DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Request for Continued Examination for filed on 04/28/2026 for the application No. 18/351,939, Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are not compliant with 101, according with the last “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (2019 PEG), published in the MPEP 2103 through 2106.07(c). The Examiner’s analysis is presented below in all the claims.
Claim 1: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a method.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim? Yes. The claim recites the limitations of
“b) dynamically determining, for a bidding process for selecting a winning advertisement to be displayed at the current placement venue, a dynamic bid floor in a non-parametric manner that maximizes revenue with respect to the current placement venue based on bid-floor (BF)/revenue dependency information …
c) soliciting, with the dynamic bid floor, bids from a plurality of bidders for selecting the winning advertisement for the current placement venue; … e) selecting a winning bid from the multiple bids in accordance with some pre-determined selection criterion, wherein the winning advertisement is associated with the winning bid;”
The “dynamically determining, soliciting , selecting” limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The method for setting a dynamic bid floor. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. The claim recites additional limitations, such as, “receiving information indicating an opportunity to display an advertisement at a current placement venue; d) receiving multiple bids from some of the plurality of bidders; f) displaying, at the current placement venue, the winning advertisement”. These are limitations toward accessing or receiving data (gathering data).
The Examiner analyses other supplementary elements in the claim in view of the instant disclosure:
“implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform, via an online platform, on a webpage, captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: “a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement
, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, identifier and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively; dynamically adapted in time; updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement” These elements are recited in a generic way. They comprise generic hardware elements and arrangement or organization of data.
The use of a “on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform” , ‘
dynamically adapted in time”, “…each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement” and “a first, second and third columns” are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea because it merely reflects the use of conventional technology and amounts to only generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Also, the Examiner gives the broadest reasonable interpretation to the above elements. They are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Or the combination of these additional elements can also be considered no more than mere instructions “to apply” the exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the method of organizing human activity into a practical application. Thus, the claim is ineligible because is directed to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the supplementary or additional elements in the claim
“implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform, via an online platform, on a webpage, captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: “a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, identifier and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively; dynamically adapted in time; updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic hardware and software cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that a supplementary or additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
Again, in this step, the additional elements in the claims under consideration are:
“implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform, via an online platform, on a webpage, captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: “a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, identifier and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively; dynamically adapted in time; updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement”, were considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
Other limitations in the claim, such as:
“receiving information indicating an opportunity to display an advertisement at a current placement venue; d) receiving multiple bids from some of the plurality of bidders; f) displaying, at the current placement venue, the winning advertisement”. These are limitations toward accessing or receiving or displaying data (gathering data). Accessing data is very well understood, routine and conventional computer task activity; It represents insignificant extra solution activity. Mere data-gathering step[s] cannot make an otherwise nonstaturory claim statutory In re Grams,888 F.2d 835, 840 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (quoting In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794 (CCPA 1982)).
Further, the instant specification does not provide any indication that the additional elements
“implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform, via an online platform, on a webpage, captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: “a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, identifier and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively; dynamically adapted in time; updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement”, were are anything other than generic software and hardware, and the OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); vii. Arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1331, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and v. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely computer receives, arranging data and sends information over a network and presenting or displaying information, is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Accordingly, a conclusion that the “implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform, via an online platform, on a webpage, captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: “a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, identifier and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively; dynamically adapted in time; updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement”, limitations (pointed above) are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 8: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites machine readable and non-transitory medium.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 15: Step 1 of 2019 PGE, does the claim fall within a Statutory Category? Yes. The claim recites a system.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Is a Judicial Exception recited in the claim ? Yes. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? No. Because the same reasons pointed above.
Step 2B : claim provides an inventive concept? No. Because the same reasons pointed above. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, the claims recite elements such ” wherein the BF/revenue dependency information is previously established based on return revenues tracked with respect to different advertisements previously displayed at different placement venues, wherein each of the tracked advertisements is selected in a bidding process using a corresponding bid-floor”, etc. These elements do not integrate the system of organizing human activity into a practical application. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pg. Pub. No. 20130097028 (HAN) in view of Pg. Pub. No. 20120310729(Dalto).
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, HAN discloses a method implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform for displaying a winning advertisement on a webpages
(see abstract and Fig. 2 and associated disclosure.
“As one example, an impression can correspond to an available advertising location on a web page being delivered by a publisher where advertising can be displayed. Typically, the page is delivered to a person viewing the web page via a browser”, paragraph 14.
