In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Applicant’s Amendment filed March 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
- Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are amended
- Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
This action is FINAL
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 28, 2026, May 4, 2026, February 13, 2026, January 7, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, South Korea’s Enormous Climbable Structure for Kids, retrieved from https://mymodernmet.com/mateus-benarros-luckey-climbers-korea/, pages 1-12, March 26, 2014 in view of Rope Camp Product catalog 2019-2020, pages 1-57, YouTube video Simple Single Strand "Paracord" Net - How to Make a Net - DIY CBYS (Simple Single Strand "Paracord" Net - How to Make a Net - DIY CBYS (http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_kcoXUuieg) dated April 7, 2021 (hereafter 2021YouTube) and Park, Korean Patent Publication No. KR20140121697 (Google translation).
Consider claim 1, Yoo teaches a playground device that includes a net lattice (see Yoo page 2 images of a structure at Gyeonggi Children's Museum in South Korea for children to climb and play), the playground device comprising: first and second segments of a
wherein the net lattice is attached either directly or indirectly to the playground device (see Yoo figure reproduced above where net lattice is attached to the playground device at least at edges of platforms); and
Yoo is silent regarding first and second segment comprised of a multi-strand outer layer that surrounds a multi-strand inner layer. Further, while Yoo’s figure appears to illustrate a securement forming lattice net of substantially parallel segments, Yoo is silent regarding specifics of the securement. Yoo does not illustrate details of a forming a net using a single, continuous rope where a first segment of a single, continuous net rope transitions into a second segment of a single continuous net rope at a loop formed at a perimeter of a net lattice.
In the same field of endeavor, Rope Camp Product catalog teaches playground devices formed using rope formed of a multi-strand (braided) outer layer that surrounds a multi-strand (compound wire rope) inner layer (see Rope Camp Product catalog page 10-11 where vibrant threads to weave a braid around 144 strands of galvanized steel to produce the play structure rope. Also note that page 11 figure illustrates the strands of galvanized steel is braided as well see image reproduced below) so as to keep the ropes beautiful to see, soft to touch and stronger than other cabling available.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo to have rope formed of a multi-strand (braided) outer layer that surrounds a multi-strand (compound wire rope) inner layer so as to keep the ropes beautiful to see, soft to touch and stronger than other cabling available using known techniques with predictable results.
In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a net clamp that is part of the net lattice (see Park figure 8, element 500a first wire, 300b second wire, 400 connecting clip), wherein the first and second segments of the net rope run substantially parallel to one another through the net clamp (see Park figure 9 illustrating wires 500 running substantially parallel to one another through the connecting clip 400), and wherein the net clamp secures the first segment of net rope to the second segment of net rope at the point at which they run substantially parallel to one another (see Park figure 9 illustrating wires 500 running substantially parallel to one another through the connecting clip 400) so as to prevent slippage and reduce size variation of the mesh.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo with the teachings of Park so as to prevent slippage and reduce size variation of the mesh net using known techniques with predictable results.
Net making is an old art that has been known for hundreds of years. 2021YouTube video illustrates details of a forming a net using a single, continuous rope where a first segment of a single, continuous net rope transitions into a second segment of a single continuous net rope at a loop formed at a perimeter of a net lattice (see 2021YouTube screenshots showing forming loops and turning at the end of a first row to connect a second row).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have formed a net using a single, continuous rope to form a net illustrated by 2021YouTube as a functionally equivalent net forming method using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 2, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the loop is formed where the single, continuous net rope enters and exits the net clamp (see Park figures 12-14 and 2021YouTube where a clamp provided at each junction forms an end loop).
Consider claim 3, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches and further comprising: a second net clamp that is part of the net lattice, wherein the single, continuous net rope enters and exits the second net clamp: and a second loop formed at the perimeter of the net lattice, wherein the second loop is formed where the single, continuous net rope enters and exits the second net clamp (see Park figure 8, element 400 where clamps 400 are provided at junctions to form net lattice and 2021YouTube where a clamp provided at each junction forms an end loop to reverse the single continuous rope and form a net).
Consider claim 4, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the loop is secured to a portion of the playground device (see Yoo page 3 where loops are connected to the playground device.).
Consider claim 5, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the loop defines an outmost point of the perimeter of the net lattice (see Yoo page 3 where loops are connected to the playground device. and 2021YouTube where each end loop forms an outmost point of a perimeter of the net lattice).
Consider claim 6, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the multi-stranded outer layer is a multi-stranded fabric layer and the multi-stranded inner layer is a multi-stranded metal layer (see Rope Camp Product catalog page 10-11 where vibrant threads to weave a braid around 144 strands of galvanized steel to produce the play structure rope. Also note that page 11 figure illustrates the strands of galvanized steel is braided as well see image reproduced above).
Consider claim 7, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the multi-stranded inner layer is comprised of a material that absorbs heat more quickly than any material included in the multi-stranded outer layer (inherent steel has a thermal conductivity that is greater than nylon thus steel absorbs heat more quickly than nylon. The high thermal conductivity of steel means that when one part of it is exposed to a heat source, that energy is rapidly distributed throughout the material, leading to a quick overall temperature increase. Nylon's low thermal conductivity causes heat to remain more localized, making it much slower to absorb and distribute heat. Further steel is a conductor whereas nylon is an insulator).
