DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3, 5-12, 15-16, 18, and 19 are pending. Claims 4 and 15 were canceled by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz et al. (“Lorenz”, US 2022/0285784 A1) in view of Purdy et al. (“Purdy”, US 2022/0355659 A1), Lee et al. (“Lee”, US 2022/0278417 A1), and Wunsch et al. (“Wunsch”, EP 3,858,468 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lorenz discloses a battery arrangement for a motor vehicle which enables gases to be discharged from the battery in the event of a thermal runaway of a battery cell ([0006]).
Lorenz teaches a degassing device has at least one exhaust gas duct extending outside, which can be a pipe or metal hose or the like ([0013]). A manifold and tailpipe is depicted in Fig. 1.
Lorenz teaches a cooling base of a battery, which is usually filled with coolant, in particular water ([0023]). Lorenz also teaches the exhaust gas duct can be filtered, for example, with a particle trap ([0028]), which also cools the gas flow ([0019]).
Lorenz does not expressly teach the tailpipe includes a jacket that circumferentially surrounds the tailpipe and is configured for receipt of a cooling fluid.
However, Purdy discloses an exhaust assembly for a utility vehicle (title) and teaches an exhaust assembly [0096], Fig. 26) and teaches cooling jacket 128 includes at least one channel configured to circulate cold water or other coolant/fluid to reduce the temperature of a portion of exhaust assembly ([0096]). Cooling jacket 128 may be integrated into exhaust manifold 44 or may be separate therefrom and, for example, may define an extended portion of the exhaust port or engine ([0096]). Using cooling jacket 128 at the exhaust port of engine 32 and/or at exhaust manifold 44 creates more cooling jacket area along the exhaust flow path to increase heat extraction from the exhaust gas ([0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a cooling jacket at the exhaust port and exhaust manifold to increase surface area of cooling in Lorenz.
Further regarding claim 1 and with regard to claim 5, the above references do not teach a tank configured to store a battery gas treatment fluid and a dosing device.
Lee discloses a battery pack comprising extinguishment unit (title) and teaches a pipe connected to fire extinguishment tank to supply the fire extinguishing agent (i.e. battery gas treatment fluid) to each of the at least two battery modules, and a valve opened to supply the fire extinguishing agent from the tank to the battery module over the predetermined temperature ([0014]). Lee teaches the fire extinguishing agent is injected into the battery module over the predetermined temperature ([0019],[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to inject a fire extinguishment agent to effectively extinguish and cool the fire of the battery module at which thermal runaway occurs. The injected fire extinguishing agent would flow into the battery module as well as into the pipe of Lorenz.
As to claim 5, Lorenz teaches a particle trap and a labyrinthine structure ([0019], either of which could be considered a mixing device.
Further regarding claim 1, the above references do not teach a tank configured to store a battery gas treatment fluid that includes at least one of KOH, NaOH, and monoethanolamine and a dosing device.
However, Wunsch teaches a process and absorption unit for removal of CO2 from vehicle exhaust gas (title) and also teaches removing CO (abstract). Wunsch teaches a tank for receiving of a liquid absorption medium ([0044]) and valves ([0047]), which read on dosing devices. Wunsch also teaches NaOH and KOH ([0031]) as well as monoethanolamine [0038]) as absorption components, which are identical to the ones claimed by Applicant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the absorption components and tank with dosing device taught by Wunsch to remove CO2 and other gases from vehicle exhaust gas.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz, Purdy, Lee, and Wunsch as applied above, and further in view of Moon et al. (“Moon”, US 2019/0086127 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Lorenz teaches a cooling base of a battery but does not expressly teach the jacket or a radiator or container.
Lorenz does not expressly teach the source of the cooling fluid being a radiator or a container containing a cryogenic cooling fluid.
However, Moon discloses a transport refrigeration unit with cryogenic cooling (title) and teaches cooling tubes, insulated vacuum tanks, and a cryogenic coolant ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a container with cryogenic fluid since cryogenic cooling fluids are known to be effective coolants, as taught by Moon.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz, Purdy, Lee, and Wunsch as applied above, and further in view of Uchida et al. (“Uchida”, US 2019/0288354 A1).
Regarding claims 6-8, the above references do not teach a controller or first and second temperature sensor.
However, Uchida is also directed to electric vehicles ([0003]) and teaches a flue gas detection system (title) including a first and second temperature sensor ([0010]). In the flue gas duct, temperature sensor assembly detects a temperature and outputs a detection result (i.e. signal) thereof to ECU (i.e. controller) ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include temperature sensors and a controller in Lorenz to detect thermal runaway and high temperature gas, as taught by Uchida ([0051]). Controllers are configured to instruct or send signals.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz, Purdy, Lee, and Wunsch as applied above, and further in view of Han et al. (“Han”, CN218530438U).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the above references do not teach a battery gas conversion device with a plurality of treatment zones for chemically treating the flow of gases.