“[0070] The available impression, the selected advertisement, and the floor price information are then forwarded to auction marketplace 270. The auction marketplace conducts an auction and determines a winner based on received bids and the floor price information. The winning bid and payload information is returned to hosted campaign selection and floor price determination module 230 for communication to the browser that initiated the advertising request [Examiner interprets as for displaying a winning advertisement on a webpages]. If the auction is selected for use in providing feedback…”, paragraph 70), comprising:
a) receiving, via an online platform, information indicating an opportunity to display an advertisement on a webpage at a current placement venue;
(abstract and paragraphs 2, 6, “[0006] In various embodiments, systems and method are provided for conducting an auction to match an advertising payload to an available advertising impression. In the auction, a dynamic floor price is provided….” And Figs 2-3);
b) dynamically determining, for a bidding process for selecting a winning advertisement to be displayed at the current placement venue, a dynamic bid floor in a non-parametric manner that maximizes revenue [with respect to the current placement venue based on bid-floor (BF)/revenue dependency information that is dynamically adapted in time and is captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively, or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively];
(“Systems and method are provided for conducting an auction to match an advertising payload to an available advertising impression. In the auction, a dynamic floor price is provided. The dynamic floor price provides a way for a publisher to incorporate the internal value of the available impression into the auction process, while still allowing the publisher to maximize the value of the available impression by exposing the impression to bids from outside parties. The dynamic floor price can be calculated based on both internal valuations of an available impression as well as external valuations derived from feedback from prior auctions. To facilitate determination of a dynamic floor prices, advertisers and available impressions can be categorized….”, abstract.
“[0060] For a given auction, a floor price can be set by maximizing the equation”, paragraph 60
Han’s system comprises the feature dynamic adapted “…a dynamic floor price…Introducing random variations in a dynamic floor price calculation can be valuable in preventing floor price discovery [Examiner equates dynamic adapted ]. …Even though the floor price is being calculated dynamically, such a dynamic calculation does not necessarily mean that the floor price will have large fluctuations….”, paragraph 62);
c) soliciting, with the dynamic bid floor, bids from a plurality of bidders for selecting the winning advertisement for the current placement venue;
(see at least “7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining a floor price based on the … floor price information …determining a bid value for the selected hosted advertisement based on the… floor price information”, claim 7.
“…The bids are compared by an auction marketplace that controls the auction. Based on the comparison, the auction marketplace can determine a winning bid based on a highest bidder. …”, paragraph 20);
d) receiving multiple bids from some of the plurality of bidders;
(“ receiving the bids, one or more of the bids”, paragraph 19.
See al least Fig. 6, element 640 and associated disclosure);
e) selecting a winning bid from the multiple bids in accordance with some pre-determined selection criterion, wherein the winning advertisement is associated with the winning bid;
(“…the "winning bid" corresponds to a payload selected by the publisher, … the competing third party bids have met the minimum price required for sale of the impression. The advertising payload corresponding to the winner of the auction can then be transmitted, in response to the available impression, for display in the impression location”, paragraph 20);
and f) displaying, via the online platform at the current placement venue, the winning advertisement on the webpage.
(“…The advertising payload corresponding to the winner of the auction can then be transmitted, in response to the available impression, for display in the impression location”, paragraph 20.
“As one example, an impression can correspond to an available advertising location on a web page being delivered by a publisher where advertising can be displayed. Typically, the page is delivered to a person viewing the web page via a browser”, paragraph 14);
g) updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the
dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement.
(“…mechanisms can also be used to adjust the win …for a hosted campaign [Examiner interprets as updating a new return revenue of the winning advertisement]”, paragraph 45.
“ Example--Dynamic Floor Price Determination Based on Segment Information [Examiner interprets as BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue ].
[0046] The following is an example of how segment information could be used to assign floor prices for an auction of an impression. In this example, a person accesses a web page to view the content of the web page. The web page includes a location for an advertising impression….”, paragraphs 46-47.
See also “…an inventory segment provides a way to pass detailed information about a potential impression, such as external valuation and internal valuation information, in a minimum of space [[Examiner interprets as BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue ]…”, paragraph 26).
Although, HAN teaches conducting an auction to match an advertising payload to an available advertising impression. In the auction, a dynamic floor price is provided. The publisher pursuing to maximize the value of the available impression by exposing the impression to bids from outside parties. The dynamic floor price can be calculated based on both internal valuations of an available impression as well as external valuations derived from feedback from prior auctions, (abstract and paragraph 60). HAN does not expressly disclose but Dalto discloses
With respect to the current placement venue based on bid-floor (BF)/revenue dependency information that is dynamically adapted in time and is captured in a tabulated form;
(“0008] The performance characteristics are measured using one or more of the following revenue models: cost-per-mille, cost-per-click, cost-per-action, click-through-rate, and cost-per-conversion”, paragraph 8.