Consider claim 8,Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: third and fourth segments of the single, continuous net rope (see 2021YouTube figure below where third and fourth segments correspond to subsequent rows of loops forming the net); and
a second net clamp that is also part of the net lattice, the third segments of the single, continuous net rope and fourth segment of the single, continuous net rope run substantially parallel to one another through the second net clamp, and wherein the second net clamp also secures the third segment of single, continuous net rope to the fourth segment of the single, continuous net rope (see Yoo figure reproduced above and Park figure 8, element 400 where multiple 400 elements are illustrated to secure element 500a, 500b to form net rope).
Consider claim 16, Yoo teaches a playground device that incorporates a net lattice that forms a to climb and play), wherein the net lattice comprises
Yoo is silent regarding wherein the first and second elongated segments of net rope are comprised of multiple woven layers of material and that the net forms a climbing surface. Further, while Yoo’s figure appears to illustrate a securement forming lattice net of substantially parallel segments, Yoo is silent regarding specifics of the securement. Yoo does not illustrate details of a forming a net using a single, continuous rope where a first segment of a single, continuous net rope transitions into a second segment of a single continuous net rope at a loop formed at a perimeter of a net lattice.
In the same field of endeavor, Rope Camp Product catalog teaches playground devices formed using rope formed of a multi-stranded (braided) outer layer that surrounds a multi-stranded (compound wire rope) inner layer (see Rope Camp Product catalog page 10-11 where vibrant threads to weave a braid around 144 strands of galvanized steel to produce the play structure rope. Also note that page 11 figure illustrates the strands of galvanized steel is braided as well see image reproduced below) so as to form a climbing surface and keep the ropes beautiful to see, soft to touch and stronger than other cabling available.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo to have formed a climbing surface rope of a multi-stranded (braided) outer layer that surrounds a multi-stranded (compound wire rope) inner layer so as to keep the ropes beautiful to see, soft to touch and stronger than other cabling available using known techniques with predictable results.
In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a plurality of net clamps that form part of a net lattice (see Park figure 8, element 500a first wire, 300b second wire, 400 connecting clip) so as to prevent slippage and reduce size variation of the mesh.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo with the teachings of Park so as to prevent slippage and reduce size variation of the mesh net using known techniques with predictable results.
Net making is an old art that has been known for hundreds of years. 2021YouTube video illustrates details of a forming a net using a single, continuous rope where a first segment of a single, continuous net rope transitions into a second segment of a single continuous net rope at a loop formed at a perimeter of a net lattice (see 2021YouTube screenshots showing forming loops and turning at the end of a first row to connect a second row).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have formed a net using a single, continuous rope to form a net illustrated by 2021YouTube as a functionally equivalent net forming method using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 17, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the first elongated segment of the single, continuous net rope and the second elongated segment of the single, continuous net rope each comprise an elongated segment of multi-stranded conductive material covered with a multi-stranded insulator material (see Rope Camp page 10-11 where vibrant threads of nylon weave a braid around 144 strands of galvanized steel to produce the play structure rope. Where nylon is an insulator and steel is a conductor).
Consider claim 18, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches a first net clamp, of the plurality of net clamps, has a first side that faces the perimeter of the net lattice and a second side, opposite the first side, that faces a second net clamp, of the plurality of net clamps, and wherein the transition section of the single, continuous net rope is a transition loop that extends from the first side of the first net clamp (see Park figures 12-14 and 2021YouTube where a clamp provided at each junction forms an end loop).
Consider claim 19, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the transition section is secured to a component of the playground device (see Yoo page 3 where loops are connected to the playground device.).
Consider claim 20, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube and Park teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein a net clamp, of the plurality of net clamps, includes a first rope-receiving portion and a second rope-receiving portion (see Park figure 12-14) that each receive the single, continuous net rope, and wherein the transition section reverses a direction of the single, continuous net rope such that the single, continuous net rope transitions from the first rope-receiving portion to the second rope receiving portion of the net clamp (see Park figure 8, element 400 where clamps 400 are provided at junction to form net lattice and 2021YouTube where a clamp provided at each junction forms an end loop to reverse the single continuous rope and form a net).
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, South Korea’s Enormous Climbable Structure for Kids, retrieved from https://mymodernmet.com/mateus-benarros-luckey-climbers-korea/, pages 1-12, March 26, 2014 in view of Rope Camp Product catalog 2019-2020, pages 1-57, YouTube video Simple Single Strand "Paracord" Net - How to Make a Net - DIY CBYS (Simple Single Strand "Paracord" Net - How to Make a Net - DIY CBYS (http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_kcoXUuieg) dated April 7, 2021 (hereafter 2021YouTube), Park, Korean Patent Publication No. KR20140121697 (Google translation) and Proludic, https://www.proludic.co.uk/product/j60001/ , dated June 28, 2022.
