DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The atom labels in the compounds (pages 12 to 18, 22 to 35, and 39 to 43) are big and the bonds to the atoms are sometimes difficult to determine if there is a bond or not (below are some annotated examples).
The bonds in the deuterated structures are low resolutions, some are not completely visible and is difficult to determine if there is a bond or not (see annotated compound above).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the atom labels in the compounds are big and the bonds to the atoms are sometimes difficult to determine if there is a bond or not (see annotated compound A-93 above for an example).
Regarding claim 10,
The atom labels in the compounds are big and the bonds to the atoms are sometimes difficult to determine if there is a bond or not (see annotated deuterated compound above for an example).
The bonds in the deuterated structures are low resolutions, some are not completely visible and is difficult to determine if there is a bond or not (see annotated deuterated compound above).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210175433 A1) in view of Fleetham et al. (US 20220181561 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a plurality of host materials with an Iridium-based complex as a dopant (Device Example 2, host compounds H2-6 and A-1, dopant D-50). Kim teaches that the plurality of host materials comprises a first host material comprising at least one compound represented by formula 1 (compound A-1) and a second host material comprising at least one compound represented by formula 2 (compound H2-6)
wherein in the claimed formula 1, compound A-1 of Kim,
X is -O-
R1 to R3 are hydrogen atoms
R4 is –(L1)a-Ar1
L1 is a single bond
Ar1 is a substituted 6-membered heteroaryl
a is 1
R5 to R6 and R8 are hydrogen atoms
R7 is formula a
wherein in the claimed formula a, compound A-1 of Kim,
Y is a -O-
R9 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
R10 is a hydrogen atom
z is 3
wherein in the claimed formula 2, compound H2-6 of Kim,
A1 and A2 are a substituted C6 aryl
X11 to X26 are hydrogen atoms
Kim fails to teach wherein at least one of the first and second host materials comprise deuterium. However, Kim teaches a general formula 1, wherein compound A-1 is a specific compound of, wherein R2 and R3 (corresponding to R1 to R3 and R5 to R8 of instant application for formula 1) may be deuterium (para. 0034). Additionally, Kim teaches formula 11, wherein compound H2-6 is a specific compound of, wherein X11 to X28 (corresponding to X11 to X26 of instant application of formula 2) may be deuterium (para. 0048).
Fleetham teaches an OLED having greatly enhance device lifetimes with deuterated hosts in the emissive layer (abstract, para. 0053). This is similar to Kim’s composition of the emission layer. Fleetham teaches that a device lifetime is at least 1.5 times greater when using a deuterated host (para. 0053). Additionally, Fleetham teaches a suitable deuterated host for the device with the identical to compound H2-6 of Kim, with the exception that the compound is deuterated (page 32, bottom structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate the H2-6 compound of Kim, because it would have been choosing a deuterium instead of a hydrogen, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the deuterated host in the emissive layer of the OLED device of Kim and possessing the benefits taught by Fleetham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds for OLED devices comprising a deuterated host having the benefits taught by Fleetham in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim further teaches wherein in formula 2, X11-X15, X17-X20, and X22-X26 represent a deuterium.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim further teaches wherein in formula 2, a deuterium substitution rate is 100%.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim further teaches wherein in formula 2, a deuterium substitution rate is 100%.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim further teaches wherein Ar1-- in formula 1 is substituted triazinyl.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim further teaches wherein formula 2 is represented by formula 2-1.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim further teaches wherein A1 and A2 in formula 2 are an unsubstituted biphenyl.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim further teaches wherein the substituents of the substituted 6-membered heteroarylene are unsubstituted C6 aryl groups.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim further teaches wherein the compound represented by formula 1 is
which is claimed compound A-1.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim further teaches wherein the compound represented by formula 2 is
which is claimed compound H2-46 wherein n is 32.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim further teaches an organic electroluminescent device (Device Example 2, para. 0090) comprising a first electrode (ITO anode, para. 0087) ; a second electrode (Al cathode, para. 0087); and at least one light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer, para. 0087) between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein at least one layer of the light-emitting layers comprises the plurality of host materials (modified deuterated compound H2-6 and compound A-1 in Table 2, para. 0090) according to claimed 1.
Conclusion
/APCV/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789