“[0068] FIG. 7 is a block diagram of a yield management profile”, paragraphs 68 and Fig. 7 and associated disclosure.
“[0188] In some examples, after an ad call arrives, the Imp Bus 204 can estimate a bid price that is likely to win the ad using analytics on impressions over time, including one or more of user frequency, time of day, publisher's site, or other information. The bid price estimate may also be based on a dynamically varying probability threshold value [Examiner interprets as bid-floor (BF)/revenue dependency information that is dynamically adapted ] dependent on a high success rate criterion…”, paragraph 188.
“[0236] Referring to FIG. 7, in some embodiments, an impression seller member (e.g., a publisher 702) belonging to an advertising platform 700 establishes a yield management profile 704 [Examiner interprets as (BF)/revenue dependency information] to define yield management rules to be applied to impression buyer members bidding on its inventory. In some cases, the rules defined by the yield management profile protect against channel conflict and price erosion. In other cases, the rules defined by the yield management profile attempt to capture additional yield for high value users or inventory”, paragraph 236
See also Fig. 9 and associated disclosure.
Further, Dalto’s system is strong in revenue optimization, see paragraph 2. Dalto’s system discloses captured, “the bid is submitted to auction”, paragraphs 264 and 265 ) in a tabulated form, “[0268] Referring to Table 1, in one example of this approach, four bidders present bids of $1.95, $1.50, $1.05, and $2.11. Each bidder has a unique set of a hard floor, a soft floor, a percentage or CPM bias, a percentage or CPM floor modifier, and a percentage or CPM bias modifier. After the application of all appropriate adjustments, the final bids for auction comparison are…”, paragraph 268 and table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dalton’s teaching with the teaching of HAN. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to create and manage a BF/revenue dependency called in Dalto’s reference, yield management profile, in order to offer optimization of revenue in an online advertising platform (see Dalto abstract and paragraph 2).
Further, HAN does not expressly disclose but from Dalto’s teaching of :
wherein the tabulated form is organized to include:
(“[0090] In some implementations of the advertising platform, a platform-specific ad tag may be generated and associated with ad space(s). In addition to the types of information described above, other types of information, such as a universal inventory identifier, a reserve price, and a list of approved universal advertiser identifiers, may also be associated with a platform-specific ad tag. The information associated with any given platform-specific ad tag may be specified server-side (e.g., tag_id=123&ad_profile_id=456) or maintained within the platform by a server-side mapping (e.g., Imp Bus maintains a server-side mapping of tag_id=123 to ad_profile_id=456). In the latter case, once an ad space has been tagged, information associated with the platform-specific ad tag may be easily modified by adding or otherwise changing the information within the platform without having to re-tag the ad”, paragraphs 90-91.
Dalto discloses “ TABLE 1 An auction under an exemplary yield management profile…. Winning Bid …Second Highest Bid…”, paragraph 268),
a first column including multiple placement identifiers, each indicative of a
corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement,
(see “[0090] In some implementations of the advertising platform, a platform-specific ad tag may be generated and associated with ad space(s)….universal inventory identifier”, paragraph 90),
a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers,
(“[0268] Referring to Table 1, in one example of this approach, four bidders present bids of $1.95, $1.50, $1.05, and $2.11”, paragraph 268),
and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF
values, respectively
(“[0148] As described above, a bid response typically includes a bid price and a creative that are to be served should the bid be identified as the winning bid of a platform-based
auction. A bid response may further include the following information:…[0169] m. Revenue Generated: This value represents revenue generated by the sale of an impression”, paragraphs 148 and 169),
or
a first column including multiple BFs,
(“[0268] Referring to Table 1, in one example of this approach, four bidders present bids of $1.95, $1.50, $1.05, and $2.11”, paragraph 268),
a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF,
(see “[0090] In some implementations of the advertising platform, a platform-specific ad tag may be generated and associated with ad space(s)….”, paragraph 90),
and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively
(“[0148] As described above, a bid response typically includes a bid price and a creative that are to be served should the bid be identified as the winning bid of a platform-based
auction. A bid response may further include the following information:…[0169] m. Revenue Generated: This value represents revenue generated by the sale of an impression”, paragraphs 148 and 169),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dalton’s teaching of including multiple placement identifiers, (see “universal inventory identifier”, paragraph 90), different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, (“[0268] Referring to Table 1, in one example of this approach, four bidders present bids of $1.95, $1.50, $1.05, and $2.11”, paragraph 268), and revenues each corresponding to each of the BF
values, respectively paragraphs 148 and 169), with the teaching of HAN. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to combine the elements as claimed by known methods as show above and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 8, it comprises the same limitations than claim 1 above. Therefore is rejected in similar manner. The claim further comprises machine readable and non-transitory medium having information recorded (see HAN paragraph 75-76).
