Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1 thus dependent claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Examiner notes, claim 1 requires the ratio of the breaking strength to be within a range of 0.01 to 0.1. In the instant specification, it describes that the “The breaking strength A of the composite material particles is desirably within the range of 2 MPa to 10 MPa. The breaking strength A of the composite material particles is more preferably within the range of 2.5 MPa to 10 MPa. The strength ratio A/B obtained by dividing the breaking strength A of the composite material particles by the breaking strength B of the active material particles is made 0.01 to 0.1. The strength ratio A/B is more preferably within the range of 0.01 to 0.04” [0038]. Claim 2 is noted to claim the recited ranges required to achieve the breaking strength to be within a range of 0.01 to 0.1. It is unclear to the Examiner if one can achieve the breaking strength to be within the required ranges without knowing the ranges (MPa) of the composite material particles or if the one can calculate the breaking strength based on the claimed MPa? The Examiner has rejected the claims as the breaking strength being an inherent characteristic which is dependent on the density of the active material. Applicant should amend the claim to clarify how the breaking strength ranges are achieved, if necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20120270093A1 (Isozaki)
Regarding claim 1, Isozaki teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte battery [abs]; and teaches an electrode comprising: an active material-containing layer containing composite material particles, the composite material particles including active material particles, an electro- conductive agent, and a binder, the active material particles containing a lithium nickel cobalt manganese composite oxide [abs, 0019-0025] and a density of the active material-containing layer being within a range of 3.2 g/cm3 to 3.8 g/cm3 [0043-0044; . 2.5 g/cm3 or more and 3.5 g/cm3 or less; which falls within the claimed ranges]. Isozaki is silent with respect to a strength ratio A/B of a breaking strength A of the composite material particles to a breaking strength B of the active material particles being within a range of 0.01 to 0.1.
With regards to this limitation, the Examiner notes, the instant specification teaches the breaking strength is affected by the electrode density [0020-0022], therefore since Isozaki teaches the density to be withing the claimed ranges, it inherently teaches the breaking strength as claimed.
An inherent feature does not need to be recognized by the art at the time of the invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP $2112(II).
Regarding claim 2, as noted in claim 1, Isozaki inherently teaches the breaking strength, thus it is the Examiners position, Isozaki also inherently teaches the claimed “wherein the breaking strength A of the composite material particles is within a range of 2 MPa to 10 MPa, and the breaking strength B of the active material particles is within a range of 30 MPa to 300 MPa” as the breaking strength is affected by the density [noted from the instant spec para 0037-0038] and if the composite particles density is within the claimed range, the MPa will also be within the same range. An inherent feature does not need to be recognized by the art at the time of the invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. See MPEP $2112(II).
Regarding claim 3, Isozaki teaches wherein an average particle size of the active material particles is within a range of 2 µm to 6 µm [0042- average particle diameter (secondary particle diameter) of 4 μm or more and 15 μm and less; which falls within the claimed ranges] .
Regarding claim 5, Isozaki teaches wherein the lithium nickel cobalt manganese composite oxide is represented by a general formula LiaNil-x-y-zCoxMnyMzO2, where 0.9 < a 1.25, 0< x < 1, 0< y < 1, 0< z < 0.2,x + y + z < 1, and M includes one or more metal elements other than Ni, Co, and Mn [0038; LiaNi1−x−y−zCoxMnyMzO2 (wherein, a, x, y, and z are 0.9<a≦1.25, 0<x≦0.4, 0<y≦0.45, and 0≦z≦0.1; all fall within the claimed ranges].
Regarding claim 6, Isozaki teaches wherein the metal elements include at least one selected from the group consisting of Mg, Ca, Al, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Mo, and W [0038- Mg, Al, Ti, Zr].
Regarding claim 7, Isozaki teaches wherein a proportional content of the electro-conductive agent to a total mass of the active material particles, the electro- conductive agent, and the binder is within a range of 3% by mass to 20% by mass [0047; the binder is 2 wt % or more and 7 wt % or less].
Regarding claim 8, Isozaki teaches a battery comprising: a positive electrode; and a negative electrode, the positive electrode including the electrode according to claim 1 [0019, whole document].
Regarding claim 9, Isozaki teaches a battery pack comprising the battery according to claim 8 [0019].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20120270093A1 (Isozaki) and further in view of US20160056450A1 (Yoshikawa).
Regarding claim 4, Isozaki does not teach wherein the active material-containing layer has a particle size distribution for which a ratio D90/D10 of a particle size D9o at a cumulative frequency of 90% from a small particle size side to a particle size D10 at a cumulative frequency of 10% from the small particle size side is 4 or less. Yoshikawa teaches a positive electrode and a nonaqueous electrolyte battery [abs]. Yoshikawa teaches a similar positive electrode layer as Isozaki and teaches the particle diameter d10 within a range of 0.5 μm to 3 μm and the particle diameter d90 within a range of 4 μm to 10 μm [0021-0022]. Upon calculation, Yoshikawa teaches the D90/D10 to be 4 or less; i.e. D90 at 10µm/D10 at 3µm = 3.3 which is less than 4 and falls within the recited range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Isozaki in view of Yoshikawa as having the D90 and D10 in the range, the energy density of the battery is improved [0021-0028].
Conclusion
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729