2, Tang discloses, “wherein the one or more data analytics algorithms for processing the instance data to derive knowledge to be added to the knowledge model comprises one or more machine learning algorithms” (Pg.2633, C2, second paragraph; EN: this denotes the use of a neural model).
As per claim 3, Tang discloses, “further comprising creating a machine learning model to derive the knowledge to be added to the knowledge model” (Pg.2633, C2, second paragraph; EN: this denotes the use of a neural model).
As per claim 4, Tang discloses, “wherein creating the machine learning model comprises obtaining instance data relating to a first instance entity in the knowledge model and using the instance data of the first instance as target data for training the machine learning model” (Pg.2636, C1-C2, particularly section 4.1; EN: this denotes training the model with data related to the knowledge graph).
As per claim 5, Tang discloses, “Wherein training the model further comprises obtaining instance data relates to at least one second instance of a second entity in the knowledge model and using the instance data of the at least one second instance as feature data for training the machine learning model” (Pg.2636, C1-C2, particularly section 4.1; EN: this denotes training the model with data related to the knowledge graph).
As per claim 6, Tang discloses, “wherein the first and second concepts are selected based on a direct or indirect link therebetween in the knowledge model” (Pg.2636, C2, First paragraph; EN: this denote data about the concept and the connection between hops between aspects of the knowledge graph).
As per claim 7, Tang discloses, “further comprising identifying one or more further concepts relating to the second concept in the knowledge model, and obtaining instance data for those further concepts for use in training the model” (Pg.2636, C1-C2, particularly section 4.1; EN: this denotes training the model with data related to the knowledge graph).
As per claim 8, Tang discloses, “validating the created machine learning model” (pg.2636, C2, first paragraphs; EN: this denotes the use of validation data).
As per claim 9, Tang discloses, “further comprising using the created machine learning model to process new instance data to generate one or more responses to be added to the knowledge model” (Pg.2634, particularly C1, the 1Hop-Subrgaph section; EN: this denotes updating the Barack Obama and Michelle Obama sections based upon new data discovered by the system).
AS per claim 10, Tang discloses, “further comprising using the augmented knowledge model to perform semantic…” (pg.2638 particularly C2, first paragraph; EN: This denotes the system responding to data semantically).
Wu discloses, “querying” (pg.1, particularly paragraph 0002; EN: this denotes the system dealing with queries related to the data in the knowledge graph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al (“Learning to Update Knowledge Graphs by Reading News”) in view of Wu et al (US 20200201875 A1) and further in view of Potts et al (US 20200293712 A1).
As per claim 11, Tang fails to explicitly disclose, “comprising annotating the derived knowledge in the knowledge model to indicate its being algorithm derived.”
Potts discloses, “comprising annotating the derived knowledge in the knowledge model to indicate its being algorithm derived” (Pg.12, particularly paragraph 0118; EN: this denotes giving confidence labels to automatically derived annotations. When combined with the Tang reference, this denotes the various labels/decisions created by the automatic system).
Potts and Tang are analogous art because both involve model training.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of model training to combine the work of Tang and Potts in order to label automatically generated data.
The motivation for doing so would be to “include a confidence value presenting a probability with which an automatic annotator correctly identified a given entity type for an entity mentioned in the text of a document” (Potts, Pg.12, particularly paragraph 0118) or in the case of Tang, allow the system to label added data with a confidence value in order to inform the user of how confident the system is in properly labeling of data added to the system.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of model training to combine the work of Tang and Potts in order to label automatically generated data.
As per claim 12, Potts discloses, “comprising annotating the derived knowledge in the knowledge model to indicate its uncertainty” (Pg.12, particularly paragraph 0118; EN: this denotes giving confidence labels to automatically derived annotations. When combined with the Tang reference, this denotes the various labels/decisions created by the automatic system).
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BEN M RIFKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2123