As to claim 15, it comprises the same limitations than claim 1 above. Therefore is rejected in similar manner. The claim further comprises
an auction interface engine implemented by a processor
(paragraphs 14 and 15).
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, HAN discloses
wherein the BF/revenue dependency information is previously established based on return revenues tracked with respect to different advertisements previously displayed at different placement venues, wherein each of the tracked advertisements is selected in a bidding process using a corresponding bid-floor.
(see US Pg. Pub. No. 20120303464(Gorman) incorporated by reference. Gorman discloses “0053] Still another factor that can be tracked is the value of impressions that a campaign is winning…”, paragraphs 53-54.
[0064] The auction rules and bid bias values have the potential to create a large amount of additional information that is tracked for each impression and/or each campaign. One way of simplifying the amount of additional information can be to set up page groups. A page group can represent a group of impressions, web pages, and/or advertising campaigns that share a common set of auction rules and bid bias values”, paragraph 64).
As to claims 3, 10 and 17, HAN discloses
wherein the BF/revenue dependency information is established by:
a) collecting return revenues with respect to the different advertisements;
(Gorman incorporated by reference discloses “[0064] The auction rules and bid bias values have the potential to create a large amount of additional information that is tracked for each impression and/or each campaign”, Gorman paragraph 64.
“…the revenue generated by impressions can be enhanced or optimized while still satisfying the guarantees required by the guaranteed campaign. “, Gorman paragraph 13.
“…it can be desirable to balance the goal of delivering …advertising impressions with the goal of increasing revenue derived from each impression”, Gorman paragraph 17.
“…. The dynamic floor price provides a way for a publisher to incorporate the internal value of the available impression into the auction process, while still allowing the publisher to maximize the value of the available impression by exposing the impression to bids from outside parties. The dynamic floor price can be calculated based on both internal valuations of an available impression as well as external valuations derived from feedback from prior auctions..”, abstract, HAN paragraph 6.
“…The winning bid and payload information is returned to hosted campaign selection and floor price determination module 230 for communication to the browser that initiated the advertising request. If the auction is selected for use in providing feedback, information regarding the auction is also passed to auction history store 290. The auction history store provides raw data for auction feedback module 280 to use in determining various types of historical auction information, such as distributions of bid values for auctions on a particular inventory segment”, HAN paragraph 70)
b) analyzing the collected return revenues to associate each return revenue with a
corresponding bid floor applied in a bidding process and a corresponding placement venue where the advertisement corresponding to the return revenue is previously displayed;
(“…A baseline bid value for …. campaigns can be set in any convenient manner. For example, a baseline bid for a…. campaign can correspond to the amount paid for the campaign divided by the number of guaranteed impressions. This can yield an amount paid per impression…. A campaign that wins an auction for an impression can have the payload corresponding to the campaign displayed in the impression location…”, Gordon paragraph 18.
“…The winning bid and payload information is returned to hosted campaign selection and floor price determination module 230 for communication to the browser that initiated the advertising request. If the auction is selected for use in providing feedback, information regarding the auction is also passed to auction history store 290. The auction history store provides raw data for auction feedback module 280 to use in determining various types of historical auction information, such as distributions of bid values for auctions on a particular inventory segment”, HAN paragraph 70)
HAN does not expressly disclose, but Dalto discloses
c) generating a representation of BF/revenue dependencies that is indicative of relationships among the collected return revenues, corresponding bid floors, and corresponding placement venues.
(Dalto’s system teaches “[0036] A requested page may have multiple ad spaces. The advertising platform may be implemented to enable an impression seller member's web server to make a call to the platform that invokes multiple ad tags (each ad tag being associated with a distinct ad space of the page) or a call to the platform that invokes a single page-level ad tag that includes multiple ad spaces. Some of the advantages of enabling these features are as follows: (1) one request to the platform reduces latency; (2) a single call that invokes multiple ad tags or a single page-level ad tag allows for the buying of `packages` of ads. For example, an impression buyer member may indicate that it will take all three tags on a page for a $10 CPM. The Imp Bus may then compare the price of the "package" of ads to the highest individual bids; and (3) enables premium selling (road-blocks) and the ability to do competitive exclusions (e.g., do not show a Coca Cola.RTM. ad next to a Pepsi.RTM. ad)”, paragraph 36.
