DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation Claims 6-9, 17 and 20 recite the limitations “manganese oxide”, “manganese dioxide” and chemical formulas thereof. The examiner is interpreting these limitations following [0015] “ manganese oxide is not intended to refer to or encompass, for example, a mixed metal oxide such as copper manganese oxide ”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 15, 19 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites the limitation “ wherein the anode further comprises an anode current collector and an intermediate layer between the anode current collector and the anode active material layer, the intermediate layer comprising carbon, a noble metal, a carbide, or a combination thereof and having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns ” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite in view of the specification, as Instant [0043] recites “ the cathode current collector may be coated with a layer comprising carbon, a noble metal, a carbide, or a combination thereof ”. In order to advance prosecution the examiner will be interpreting the claim as “ wherein the cathode further comprises a cathode current collector and an intermediate layer between the cathode current collector and the cathode active material layer, the intermediate layer comprising carbon, a noble metal, a carbide, or a combination thereof and having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns ” following Instant [0043] and claim 21. Claim 19 lines 1-2 recites the limitation “wherein the cathode further comprises a solid polymer electrolyte” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite as it is unclear if applicant intends there to be an additional solid polymer electrolyte in the cathode besides that recited in claim 1 as part of the cathode active material layer . Following Instant [0036] which recites “ the cathode composition further comprises a solid polymer electrolyte. The solid polymer electrolyte is described in further detail below ” the examiner is interpreting the cathode comprises the first solid polymer electrolyte. Claim 21 recites the limitation "the cathode current collector" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will be interpreting the limitation as a cathode current collector. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 - 5 , 11-12 , 16 and 1 8 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang WO2011068825A1 (cited in IDS filed 16 November 2023). Regarding claim 1 , Zhang discloses a non-aqueous battery ( Zhang, [0006] ) comprising: an anode comprising an anode active material ( Zhang , [00 45 ] ) , wherein the anode active material comprises lithium, a lithium alloy, or a combination thereof ( Zhang, [0046] ) , a cathode comprising a cathode active material layer ( Zhang, [00 32-0040 ] ) , wherein the cathode active material layer comprises a first solid polymer electrolyte ( Zhang, [0044], conductive polymer ) and a cathode active material ( Zhang, [0043] ) , and the cathode active material comprises a fluorinated carbon ( Zhang, [0043], CF ) , wherein the fluorinated carbon comprises a first fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 1 ( Formula 1 CFx 1 , 0.9< x 1 ≤1.2 ) ( Zhang, [0032], CFx , wherein x has an average value from greater than about 0.9 to about 1.2 ) , a second fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 2 ( Formula 2 CFx 2 , 0.4 ≤ x 2 <0.9 ) ( Zhang, [0032], CFy , wherein y has an average value from about 0.4 to less than about 0.9 ) , a third fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 3 ( Formula 3 CFx 3 , 0.8 ≤ x 3 ≤1.2 ) ( Zhang, [0032], CFz , wherein z has an average value from about 0.8 to about 1.2 ) , or a combination thereof , and wherein the first, second, and third fluorinated carbons have distinct discharge capacities when discharged to 2.5 volts ( Zhang, [0066] ) and a second solid polymer electrolyte between the anode and the cathode ( Zhang, [0047], “ The electrolyte can be in either liquid state or solid state, or both ”, [0052-0053] ) , wherein the first solid polymer electrolyte independently comprise s an ionically conducting polymer ( Zhang, [0044] ) and an additive comprising inorganic particles ( Zhang, [0042] ) , a lithium salt, an ionic liquid, or a combination thereof , and second solid polymer electrolyte independently comprise s an ionically conducting polymer ( Zhang, [0052] ) and an additive comprising a lithium salt ( Zhang, [0048] ). Regarding claim 2 , Zhang also discloses wherein the fluorinated carbon comprises a mixture of at least two of the first fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 1, the second fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 2, and the third fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 3 ( Zhang, [0057] ) . Regarding claim 3 , Zhang additionally discloses wherein the fluorinated carbon comprises the first fluorinated carbon, the second fluorinated carbon, and the third fluorinated carbon, wherein x 1 and x 3 are the same and are different from x 2 ( Zhang, [0032] ). Regarding claim 4 , Zhang further discloses wherein a weight ratio of the first fluorinated carbon material to the second fluorinated carbon material is from 5:1 to 1:5 ( Zhang, [0034], CFx 20-70 wt %, CFy 2-33 wt % ) . Regarding claim 5 , Zhang also discloses wherein an amount of the fluorinated carbon is 5 weight percent to 95 weight percent, based on a total weight of the cathode active material ( Zhang, [0040] ) . Regarding claim 11 , Zhang also discloses wherein the second solid polymer electrolyte further comprises an organic solvent comprising dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, 1,2-dimethoxyethane, tetrahydrofuran, methyl