Consider claim 9, Yoo teaches a playground device that includes a net lattice page 2 images of a structure at Gyeonggi Children's Museum in South Korea for children to climb and play), the net lattice (see Yoo figure reproduced below, element first segment, second segment forming net lattice) comprising: a
Yoo is silent regarding rope that includes a multi-stranded interior layer of material covered with a multi-stranded outer layer of material, wherein the multi-stranded interior layer is more rigid than the multi-stranded outer layer; and wherein the single, continuous, elongated net rope has a diameter of between 5-18 millimeters. Further, while Yoo’s figure appears to illustrate a securement forming lattice net, Yoo is silent regarding a plurality of rope clamps that each attach together a first portion of the single, continuous, elongated net rope to a second portion of the single, continuous, elongated net rope.
In the same field of endeavor, Rope Camp Product catalog teaches playground devices formed using rope that includes an interior layer of material (compound wire rope) covered with a multi-stranded outer later (braided), the interior layer being more rigid (formed of galvanized steel) than the multi-stranded (braided nylon) outer layer (see Rope Camp Product catalog page 10-11 where vibrant threads to weave a braid around 144 strands of galvanized steel to produce the play structure rope. Also note that page 11 figure illustrates the strands of galvanized steel is braided as well see image reproduced below) so as to keep the ropes beautiful to see, soft to touch and stronger than other cabling available.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo to have rope that includes a multi-stranded interior layer of material covered with a multi-stranded outer later, the interior layer being more rigid than the outer layer so as to keep the ropes beautiful to see, soft to touch and stronger than other cabling available using known techniques with predictable results.
In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a net clamp that is part of the net lattice (see Park figure 8, element 500a first wire, 300b second wire, 400 connecting clip), a plurality of rope clamps (see Park figure 8, element 400) that each attach together a first portion of the
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Yoo with the teachings of Park so as to prevent slippage and reduce size variation of the mesh net using known techniques with predictable results.
Net making is an old art that has been known for hundreds of years. 2021YouTube video illustrates details of a forming a net using a single, continuous rope where a first segment of a single, continuous net rope transitions into a second segment of a single continuous net rope at a loop formed at a perimeter of a net lattice (see 2021YouTube screenshots showing forming loops and turning at the end of a first row to connect a second row).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have formed a net using a single, continuous rope to form a net illustrated by 2021YouTube as a functionally equivalent net forming method using known techniques with predictable results.
Yoo/Rope Camp is silent regarding wherein the single, continuous, elongated net rope has a diameter of between 5-18 millimeters. In the same field of endeavor, Proludic teaches playground rope having a diameter of 16 millimeters (see Proludic page 9) so as to ensure safe sturdy components for play.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have incorporated ropes having a diameter of 16 mm so as to ensure safe sturdy components for play using known product with predictable results.
Consider claim 10, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube, Park and Proludic teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the plurality of rope clamps is a plurality of crimp clamps that each crimp over the first and second portions of the single, continuous, elongated net rope (see Park figures 12-14).
Consider claim 11, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube, Park and Proludic teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the multi-stranded interior layer of material is a set of elongated metal elements woven together with one another (see Rope Camp page 11 figure illustrates the strands of galvanized steel is braided as well see image reproduced above).
Consider claim 12, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube, Park and Proludic teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the plurality of rope clamps is a plurality of two-sided clamps, and wherein each two-sided clamp, of the plurality of two-sided claims, is configured to receive the first portion of the single, continuous, elongated net rope on one side and receive the second portion of the single, continuous, elongated net rope on the other side (see Park figures 12-14, figure 8, element 400 where clamps 400 are provided at junction to form net lattice and 2021YouTube where a clamp provided at each junction forms an end loop to reverse the single continuous rope and form a net).
Consider claim 13, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube, Park and Proludic teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the plurality of rope clamps is a series of at least three rope clamps in alignment with one another (see Park figure 8, element 400 where a series of at least three rope clamps 400 are in alignment along a horizontal axis and a vertical axis to form net lattice).
Consider claim 14, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube, Park and Proludic teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the first portion of the sing, continuous, elongated net rope transitions into the second portion of the single, continuous, elongate net rope at a transition loop formed at a perimeter of the net lattice (see Park figure 8, element 400 where a series of at least three rope clamps 400 are in alignment along a horizontal axis and a vertical axis to form net lattice and 2021YouTube screenshots showing forming loops and turning at the end of a first row to connect a second row).
Consider claim 15, Yoo as modified by Rope Camp, 2021YouTube, Park and Proludic teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the multi-stranded interior layer of material is a set of at least 42 separate woven, metallic strands (see Rope Camp page 10-11 where 144 strands of braided galvanized steel form interior layer of rope).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that the combined teachings of Yoo and Park teaches away from using their respective lattices as a climbing surfaces, Examiner respectfully disagrees because neither specifically indicates that their lattices cannot be used as climbing surfaces. Further as clearly illustrated by Rope Camp, rope lattices are used as climbing surfaces for playground equipment.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rhodes et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 3745771 (column 2, line1-5 where a two-dimensional series of squares or diamonds and joining the strands at cross-over points. Joining may be effected by binding, welding or glueing, by means of clips or if sufficiently flexible by knotting as in net manufacture).Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625