“[0037] In another aspect, the invention includes a method for placing a bid in an auction for digital advertisement space in an online advertising platform…”, paragraph 37.
“[0039] In some embodiments, a hierarchy of advertising nodes is defined. The hierarchy includes one or more top nodes, each representing an advertiser, and a number of dependent nodes. Each dependent node has a parent node and represents a combination of advertising attributes associated with its respective parent. In a further embodiment, each dependent node inherits the advertising attributes of its parent nodes”, paragraph 39.
“[0040] The hierarchy may include a number of levels, with each level associated with an advertising attribute. This hierarchy contains a top level with the top nodes, and one or more lower levels in which the dependent nodes are arranged….”, paragraph 40.
See Figs 7 and 9 and associated disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dalton’s teaching with the teaching of HAN. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to create and manage a BF/revenue dependency called in Dalto’s reference, yield management profile, in order to offer an advertising venue with optimization of revenue (see Dalto paragraph 2).
As to claims 4, 11 and 18, HAN discloses
wherein the representation of the BF/revenue dependencies includes:
a) bid floors used in bidding processes in association with each of the placement venues;
([0013] … the revenue generated by impressions can be enhanced or optimized while still satisfying the guarantees required by the guaranteed campaign. In such a competition, systems and methods are provided for dynamic setting of floor prices for acceptance of a bid from a non-reserved campaign. The dynamic floor prices assist with allowing reserved campaigns to win a …the advertising auctions so that guarantees for advertising impression delivery are satisfied. Additionally, by allowing floor prices to vary depending on the type of inventory and/or the types of reserved campaigns, floor prices can assist with allowing a representative cross-section of all advertising impressions to be assigned to reserved campaigns”, HAN paragraph 13)
Although, HAN discloses all the concepts such as return revenues and tracking (paragraphs 53-54 and 64 of Gordon), bids using floors that are dynamic (HAN abstract and paragraphs 2 and 6).
HAN does not clearly disclose but Dalto discloses
b) return revenues tracked from advertisements selected in corresponding bidding processes using each of the bid floors with respect to each of the placement venues.
(“[0264] …calculations apply to floor-based …. When a yield management profile includes one or many floor-based … selection criteria. For example, …a selected floor for any bid …[a]…. creative…”, paragraphs 264-265.
See also, “[0039] In some embodiments, a hierarchy of advertising nodes is defined. The hierarchy includes one or more top nodes, each representing an advertiser, and a number of dependent nodes. Each dependent node has a parent node and represents a combination of advertising attributes associated with its respective parent. In a further embodiment, each dependent node inherits the advertising attributes of its parent nodes.
[0050] In some embodiments, the system further includes a data management module for defining a hierarchy of advertising nodes. The hierarchy includes one or more top nodes, each representing an advertiser, and a number of dependent nodes. Each dependent node has a parent node and represents a combination of advertising attributes associated with its respective parent. In a further embodiment, each dependent node inherits the advertising attributes of its parent nodes.
[0063] FIG. 2 shows a block diagram of an example advertising platform environment.
[0068] FIG. 7 is a block diagram of a yield management profile”, paragraphs 39, 50, 63 and 86).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dalton’s teaching with the teaching of HAN. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to create and manage a BF/revenue dependency called in Dalto’s reference, yield management profile, in order to offer an advertising venue with optimization of revenue (see Dalto paragraph 2).