acetate, diglyme, triglyme , tetraglyme , propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, acetonitrile, dimethyl sulfoxide, dimethyl formamide, dimethyl acetamide, gamma-butyrolactone, N-methyl-pyrrolidinone (NMP), or a combination thereof ( Zhang, [0050] ) . Regarding claim 12 , Zhang additionally discloses wherein the second solid polymer electrolyte further comprises a lithium salt ( Zhang, [0051] ) . Regarding claim 16 , Zhang further discloses wherein the cathode active material layer comprises 70 weight percent to 95 weight percent of the cathode active material ( Zhang, [0040], 10 to 100% based on the total weight of the cathode material present therein ) , and 5 weight percent to 30 weight percent of the first solid polymer electrolyte ( Zhang, [0043-0044], 1 to 15 wt % ) , each based on a total weight of the cathode active material layer ( Zhang, [0040] ) , and wherein an amount of the fluorinated carbon is 90 weight percent to 100 weight percent ( Zhang, [0040], 10 to 100% based on the total weight of the cathode material present therein ) , based on a total weight of the cathode active material, and the fluorinated carbon comprises the first fluorinated carbon, the second fluorinated carbon, and the third fluorinated carbon ( Zhang, [0057] ) . Regarding claim 18 , Zhang also discloses wherein the anode comprises lithium and a metal comprising magnesium, sodium, potassium, or a combination thereof ( Zhang, [0046] ) . Regarding claim 19 , Zheng additionally discloses w herein the cathode further comprises a solid polymer electrolyte ( Zhang, [0044], conductive polymer ). Regarding claim 20 , Zheng discloses a method of manufacturing ( Zhang, [0052] ) a non-aqueous battery ( Zhang, [0006] ) the method comprising: providing an anode comprising an anode active material ( Zhang, [0045] ) , wherein the anode active material comprises lithium, a lithium alloy, or a combination thereof ( Zhang, [0046] ), providing a cathode comprising a cathode active material layer ( Zhang, [0032-0040] ) , and a first solid polymer electrolyte ( Zhang, [0044], conductive polymer ), wherein the cathode active material comprises a fluorinated carbon ( Zhang, [0043], CF ), wherein the fluorinated carbon comprises a first fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 1 ( Formula 1 CFx 1 , 0.9< x 1 ≤1.2 ) ( Zhang, [0032], CFx , wherein x has an average value from greater than about 0.9 to about 1.2 ) , a second fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 2 ( Formula 2 CFx 2 , 0.4 ≤ x 2 <0.9 ) ( Zhang, [0032], CFy , wherein y has an average value from about 0.4 to less than about 0.9 ) , a third fluorinated carbon having a structure of Formula 3 ( Formula 3 CFx 3 , 0.8 ≤ x 3 ≤1.2 ) ( Zhang, [0032], CFz , wherein z has an average value from about 0.8 to about 1.2 ) , or a combination thereof , and wherein the first, second, and third fluorinated carbons have distinct discharge capacities when discharged to 2.5 volts ( Zhang, [0066] ) and disposing a second solid polymer electrolyte between the anode and the cathode ( Zhang, [0047], “ The electrolyte can be in either liquid state or solid state, or both ”, [0052-0053] ) , wherein the first solid polymer electrolyte independently comprise s an ionically conducting polymer ( Zhang, [0044] ) and an additive comprising inorganic particles ( Zhang, [0042] ) , and second solid polymer electrolyte independently comprise s an ionically conducting polymer ( Zhang, [0052] ) and an additive comprising a lithium salt ( Zhang, [0048] ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 6-9 and 1 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang WO2011068825A1 (cited in IDS filed 16 November 2023) in view of Ogata US20120107726A1 . Regarding claim 6 , Zhang does not discloses wherein the cathode active material further comprises a manganese oxide. Ogata teaches wherein the cathode active material further comprises a manganese oxide ( Ogata, [0067] ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to substitute the cathode active material of Zhang with that taught by Ogata, thereby the lithium battery having high performance ( Ogata, [0125] ). Regarding claim 7 , modified Zhang further teaches wherein an amount of the manganese oxide is 5 weight percent to 40 weight percent, based on a total weight of the cathode active material ( Zhang, [0040] ) . Regarding claim 8 , modified Zhang also teaches wherein the manganese oxide comprises MnO 2 ( Ogata, [0067] ) . Regarding claim 9 , Zhang additionally discloses wherein the manganese oxide comprises Mn 4+ O 2 or chemical manganese dioxide ( Ogata, [0067], MnO 2 is manganese(IV) oxide or Mn 4+ O 2 ). Regarding claim 17 , Zhang further discloses herein the cathode active material layer comprises 70 weight percent to 95 weight percent of the cathode active material ( Zhang, [0040], 10 to 100% based on the total weight of the cathode material present therein ) , and 5 weight percent to 30 weight percent of the first solid polymer electrolyte ( Zhang, [0043-0044], 1 to 15 wt % ) , each based on a total weight of the cathode active material layer ( Zhang, [0040] ) , and wherein the cathode active material comprises 70 weight percent to 85 weight percent of the fluorinated carbon ( Zhang, [0040], 10 to 100% based on the total weight of the cathode material present therein ), and 15 weight percent to 30 weight percent of a copper manganese oxide ( Zhang, [0040], 5% to about 40% ) , each based on a total weight of the cathode active material, and the fluorinated carbon comprises the first fluorinated carbon, the second fluorinated carbon, and the third fluorinated carbon ( Zhang, [0057] ) . Zhang however does not teach a manganese oxide. Ogata teaches