DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 07/21/2026.
The previous objection to the Title is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Zhou's TA cannot be considered to be "dedicated for" the UE. Just because the UE "accommodates the TA value to determine when to perform the active BWP switch" does not mean that the TA value is something that is "dedicated for the UE" (pages 8-10, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou at page 15, lines 3-10, discloses “a user equipment (UE)”… “a timing advance (TA) value with respect to UL slots”…”the one or more baseband processors are to accommodate the TA value.” As this is the only UE in the context of this citation using the UL slots and the baseband processors of the UE accommodate the TA value, the TA value is dedicated to this UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24, 31-33, 35-36, 44, 46-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/041182 A1 to ZHOU et al. (“Zhou”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 24, see similar rejection to claim 50. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 31, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the delay offset is in units of slots or symbols (page 15, first paragraph, offset by a timing advance (TA) value with respect to UL slots).
As to claim 32, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the scheduling delay is a predefined value or semi-statically configured in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message or dynamically signaled in a downlink control channel between the wireless device and the network node (page 5, lines 30-31, dynamic radio resource management and data packet scheduling; page 15, first paragraph, PDCCH carrying the active BWP switch DCI in the DL; calculating a transmission time no later than slot m+Y, where Y is a BWP switching delay and DL slots are offset by a TA).
As to claim 33, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the message is a Downlink Control Information (DCI) to signal a scheduling of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) or a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (page 15, first paragraph, PDCCH carrying the active BWP switch DCI in the DL; calculating a transmission time no later than slot m+Y, where Y is a BWP switching delay and DL slots are offset by a TA; page 15, 2nd para, receive a PDSCH on the new BWP).
As to claim 35, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the subsequent wireless data transmission between the wireless device and the network node includes the wireless device receiving a data packet from the network node (page 15, 2nd para, receive a PDSCH on the new BWP on the serving cell).
As to claim 36, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the subsequent wireless data transmission between the wireless device and the network node includes the wireless device transmitting a data packet to the network node (page 15, 1st para, transmit a PUSCH in the UL on a new BWP on the serving cell at a time no later than slot m+Y).
As to claim 44, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communications comprising: transmitting, at a network node, an indication of a bandwidth part (BWP) switch in a message to a wireless device, wherein the indication of the BWP switch is used for switching the wireless device from a first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part for communications between the wireless device and the network node (page 15, 1st para, a UE receiving a BWP switching request from a serving cell); performing, by the network node, a subsequent wireless data transmission between the network node and the wireless device based on an effective scheduling delay (page 15, 1st para, transmit a PUSCH in the UL on a new BWP on the serving cell at a time no later than slot m+Y ), wherein the effective scheduling delay is calculated as a sum of a scheduling delay and a delay offset, wherein the delay offset is a time duration dedicated for the wireless device (page 15, 1st para, calculating a transmission time no later than slot m+Y, where Y is a BWP switching delay and DL slots are offset by a TA).
As to claim 46, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 44, wherein the delay offset is in units of slots or symbols (page 15, first paragraph, offset by a timing advance (TA) value with respect to UL slots).
As to claim 47, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 44, wherein the scheduling delay is a predefined value or semi-statically configured in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message or dynamically signaled in a downlink control channel between the wireless device and the network node (page 5, lines 30-31, dynamic radio resource management and data packet scheduling; page 15, first paragraph, PDCCH carrying the active BWP switch DCI in the DL; calculating a transmission time no later than slot m+Y, where Y is a BWP switching delay and DL slots are offset by a TA).
As to claim 48, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 44, wherein the message is a Downlink Control Information (DCI) to signal a scheduling of a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) or a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (page 15, first paragraph, PDCCH carrying the active BWP switch DCI in the DL; calculating a transmission time no later than slot m+Y, where Y is a BWP switching delay and DL slots are offset by a TA; page 15, 2nd para, receive a PDSCH on the new BWP).
As to claim 49, Zhou further discloses the method of claim 44, wherein the subsequent wireless data transmission between the wireless device and the network node includes: the network node transmitting a data packet to the wireless device page 15, 2nd para, receive a PDSCH on the new BWP on the serving cell); or the network node receiving a data packet from the wireless device (page 15, 1st para, transmit a PUSCH in the UL on a new BWP on the serving cell at a time no later than slot m+Y).
As to claim 50, Zhou discloses a wireless device (page 15, 1st para, UE) comprising: a memory storing a plurality of instructions (page 9, lines 22-27, functionality of baseband processors…included in modules stored in the memory); and at least one processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions, wherein upon execution of the plurality of instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the wireless device to (page 9, lines 22-27, functionality of baseband processors…included in modules stored in the memory…executed via a Central Processing Unit (CPU)): receiving an indication of a bandwidth part (BWP) switch in a message from a network node, wherein the indication of the BWP switch is used for switching the wireless device from a first bandwidth part to a second bandwidth part for communications between the wireless device and the network node (page 15, 1st para, a UE receiving a BWP switching request from a serving cell); calculate an effective scheduling delay as a sum of a scheduling delay and a delay offset, wherein the delay offset is a time duration dedicated for the wireless device (page 15, 1st para, calculating a transmission time no later than slot m+Y, where Y is a BWP switching delay and DL slots are offset by a TA);
and use the effective scheduling delay for a subsequent wireless data transmission between the network node and the wireless device (page 15, 1st para, transmit a PUSCH in the UL on a new BWP on the serving cell at a time no later than slot m+Y ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/041182 A1 to ZHOU et al. (“Zhou”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0072549 A1 to DAI et al. (“Dai”).