As to claims 5, 12 and 19, HAN does not disclose but Dalto discloses
wherein the step of dynamically determining comprises:
a) accessing the BF/revenue dependency information;
(“[0242] Floor rules are contained in a floor profile object 716 stored on a server deployed by publisher 702. Floor profile 716 contains targeting criteria, such as inventory, user, or demand targeting criteria, that are to be used in the application of a floor. Although many floors may be specified within a given yield management profile, only one floor will ultimately be used per bid for any given impression….”, paragraph 242);
b) identifying relevant bid floors associated with the current placement venue in the BF/revenue dependency information;
(“[0264] …calculations apply to floor-based …. When a yield management profile includes one or many floor-based … selection criteria. For example, …a selected floor for any bid …[a]…. creative…”, paragraphs 264-265);
c) computing, with respect to each of the relevant bid floors, a representative revenue of the relevant bid floor based on return revenues associated therewith;
(“0261] Referring still to FIG. 7, in some embodiments, modifiers 718 are used to adjust biases and/or floors based on additional criteria, such as impression consumer attributes or technical attributes of creatives or impression inventory. Impression consumer attributes include, for instance, demographic segment to which an impression consumer belongs (e.g., based on age, gender, or salary range), a geographic location of the impression consumer, or a browsing history of the impression consumer (e.g., how frequently or recently the impression consumer has viewed a particular creative [Examiner interprets as computing, with respect to each of the relevant bid floors]). Technical attributes 720 include, for instance, technical attributes of a creative, such as its file type (e.g., image, Flash, video, or text), its file size (e.g., greater than 40 k), or its mode of display (e.g., an expandable creative), or technical attributes of impression inventory, such as the physical size (i.e., width.times.height) of the ad space. Modifiers can be used to adjust eligible biases by a CPM or a percentage, or to adjust eligible price floors by a fixed amount or a percentage”, paragraph 261);
and d) selecting one of the representative revenues that has a maximum representative revenue as the dynamic bid floor for the current placement venue.
(Dalto discloses “ TABLE 1 An auction under an exemplary yield management profile…. Winning Bid …Second Highest Bid…”, paragraph 268).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dalton’s teaching with the teaching of HAN. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to create and manage a BF/revenue dependency called in Dalto’s reference, yield management profile, in order to offer “"best price" for a creative serving opportunity is the price that yields the highest revenue for the impression seller member”, (see Dalto paragraph 126).
As to claims 6 and 13, HAN discloses
wherein the representative revenue of each of the …bid floors is determined by averaging the return revenues associated with the …bid floor.
(“7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining a floor price based on the first floor price information and the second floor price information comprises: determining a bid value for the selected hosted advertisement based on the first floor price information; determining a potential value for the available impression based on the second floor price information; calculating a weighted average of the determined bid value and the determined potential value…”, claim 7)
HAN does not disclose but Dalto discloses
the relevant bid floor
(Dalto’ system discloses “0241] Referring still to FIG. 7, price floors 714 provide publishers with the capability to set reserve pricing in order to manage yield. For instance, through the use of price floors, a publisher can protect its existing yield gained through direct deals or can capture additional yield for high-value impression inventory or impression consumers. CPM reserve pricing (i.e., price floors) can be set unique to inventory attributes, consumer attributes, or demand criteria”, paragraph 241.
[0242] Floor rules are contained in a floor profile object 716 stored on a server deployed by publisher 702. Floor profile 716 contains targeting criteria [Examiner interprets as the relevant bid floor], such as inventory, user, or demand targeting criteria, that are to be used in the application of a floor. Although many floors may be specified within a given yield management profile, only one floor will ultimately be used per bid for any given impression. Each floor is associated with a priority value, e.g., ranging from 1 (low priority) to 10 (high priority), indicative of the logical order in which the floors are to be selected”, paragraph 242).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dalton’s teaching with the teaching of HAN. One would have been motivated to provide functionality to define criteria to determine a relevant bid floor in order to support rules and criteria for a fair and profitable advertising auction (see Dalto paragraph 242).
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, HAN discloses
a) recording the dynamic bid floor used in selecting the winning advertisement;
(see at least element 470 in Fig. 4 and associated disclosure);
b) tracking new return revenue of the winning advertisement after it is displayed at the current placement venue;
(“…updating at least one of the first floor price information or the second floor price information based on the received auction bid information”, claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 4/28/2026 have been very carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: (remarks 18-22)
Claims Rejected Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1-20 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103(a) as allegedly being unpatentable
over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130097028 by Han ("Han") in view of U.S.
Patent Application Publication No. 20120310729 by Dalto ("Dalto"). The Applicant respectfully
traverses the rejection.
Amended claim 1 recites, in part:….
The Office Action admits that Han does not teach but relies on Dal to' s yield management
profile 704 to show the recited "bid-floor (BF)/revenue dependency information" and relies on
Dalto's paras. [0090]-[0091] and [0169] to show the recited "tabulated form."
Dalto's yield management profile 704 is shows in the below reproduced FIG. 7:….
Dalto' s yield management profile 704 includes biases, different price floors, and
modifiers. However, Dalto does not teach or suggest that the yield management profile 704 is
captured in a tabulated form having the recited columns.