wherein the cathode active material further comprises a manganese oxide ( Ogata, [0067] ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to substitute the cathode active material of Zhang with that taught by Ogata, thereby the lithium battery having high performance ( Ogata, [0125] ). Claim(s) 1 0 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang WO2011068825A1 (cited in IDS filed 16 November 2023) in view of Lee KR20160034173A (using machine English translation provided). Regarding claim 10 , Zhang further discloses wherein the ionically conducting polymer comprises a copolymer ( Zhang, [0040] ) comprising an ion conductive repeating unit and a structural repeating unit, wherein the ion conductive repeating unit comprises acrylic acid ( Zhang, [0040], copolymers of acrylic acid or acrylate esters ), but does not disclose wherein t he structural repeating unit comprises styrene, 4-bromostyrene, tert-butyl styrene, divinyl benzene, methyl methacrylate, isobutyl methacrylate, butadiene, ethylene, propylene, dimethylsiloxane , isobutylene, N-isopropyl acrylamide, vinylidene fluoride, acrylonitrile, 4-methylpentene-1, butylene terephthalate, ethylene terephthalate, vinyl pyridine, or a combination thereof. Lee teaches a ionically conducting polymer ( Lee, [0011] ) comprising an ion conductive repeating unit and a structural repeating unit ( Lee, [0018] ), wherein the ion conductive repeating unit comprises acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, methyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethylacrylate , ethylmethacrylate , 2-ethylhexylacrylate, butyl methacrylate, 2-ethylhexylmethacrylate, decyl acrylate, ethylene vinyl acetate, propylene oxide, or a combination thereof ( Lee, [0033], [0078] ) and the structural repeating unit comprises styrene, 4-bromostyrene, tert-butyl styrene, divinyl benzene, methyl methacrylate, isobutyl methacrylate, butadiene, ethylene, propylene, dimethylsiloxane , isobutylene, N-isopropyl acrylamide, vinylidene fluoride, acrylonitrile, 4-methylpentene-1, butylene terephthalate, ethylene terephthalate, vinyl pyridine, or a combination thereof ( Lee, [0091] ) . Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the copolymer of Zhang with that taught by Lee, thereby improving ionic conductivity , mechanical properties, and stability for liquid electrolytes ( Lee, [0015] ) . Regarding claim 13 , Zhang does not disclose wherein the first solid polymer electrolyte, the second solid polymer electrolyte, or a combination thereof further comprises the ionic liquid. Lee teaches a solid polymer electrolyte comprises an ionic liquid ( Lee, [0010] ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first solid polymer electrolyte, the second solid polymer electrolyte, or a combination thereof of Zhang with the solid polymer electrolyte of Lee thereby improving ionic conductivity , mechanical properties, and stability for liquid electrolytes ( Lee, [0015] ) . Regarding claim 14 , Zhang as modified above by Lee further teaches wherein the ionic liquid is a polymer ionic liquid ( Lee, [0010] ) . Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang WO2011068825A1 (cited in IDS filed 16 November 2023) in view of Otobe JP2009043667A (using machine English translation provided). Regarding claim 15 , Zh a ng further discloses wherein the cathode further comprises an cathode current collector ( Zhang, [005 7 ] ) and an intermediate layer between the cathode current collector and the cathode active material layer, the intermediate layer comprising carbon, a noble metal, a carbide, or a combination thereof ( Zhang, [0056] ) . Zhan g does not disclose having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns. Otobe teaches a current collector ( Otobe , [0040] ) comprising an intermediate layer ( Otobe , [0041] ) comprising carbon or a carbide ( Otobe , [0043] ) and having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns ( Otobe , [0041], 0.01 μm or more ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of Zhang with the teaching of Otobe wherein having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns , thereby exhibiting a high effect of bonding ( Otobe , [0041] ). Regarding claim 21 , Zhang also discloses further comprising coating a cathode current collector with a layer comprising carbon, a noble metal, a carbide, or a combination thereof ( Zhang, [0056] ) prior to the disposing of the cathode composition ( Zhang, [0056], “ current collector may be coated with carbon, noble metals or a carbide-type coating … subsequently punched to size and applied to the current collector ” ). Zhang does not disclose having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns. Otobe teaches a current collector ( Otobe , [0040] ) comprising an intermediate layer ( Otobe , [0041] ) comprising carbon or a carbide ( Otobe , [0043] ) and having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns ( Otobe , [0041], 0.01 μm or more ). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of Zhang with the teaching of Otobe wherein having a thickness of 1 to 10 microns , thereby exhibiting a high effect of bonding ( Otobe , [0041] ). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeuchi US20020018938A1 (discloses a polymer electrolyte comprising an ionic liquid), Han KR20020006801A ( discloses a polymer electrolyte with similar structure ) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JARED HANSEN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4590 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Tiffany Legette can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-7078 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JARED HANSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723