As to claim 25, Zhou does not expressly disclose the method of claim 24, wherein the delay offset is determined according to a frequency gap between the first bandwidth part and the second bandwidth part.
Dai discloses at para. 0005: the base station may schedule the frequency-hopping (i.e. different frequencies) transmissions with an intervening scheduling gap (i.e. therefore a frequency gap) that provides time for a receiver to retune radio frequency components, such as an antenna.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the scheduling gap of Dai into the invention of Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for defining portions of bandwidth parts within an operating bandwidth to be used for scheduling frequency-hopping transmissions (Dai, para. 0001). Including the scheduling gap of Dai into the invention of Zhou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Dai.
As to claim 26, Zhou does not expressly disclose the method of claim 25, wherein the frequency gap is defined as a difference of center subcarrier frequencies in the first bandwidth part and the second bandwidth part.
Dai discloses at fig. 6, para. 0089: FIG. 6 illustrates a first resource block grid 600 for conventional intra-BWP frequency hopping PUSCH and/or PUCCH. A wide UL PWP 616 includes a first set of RBs 602 that is offset in frequency from a second set of RBs 602, and where hops 606, 608 occur between RBs of successive slots 610, 612, 614. Each hop 606, 608 is associated with RF retuning in which, for example, the UE tunes its antenna to the center frequency used by the current set of RBs [para. 0058, RB may include 12 subcarriers] 602, 604 (i.e. retuning center frequencies during hopping implies a difference in the sets of RBs).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the hopping of Dai into the invention of Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for defining portions of bandwidth parts within an operating bandwidth to be used for scheduling frequency-hopping transmissions (Dai, para. 0001). Including the hopping of Dai into the invention of Zhou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Dai.
As to claim 45, Zhou does not expressly disclose the method of claim 44, wherein the delay offset is determined according to a frequency gap between the first bandwidth part and the second bandwidth part.
Dai discloses at para. 0005: the base station may schedule the frequency-hopping (i.e. different frequencies) transmissions with an intervening scheduling gap (i.e. therefore a frequency gap) that provides time for a receiver to retune radio frequency components, such as an antenna.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the scheduling gap of Dai into the invention of Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for defining portions of bandwidth parts within an operating bandwidth to be used for scheduling frequency-hopping transmissions (Dai, para. 0001). Including the scheduling gap of Dai into the invention of Zhou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Dai.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/041182 A1 to ZHOU et al. (“Zhou”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0104543 A1 to PARK.
As to claim 34, Zhou does not expressly disclose the method of claim 33, wherein the BWP switch is indicated in a bandwidth part indicator field included in the Downlink DCI.
PARK discloses at para. 0007: according to an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of switching bandwidth part (BWP) by a UE, the method including: transmitting information on physical layer capability including information on a BWP switching delay type, receiving downlink control information (DCI) including a BWP indication field that indicates one BWP different from an active BWP among BWPs included in a BWP set configured for the UE, and scheduling control information for a data channel, activating the BWP indicated by the value of the BWP indication field in consideration of a transition time determined by the information on the BWP switching delay type, and transceiving the data channel according to the scheduling control information.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the DCI of PARK into the invention of Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for support a user equipment (UE) using various bandwidth parts (BWPs) in a next-generation radio access network (PARK, para. 0002). Including the DCI of PARK into the invention of Zhou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of PARK.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner cited the prior art in a prior Office action.
US 20230064881 A1 discloses at para. [0048] In some embodiments of the present disclosure, when the SCS of a BWP before a BWP switch is different from the SCS of another BWP after a BWP switch, the BWP switch delay may be determined according to the number of slots corresponding to the larger SCS between the SCS before a BWP switch and the another SCS after a BWP switch. For example, according to the above table, if a type 2 UE switches from a BWP corresponding to SCS.sub.0 to a BWP corresponding to SCS.sub.1, the BWP switch delay may be 5 slots (i.e., the larger one between 3 slots and 5 slots) with respect to SCS.sub.1. If a type 2 UE switches from a BWP corresponding to SCS.sub.1 to another BWP corresponding to SCS.sub.0, the BWP switch delay may be 5 slots (i.e., the larger one between 3 slots and 5 slots) with respect to SCS.sub.1.
U.S. Patent No. 12,150,183 B2 discloses at col. 8, lines 28-47: In some exemplary embodiments, when the corresponding Type1-PDCCH CSS set is located in a different DL BWP than the selected PRACH resource as shown with PRACH resources 513 and 514 and Type1-PDCCH CSS set 523, the UE will monitor the Type1-PDCCH CSS set 523 for which there is a time gap between the last symbol of the PRACH transmission and the first symbol of the associated Type1-PDCCH CSS transmission. This time gap may be referred to as Δ.sub.switching.sup.sub-band as is shown by the switching gap 530 in FIG. 5. This time gap may be larger than or equal to a predefined threshold to allow the UE to monitor the different BWP for the Type1-PDCCH CSS transmission. The predefined threshold may be based on, for example, a sub-carrier spacing. If the bandwidth part being monitored does not change compared to the PRACH transmission, e.g., the UE is monitoring the Type1-PDCCH CSS set 521 in sub-band 510 corresponding to PRACH resources 511 and 512, no bandwidth switch will occur and the switching gap may be set to 0.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463