In response the Examiner asserts the Examiner recognizes that applicant amended the independent claims but the amendments do not overcome the prior art of record because the prima facie of obviousness established in this case discloses all the elements claimed. Further, the combination Han and Dalto is a strong rejection based in obviousness and evidence in the disclosure of each reference. See “universal inventory identifier”, paragraph 90), different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, “[0268] Referring to Table 1, in one example of this approach, four bidders present bids of $1.95, $1.50, $1.05, and $2.11”, paragraph 268, and revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively paragraphs 148 and 169; Also for clarification purposes, the prior Office action of record did not have possession of the currently amended portion(s) of the claim(s) that the Applicant is currently arguing. But , again, action on these newly amended limitations is contained herein.
Applicant argues: (remarks 12-18)
Claims Rejected Under 35 U.S.C. §101
Claims 1-20 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as allegedly being directed to
judicial exception. The Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection.
Claim 1 is not directed to any of the judicial exceptions and therefore claim 1 is not directed
to an abstract idea. MPEP § 2106.04(a) states:
The enumerated groupings of abstract ideas are defined as….
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 does not fall into any of the abstract idea
exceptions provided by the MPEP, and thus claim 1 is patent eligible under Prong One of the
Step 2A Analysis….
In response the Examiner asserts that the amended claims have been reviewed for patent protection eligibility. The claim recites a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as certain methods of organizing human activity, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The method for setting a dynamic bid floor. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea which is a judicial exception.
Further, the Examiner above elaborated in a the facially sufficient analysis with is the base to establish a prima facie of unpatentability in this case. Thus, the claims are ineligible because the instant claims are directed solely to the recited judicial exception (abstract idea).
Moreover, claim 1 is patent eligible because the claimed concepts are integrated into a
practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d) states: "after determining that a claim recites a judicial
exception in Step 2A Prong One, examiners should evaluate whether the claim as a whole
integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception in Step 2A
Prong Two." MPEP 2106.04(d) also states "Limitations the courts have found indicative that an
additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a
practical application include: • An improvement in the functioning of a computer, …
Initially, as mentioned previously, the Office Action has improperly analyzed claim 1
when determining whether claim 1 recites a judicial exception because claim 1 does not fall into
any of the abstract idea exceptions - mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing
human activity, or mental processes.
Even assuming, for the sake of argument, that claim 1 does recite an abstract idea (which
the Applicant disagrees), Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is patent eligible under
Prong Two of the Step 2A Analysis.
Claim 1 is clearly tied to a practical application, i.e., a non-parametric approach to
determining dynamic optimized bid floors that is efficient and adaptive in terms of both
placement venue and time, more specifically, using BF/revenue dependency information that is
dynamically adapted in time to dynamically determine a dynamic bid floor in a non-parametric
manner (e.g., using a tabulated form), and supporting continuous update of the BF/revenue
dependencies in time by feedbacking the dynamic bid floor….
Again, the amended claims have been reviewed for patent protection eligibility. The Examiner agrees that the instant claims are in compliance with the utility requirement. Also, per MPEP 2106 the instant claims are evaluated for compliance with Subject Matter Eligibility test under Alice framework (see MPEP 2106). In the test, the claims are considered individually and as a whole.
The instant claims are directed to an abstract idea. None of the limitations considered as an ordered combination, provides eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement an abstract idea with routine, conventional technology. Accordingly, the claims are ineligible (see complete and facially sufficient analysis of the rejection above).
Claim 1 provides an improvement to known technical problems in the technical field of
data analytics and application. Para. [0001]. For example, "[i]n some processes, the bid-floor
may be set as a static value and other processes, the bid-floor may be dynamically changed using
some parametric models. A static bid-floor is inflexible in terms of changes in the advertising
marketplace. A parametric-model based bid-floor modeling may be computationally burdensome
in real-time and may not capture the changing situation associated with the market."
Claim 1 improves computer technology, namely displaying a winning advertisement on a
webpage via an online platform, by a dynamic bid floor determined in a non-parametric manner
(e.g., using a tabulated form) that maximizes revenue with respect to the current placement
venue based on dynamic BF/revenue dependency information captured in the tabulated form.
Therefore, for the reasons above, in the instant application, any claim limitation that the
Office Action may deem to be an abstract idea is integrated into a practical application as the
claimed concept provides a technical solution to one or more problems associated with
ineffectiveness of the traditional expert diversification scheme. Thus, Applicant respectfully
submits that, under Prong Two of the Step 2A Analysis, the claimed concept is integrated into a
practical application and therefore is not directed to a judicial exception. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is directed to patent eligible subject matter….
