DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al., (US 20240333728 A1) hereinafter referred to as Williams in view of Seth (US 20210110035 A1) hereinafter referred to as Seth.
Regarding Claim 1, Williams discloses A system, comprising: a processor; a prompt library, the prompt library associating prompts with areas of expertise, each prompt being associated with at least one area of expertise and, for the at least one area of expertise, a respective score; [paragraph 0070, The prompt 222 may be previously unknown to the SFT ML model 215, e.g., the labelers may generate new prompt data, the prompt 222 may include testing data stored on database 126, and/or any other suitable prompt data] [paragraph 0062, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding prompts for network security vulnerability testing code…In another aspect, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding prompts for abnormal network traffic detection code. In another aspect, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding privacy policies and prompts for privacy enforcement code – teaches chatbots “expert systems” that evaluates specific items of interest “area of expertise”]
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to: evaluate first responses generated by a large language model to a set of prompts selected from the prompt library using expert systems associated with the areas of expertise for the set of prompts against second responses generated by a modified version of the large language model to the set of prompts, [paragraph 0071, The data labelers may provide feedback via the server 204 on the responses 224A, 224B, 224C, 224D when ranking 226 them from best to worst based upon the prompt-response pairs]
determine that the evaluation indicates a degradation criterion is met, [paragraph 0072, the scalar reward 225 may include a value numerically representing a human preference for the best and/or most expected response to a prompt…Inputting a “losing” prompt-response pair data to the same reward model 220 may generate a losing reward]
Williams does not explicitly teach and initiating remedial action in response to determining that the evaluation indicates a degradation criterion is met.
Seth teaches and initiating remedial action in response to determining that the evaluation indicates a degradation criterion is met. [paragraph 0069, Once the model is validated, the status of the ML package may be changed to indicate that the package is ready for deployment (e.g., including the status “UNDEPLOYED”). If validation fails, the status of the ML package may be changed to indicate that failure occurred (e.g., including the status “VALIDATION_FAILED”). The platform may then prevent deployment of the failed package (e.g., the model is not deployed by the conductor)]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Seth with the disclosure of Williams. The motivation or suggestion would have been “for validation of machine learning (ML) models for robotic process automation (RPA) before deployment.” (Abstract)
Regarding Claim 12, Williams does not explicitly teach wherein the remedial action prevents the modified version of the large language model from being put into a production environment.
Seth teaches wherein the remedial action prevents the modified version of the large language model from being put into a production environment. [paragraph 0069, Once the model is validated, the status of the ML package may be changed to indicate that the package is ready for deployment (e.g., including the status “UNDEPLOYED”). If validation fails, the status of the ML package may be changed to indicate that failure occurred (e.g., including the status “VALIDATION_FAILED”). The platform may then prevent deployment of the failed package (e.g., the model is not deployed by the conductor)]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Seth with the disclosure of Williams. The motivation or suggestion would have been “for validation of machine learning (ML) models for robotic process automation (RPA) before deployment.” (Abstract)
Regarding Claim 21, Williams discloses A method comprising: selecting, from a prompt collection, a set of prompts identified as quality backstop prompts; [paragraph 0070, The prompt 222 may be previously unknown to the SFT ML model 215, e.g., the labelers may generate new prompt data, the prompt 222 may include testing data stored on database 126, and/or any other suitable prompt data]
using at least a first expert system to evaluate responses, generated by a modified version of a large language model to prompts in the set of prompts; [paragraph 0071, The data labelers may provide feedback via the server 204 on the responses 224A, 224B, 224C, 224D when ranking 226 them from best to worst based upon the prompt-response pairs]
determining that at least one response fails to meet a quality threshold; [paragraph 0072, the scalar reward 225 may include a value numerically representing a human preference for the best and/or most expected response to a prompt…Inputting a “losing” prompt-response pair data to the same reward model 220 may generate a losing reward]
Williams does not explicitly teach and preventing the modified version of the large language model from being put into a production environment.
Seth teaches and preventing the modified version of the large language model from being put into a production environment. [paragraph 0069, Once the model is validated, the status of the ML package may be changed to indicate that the package is ready for deployment (e.g., including the status “UNDEPLOYED”). If validation fails, the status of the ML package may be changed to indicate that failure occurred (e.g., including the status “VALIDATION_FAILED”). The platform may then prevent deployment of the failed package (e.g., the model is not deployed by the conductor)]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Seth with the disclosure of Williams. The motivation or suggestion would have been “for validation of machine learning (ML) models for robotic process automation (RPA) before deployment.” (Abstract)
Regarding Claim 22, Williams discloses wherein the prompts in the set of prompts are identified in the prompt collection as quality backstop prompts for an area of expertise of the first expert system. [paragraph 0062, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding prompts for network security vulnerability testing code]
Regarding Claim 23, Williams discloses further comprising using a second expert system to evaluate responses generated by the modified version of the large language model to prompts associated with a second area of expertise, the second expert system corresponding to the second area of expertise. [paragraph 0062, In another aspect, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding prompts for abnormal network traffic detection code. In another aspect, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding privacy policies and prompts for privacy enforcement code – teaches other chatbots “expert systems” that evaluates specific items of interest “area of expertise”]
Regarding Claim 24, Williams discloses wherein using the first expert system to evaluate a response generated for a prompt in the set of prompts includes obtaining a score for the response using the first expert system. [paragraph 0092, the ML model 310 may use a regression model to determine a severity score associated with an identified security vulnerability based upon the security vulnerability documents, which may be a preferred model in situations involving scoring output data. In one aspect, the ML model 310 may rank the identified security vulnerabilities 350 based upon the severity scores]
Regarding Claim 25, Williams discloses wherein the first expert system is a knowledge engine and the score represents at least one of a topicality score for the response or a veracity score for the response. [paragraph 0062, the chatbot may be capable of receiving and understanding prompts for network security vulnerability testing code] [paragraph 0092, the ML model 310 may use a regression model to determine a severity score associated with an identified security vulnerability based upon the security vulnerability documents, which may be a preferred model in situations involving scoring output data. In one aspect, the ML model 310 may rank the identified security vulnerabilities 350 based upon the severity scores]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claims 2-11 and 13, the closest prior art of record does not explicitly teach nor suggest in detail the limitations of these claims in view of other limitations of the intervening claims.
Thus the prior arts of record taking singly or in combination do not teach or suggest the above-stated limitations taking wholly in combination with all the elements of each independent claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 14, although the closest prior art of record (such as Williams et al., (US 20240333728 A1) and Seth (US 20210110035 A1)) teaches A method comprising: using at least a first expert system to evaluate first responses, generated by a large language model in response to prompts in a set of prompts selected from a prompt collection, against second responses generated by a modified version of the large language model in response to the prompts in the set of prompts, the evaluation including for each prompt in the set of prompts: obtaining a first score for a response, of the first responses, generated for the prompt, obtaining a second score for a response, of the second responses, generated for the prompt, and preventing the modified version of the large language model from being put into a production environment.
However, none of the prior art, alone or in combination teaches and identifying the prompt as a flagged prompt in response to determining that the second score represents a predetermined drop in quality from the first score; determining a ratio of flagged prompts to prompts in the set of prompts; determining that the ratio represents an unacceptable ratio in view of other limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J STEINLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497