Han is also related to battery thermal runaway ([0005]) and teaches a flue gas treatment device including a connected reaction unit and an adsorption unit ([0007]). The adsorption device is filled with cooling material and/or adsorption material for cooling and/or adsorption treatment of the flue gas after the reaction ([0007]). The gas is converted into a non-combustible gas ([0008]). Han teaches the reaction devices and/or adsorption devices are connected in series through an elbow ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to cool and treat the gas in Lorenz to convert combustible gas to non-combustible gas and increase safety for vehicle passengers.
Claim 11, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz, Purdy, Lee, and Wunsch as applied above, and further in view of Han et al. (“Han”, CN218530438U).
Regarding claim 11, the above references would suggest a tank, battery gas treatment fluid, and dosing device injected into the battery module (and thus the pipe). The battery gas conversion device is suggested by Lorenz modified by Han. These limitations are addressed in the rejections of claims 1, 5, 9, and 10.
Regarding claim 12, Lorenz discloses a battery arrangement for a motor vehicle which enables gases to be discharged from the battery in the event of a thermal runaway of a battery cell ([0006]). Lorenz teaches a degassing device has at least one exhaust gas duct extending outside, which can be a pipe or metal hose or the like ([0013]).
Lorenz teaches a cooling base of a battery, which is usually filled with coolant, in particular water ([0023]). Lorenz also teaches the exhaust gas duct can be filtered, for example, with a particle trap ([0028]), which also cools the gas flow ([0019]).
Han is also related to battery thermal runaway ([0005]) and teaches a flue gas treatment device including a connected reaction unit and an adsorption unit ([0007]). The adsorption device is filled with cooling material and/or adsorption material for cooling and/or adsorption treatment of the flue gas after the reaction ([0007]). The gas is converted into a non-combustible gas ([0008]). Han teaches the reaction devices and/or adsorption devices are connected in series through an elbow ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to cool and treat the gas in Lorenz to convert combustible gas to non-combustible gas and increase safety for vehicle passengers.
Lorenz does not expressly teach the tailpipe includes a jacket that circumferentially surrounds the tailpipe and is configured for receipt of a cooling fluid.
However, Purdy discloses an exhaust assembly for a utility vehicle (title) and teaches an exhaust assembly [0096], Fig. 26) and teaches cooling jacket 128 includes at least one channel configured to circulate cold water or other coolant/fluid to reduce the temperature of a portion of exhaust assembly ([0096]). Cooling jacket 128 may be integrated into exhaust manifold 44 or may be separate therefrom and, for example, may define an extended portion of the exhaust port or engine ([0096]). Using cooling jacket 128 at the exhaust port of engine 32 and/or at exhaust manifold 44 creates more cooling jacket area along the exhaust flow path to increase heat extraction from the exhaust gas ([0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a cooling jacket at the exhaust port and exhaust manifold to increase surface area of cooling in Lorenz.
Lorenz does not teach a battery gas conversion device with a plurality of treatment zones for chemically treating the flow of gases.
Lorenz does not expressly teach the source of the cooling fluid being a radiator or a container containing a cryogenic cooling fluid.
However, Moon discloses a transport refrigeration unit with cryogenic cooling (title) and teaches cooling tubes, insulated vacuum tanks, and a cryogenic coolant ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a container with cryogenic fluid since cryogenic cooling fluids are known to be effective coolants, as taught by Moon.
Further regarding claim 12, the above references do not teach a tank configured to store a battery gas treatment fluid that includes at least one of KOH, NaOH, and monoethanolamine and a dosing device.
However, Wunsch teaches a process and absorption unit for removal of CO2 from vehicle exhaust gas (title) and also teaches removing CO (abstract). Wunsch teaches a tank for receiving of a liquid absorption medium ([0044]) and valves ([0047]), which read on dosing devices. Wunsch also teaches NaOH and KOH ([0031]) as well as monoethanolamine [0038]) as absorption components, which are identical to the ones claimed by Applicant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the absorption components and tank with dosing device taught by Wunsch to remove CO2 and other gases from vehicle exhaust gas.
Regarding claim 16, these limitations are addressed in the rejection of claims 12, 5, 9, and 10. The references do not expressly teach a second dosing device. However, adding different or additional connections, including a mixing device, to already existing components would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz, Purdy, Lee, Wunsch, Moon, and Han as applied above, and further in view of Uchida et al. (“Uchida”, US 2019/0288354 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, the above references do not teach a controller or first temperature sensor.
However, Uchida is also directed to electric vehicles ([0003]) and teaches a flue gas detection system (title) including a first and second temperature sensor ([0010]). In the flue gas duct, temperature sensor assembly detects a temperature and outputs a detection result (i.e. signal) thereof to ECU (i.e. controller) ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include temperature sensors and a controller in Lorenz to detect thermal runaway and high temperature gas, as taught by Uchida ([0051]). Controllers are configured to instruct or send signals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The newly added limitation is suggested or made obvious by Wunsch et al., which discloses a process and absorption unit for removal of CO2 from vehicle exhaust gas and teaches a tank and valve (i.e. dosing device) as well as NaOH, KOH, and monoethanolamine as absorption components.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746