The claims are not eligible for patent protection because the prima facially analysis above conducted to establish a prima facie of unpatentability in this case. The additional elements presented in the instant claims “implemented on at least one processor, a memory, and a communication platform, via an online platform, on a webpage, captured in a tabulated form, wherein the tabulated form is organized to include: “a first column including multiple placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement
, a second column including different BF values under each of the multiple placement identifiers, identifier and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the BF values, respectively or a first column including multiple BFs, a second column including different placement identifiers each indicative of a corresponding placement venue to display an advertisement under each of the multiple BF values, and a third column including revenues each corresponding to each of the placement identifiers, respectively; dynamically adapted in time; updating the BF/revenue dependency information in the tabulated form based on the dynamic bid floor applied for the current placement venue and a new return revenue of the winning advertisement”, do not provide significantly more to the abstract idea as the additional elements do not: Improve another technology or technical field; Improve the functioning of a computer itself; Add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field; Add meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the exception to a particular technological environment; Improve computer related technology by allowing computer performance of a function not previously performable by a computer. The instant claim does not improve computer technology. For these reasons, the prima facie of unpatentability established in this case is maintained.
In the present application, the claimed inventive concept described by the additional
elements in conjunction with the non-additional elements is directed to a non-parametric approach to determining dynamic optimized bid floors that is efficient and adaptive in terms of both placement venue and time, more specifically, using BF/revenue dependency information that is dynamically adapted in time to dynamically determine a dynamic bid floor in a non-parametric manner (e.g., using a tabulated form), and supporting continuous update of the BF/revenue dependencies in time by feedbacking the dynamic bid floor.
"The present teaching discloses an exemplary framework for dynamically optimizing a
bid-floor value in a non-parametric manner to maximize revenue. To support the optimization
operation, a bid-floor/revenue dependency information is established with respect to each
placement identification associated with a venue to display advertisements. Such dependency
information may be updated with time so that it captures the characteristics of the relationship
between bid-floor values and revenue with respect to each ad-display locale at different
times/seasons. Based on such dependency information, with respect to each placement identifier
associated with an ad placement venue, a bid-floor value may be selected that maximizes the
average revenue at the placement venue." (Para. [0023]).
"[T]he bid-floor/revenue dependency may be captured in a tabulated form so that in an
optimized bid-floor value may be determined in a dynamic operation in a non-parametric manner, which is more efficient and direct. As discussed herein, the bid-floor/revenue dependency information m ay be adapted when needed so that it provides dynamic information that reflects the changing situation. This non-parametric approach to optimizing the bid-floor to maximize revenue defined based on application needs facilitates a direct, straightforward, efficient, and adaptive approach to dynamic selection of a bid-floor with respect to each placement venue." (Para. [0024]) "To support continuous update of the BF/revenue dependencies, such winning bid may also be sent to the evaluation criterion-based data collector 310 to track the return revenue of the advertisement associated with the winning bid to enable adaptation of the BF/revenue dependencies 350 based on on-going revenue information. The non-parametric approach to…In addition to failing to consider Applicant's claims as an ordered combination and as a whole, by only considering the additional elements, the Office Action has improperly analyzed the claims without considering the "additional element(s)" in combination with the non-additional elements. The Office Action - regardless of whether the alleged judicial exception was properly or improperly identified - has failed to properly identify the alleged "additional elements" of the claims. As a result, the Office Action has also incorrectly and improperly identified that the alleged "additional elements" do not amount to significantly more than the alleged judicial exception
In response the Examiner asserts that allegations here are not true. The Examiner has considered all the limitations including the limitations amended. Also, each limitation has been considered individually and as a whole in the above detailed facially sufficient analysis. A prima facie of unpatentability is maintained. The instant claims are not eligible for patent protection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“An overview of computational challenges in online advertising”. IEEE. 2013. This article teaches “Online advertising is a large and rapidly growing business. The major players in the space, namely advertisers, publishers, and ad exchanges, are developing increasingly sophisticated systems, methods and tools to facilitate, manage, optimize and report on the performance of online advertising marketplaces and campaigns. Developing solutions that are both mathematically sound and practical draws on techniques from a variety of disciplines including machine learning, stochastic optimal control, information retrieval, data mining, natural language processing, and econometrics. In this paper, we provide an overview of the online advertising space, and identify, frame, and describe solution approaches to some of the major computational challenges in the space. We describe specific examples from industry applications, including ad inventory auctions, bidding and allocation strategies for ad inventory, inventory targeting, banner and landing page optimization, and performance estimation.”.
/MARIA V VANDERHORST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
5/29/2026